Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 479 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The end is here. Life as you knew it has gone to hell after the mother of all zombie outbreaks. Now you and the few scattered survivors must band together to survive and rebuild in a 3rd-person action game set in a dynamic open world. You choose where to make your stand, designing andThe end is here. Life as you knew it has gone to hell after the mother of all zombie outbreaks. Now you and the few scattered survivors must band together to survive and rebuild in a 3rd-person action game set in a dynamic open world. You choose where to make your stand, designing and fortifying your home base, performing daring raids for food and ammunition, and rescuing other playable survivors with unique talents. The open, sandbox world develops in real-time, shaped by your actions, dynamically generating content based on your choices and the ever-increasing zombie threat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Feb 3, 2014
    90
    It might look dead on the outside, but the systemic mechanical genius of State of Decay is gloriously alive and kicking. [Feb 2014, p.82]
  2. Nov 15, 2013
    90
    It might be more of an ugly duckling than the console versions were, but this is still the zombie-survival game we've been waiting for all these years. It's not perfect, and sure as hell not an ageless beauty, but in breadth and depth utterly fresh and fully engaging. One of the most pleasant surprises of the year.
  3. Nov 13, 2013
    89
    The PC version of State of Decay brings all the exciting survival experience already seen on Xbox 360. While the content is basically the same, the game looks now better thanks to 1080p support and improved textures.
  4. Nov 23, 2013
    78
    It is a pity that you cannot fight together with others players against the zombie hordes. Because behind the sometimes ugly façade hides an interesting living (or dead) world in which you truly have to fight to survive.
  5. Nov 24, 2013
    75
    You get more than a simple head-basher. Instead, you have action, stealth, roleplaying, and even some light strategy that brings out the simulation in survival-sim. Your choices have weight. Zombies are deadly. The good guys don’t always win.
  6. Nov 24, 2013
    70
    State of Decay holds together like a rusty, duct-taped piece of DIY weaponry, but offers an unusual, open-world survival exercise that few other zombie titles can match.
  7. Dec 31, 2013
    63
    Stodgy combat, two-dimensional characters, and technical hitches prevent this from living up to its lofty premise. [Feb 2014, p.58]

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 143
  2. Negative: 31 out of 143
  1. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    Probably the best zombie survival game out there. It has almost everything right, and for a zombie fan, it is definitely 10/10. It's a mix ofProbably the best zombie survival game out there. It has almost everything right, and for a zombie fan, it is definitely 10/10. It's a mix of GTA, action rpg and house building/management. Exactly what was missing in the genre (of the zombies I mean)! To the date of the 1st November it works flawlessly with keyboard and mouse too. Expand
  2. Jan 20, 2014
    10
    This game is an absolute gem. I have sunk more than 400 hours into the game and still going strong.
    In an honest review, I need to mention
    This game is an absolute gem. I have sunk more than 400 hours into the game and still going strong.
    In an honest review, I need to mention the issues, that might put some people off, such as:
    - a persistent game world (when you log off, the simulation runs in the background - if you leave your survivors in good shape, likely no probs when you come back .. if there are bad relationships, depression and hunger, you might come back to a suicide, risen zombie, and deaths putting the zombie down - all while you were away!)
    - initially dodgy console port .. the game has come great strides since it's initial release, but it is basically an XBOX port which might annoy some people. Personally, I loathe consolitis and prefer dedicated PC games, but I've still taken great enjoyment from SoD regardless.
    - autosave feature - you cannot save your game, the game does it automatically, it's pretty much an ironman game all the way
    - permadeath - if you lose a survivor, they're gone .. RIP .. you have to recruit & train up new survivors
    - some gameplay bugs - not many that I can think of actually .. at first release there were some problems, now there's just a few weird issues, not unlike any game
    - cannot forward time - time flows at a rate of about 2 hours = 1 day, 1 hour = 1 night .. and you can't speed it up. Night time is more dangerous, you either have to wait it out or man up and get out there in the dark, son !
    Most of the above, I see as assets not liabilities. Anyway, if you like zombie games, survival games, or RPG games where you develop and defend a community .. don't look past this title. It really is awesome.
    There's room for improvement, sure, but the game is a diamond in the rough.
    Expand
  3. Dec 24, 2013
    9
    This game is nearly perfect if you want to play a zombie game. Heads explode, you get overwhelmed and die, and this is the first game thatThis game is nearly perfect if you want to play a zombie game. Heads explode, you get overwhelmed and die, and this is the first game that ever got me attached to a character. A character that doesn't actually matter. Death is permanent, it will just switch you out to the next character in your survival group.

    It's hard. Ammo is scarce. You must eat to survive. You must save people or you won't last long. The zombies will catch you and rip you apart. Firing a shotgun makes your butthole pucker, in the afraid way.

    The negative parts for me are only technical stuff that hopefully patches out. Pathing on NPCs sucks. They will get stuck in the ground on occasion and get themselves or you killed.
    Expand
  4. Dec 3, 2014
    8
    An interesting, quite entertaining game. I love the zombie setting so I found this game very enjoyable. The graphics were apropriate, theAn interesting, quite entertaining game. I love the zombie setting so I found this game very enjoyable. The graphics were apropriate, the animations quite nice though I have to say lip sync was rather bad. The missions were interesting- I quite liked the dynamic tasks mechanics. The largest fault I could find was the length- I was taking my time but I could probably burn through the main storyline in 5-6 hours which is a really low score. But I would recommend this game to the fans of zombies and GTA-style games. Expand
  5. Oct 6, 2014
    7
    I had a lot of fun playing this game once I got a trainer in place. It's indie fun with some strategy and brief story elements. NiceI had a lot of fun playing this game once I got a trainer in place. It's indie fun with some strategy and brief story elements. Nice assortment of game items (weapons and cars). The story mode missions stay active for awhile longer than most games of similar type. Some things could be better but definitely got my 30 dollars worth out of the game. Expand
  6. Nov 24, 2013
    5
    The game has it moments where you really feel the 'survivor experience', yet they are overshadowed by poor visuals, bugs, weak story andThe game has it moments where you really feel the 'survivor experience', yet they are overshadowed by poor visuals, bugs, weak story and repetitiveness. The game is in its released state is still in beta in my point of view. At it's price of 18,99 EU it's okay value as it does bring a lot of gameplay for your money. Yet I've not found myself interested enough to end the game. 5/10 a mediocre experience. Expand
  7. Oct 7, 2014
    0
    This game is just a defective port from console. Mechanics of the console causes suffering. Casual elements don allow to dive into theThis game is just a defective port from console. Mechanics of the console causes suffering. Casual elements don allow to dive into the atmosphere. I should not have bought it Expand

See all 143 User Reviews