Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 40
  2. Negative: 3 out of 40
  1. Feb 1, 2013
    87
    Any minor complaint is overshadowed by everything Strike Suit Zero does right. But the best part of it was reminding me how good these space sims were, and how good they can be. If my thirteen-year-old self had found this game, he would have had his eyes glued his computer monitor for days.
  2. Apr 16, 2014
    80
    In conclusion, as a small downloadable title there is much to like about Strike Suit Zero; its story is interesting if awkwardly told, and its gameplay is finely-tuned and worth revisiting.
  3. Feb 8, 2013
    80
    Strike Suit Zero borrows a lot from its predecessors, including an uneven difficulty curve, but it gets more right than wrong and the art direction and music are superb. For $20 its a AAA-looking game at a bargain price. Not too shabby for an indie studio's first game.
  4. Jan 31, 2013
    80
    Strike Suit Zero isn't a game for the faint-hearted. Strike Suit Zero is tough. Really tough. And while it's this challenge that makes it such a compelling space shooter, it's the very same thing that will drive away players in hordes.
  5. Jan 23, 2013
    80
    Strike Suit Zero is as challenging as funny, and it's one of the reasons why you should love Kickstarter.
  6. Jan 22, 2013
    80
    A very fresh option, which is even better taking into account there are not too many games like this in the current market. Yes, it's not perfect, but we'll find so much action, and so many spectacular battles that we'll quickly forget about those minor issues.
  7. Feb 1, 2013
    78
    Certainly, Strike Suit Zero suffers from some flaws, but it is a challenging and funny space combat game.
  8. Feb 11, 2013
    75
    Strike Suit Zero has got some issues that keep it from being a must-buy, even for genre aficionados. It still is a pretty good game, with several highs and a good degree of challenge. There's also some replayability, even though it's tampered by the repetitive mission design.
  9. Jan 25, 2013
    75
    With better targeting, and less mentally sub-normal allies, I could very well find myself in Heaven. Until then, Strike Suit Zero will undoubtedly help you scratch that space combat sim itch you must have by now.
  10. Jan 24, 2013
    75
    Strike Suit Zero's thrilling combat and awe-inspiring world make space combat feel like a relevant genre after years of stagnation.
  11. Jan 22, 2013
    75
    Noticeably repetitious levels and bad storytelling can't overshadow the awesome feeling of piloting the Strike Suit, and simulation fans and less-hardcore players alike will find plenty to like in Strike Suit Zero.
  12. Jan 24, 2013
    74
    A superb spacial spectacle, with a great style and sense of scale. The combat is fast, fluid and enjoyable, but the structure of the game and its poor checkpoint placement can tire and frustrate the player. Great experience if you have the patience for it.
  13. Feb 3, 2013
    72
    A solid title, a Kickstarter success story. Unfortunately, owing to a forgettable story, uninspiring missions, some wonky combat mechanics and the infrequent crash, it will not win any GOTY awards.
  14. Jan 23, 2013
    72
    Strike Suit Zero is far too concentrated on bringing back the old feeling of 90s space sims to try anything fundamentally new. While still being a enjoyable trip down memory lane for any fan of those excellent games of old, it fails to trump its progenitors in almost every regard.
  15. Jan 22, 2013
    71
    A fairly solid space shooter with a few niggles but worth it if you're a fan of the genre.
  16. Mar 7, 2013
    70
    If you want to spend a night out with FreeSpace 2 in a slinky red dress, this is your game. Just don't expect thrilling dinner conversation. [March 2013, p.84]
  17. Feb 5, 2013
    70
    Strike Suit Zero is a decent space combat sim but the strike suit angle feels forced and ungainly, and the game misses on a few too many important points to be a true contender for the crown.
  18. Feb 5, 2013
    70
    Strike Suit Zero also fills the void of a genre that has long been forgotten on the PC, and maybe with the interest in this game, we will see the genre flourish once again in the near future.
  19. Feb 1, 2013
    70
    Mechs, tons of missiles and a good level of difficulty, make Strike Suit Zero a game that should be played by space shooter fans. Unfortunately it have some technical issues and bad controls too.
  20. Jan 30, 2013
    70
    The game's biggest problem, however, is the reliance on some of the very worst gaming tropes. Challenging is good, and I'm willing to argue it's not even a disaster when you can plainly feel the game cheating in the AI's favor (I'm looking your way, Civilization series). But missions that come down to either memorizing patterns or to simple luck are excruciating.
  21. Jan 29, 2013
    70
    Even though the devs go overboard with the difficulty at times, what we have here is a well-playing space action game that will bring back fond memories for everyone who grew up on the classics of the genre. If you've got a soft spot for those and can deal with occasionally frustrating missions, this is well worth your time and money.
  22. Jan 23, 2013
    70
    It may not be the all-consuming space sim we're all hungry for, but it's still a tasty space combat morsel that every armchair pilot should take a look at.
  23. Jan 22, 2013
    70
    Freespace 2 this is not, but even with its frustrations, Strike Suit Zero is an anime inspired shooter with its balls against at least two walls. It's dumb, possibly dumber than it intends, but it's also the kind of action you're not going to feel bad for enjoying.
  24. Jan 27, 2013
    69
    The core game works surprisingly well, the dynamic space battles make for some great moments - and what a sublime feeling it is, if one has been bitten again.
  25. Mar 5, 2013
    65
    Although first impressions are good, it soon becomes obvious that the ‘simulation’ is shallow, there’s too much chaos and the mech controls are not intuitive. [CD-Action 03/2013, p.60]
  26. Feb 20, 2013
    65
    Strike Suit Zero is a good game that shows that Kickstarter can be used with profit. Unfortunately the game does not come close to the classic of the genre.
  27. 65
    It looks and sounds the part with excellent visuals and a stirring soundtrack, and has competent gameplay mechanics, but it misses the mark with repetitive missions, a poorly developed story, and a fair bit of roughness around the edges.
  28. Feb 2, 2013
    65
    Strike Suit Zero is a collection of excellent mechanics and ideas marred by unfriendly level design and bad pacing.
  29. Jan 28, 2013
    65
    For its budget and decidedly indie status, maybe that's a bit of a harsh criticism of Strike Suit Zero, but the feeling of repetition was overwhelmingly strong as I made my way through the latter half of the game.
  30. Feb 1, 2013
    62
    Intuitive and accessible but also repetitive, SSZ is a flight combat game that trades on tradition rather than imagination.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 147 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 60
  2. Negative: 11 out of 60
  1. Jan 24, 2013
    4
    Backed this on Kickstarter. Thought it might tide me over a bit until Star Citizen is released... it has failed to do so even in the first 2 days.

    I come from the Wing Commander / X-Wing / Tie-Fighter / Freespace 2 ilk. I know what a difficult game is. I used to get so frustrated with X-Wings save game system, where my character's progression would be permanently lost on a failed mission (and being picked up by the empire), that I used to "backup" my saved game file at the end of each mission to a floppy to keep it safe! The difficulty of those games, introduced some frustration, but when you actually passed the missions, you knew that it was mainly down to your improved skill as a space fighter pilot and it was immensely satisfying. Strike Suit Zero is difficult... stupidly difficult... "I want to chainsaw my PC in two kinda difficult". When I do eventually pass some of the tougher missions... I don't feel a sense of progression and achievement... I feel like I just want to get the game over with so I can see the probable disappointing ending and just be done with the game!

    I feel so deflated, as this game really had the potential to be incredible, but ended up falling way short. The graphics are pretty decent, in terms of the ship models at least. The space background "vista's" are indeed pretty, but they're absolutely STATIC! I thought that Born Ready Games wanted our KickStarter money to apply all the necessary layers of polish to really make the game shine!? The menu UI feels lacklustre, the HUD elements look tacked on, like some ASCII / ASSEMBLER developer designed them in his spare time. The upgrades are attained by very "arcadey" means... i.e. "Kill x frigates" to get energy upgrade. I don't think I suck at the game, but I'm on level 10 and I have only achieved 2 of the upgrades so far. I'm beginning to think that the upgrades are essential for later levels, as I'm on mission 10 and hopelessly stuck... having tried it over 10 times! The mission designs are HORRIBLE! They're BASED on the assumption that you WILL die, and therefore at those check points you will be restored with full health and full missiles to have a better attempt at making it through the mission. What a terribly lazy mechanic for mission progression, either that or I just suck at the game... but I don't think so, I'm no Luke Skywalker, but I've shot my fair share of Womp Rats with my T-16 back home. I simply have no more motivation to continue playing the game. It has beaten me into submission like a cotton-field slave master and I've simply had enough...

    Argh... I'm ranting now, I'll leave it there. Born Ready Games? Strike Suit Zero is more reminiscent of something stillborn. So much hope and expectation for it's entry into the world, but unfortunately all it brought with it, is heartache and tears.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    8
    Really good fun - pretty standard space shooter but its been a while since one came around I actually enjoyed! A little light on the story and pretty simple if nice graphics and sound - but hey, its cheap and its fun! Full Review »
  3. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    The leaves maybe a little repetitive but the game-play just blows that away. I do not know what all the other reviews mean when there say its frustrating because I am not finding that. The game is a good challenge and if you are looking for a Nostalgia kick or a good space sim this is the game for you. Full Review »