Starship Troopers Image
Metascore
46

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Starship Troopers introduces a terrifying assortment of enemy bugs for you to destroy, with an impressive range of weapons at your disposal, from the classic M2 Morita Rifle through to the infamous nuke launcher. Over 300 of your arachnid foe's can be tackled on screen at any given time.Starship Troopers introduces a terrifying assortment of enemy bugs for you to destroy, with an impressive range of weapons at your disposal, from the classic M2 Morita Rifle through to the infamous nuke launcher. Over 300 of your arachnid foe's can be tackled on screen at any given time. This has to be played to be believed! Become totally immersed in immense bug-blasting battles in both famous action-packed scenes from the movie and never-before-experienced settings and stories from the Starship Troopers universe. [Strangelite] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 18
  2. Negative: 10 out of 18
  1. The sheer intensity of the firefights in this game makes it worth the money, and given that it’s relatively inexpensive to pick up (you’re looking at a $30-$40 dent in your wallet), it’s worth the majority of that money.
  2. It's nice to see a publisher put in a little extra effort with the presentation of their product, which is rare these days.
  3. The cut-scenes add a nice touch to the storyline, and the nearly limitless number of enemy bugs; matched with their hard armor and aggressive behavior defiantly keep the game, if nothing else, interesting.
  4. 40
    At least the audio captures a bit of the enjoyably cornball feel of the film. The bugs and guns don't make much of an impression, but troops utter intentionally cheesy lines like, "I'm so bad I scare myself!"
  5. It is an exercise in immense frustration and painful tedium. When it works, and this feels a stupid sentence at this point, it does manifest the correct semiotic indicators of first-person shooting. You are mowing down literally hundreds of baddies with big metal guns. But that's it. And it isn't all that much.
  6. This videogame is a soulless, shambling zombie wreck. It is rife with bad graphics, AI, gameplay, voicework, plot (if it can even be said to have a plot), and weapons.
  7. In lieu of interesting situations, tactics, thrills, or simple variety, Starship Troopers coughs up a big greasy hairball of run-right-at-you enemies that never stop coming. [Mar 2006, p.55]

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 6 out of 9
  1. DannyNooney
    Aug 16, 2004
    9
    I give this game a nine becuase not that i am a huge SST fan but i have got to play a demo of it and also i have seen the trialer, this gameI give this game a nine becuase not that i am a huge SST fan but i have got to play a demo of it and also i have seen the trialer, this game could be the next HALO if you know what i mean. if you go to www.starshiptrooeprs-game.com you'll see what i mean. Expand
  2. AlessioP.
    Jul 27, 2007
    7
    The net has been very unjust to this game... in its way, its amazing. Graphic isnt that bad, and surely having LOTS of bugs around you gave The net has been very unjust to this game... in its way, its amazing. Graphic isnt that bad, and surely having LOTS of bugs around you gave the same impression of watching the movie. Sound makes his job... nothing exceptional, ok, but neither orrible. Gameplay is very fun... sure, enemies have no IA. They are bugs, remember? This is all about smashing tons and tons of bugs, wave after wave... the game never promised something else so you may like it or not, but its stupid to get angry if its not your type of game. I enjoyed ST... it really goes on smoothly: think at it like a casual game, only an FPS. If you have a powerfull enough pc and you play it at easy settings (very important this: only on easy the npc stays alive and give the felling of being part o a team), you'll enjoy it... and maybe youll replay it more than some FPS-masterpiece that request you to be focused all the time. I surely did it Expand
  3. EdoardoD.
    Jan 2, 2006
    5
    Good graphic and decent sound. Impressive number of enemies, maybe too many! The game is really frustrating and there no time to think about Good graphic and decent sound. Impressive number of enemies, maybe too many! The game is really frustrating and there no time to think about tactics. AI is very basic too. Collapse
  4. BobH.
    Nov 4, 2005
    3
    the game is bollox, no gamma, so gfx look bad, locked up needing reboot my top notch, super stable machine 3 times, bad bad bad, not QA done the game is bollox, no gamma, so gfx look bad, locked up needing reboot my top notch, super stable machine 3 times, bad bad bad, not QA done on this title at all, better get a patch out quick (and a patch that works, unlike the broken one at the moment). Expand
  5. Tech
    Jul 20, 2006
    3
    The only reason i gave this a 3 is cause the of the decent graphic. Friendly AI is simply horrible, some kind of system where you can command The only reason i gave this a 3 is cause the of the decent graphic. Friendly AI is simply horrible, some kind of system where you can command like in Half Life 2 would be better. The human models looks crap. The worst mission ever was when you were going to rescue that general. All he does is complain , why don't he do the job self then instead of sitting in a car! This game sucked. Expand
  6. D.M.
    Nov 6, 2005
    2
    a game that makes warhammer 40k fire warrior look good. stagnant gameplay & 'dumb' lead you by the hand maps inter spaced with a game that makes warhammer 40k fire warrior look good. stagnant gameplay & 'dumb' lead you by the hand maps inter spaced with carefully planned 'encounters' and clips from the original movie. a trully painful and horrible gaming experience. Expand
  7. MattN.
    Feb 21, 2006
    0
    Easily the worst FPS I've ever played and I've played a lot. Graphics are rubbish and they chug like a mofo and my machine plays Easily the worst FPS I've ever played and I've played a lot. Graphics are rubbish and they chug like a mofo and my machine plays everything from X3 to Farcry maxed out. The gameplay is extremely poor and it's just generally incredibly dull and ugly at every turn. Save yourself some time and throw your money straight down the toilet!! And whats up with the dude from Worthplaying who gave this 70 ?!?! Halflife 2 must have blown his mind. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews