• Publisher: Droqen
  • Release Date: Apr 16, 2013
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. May 29, 2013
    100
    The only hint you are going to find after your opening of the readme.txt file is laconical: "Keep on as long as you have questions." With my verdict it's the same thing.
  2. Apr 29, 2013
    100
    That rare kind of game that treats you with respect, once you’ve earnt it. It’s a strange feeling to be left floundering without any attempt to help you up, but it’s stranger still to then discover that you’re perfectly capable of helping yourself up, and discovering how capable you really are. Starseed Pilgrim is quietly affirming, and eminently rewarding. It’s genuinely beautiful, from the inside and out.
  3. Jun 4, 2013
    90
    Put simply, this is a game in which you get out what you put in. It is incremental in its brilliance. It is a game of pure mechanics and of player skill. It's confusing in a good way and difficult in the best way. From a game design perspective it is perfect, but the ambiguity will definitely push some players away.
  4. May 7, 2013
    90
    The seemingly simple puzzler quickly becomes an avant-garde masterpiece asking clever questions and challenging you with a hard to master and astonishingly complex principle.
  5. Mar 29, 2013
    90
    Its purity of concept could be taken as wilful obscurity, original to a fault, but Starseed Pilgrim also has a system worth mastering, and a mystery worth pursuing.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 4 out of 10
  1. Apr 18, 2013
    9
    The game explains very little and lets you discover its mechanics, which are very well thought out and require a great deal of thinking. This is a very difficult game, every action you take have intricate consequences. Full Review »
  2. May 30, 2013
    6
    I'm puzzled by the high praise for this game and writing this review I find it hard to find a positive highlight. Clearly I'm in the minority here as others seem to see a very different game before them. Some say the lack of a tutorial and clear goal are one of it's strong points. I on the other hand like the idea of 'finding things out for myself' but there has to be in a game as vague as this some basic game play pointers to get the juices flowing. I will go back to Starseed in the future as the concept is an interesting one. Full Review »
  3. Apr 18, 2013
    9
    Maybe I went into this with too high expectations having read the hype around it, but this game was a real disappointment. Designing for the joy of discovery is a very strong goal and I don't fault the game for that, but what I do fault the game for is intentionally obscuring itself.

    If there is one thing I want a game to do, it is to respect my time. That doesn't mean I don't want to get lost, and I don't want any hand holding, and it doesn't even have to be fun, but I also don't want a game that intentionally seems to be wasting my time. The game asks a lot, doesn't really give you much back; a deal that doesn't have much upside for the player.
    Full Review »