• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: You are a gardener, tending to empty noise and empty space to fill them both with colour. You are a refugee, building your own world away from the spreading darkness. You are an explorer, discovering new places, new rules, and new fascinations. The universe is bigger than you know.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. May 29, 2013
    100
    The only hint you are going to find after your opening of the readme.txt file is laconical: "Keep on as long as you have questions." With my verdict it's the same thing.
  2. Apr 29, 2013
    100
    That rare kind of game that treats you with respect, once you’ve earnt it. It’s a strange feeling to be left floundering without any attempt to help you up, but it’s stranger still to then discover that you’re perfectly capable of helping yourself up, and discovering how capable you really are. Starseed Pilgrim is quietly affirming, and eminently rewarding. It’s genuinely beautiful, from the inside and out.
  3. Jun 4, 2013
    90
    Put simply, this is a game in which you get out what you put in. It is incremental in its brilliance. It is a game of pure mechanics and of player skill. It's confusing in a good way and difficult in the best way. From a game design perspective it is perfect, but the ambiguity will definitely push some players away.
  4. Mar 26, 2013
    80
    Starseed Pilgrim makes saving the sky from a virulent blackness an especially rewarding challenge.
  5. Jul 2, 2013
    80
    The Internet hype around Starseed Pilgrim is surprisingly only a bit exaggerated. [CD-Action 08/2013, p.85]
  6. Apr 26, 2013
    80
    Few games are as initially opaque as Starseed Pilgrim, and few offer as rich a dawning sense of discovery in return.
  7. Jul 19, 2013
    68
    Starseed Pilgrim is composed of interesting elements and neat twists, but suffers from the assumption that you can encourage exploration simply by refusing to tell the player what to do. [Aug 2013, p.73]

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 4 out of 10
  1. Apr 20, 2013
    10
    This is the best game that I have played about discovery. I can't say anything else without spoiling the game.

    There is a magnificent
    synchrony between the music, the gameplay and the art. They all fit together quite well.

    While you have doubt, keep going! It's rewarding.
    Expand
  2. Apr 18, 2013
    9
    Maybe I went into this with too high expectations having read the hype around it, but this game was a real disappointment. Designing for the joy of discovery is a very strong goal and I don't fault the game for that, but what I do fault the game for is intentionally obscuring itself.

    If there is one thing I want a game to do, it is to respect my time. That doesn't mean I don't want to get lost, and I don't want any hand holding, and it doesn't even have to be fun, but I also don't want a game that intentionally seems to be wasting my time. The game asks a lot, doesn't really give you much back; a deal that doesn't have much upside for the player.
    Expand
  3. Apr 18, 2013
    9
    The game explains very little and lets you discover its mechanics, which are very well thought out and require a great deal of thinking. This is a very difficult game, every action you take have intricate consequences. Collapse
  4. May 30, 2013
    6
    I'm puzzled by the high praise for this game and writing this review I find it hard to find a positive highlight. Clearly I'm in the minority here as others seem to see a very different game before them. Some say the lack of a tutorial and clear goal are one of it's strong points. I on the other hand like the idea of 'finding things out for myself' but there has to be in a game as vague as this some basic game play pointers to get the juices flowing. I will go back to Starseed in the future as the concept is an interesting one. Expand
  5. Apr 26, 2013
    3
    I could not make heads or tails of this game. The lack of direction, the confusing mechanics, make this a very hard game to get into. Maybe this appeals to some people, but not me. I probably could have enjoyed it more if I wasn't dying over and over and restarting from the beginning each time... Expand
  6. May 4, 2013
    2
    A friend told me to try this game. "Don't google it, just play it." Well, I did, and if you have a lot of time to waste figuring out what the goal of this game is (after ~5 hours I haven't) then maybe it's worth a try. I can't recommend it to anyone who has a life. Expand
  7. Sep 6, 2013
    0
    You have to be kidding me... is this what the PC gaming world is coming to. The consoles are already beating us. This game is crap. Skyrim, Fallout New Vegas, Assassins Creed, Grand Theft Auto, these are games. This garbage looks like the Atari 2600 crap I played when I was 8 give these fools Atari Combat and they would say it was revolutionary, hell lets get the pong out of the basement. Indie games suck!!!! Retro games waste the technology we have. Its like eating a steak and then pulling out potted meat and swearing it is the greatest thing you have ever tasted. I just don't get these crappy, juvenile, blast from the past games and all the praise for them. Mindless games like BIoshock will be the end of PC Games even though it is a 100 on a scale of 1 to 10 compared to this rot which is not saying much. People bragging on Bioshock make me sick... is this what we have come too. We are capable of sooo much more now days. I don't understand this move to old looking garbage games with graphics that a 5 year old could have produced. Send this back to Intellivision where it belongs. These people giving this game good review must have an IQ of 10 and be dropping acid. I say again when we are capable of producing a game like Skyrim or GTA, who would possible be entertained by this that is not completely brain dead??? Expand

See all 10 User Reviews