Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 40
  2. Negative: 3 out of 40
  1. Feb 1, 2013
    78
    Certainly, Strike Suit Zero suffers from some flaws, but it is a challenging and funny space combat game.
  2. 65
    It looks and sounds the part with excellent visuals and a stirring soundtrack, and has competent gameplay mechanics, but it misses the mark with repetitive missions, a poorly developed story, and a fair bit of roughness around the edges.
  3. Mar 5, 2013
    65
    Although first impressions are good, it soon becomes obvious that the ‘simulation’ is shallow, there’s too much chaos and the mech controls are not intuitive. [CD-Action 03/2013, p.60]
  4. Apr 16, 2014
    80
    In conclusion, as a small downloadable title there is much to like about Strike Suit Zero; its story is interesting if awkwardly told, and its gameplay is finely-tuned and worth revisiting.
  5. Feb 5, 2013
    70
    Strike Suit Zero also fills the void of a genre that has long been forgotten on the PC, and maybe with the interest in this game, we will see the genre flourish once again in the near future.
  6. Jan 25, 2013
    75
    With better targeting, and less mentally sub-normal allies, I could very well find myself in Heaven. Until then, Strike Suit Zero will undoubtedly help you scratch that space combat sim itch you must have by now.
  7. Jan 22, 2013
    40
    Strike Suit Zero feels very much like a product of the time when space combat games flourished on PC. Your enjoyment will greatly depend on whether you think of that as praise or a condemnation.
  8. Jan 24, 2013
    60
    Like its titular star, the game tends to transform, flipping from triumphant to frustrating, and back again.
  9. Jan 23, 2013
    30
    I wouldn't give Strike Suit Zero to my dog - and he can't even play video games.
  10. Jan 29, 2013
    70
    Even though the devs go overboard with the difficulty at times, what we have here is a well-playing space action game that will bring back fond memories for everyone who grew up on the classics of the genre. If you've got a soft spot for those and can deal with occasionally frustrating missions, this is well worth your time and money.
  11. Feb 1, 2013
    60
    Strike Suit Zero is a well crafted and frenetic space shooter, but is spoiled by a certain repetitiveness of the missions and a predictable storyline.
  12. Feb 20, 2013
    65
    Strike Suit Zero is a good game that shows that Kickstarter can be used with profit. Unfortunately the game does not come close to the classic of the genre.
  13. Jan 23, 2013
    70
    It may not be the all-consuming space sim we're all hungry for, but it's still a tasty space combat morsel that every armchair pilot should take a look at.
  14. Jan 24, 2013
    60
    The space in Strike Suit Zero is visually stunning, and its gameplay is nervous and terribly enjoyable... but when you finally take your marks with it, the game ends abruptly and leaves you with the impression of having played a long tutorial. The scoring system is a good way to have more, but we could have eaten twice without hesitation.
  15. Jan 30, 2013
    70
    The game's biggest problem, however, is the reliance on some of the very worst gaming tropes. Challenging is good, and I'm willing to argue it's not even a disaster when you can plainly feel the game cheating in the AI's favor (I'm looking your way, Civilization series). But missions that come down to either memorizing patterns or to simple luck are excruciating.
  16. Feb 11, 2013
    60
    An audiovisually and musically impressive shoot 'em up with a space rocket that alters into the ultimate space transformer. However, the rest that would make the game better than your above average title is badly missing.
  17. Jan 24, 2013
    75
    Strike Suit Zero's thrilling combat and awe-inspiring world make space combat feel like a relevant genre after years of stagnation.
  18. Jan 22, 2013
    70
    Freespace 2 this is not, but even with its frustrations, Strike Suit Zero is an anime inspired shooter with its balls against at least two walls. It's dumb, possibly dumber than it intends, but it's also the kind of action you're not going to feel bad for enjoying.
  19. Jan 22, 2013
    60
    Even though it borrows heavily from past games, SSZ tries to be more than just a rehashing of an old genre. Its inclusion of a multiple-objective system adds difficulty and depth to its missions, even if they do get repetitive and tiresome at times. Piloting the Strike Suit, however, is the highlight of the game and the reason why you'll want to play it.
  20. Jan 27, 2013
    69
    The core game works surprisingly well, the dynamic space battles make for some great moments - and what a sublime feeling it is, if one has been bitten again.
  21. Jan 28, 2013
    65
    For its budget and decidedly indie status, maybe that's a bit of a harsh criticism of Strike Suit Zero, but the feeling of repetition was overwhelmingly strong as I made my way through the latter half of the game.
  22. Jan 28, 2013
    58
    It won't blow your favorites in the genre out of the water, but it'll satisfy an itch you might not have realized existed.
  23. Feb 8, 2013
    80
    Strike Suit Zero borrows a lot from its predecessors, including an uneven difficulty curve, but it gets more right than wrong and the art direction and music are superb. For $20 its a AAA-looking game at a bargain price. Not too shabby for an indie studio's first game.
  24. Feb 1, 2013
    87
    Any minor complaint is overshadowed by everything Strike Suit Zero does right. But the best part of it was reminding me how good these space sims were, and how good they can be. If my thirteen-year-old self had found this game, he would have had his eyes glued his computer monitor for days.
  25. Feb 3, 2013
    72
    A solid title, a Kickstarter success story. Unfortunately, owing to a forgettable story, uninspiring missions, some wonky combat mechanics and the infrequent crash, it will not win any GOTY awards.
  26. Jan 22, 2013
    75
    Noticeably repetitious levels and bad storytelling can't overshadow the awesome feeling of piloting the Strike Suit, and simulation fans and less-hardcore players alike will find plenty to like in Strike Suit Zero.
  27. Feb 11, 2013
    75
    Strike Suit Zero has got some issues that keep it from being a must-buy, even for genre aficionados. It still is a pretty good game, with several highs and a good degree of challenge. There's also some replayability, even though it's tampered by the repetitive mission design.
  28. Jan 22, 2013
    71
    A fairly solid space shooter with a few niggles but worth it if you're a fan of the genre.
  29. Jan 24, 2013
    74
    A superb spacial spectacle, with a great style and sense of scale. The combat is fast, fluid and enjoyable, but the structure of the game and its poor checkpoint placement can tire and frustrate the player. Great experience if you have the patience for it.
  30. Jan 24, 2013
    40
    A beautiful-looking space combat sim with many fine ideas… all of which are almost ruined by horrendous difficultly spikes and the galaxy's stupidest spaceship pilots.
  31. Jan 23, 2013
    80
    Strike Suit Zero is as challenging as funny, and it's one of the reasons why you should love Kickstarter.
  32. Feb 1, 2013
    62
    Intuitive and accessible but also repetitive, SSZ is a flight combat game that trades on tradition rather than imagination.
  33. Jan 23, 2013
    72
    Strike Suit Zero is far too concentrated on bringing back the old feeling of 90s space sims to try anything fundamentally new. While still being a enjoyable trip down memory lane for any fan of those excellent games of old, it fails to trump its progenitors in almost every regard.
  34. Jun 10, 2013
    60
    I’m under the impression that Strike Suit Zero’s developers paid attention to aspects of the game that, although important, like graphics, music, presentation, were not the truly essential ones- thus leaving important elements, like gameplay, A.I and action, to chance. [March 2013]
  35. Mar 7, 2013
    70
    If you want to spend a night out with FreeSpace 2 in a slinky red dress, this is your game. Just don't expect thrilling dinner conversation. [March 2013, p.84]
  36. Feb 2, 2013
    65
    Strike Suit Zero is a collection of excellent mechanics and ideas marred by unfriendly level design and bad pacing.
  37. Feb 1, 2013
    70
    Mechs, tons of missiles and a good level of difficulty, make Strike Suit Zero a game that should be played by space shooter fans. Unfortunately it have some technical issues and bad controls too.
  38. Jan 31, 2013
    80
    Strike Suit Zero isn't a game for the faint-hearted. Strike Suit Zero is tough. Really tough. And while it's this challenge that makes it such a compelling space shooter, it's the very same thing that will drive away players in hordes.
  39. Feb 5, 2013
    70
    Strike Suit Zero is a decent space combat sim but the strike suit angle feels forced and ungainly, and the game misses on a few too many important points to be a true contender for the crown.
  40. Jan 22, 2013
    80
    A very fresh option, which is even better taking into account there are not too many games like this in the current market. Yes, it's not perfect, but we'll find so much action, and so many spectacular battles that we'll quickly forget about those minor issues.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 153 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 60
  2. Negative: 11 out of 60
  1. Jan 24, 2013
    4
    Backed this on Kickstarter. Thought it might tide me over a bit until Star Citizen is released... it has failed to do so even in the first 2 days.

    I come from the Wing Commander / X-Wing / Tie-Fighter / Freespace 2 ilk. I know what a difficult game is. I used to get so frustrated with X-Wings save game system, where my character's progression would be permanently lost on a failed mission (and being picked up by the empire), that I used to "backup" my saved game file at the end of each mission to a floppy to keep it safe! The difficulty of those games, introduced some frustration, but when you actually passed the missions, you knew that it was mainly down to your improved skill as a space fighter pilot and it was immensely satisfying. Strike Suit Zero is difficult... stupidly difficult... "I want to chainsaw my PC in two kinda difficult". When I do eventually pass some of the tougher missions... I don't feel a sense of progression and achievement... I feel like I just want to get the game over with so I can see the probable disappointing ending and just be done with the game!

    I feel so deflated, as this game really had the potential to be incredible, but ended up falling way short. The graphics are pretty decent, in terms of the ship models at least. The space background "vista's" are indeed pretty, but they're absolutely STATIC! I thought that Born Ready Games wanted our KickStarter money to apply all the necessary layers of polish to really make the game shine!? The menu UI feels lacklustre, the HUD elements look tacked on, like some ASCII / ASSEMBLER developer designed them in his spare time. The upgrades are attained by very "arcadey" means... i.e. "Kill x frigates" to get energy upgrade. I don't think I suck at the game, but I'm on level 10 and I have only achieved 2 of the upgrades so far. I'm beginning to think that the upgrades are essential for later levels, as I'm on mission 10 and hopelessly stuck... having tried it over 10 times! The mission designs are HORRIBLE! They're BASED on the assumption that you WILL die, and therefore at those check points you will be restored with full health and full missiles to have a better attempt at making it through the mission. What a terribly lazy mechanic for mission progression, either that or I just suck at the game... but I don't think so, I'm no Luke Skywalker, but I've shot my fair share of Womp Rats with my T-16 back home. I simply have no more motivation to continue playing the game. It has beaten me into submission like a cotton-field slave master and I've simply had enough...

    Argh... I'm ranting now, I'll leave it there. Born Ready Games? Strike Suit Zero is more reminiscent of something stillborn. So much hope and expectation for it's entry into the world, but unfortunately all it brought with it, is heartache and tears.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 27, 2013
    5
    I really want to love Strike Suit Zero.. I really do.. But I just can't. The first few missions are okay and the story isn't that complex but then again why should it? It's an arcade shooter. The soundtrack is great and I've spent quite the time listening to it.

    But the game itself. There are so many tiny problems in it that it makes me think that the dev team didn't even make a test on the gameplay itself because it's very VERY annoying at times. I'll try to list some:

    Your allies are incompetent. If you get a mission to destroy a cruiser, your allies are incompetent of making it possible for you to do it. Meaning that there's a swarm of interceptors flying around you at all times. You cannot target them using the "Target Closest" -keybind because that bind ALLWAYS targets mission objectives first.

    The camera thrashes and crashes around every time you get shot. That means it thrashes and crashes around all the time! If you ask me, it would had been better if your vision wasn't obstructed by this when you still have any shield left.

    Enemy accuracy is pinpoint. The guys on these railguns sure did play alot of instagib Q3 judging by the way how good shots they are. This doesn't apply only on capital ship guns but regular enemies as well.

    Line of sight is VERY limited. You can't see **** The game doesn't tell you from what direction you are shot at from or who is shooting at you. These small pieces of information would make it much less frustrating. I would also like a small flashing light in the UI if someone is targetting me.

    Checkpoint placing is horrible. There is a mission where you first have to destroy multiple corvettes, then wipe off interceptors, then defend your capital ship from two cruisers and destroy them and THEN go against a huge carrier. This all takes some time and if you die in the last part you gotta do the whole thing again.

    Strike Mode is useful when you need firepower but it's slow as hell and the dashing doesn't help you evade anything except missiles. In Strike Mode you can hover still in the air, but in Pursuit Mode you can't stay put. Ship handling is horrible. Your craft turns as if it was a tank and the enemy craft seem to be alot more agile than you are.

    You are constantly moving forward. You have brakes though but they don't stop you. I thought it would be possible to turn off your engines and let your craft hover onward while you are targetting something else but no. You are allways moving into the direction you are aming which usually makes destroying stationary objects impossible

    I like the game. The setting, the crafts, the graphics.. It's just these things that make me lose my mind. I really REALLY want to play this game alot and I do but I allways end up being angry.

    TL;DR: Lots of good ideas but just as many bad parts. I've played worse games with higher price.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    Soundtrack is phenomenal, the graphics are great, the backdrops (while static) are absolutely amazing. The voice acting reminds me of BSG characters, and the gameplay is absolutely addictive. I haven't been this pulled in by a flight shooter in a long time. The only other game I can think of is Descent 2. The original H.A.W.X. comes to mind, as well (in terms of fun).

    Don't listen to the haters who can't handle the difficulty curve. The game isn't buggy, it's not unpolished, the UI isn't terrible (in fact, it's REALLY good!), these people are just spoiled by all the newschool games out there. This game is hard as nails and it harkens back to a time when games were meant to take more than a handful of tries to advance. If you loved Asteroids back in the day, played Descent like a crackhead, and loved spending pockets worth of quarters in the arcade--then this game is a no-brainer purchase for you. If, instead, you like to **** about how hard games are because they don't tell you where everything is/exactly how to beat the level, then maybe pass this one up and go buy Hello Kitty: Island Adventure or Smurfs & Co. instead. Strike Suit Zero is for gamers who actually want to be challenged by their games. The game has excellent keyboard/mouse controls, superb gamepad support and (my favorite) outstanding joystick support. I've been playing this with my Logitech Extreme Force 3D PRO and the experience is awesome. WARNING: The already hard game gets a lot harder when you use a joystick, but for fly-boys of old who aren't afraid of that, it's an awesome experience. If you have a Nostromo/n52/n52te keypad to go along with your joystick, then you're about to have one sick, specialized peripheral romp in space mecha wonderland. 10/10 best $16 I've spent in a long time.
    Full Review »