Street Fighter IV Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 310 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: At the completion of the second World Warrior Tournament, the Shadaloo crime syndicate was left in ruins, its grandmasters defeated and scattered to the winds. Now, the mysterious Seth, CEO of the S.I.N. Corporation, has set up yet another tournament and invited a blend of old friends andAt the completion of the second World Warrior Tournament, the Shadaloo crime syndicate was left in ruins, its grandmasters defeated and scattered to the winds. Now, the mysterious Seth, CEO of the S.I.N. Corporation, has set up yet another tournament and invited a blend of old friends and new faces to battle again for the title of the world's strongest. With 25 characters (including the original 12 street fighters), a blend of 2D and 3D graphics, and the new focus-attack system, Street Fighter has returned with a vengeance. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. After years of absence on PC, Street Fighter comes back to PC with a flawless version of this outstanding fighting game. SF IV is a well balanced, fun and an easy to play but hard to master game, but the compatible version adds some welcome visual changes and a fantastic performance in a huge variety of systems.
  2. Street Fighter IV on the PC is easily the best version of the game and a must-buy for a fighting game enthusiast, yet not too harsh introduction to a newbie either. The only downside? Arcade style joystick effectively mandatory, driving up the total price of admission.
  3. There is so much depth to this game it's almost obscene! You'll likely be playing this title for years to come.
  4. Robust and challenging single-player modes, strong online multiplayer, and gorgeous visuals make this a must-have for any fighter fan.
  5. Street Fighter IV can be spirit crushingly hard in single player mode. [Aug 2009, p.98]
  6. It's instantly familiar but with enough innovation to interest fighting game fanatics willing to dig a little deeper. It would be a stretch to say the PC version is the definitive version – yes the graphics can be better, but not significantly so.
  7. Street Fighter 4 is definitely the best fighting game on PC since Guilty Gear #XX Reload. (Which is kind of ironic, because other offerings on this platform are shareware titles and certified trash.) However, the stagnation in the genre does not depreciate Capcom’s merits. Street Fighter 4 is a fast, beautiful game with an intricate combat system and a great soundtrack.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 36
  2. Negative: 11 out of 36
  1. Eugenioabc
    Jul 15, 2009
    10
    Since i bought this game, i thought it was a normal fighiting game... i have played it for 10 min and I LOVE IT!! the spectacular graphic and Since i bought this game, i thought it was a normal fighiting game... i have played it for 10 min and I LOVE IT!! the spectacular graphic and the unbelieveble online gameplay makes this game THE BEST in the fighting-games section! that's all folks! Expand
  2. [Anonymous]
    Jul 3, 2009
    10
    Wow! playing it at 1920x1200 is absolutely beautiful. at that resolution, anti-aliasing is unnecessary. if you have a decent system, amke Wow! playing it at 1920x1200 is absolutely beautiful. at that resolution, anti-aliasing is unnecessary. if you have a decent system, amke sure the v-sync is turned unless you enjoy screen tearing. running at 60fps at TRUE HD rez is amazing. the pc version is the definitive top of the line version. easy to learn hard to master street fighter heaven! Expand
  3. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    Hahahahaa to all those losers who gave Street Fighter 4 a bad rating because they suck at it , you make me laugh , i bet i could pummel youHahahahaa to all those losers who gave Street Fighter 4 a bad rating because they suck at it , you make me laugh , i bet i could pummel you perfect in less than 15 seconds ......hahahaha ...... ok back to bussiness , the game is awsome and i love the new look on the characters but i do have to say that for me Third Strike's parryng system was better than Focus Attacks (have not forgotten the epic win by Daigo over Justin's defensive Chun-li parryng an entire super) but i still love this game and invite all of you to a match my gamer tag is the same as my nickname Expand
  4. SeanL
    Sep 13, 2009
    9
    Have had the game for a lil over a week now this game is excellent as long as you have the hardware......or if you don't at least turnHave had the game for a lil over a week now this game is excellent as long as you have the hardware......or if you don't at least turn the settings down.....would've givent it a 10 but only flaw is the windows matchmaking abilitiy , don't get me wrong online is really fun but the matchups aren't fair if you're new you get paired up with someone who is WAY above you and get owned for the first 100 matches lol......anyways great buy , and too the guy who said the game sucks because you have to buy a controller or arcade stick to really play ......don't be a cheapskate! Expand
  5. Aug 11, 2012
    7
    Although it's nice to see this game being released on PC as well as the consoles, the PC version unfortunately has more problems. The game isAlthough it's nice to see this game being released on PC as well as the consoles, the PC version unfortunately has more problems. The game is laggy on both PS3 and Xbox 360 versions, but on PC it's simply unacceptable amount of lag. The graphics don't look far different either. The biggest problem however is that you need the disc to play if you bought a retail version. Really, there's no reason to buy this over Arcade Edition as that game has no problems at all; unless you find this much cheaper and/or haven't played Street Fighter IV before. Personally I think it's worth getting even if you have played it just for the achievements, or if you want to go back and do the game again. It's still a good game nevertheless so don't be put off buying it. Expand
  6. LeoJ
    Sep 5, 2009
    4
    This game really isn't that good. Maximum cheesiness! The graphics are good but the characters look pretty stupid and the things they This game really isn't that good. Maximum cheesiness! The graphics are good but the characters look pretty stupid and the things they say are ridiculously dumb. The fighting pretty much sucks. It's not easy which is good and it can get pretty intense at times but really it's really nothing new and doesn't stand out as anything better than an old playstation 1 game... It's frustrating to see kicks magically pass through the opponent without any sign of contact. For comparison, Super smash bros wii is a much much much more enjoyable game and 1000x less cheesier even if you are fighting picachus and marios. Expand
  7. JackH
    Jul 13, 2009
    0
    The worst fighting game i've ever played online. EVERYONE i've fought either picks Ken, Ryu, Akuma, or Sagat...No talent noobs The worst fighting game i've ever played online. EVERYONE i've fought either picks Ken, Ryu, Akuma, or Sagat...No talent noobs picking the cheapest characters when you try to pick someone with skill like Cammy or E Honda, etc. No fun when you don't stand a chance against the cheapest characters. Unless you're one of the people that only picks one of the 4 aforementioned characters that everyone else picks, don't waste your time. Expand

See all 36 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Games of 2009

    The Best Games of 2009 Image
    Published: December 9, 2009
    Metacritic's Best of 2009 coverage kicks off with Games. We reveal the best-reviewed games of 2009, and rank the performance of each game platform for the year.