Street Fighter IV PC

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 315 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 315

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    Jul 3, 2009
    10
    Wow! playing it at 1920x1200 is absolutely beautiful. at that resolution, anti-aliasing is unnecessary. if you have a decent system, amke sure the v-sync is turned unless you enjoy screen tearing. running at 60fps at TRUE HD rez is amazing. the pc version is the definitive top of the line version. easy to learn hard to master street fighter heaven!
  2. YermakirumY.
    Jul 6, 2009
    10
    Very good game.
  3. qurntinc.
    Oct 12, 2009
    10
    This is like the street fighter of old reborn! finally a fightning game on the pc that is worth a crap and isnt ported from the cheapest system its released on like alot of fighting games for pc. the characters are well done and well balanced. you have spammers here and there but if you can get around them with a CQ character (IE fei long, zangeif, abel) you can destroy any spammer. as This is like the street fighter of old reborn! finally a fightning game on the pc that is worth a crap and isnt ported from the cheapest system its released on like alot of fighting games for pc. the characters are well done and well balanced. you have spammers here and there but if you can get around them with a CQ character (IE fei long, zangeif, abel) you can destroy any spammer. as for the people that say the games look is "Cheesy" well you must be a realism whore. street fighter has ALWAYS looked like this its always been more of an art driven look than a realism look but none the less it looks amazing and the extra toutch option on the pc is amazing . as for controllers you can use ANY controller that is compatable with your system IMO 15 bucks isnt expensive and this is a FIGHTING GAME a controller would be nice SO GET ONE! playing with a keyboard takes getting used to but ive seen people do just as good if not better than people with a controller. and if the game is too hard for you then give it to someone who WILL enjoy it and STFU. Expand
  4. Lone
    Jul 16, 2009
    8
    At first I was turned off on the presentation when it was first announced but after awhile it grew on me. Smooth play, beautiful rendering and artwork, just a top notch effort even after almost 20 years of continuous Street Fighter productions. And hey, a great PC game to boot. I pretty much have to chuckle at the reviewer who gave this a '0' over online play and what they At first I was turned off on the presentation when it was first announced but after awhile it grew on me. Smooth play, beautiful rendering and artwork, just a top notch effort even after almost 20 years of continuous Street Fighter productions. And hey, a great PC game to boot. I pretty much have to chuckle at the reviewer who gave this a '0' over online play and what they experienced. I don't think you've played really any game in this genre. If you had you'd know they're all like this, online or not. Expand
  5. PhilipCoetzee
    Aug 19, 2009
    9
    This is the best most accessable Street Fighter yet, there aren't many fighting games on the PC and none as good as Street Fighter 4. The online gaming works well but make sure to only join games with at least 4 bars of "signal" (latency/ping) to get a smooth play.
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    SF4? do we even have to explain what is SF4? its the best 2-D fighting game ever... and its on PC! that is the only really good fighting game on PC! buy a copy and play it.
  7. ChrisB.
    Jan 12, 2010
    7
    Great Looking Grafik, better gameplay and all thene the console versions, but it's still the same like the f...ing snes version and so i give only 7 points, i really liked to see a new gameplay like tekken or something else ......
  8. JohnRobinson
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    Very polished game. No blood or gore, so in my books it is not too bad for kids as well as adults. My children and I enjoy challenging one another, and they just love beating Dad. Lots of fun, and the online component works very well. It's a great game and the developers deserve high praise.
  9. SeanL
    Sep 13, 2009
    9
    Have had the game for a lil over a week now this game is excellent as long as you have the hardware......or if you don't at least turn the settings down.....would've givent it a 10 but only flaw is the windows matchmaking abilitiy , don't get me wrong online is really fun but the matchups aren't fair if you're new you get paired up with someone who is WAY above youHave had the game for a lil over a week now this game is excellent as long as you have the hardware......or if you don't at least turn the settings down.....would've givent it a 10 but only flaw is the windows matchmaking abilitiy , don't get me wrong online is really fun but the matchups aren't fair if you're new you get paired up with someone who is WAY above you and get owned for the first 100 matches lol......anyways great buy , and too the guy who said the game sucks because you have to buy a controller or arcade stick to really play ......don't be a cheapskate! Expand
  10. JohnB
    Sep 23, 2009
    9
    I think it's safe to say that some of the complaints we see here are a result of a poor understanding of fighting games in general and in some cases, blatant misrepresentation. There are no such thing as 'hyper-combos' and Seth, the end boss of this game is par the course for Street Fighter titles in terms of difficulty. Arcade-mode on medium should not be a problem for I think it's safe to say that some of the complaints we see here are a result of a poor understanding of fighting games in general and in some cases, blatant misrepresentation. There are no such thing as 'hyper-combos' and Seth, the end boss of this game is par the course for Street Fighter titles in terms of difficulty. Arcade-mode on medium should not be a problem for anyone who doesn't completely suck. The complaints about peripherals are ridiculous, since all competitive fighters should be played with arcade sticks or at least a high-quality d-pad 6-button controller. This is par the course, particularly for a 2d fighting game, so blaming Capcom for this simple fact of fighting games is absurd and laughable. Expand
  11. MikeY
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    @ AJ D: You are partially correct, about Ryu and Ken, but it was never "always" about Akuma. Read up on the history of the characters based on the chronology of the game releases, not necessarily the story line as it now exists. Akuma's entire existence is heavily based on Capcom's response to massive reader feedback to an April Fool's gag that Electronic Gaming Monthly ran @ AJ D: You are partially correct, about Ryu and Ken, but it was never "always" about Akuma. Read up on the history of the characters based on the chronology of the game releases, not necessarily the story line as it now exists. Akuma's entire existence is heavily based on Capcom's response to massive reader feedback to an April Fool's gag that Electronic Gaming Monthly ran in one of their issues. They outlined a bogus method for fighting a "hidden" character named Sheng Long ("You must defeat Sheng Long to stand a chance"), who had extremely similar abilities to Akuma's. Even the manner in which the non-existent Sheng Long supposedly appeared in Street Fighter II was recreated with Akuma in Street Fighter Alpha: Warrior's Dreams. Capcom neither confirmed nor denied the existence of Sheng Long, as gamers were flocking to the arcades, sinking tons of quarters into their machines trying to unlock a character that didn't exist. Naturally, they opted to allow that to continue for a while... By the way... Street Fighter IV is the best of the series! Expand
  12. ElginMones
    Sep 23, 2009
    9
    Everybody knows how SF4 improves on everything that made SF2 a classic, so I won't belabor that point. I will instead address the poor online play. Lag has always been an issue with the console versions of this game, and the PC version is no different. The best matches are online (namely, in Championship mode), so don't get this game unless you have a good cable connection. IEverybody knows how SF4 improves on everything that made SF2 a classic, so I won't belabor that point. I will instead address the poor online play. Lag has always been an issue with the console versions of this game, and the PC version is no different. The best matches are online (namely, in Championship mode), so don't get this game unless you have a good cable connection. I can't dock this game much because of something that's partially Capcom's fault (i.e., poorly-written netcode) and partially the consumer's fault (i.e., having a slow connection, which is itself the result of stale competition and low infrastructure investment in the oligopolistic U.S. telecom industry). It's also a pain in the ass to find matches because you only see three search results at a time. The CPU opponents in Arcade mode are ridiculously easy, even at the highest difficulty, but it, Training mode, and Challenge mode are good for practice. Again, you won't know how good you really are until you go online. Expand
  13. Nov 3, 2010
    9
    I'm a long time SF fan. When this game came out, I just had to have it. I didn't expect it to be anything special. In fact, I was very skeptic about transfer to 3D. It turned out that I was worried for no reason. Unique 2D SF gameplay is perfectly executed in 3D graphics. CAPCOM used the very best mixture of fighting mechanics from previous SF titles (with main focus on SSF2T and SF3:ThirdI'm a long time SF fan. When this game came out, I just had to have it. I didn't expect it to be anything special. In fact, I was very skeptic about transfer to 3D. It turned out that I was worried for no reason. Unique 2D SF gameplay is perfectly executed in 3D graphics. CAPCOM used the very best mixture of fighting mechanics from previous SF titles (with main focus on SSF2T and SF3:Third Strike) and implemented them perfectly into SF4. Excellent for both old time fans and newbies to the series. The game appealed to me from the very start but only after playing it for month or two have I realized how great it really is. Once I mastered the Focus Attack (new universal technique) the game's true potential was finally revealed and I was very positively surprised to realize such ingame depth. Well done, CAPCOM. The gameplay is simple but offers wide variety of possibilities. Technically, this game deserves 10 but lack of more appealing new chars made me lower the grade. I believe that there's no need for so many Shotokan fighters (once you think about it, Sakura, Akuma and especially Dan are rather pointless addition to the roster. New chars could have taken their places). Gen has too complex fighting style to be useful, C. Viper has interesting design but that's all... Rufus, on the other hand, is pretty decent fighter but lacks appeal (which is probably why people don't select him so often) while Abel and Gouken are too slow and could use at least one more useful special move. Even with release of SSF4, CAPCOM has once again let me down regarding the new chars. On the plus side, characters are pretty balanced. Expand
  14. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    Hahahahaa to all those losers who gave Street Fighter 4 a bad rating because they suck at it , you make me laugh , i bet i could pummel you perfect in less than 15 seconds ......hahahaha ...... ok back to bussiness , the game is awsome and i love the new look on the characters but i do have to say that for me Third Strike's parryng system was better than Focus Attacks (have not forgottenHahahahaa to all those losers who gave Street Fighter 4 a bad rating because they suck at it , you make me laugh , i bet i could pummel you perfect in less than 15 seconds ......hahahaha ...... ok back to bussiness , the game is awsome and i love the new look on the characters but i do have to say that for me Third Strike's parryng system was better than Focus Attacks (have not forgotten the epic win by Daigo over Justin's defensive Chun-li parryng an entire super) but i still love this game and invite all of you to a match my gamer tag is the same as my nickname Expand
  15. JamesI
    Jan 1, 2010
    6
    This game was everything I expected and more and for a few minutes I couldn't believe what a bargain I got from Steam for only £7! It reminded me how a game can be remade and still keep the game play value. The only thing that I can not stand with this game is how hard the A.I. is! I went down the ranks and still haven't completed it on easy! You may well think I'm a This game was everything I expected and more and for a few minutes I couldn't believe what a bargain I got from Steam for only £7! It reminded me how a game can be remade and still keep the game play value. The only thing that I can not stand with this game is how hard the A.I. is! I went down the ranks and still haven't completed it on easy! You may well think I'm a noob but your opponent will always find a way to get their ultra combo's out on you! I've put this game to bed and got my SNES out for the time being. Would have rated 8 if it wasn't so damn hard! Expand
  16. Eugenioabc
    Jul 15, 2009
    10
    Since i bought this game, i thought it was a normal fighiting game... i have played it for 10 min and I LOVE IT!! the spectacular graphic and the unbelieveble online gameplay makes this game THE BEST in the fighting-games section! that's all folks!
  17. MashuD
    Jul 20, 2009
    10
    Definitely a great successor to the previous Street Fighter series, this game mixes tried-and-true fun with fresh game mechanics to create the perfect fighting game. Since the game is very easy to learn, but hard to master, everyone will have fun improving their skills!
  18. DaveK
    Aug 16, 2009
    2
    If you advertise a game for sale on the PC platform, you should assume that most people will be playing it with the peripherals generally associated with a PC and program your game accordingly. A game that is all but unplayable without an additional, expensive peripheral is, in my view, fatally flawed. The game gets a score of 2 because at least it looks pretty while failing rather If you advertise a game for sale on the PC platform, you should assume that most people will be playing it with the peripherals generally associated with a PC and program your game accordingly. A game that is all but unplayable without an additional, expensive peripheral is, in my view, fatally flawed. The game gets a score of 2 because at least it looks pretty while failing rather spectacularly to properly respond to your inputs. Expand
  19. JoshB
    Sep 7, 2009
    0
    This game has the cheapest CPU players ever. 99% of the fights in the game end up with the player being constantly thrown into a hyper combo. I've been playing for the past few hrs and cannot complete arcade on medium, I am not slouch at Fighting games either, DoA, Soul Calibur/Edge, Tekken, Melty Blood AC, All games I', good and at most if not all i can play through with almost This game has the cheapest CPU players ever. 99% of the fights in the game end up with the player being constantly thrown into a hyper combo. I've been playing for the past few hrs and cannot complete arcade on medium, I am not slouch at Fighting games either, DoA, Soul Calibur/Edge, Tekken, Melty Blood AC, All games I', good and at most if not all i can play through with almost all the charas on the highest difficulty with out much problem and still in enjoy it. but when i cant touch a character for fear of getting thrown and can't be to far away from a character with out being hit (C. Viper, Dhalsim) its not fun. Unless you are one of those weird fighting game freaks who have timed out the frames and have already dumped ur allowance for the year in the Arcade of the past SF games i'd stay away. Expand
  20. ElginM
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    SF IV for the PC is a masterpiece. The PC version improves upon the console versions with higher resolutions, visual filters, and Windows Live connectivity. I play this in WinXP with two Radeon 4850s in CrossFireX at 60+ FPS and no stability problems. I highly recommend you invest in a high quality joystick (such as the Hori Real Arcade Pro 3) because it truly enriches the experience. PC SF IV for the PC is a masterpiece. The PC version improves upon the console versions with higher resolutions, visual filters, and Windows Live connectivity. I play this in WinXP with two Radeon 4850s in CrossFireX at 60+ FPS and no stability problems. I highly recommend you invest in a high quality joystick (such as the Hori Real Arcade Pro 3) because it truly enriches the experience. PC gamers have always gotten the shaft as far as fighting games, but SF IV makes up for all those years of neglect. Expand
  21. JackH
    Jul 13, 2009
    0
    The worst fighting game i've ever played online. EVERYONE i've fought either picks Ken, Ryu, Akuma, or Sagat...No talent noobs picking the cheapest characters when you try to pick someone with skill like Cammy or E Honda, etc. No fun when you don't stand a chance against the cheapest characters. Unless you're one of the people that only picks one of the 4 The worst fighting game i've ever played online. EVERYONE i've fought either picks Ken, Ryu, Akuma, or Sagat...No talent noobs picking the cheapest characters when you try to pick someone with skill like Cammy or E Honda, etc. No fun when you don't stand a chance against the cheapest characters. Unless you're one of the people that only picks one of the 4 aforementioned characters that everyone else picks, don't waste your time. Expand
  22. LeoJ
    Sep 5, 2009
    4
    This game really isn't that good. Maximum cheesiness! The graphics are good but the characters look pretty stupid and the things they say are ridiculously dumb. The fighting pretty much sucks. It's not easy which is good and it can get pretty intense at times but really it's really nothing new and doesn't stand out as anything better than an old playstation 1 game... This game really isn't that good. Maximum cheesiness! The graphics are good but the characters look pretty stupid and the things they say are ridiculously dumb. The fighting pretty much sucks. It's not easy which is good and it can get pretty intense at times but really it's really nothing new and doesn't stand out as anything better than an old playstation 1 game... It's frustrating to see kicks magically pass through the opponent without any sign of contact. For comparison, Super smash bros wii is a much much much more enjoyable game and 1000x less cheesier even if you are fighting picachus and marios. Expand
  23. AdamB
    Dec 30, 2009
    3
    This doesn't beat out the games previously listed. A 2-Player fighter game can't compare to the awesome releases such as borderlands and Left 4 Dead 2.
  24. JimE
    Dec 22, 2009
    1
    Great intro, I really disliked the fact that a Microsoft Xbox Live login window popped up and told me my setting would not be saved unless I have a Live Xbox account. Capcom BIG mistake letting Microsoft's Xbox console login methods ruin your game.
  25. Oct 22, 2010
    4
    I liked this game till I realised that you can't play versus on a LAN. Versus only works when on-line unless you share the same PC which SUCKS.. The Graphics and Game play excellent which was exactly what I expected from a CAPCOM STREETFIGHTER Title.
  26. Dec 5, 2010
    2
    Unless you are a hardcore gamer, able to spend countless hours on this game and money for an excellent controller/PC, do not waste your money on this game. First the decors and characters: lifeless, you need a top end computer with an excellent graphic card to be able to play at the recommended 60 fps. If you are unable to hit the 60fps, you are heading for the gameplay troubled island.Unless you are a hardcore gamer, able to spend countless hours on this game and money for an excellent controller/PC, do not waste your money on this game. First the decors and characters: lifeless, you need a top end computer with an excellent graphic card to be able to play at the recommended 60 fps. If you are unable to hit the 60fps, you are heading for the gameplay troubled island. Gameplay: the difficulty is extremely poorly managed. Basically: unless you are able to pull the combos as the hardcore gamers, you wonâ Expand
  27. Feb 17, 2012
    2
    Wow, this game is terrible!! Fair enough i've only played it for about an hour, but that hour was enough to make the judgement. It's the same boring, jumping-about rubbish that put me off Street Fighter all those years ago. The only skill involved is in learning the ridiculously hard special moves, there's no fighting strategy that a game like, say, Tekken will give you. It's just jumpingWow, this game is terrible!! Fair enough i've only played it for about an hour, but that hour was enough to make the judgement. It's the same boring, jumping-about rubbish that put me off Street Fighter all those years ago. The only skill involved is in learning the ridiculously hard special moves, there's no fighting strategy that a game like, say, Tekken will give you. It's just jumping about and fireballs and occasionally trying to pull off some move that you've blistered your thumb trying to nail. I only bought this game to fill the fighting game shaped hole in my games collection ( i don't own a console by the way - if i did this probably wouldn't have got a second glance), sadly that hole is still there. If you like the shallow, fireball-fest that has always been Street Fighter then you'll probably like this as it has a lot of characters to play and looks pretty nice, but i need some depth to my combat and this is just too shallow. Expand
  28. AnonymousMC
    Jul 24, 2009
    0
    offline mode - little to no replay value.
    online mode - full of hackers, rage quitters, slow motion play, and gfwl (games for windows live) is a joke and you can't block trouble makers. pc version is an utter fail and i have already deleted this garbage off my system. console version is much much better.
  29. AJD
    Aug 10, 2009
    10
    Back to the old school. Updated graphics but old style play, I love it. Plays online (sadly through windows live) as well. The game has always been about Ken and Ryu, and by extension Sagat and Akuma. Not hard to beat them once you know what you are doing. (Fighting Streets for Turbo grafix only HAD ken and ryu.) A good buy if you like the series, a step back from the alpha releases. Back to the old school. Updated graphics but old style play, I love it. Plays online (sadly through windows live) as well. The game has always been about Ken and Ryu, and by extension Sagat and Akuma. Not hard to beat them once you know what you are doing. (Fighting Streets for Turbo grafix only HAD ken and ryu.) A good buy if you like the series, a step back from the alpha releases. (Which was needed.) A good nod to the up close characters as well, so Zangief is easier to win with than he used to be. Expand
  30. SeanA.
    Jul 13, 2009
    10
    Street Fighter IV finally hits the PC. With support for any controller you want to use, a vast array a graphical options and improvements, all very well optimized, whats not to like about this PC release of one of the most well known fighting franchises. Depth, challenge and competitiveness is ofcourse identical to the console versions, so you can read one of the many existing reviews for Street Fighter IV finally hits the PC. With support for any controller you want to use, a vast array a graphical options and improvements, all very well optimized, whats not to like about this PC release of one of the most well known fighting franchises. Depth, challenge and competitiveness is ofcourse identical to the console versions, so you can read one of the many existing reviews for better insight into the gameplay. Expand
  31. KabouterW
    Nov 12, 2009
    2
    This game is as slow as thick poo through a funnel. I bet the 90+ ratings come from mag-reviewers with monster PC's at their office. I had too turn off almost all of the graphics on my brand new dual-core AMD with 2GB of memory and a
  32. Aug 11, 2012
    7
    Although it's nice to see this game being released on PC as well as the consoles, the PC version unfortunately has more problems. The game is laggy on both PS3 and Xbox 360 versions, but on PC it's simply unacceptable amount of lag. The graphics don't look far different either. The biggest problem however is that you need the disc to play if you bought a retail version. Really, there's noAlthough it's nice to see this game being released on PC as well as the consoles, the PC version unfortunately has more problems. The game is laggy on both PS3 and Xbox 360 versions, but on PC it's simply unacceptable amount of lag. The graphics don't look far different either. The biggest problem however is that you need the disc to play if you bought a retail version. Really, there's no reason to buy this over Arcade Edition as that game has no problems at all; unless you find this much cheaper and/or haven't played Street Fighter IV before. Personally I think it's worth getting even if you have played it just for the achievements, or if you want to go back and do the game again. It's still a good game nevertheless so don't be put off buying it. Expand
  33. Jan 13, 2013
    6
    As one of my friends said, "Street Fighter is really fun to play. But lacks enough content for me to even consider putting £40 on it. I really like the fighting though."
  34. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    The king of fighting games. Nothing compares to the depth, mechanics and meta game of SF4.
    Best of the best. A game with millions of fans. Inspiring people to get better and to know more and study it.
    Never gets boring. 10/10
  35. Mar 22, 2015
    10
    Street Fighter IV is a 2D fighting style/arcade game voted the number one game released by Capcom, taking place several months after street fighter II, After M.Bison's survival from his encounter with Akuma, the S.I.N. corporation began another fighting tournament in order to draw out the most powerful fighters on Earth to complete the BLECE project.
  36. May 27, 2015
    8
    Literal garbage

    m;l,l;k,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,k,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. After years of absence on PC, Street Fighter comes back to PC with a flawless version of this outstanding fighting game. SF IV is a well balanced, fun and an easy to play but hard to master game, but the compatible version adds some welcome visual changes and a fantastic performance in a huge variety of systems.
  2. Street Fighter IV makes difficult things look easy, and achieves one of the best fighting games in this generation. Apparently simple but plenty of possibilities, this game is accessible and deep at the same time: Capcom presses the right button once again.
  3. Street Fighter IV is the perfect heir of the Capcom saga. It is a great recreation of the original's spirit, its unbeatable gameplay and the near infinite online mode make it the best fighting game of this generation.