Starship Troopers PC

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 30
  2. Negative: 12 out of 30
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DannyNooney
    Aug 16, 2004
    9
    I give this game a nine becuase not that i am a huge SST fan but i have got to play a demo of it and also i have seen the trialer, this game could be the next HALO if you know what i mean. if you go to www.starshiptrooeprs-game.com you'll see what i mean.
  2. EdoardoD.
    Jan 2, 2006
    5
    Good graphic and decent sound. Impressive number of enemies, maybe too many! The game is really frustrating and there no time to think about tactics. AI is very basic too.
  3. AlessioP.
    Jul 27, 2007
    7
    The net has been very unjust to this game... in its way, its amazing. Graphic isnt that bad, and surely having LOTS of bugs around you gave the same impression of watching the movie. Sound makes his job... nothing exceptional, ok, but neither orrible. Gameplay is very fun... sure, enemies have no IA. They are bugs, remember? This is all about smashing tons and tons of bugs, wave after The net has been very unjust to this game... in its way, its amazing. Graphic isnt that bad, and surely having LOTS of bugs around you gave the same impression of watching the movie. Sound makes his job... nothing exceptional, ok, but neither orrible. Gameplay is very fun... sure, enemies have no IA. They are bugs, remember? This is all about smashing tons and tons of bugs, wave after wave... the game never promised something else so you may like it or not, but its stupid to get angry if its not your type of game. I enjoyed ST... it really goes on smoothly: think at it like a casual game, only an FPS. If you have a powerfull enough pc and you play it at easy settings (very important this: only on easy the npc stays alive and give the felling of being part o a team), you'll enjoy it... and maybe youll replay it more than some FPS-masterpiece that request you to be focused all the time. I surely did it Expand
  4. BobH.
    Nov 4, 2005
    3
    the game is bollox, no gamma, so gfx look bad, locked up needing reboot my top notch, super stable machine 3 times, bad bad bad, not QA done on this title at all, better get a patch out quick (and a patch that works, unlike the broken one at the moment).
  5. D.M.
    Nov 6, 2005
    2
    a game that makes warhammer 40k fire warrior look good. stagnant gameplay & 'dumb' lead you by the hand maps inter spaced with carefully planned 'encounters' and clips from the original movie. a trully painful and horrible gaming experience.
  6. MattN.
    Feb 21, 2006
    0
    Easily the worst FPS I've ever played and I've played a lot. Graphics are rubbish and they chug like a mofo and my machine plays everything from X3 to Farcry maxed out. The gameplay is extremely poor and it's just generally incredibly dull and ugly at every turn. Save yourself some time and throw your money straight down the toilet!! And whats up with the dude from Easily the worst FPS I've ever played and I've played a lot. Graphics are rubbish and they chug like a mofo and my machine plays everything from X3 to Farcry maxed out. The gameplay is extremely poor and it's just generally incredibly dull and ugly at every turn. Save yourself some time and throw your money straight down the toilet!! And whats up with the dude from Worthplaying who gave this 70 ?!?! Halflife 2 must have blown his mind. Expand
  7. Tech
    Jul 20, 2006
    3
    The only reason i gave this a 3 is cause the of the decent graphic. Friendly AI is simply horrible, some kind of system where you can command like in Half Life 2 would be better. The human models looks crap. The worst mission ever was when you were going to rescue that general. All he does is complain , why don't he do the job self then instead of sitting in a car! This game sucked.
  8. Oct 2, 2010
    4
    The game is full of bugs.Not game bugs like when is crashing.But bugs.Giant bugs.Many bugs.Nice.But where the heck is the fun i mean killing a few thousand bugs with or without squad is boring.Very boring.6.As for the multiplayer you wont find many servers the co-op doesnt work almost all the time and you wont find many players.Almost none.pity.2.
  9. SherlockP.
    Apr 13, 2006
    0
    Excellent game. Wonderful combination of Heinlein and the few tolerable parts that Verhacken's trash film introduced. Superb expansion of Heinlein's world, amazing designs of alien planets... Yes, Microprose's 2000 strategy "Starship Troopers: Terran Ascendancy" is a wonderful game indeed; too bad it's not sold anymore, or that it has no sequel. Still, one can easily Excellent game. Wonderful combination of Heinlein and the few tolerable parts that Verhacken's trash film introduced. Superb expansion of Heinlein's world, amazing designs of alien planets... Yes, Microprose's 2000 strategy "Starship Troopers: Terran Ascendancy" is a wonderful game indeed; too bad it's not sold anymore, or that it has no sequel. Still, one can easily find it... Oh, you ask about the 2006 Starship Troopers, vomitted out by a collective of tapeworms that called itself "Strangelite"? Well, as for them and their game, I have the Beria reward: a spent shell placed on the top of the spine and then hit hard with the butt of the rifle. I heard Rebellion bought the cretins that developed this pile of manure. I hope they only bought them for organ transplants. Expand
Metascore
46

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 18
  2. Negative: 10 out of 18
  1. It is an exercise in immense frustration and painful tedium. When it works, and this feels a stupid sentence at this point, it does manifest the correct semiotic indicators of first-person shooting. You are mowing down literally hundreds of baddies with big metal guns. But that's it. And it isn't all that much.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    77
    Technically, the large swarms of bugs are impressive, but otherwise the game looks dated and sounds weak. The fun comes mainly from the game's respect of its source material. The boss fights are incredibly tedious, though. [Dec 2005]
  3. Starship Troopers has little dedication to faithfully re-creating the things that made the film unique, and it's a pretty lousy and technically deficient shooter to boot.