User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 153 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 153

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 3, 2013
    0
    If you fancy flying a space-ship with no breaks, unlimited ammo, insane amount of HP all while having toilet rolls glued to your eyelids, this is a game for you. Oh and, don't expect any actual mecha-combat when you jump in and play. Tutorial is a few hours followed by god knows how much grind before you can even unlock the first ship for it and by then, you'd already be bored to death from the laughable voice-acting and MMO grind quests IN THE SINGLE-PLAYER CAMPAIGN. Expand
  2. Oct 24, 2013
    7
    Strike Suit Zero is one of those games that by all means I should be infuriated by, but I'm not. The titular Strike Suit is an absolute joy to fly once mastered, but the somewhat-slippery handling while in Fighter Mode and brutally challenging missions mean you need to be perfect, which isn't going to happen. The story is nothing worth writing home about, just your generic "War between nations... IN SPACE" story with uninteresting characters with meh voice acting. Mission objectives are tired and some missions drag on past the point where they stop being fun

    However, what the game does wrong with it's story, it more than makes up for it in style. Strike Suit Zero is home to some of the best visual design I've seen in ages. The backdrops are jaw-droppingly gorgeous, and Paul Ruskay's soundtrack (of Homeworld fame) is stellar. Vocals by KOKIA really add to the feel that you are playing the game equivalent of a 80's giant robot series.

    All-in-all, Strike Suit Zero is too flawed to reccomend for everyone, much as I'd love to. When everything is firing on all cylinders, the game is one of the best space combat experiences I've had in a while. But those moments are fleeting in a game bogged down by long, lackluster missions and slippery controls. It's not something everyone will love, but if the idea of hopping into a robot dogfighter appeals then I'd definitely check out Strike Suit Zero.
    Expand
  3. Jan 27, 2013
    6
    All the bad things you've readI bought strike suit zero with the hopes of a good space sim, while it's not horrendously bad it lacks some serious polishing. Let's start with controls: Controls are clunky(I'm playing on keyboard&mouse). I'm not talking about adjusting mouse sensibility etc. controls are clunky in general. Also, something that annoyed me to no end is you can't come to a complete halt with your ship. You just can't! Developers didn't added it to the game. Best you can do is slow down from your speed from "fast" to "moderate". Because of the lack of a full stop feature you will end up crashing you to bigger ships all the time. Turrets also take a long time to destroy(you end up using your whole energy and it might still be intact) and since YOU CAN'T COME TO A FULL STOP you just have to barrage a turret, move away from the ship, return and attack it again. It gets very boring after a while. Ally AI is horrible. They're barely cannon fodder worthy. You'll be fighting alone almost all the time. Especially in some missions when you'll be flying a bomber where ally ai is suppose to cover you, you'll tear your own hair apart because while the only bomber is under attack from 8 different fighters, ally pilots are doing god knows what. Missions, missions are pretty generic. I bought this game thinking i was getting something similar to the freespace 2. While there are some similarities, overall, game is falling short. Strike suit is not that fascinating. If i could compare a gun to the strike suit, normal mode would be a pistol and strike mode would be burst fire mode. Targeting has similar problems. There is not a key to target someone that's shooting you. You end up trying to turn around to find him(while moving, yes no full stop) You can target the ship closest to you but the same key is used for choosing mission objective targets so it's useless when there is a target objective in the map(which is very common). Also, missions are pretty much "go there blow that" and they sometimes add a time limit, that's it. Missions start&end briefings are a nice touch but they're not detailed. There is no rearming while you're in the mission. Main guns lack the power to take down ships in the allocated time to complete objective so you end up using the missiles as a supplement. If you used those missiles for something else, too bad, restart from checkpoint. On the plus side, music is not bad, visuals are good. For 15$ this game is not bad, but approach it knowing its bad sides. about this game are pretty much true. It's pretty meh. Expand
  4. Jun 24, 2013
    6
    Unfortunately Strike Suit Zero is little more than a standard space shooter and there are better love letters to Freespace 2 out there (Tarr Chronicles, Dark Horizon). The transforming space Gundam and music made the game look excellent in the trailer but the game itself falls short.
  5. Feb 8, 2013
    5
    Great music, remarkable backdrop art, skillful ship design and a cool twist on the space shooter gameplay should have made this game a must buy for the fans of the genre, but are instead are the accusing fingers pointing to its inadequacy. Simply said, Strike Suit Zero is too simple. Other than for a single combat gimmick its gameplay is far below the heights achieved by the genre in games like freespace or the X series. While this can be partially attributed to its indie origins and a substantial difference in budget, it doesn't excuse the level of monotony encountered throughout the game. Monotony of combat, characterized by few, ever identical ships and, what is most glaring, monotony of narration, which is shallow enough that its total absence would have probably gotten a higher score from me. Add an uneven difficulty curve and a few design mistakes and an otherwise acceptable shooter becomes a trite waste of time. Expand
  6. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    I was hesitant to buy this game because it wasnt getting glowing reviews and after buying it I can somewhat see where a few of the negative reviews are coming from but overall I think this is a GREAT game. The negative aspects that I feel are somewhat justified are that the missions are a bit too long and it can be a difficult game at times, but I feel like in Dark Souls that kind of difficulty is what makes this game good in a way. If it was any easier I think people would be crying its too easy, and you can replay the missions with different types of ships so if you want to increase difficulty you could always use a less powerful ship and in turn it would make the mission more difficult. Now having said the negative aspects, I think we can all agree the game looks absolutely gorgeous! It has amazing graphics and I really, really enjoy the game play. I think one of the most accurate video reviews was the one made by Gamespot and how they said it can be somewhat slow until you get your Strike-suit but then it goes full speed and never looks back, I would totally agree with that assessment and would go as far to say the slowness at the beginning is required for learning to play it well. I also think it has a pretty great story line, but maybe that's just me. I have really missed the good games this genre had been putting out in the past like Wing Commander and if you ever liked any of the Wing Commander-like games then I think you will love this game. I can truly say I am glad I bought this game and will enjoy playing it for many days to come. Expand
  7. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    Haven't had this much fun in an action space combat game since Colony Wars on the PS one. Lots of action and some fantastic colourful graphics. Weapons feel fantastic and youll love the missiles. Favourite features include the strike suit mode and the targeting system for your main guns. Very useful system insuring you hit the target instead of spraying wildly into space.
  8. Jun 8, 2013
    2
    This game is ridiculously hard. They came out with difficulty settings on it and even on Easy, it is ridiculously hard. It's frustrating, not fun, not challenging, just surprise you're dead for no reason. Or sometimes, surprise, you didn't get the goal because you couldn't get to it fast enough because humans aren't meant to track 5 things in the sky at the same time in completely opposite directions. Whoever directed this game, this should be your last game. It's a beautiful pile of anguish that I wish on no one. I'm so disappointed that I gave you my money for this. I will make sure not to do so in the future. Expand
  9. Jun 6, 2013
    8
    I'm not sure what people were expecting with this game, but a lot of reviews seem to be missing the point. Strike Suit Zero is primarily an action game. In fact I'd go as far as to say the gameplay is effectively what you'd get if an indie team were to make a Devil May Cry game where Dante is replaced with a spaceship. Kill as much as you can, as fast as you can. That is essentially the goal of every mission, leading to a very arcadey feeling experience. This is in no way a realistic space game, arguably having more in common with side scrolling shoot 'em ups than slower paced games in the space genre such as the X-Wing or Wing Commander series.

    If you are in the mood for some fast paced gameplay and feel like giving Strike Suit Zero a try, you'll be treated to a decently challenging game with excellent visuals and soundtrack. Graphically the game looks excellent whilst it is being played with the action never affecting the performance. The only slight issue I could complain about is that models and textures do look rather low-res when you stop and stare at them. Fortunately you'll rarely get to do this as the action keeps coming, leaving you to admire the execution of the design rather than the technical aspects of the texturing. Something that is particularly worth mentioning is the ship designs by Junji Okubo, an artist with an increasingly impressive résumé, boasting a career of experience working on both anime and video games with a strong base in the mecha genre. The soundtrack is also above par for what I'd expect, particularly from an indie production. This certainly left my eyes and ears sufficiently entertained by the setting, creating an unusually immersive experience for what most people would shrug off as a mindless action game. The plot leaves a little to be desired but is clearly not the main focus of the game. Frankly there isn't much plot, but what little there is kept me interested enough to want to see what happens next.

    However... This is where the main negative comes in. The game is extremely repetitive. Remember Those great visuals and soundtrack I just mentioned? Well you'd better get used to them. By the fourth mission (out of 12) you'll have already seen or heard most of it. This would be a problem if SSZ were a higher budget game created by a larger team, but under the circumstances I think the repetitive nature of this game is something that should be forgiven. Born Ready Games only have one game under their belt, this one, and a relatively small team which has been funded largely through kickstarter.

    One major negative that I found was that the beginning missions were paced rather poorly for my tastes. Despite the name of the game you only obtain the strike suit after completing a few missions, effectively leaving out several important game mechanics for a significant chunk of a first time playthrough. This is fixed when you replay missions, being able to select and fighter available to you but I still found that it made the first 3-4 missions a bit of a chore. I found my enjoyment to increase exponentially after obtaining the strike suit and getting used to the devil-trigger like power up system having access to the suit provides. In fact a lot of the replayability comes from returning to missions to try and up the rank you received, with your average ranking across all missions even having a small effect on the ending of the game.

    Another low point for other people has been the difficulty level, with other people citing bad A.I and frustrating escort missions. I can see how this might be a problem, but I never suffered from it.. Generally I breezed through the missions on the first pass without even using the checkpoint system, however this is very much from the perspective of a core gamer. Despite the fact I had no problems with it, if you were thinking about purchasing SSZ the issues with the "frustrating" difficulty could be something to bear in mind if that is a deal breaker for you personally.

    Overall I'd say Strike Suit Zero is easily worth a look if you are interested in a simple space shooter game with a ridiculous amount of action but not much else. If you are unsure or put off by the issues other reviewers have mentioned then it might be best waiting for it to go on sale, making a fairly cheap game even cheaper still. I can only give this game an 8 based mainly upon the technical aspects, which despite being generally excellent tend to be very repetitive. However if I were to rate the game based on the amount of fun that I had while playing it, I'd bump it up to a 9. For the 6-8 hours it took me to complete the main campaign with scores to my satisfaction I can't say I was bored or frustrated more than a couple of times, something that in my experience has happened much more frequently in most games (including many AAA releases).
    Expand
  10. Sep 10, 2013
    1
    I liked Rogue Squadron. I liked Starfighter. I don't like this game. Firstly, the reviews make it out to be a lot more action-mech oriented than it is. It's a dogfighter. Second, the concept art makes it seem like you'll be a guy in a robot suit fighting a bunch of ships. You only get to be the suit for short bursts, and when you're in suit mode, you're frozen in place. Third, tons more stuff is just done wrong. Explosions look boring, the camera gets unstable when shot, even worse when there's lots going on, there's a ridiculous lag problem, all ships except the suit are always moving forward, which has killed me at least once after I'd completed a mission and was just waiting for my allies (who don't help with anything and can't be commanded to handle a specific task, like covering you or protecting an allied cruiser) to stop talking so the victory cutscene would play. My skippy little spaceship crashed into some stationary debris because there's no brakes. Furthermore, I don't know what everyone else is talking about, but on my end, the soundtrack was horrible. All I heard was some feminine warbling. No pumping, John Williams-esque trumpets and strings like I expected. Just warbling. All in all, this was a severely disappointing game, and I feel extremely sorry for anyone who falls for the ruse the devs are putting up with their misleading art and description. They should be ashamed of themselves. Expand
  11. Mar 5, 2014
    6
    Fun space shooter, at least at first, that gets pretty generic and boring. Not terrible but not great. GOOD - Outstanding soundtrack that gave me chills when I was playing first few missions - Classic space-shooter with thrilling action and 0 BS included - Great controls which is very important in this genre (used keyboard+mouse) BAD - Customization is very shallow and limited for seemingly no reason
    - Once you get used to action, missions get boring and repetetive
    - Weak plot and characters

    It wasn't a bad game per se just not very good, it lacked something that would make me think this product is special and deserves higher score. If possible I'd give it a 6.5/10 instead of 6. Recommended for space shooters fans that don't care about plot.
    Expand
  12. Jan 26, 2013
    9
    A brilliant, beautiful, and thrilling throwback to the early 2000's, when space flight sims of all kinds and colours graced the PC market. And I, as a massive fan of those games, welcome this return to some of the most fun I've ever had. If you enjoyed games like Tachyon, Freespace, and Dark Horizon (though I may be the only person to like that one) then this is definitely a worthy and nostalgia-inducing purchase. Expand
  13. Jan 29, 2013
    9
    Great space combat controls that blend together well with the mech transformation mode. Battles are always a great visual treat as the screen fills with fighter trails and a hailstorm of missiles, Itano Circus style. It's like this generation's version of the PS2 Macross game.
  14. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    Ignore the negative reviews, the game is fantastic, it is not too difficult, but you can turn it down to easy if its too hard for you. The fov is adjustable, controls are totally customizable, seriously some of these negative reviews are full of completely false information.
  15. Jan 24, 2013
    6
    For a small dev team and funding these guys made a great game. Has great replay value and enough hours to keep you going for 15-20 easy. The combat is very clear and the controls are smooth. The graphics are just stunning. To think this game from a small studio is shocking. The game is fantastic and I recommend it to everyone into the space sims type of game.
  16. Jan 24, 2013
    5
    I bought strike suit zero with the hopes of a good space sim, while it's not horrendously bad it lacks some serious polishing. Let's start with controls: Controls are clunky(I'm playing on keyboard&mouse). I'm not talking about adjusting mouse sensibility etc. controls are clunky in general. Also, something that annoyed me to no end is you can't come to a complete halt with your ship. You just can't! Developers didn't added it to the game. Best you can do is slow down from your speed from "fast" to "moderate". Because of the lack of a full stop feature you will end up crashing you to bigger ships all the time. Turrets also take a long time to destroy(you end up using your whole energy and it might still be intact) and since YOU CAN'T COME TO A FULL STOP you just have to barrage a turret, move away from the ship, return and attack it again. It gets very boring after a while. Ally AI is horrible. They're barely cannon fodder worthy. You'll be fighting alone almost all the time. Especially in some missions when you'll be flying a bomber where ally ai is suppose to cover you, you'll tear your own hair apart because while the only bomber is under attack from 8 different fighters, ally pilots are doing god knows what. Missions, missions are pretty generic. I bought this game thinking i was getting something similar to the freespace 2. While there are some similarities, overall, game is falling short. Strike suit is not that fascinating. If i could compare a gun to the strike suit, normal mode would be a pistol and strike mode would be burst fire mode. Targeting has similar problems. There is not a key to target someone that's shooting you. You end up trying to turn around to find him(while moving, yes no full stop) You can target the ship closest to you but the same key is used for choosing mission objective targets so it's useless when there is a target objective in the map(which is very common). Also, missions are pretty much "go there blow that" and they sometimes add a time limit, that's it. Missions start&end briefings are a nice touch but they're not detailed. There is no rearming while you're in the mission. Main guns lack the power to take down ships in the allocated time to complete objective so you end up using the missiles as a supplement. If you used those missiles for something else, too bad, restart from checkpoint. On the plus side, music is not bad, visuals are good. For 15$ this game is not bad, but approach it knowing its bad sides. Expand
  17. Jan 15, 2014
    6
    At first this looks like a good space fighter sim with some Zone of the Ender mechanics, but man did they ever get it wrong. Whoever did the game balance doesn't know what they're doing. Maybe they used to make board games? I'm not sure. But the regular ship takes forever to build up one volley of shots. This means taking out 20 fighters (a common objective in the first 3 missions) can take about 20 minutes. Why would they do that? Restrictions are fun! Let's restrict everything!

    Like the Strike Suit. You'd think, "okay, cool robot form that's even in the game title: Of course you should be able to change that whenever you like, right?" Wrong. You have to destroy debris and enemy fighters to 'power it'. How does that even make sense? Shooting in the Strike Suit turns into Motion Blurr City, which is extremely laggy. There's also no lead targets in Strike Suit mode, so good luck hitting anything with primary fire. The suit itself seems terribly underwhelming. Its best attack when you first get it is a volley of missiles. Not very exiting, and doesn't make you feel powerful.

    The game was advertised when it came out as if this was a successor to the Zone of the Enders series. No. Its just a cheap powerup gimmick in a space sim with a standard engine (think Star Wars: Star Fighter on the PS2, but not as easy to control or as intuitive). The balance is abismal. The story seems interesting, but every time you think a level is going to end you get "wait, we've got 50 more fighters inbound" and it just makes me sigh. I gave up after 10 minutes of the Strike Suit being seeming utterly useless and unable to kill even one turret on an enemy frigate.

    Maybe I'll come back to it one day and find out something I missed, but man does this game make me want to cry. I love Gundam and Zone of the Enders stuff, but this is such a poor attempt at copying those games. I feel like the design team got the wing suit idea dumped on them at the last minute while they were making a space sim. They still managed to mess up both aspects of design. Kudos?
    Expand
  18. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    Soundtrack is phenomenal, the graphics are great, the backdrops (while static) are absolutely amazing. The voice acting reminds me of BSG characters, and the gameplay is absolutely addictive. I haven't been this pulled in by a flight shooter in a long time. The only other game I can think of is Descent 2. The original H.A.W.X. comes to mind, as well (in terms of fun).

    Don't listen to
    the haters who can't handle the difficulty curve. The game isn't buggy, it's not unpolished, the UI isn't terrible (in fact, it's REALLY good!), these people are just spoiled by all the newschool games out there. This game is hard as nails and it harkens back to a time when games were meant to take more than a handful of tries to advance. If you loved Asteroids back in the day, played Descent like a crackhead, and loved spending pockets worth of quarters in the arcade--then this game is a no-brainer purchase for you. If, instead, you like to **** about how hard games are because they don't tell you where everything is/exactly how to beat the level, then maybe pass this one up and go buy Hello Kitty: Island Adventure or Smurfs & Co. instead. Strike Suit Zero is for gamers who actually want to be challenged by their games. The game has excellent keyboard/mouse controls, superb gamepad support and (my favorite) outstanding joystick support. I've been playing this with my Logitech Extreme Force 3D PRO and the experience is awesome. WARNING: The already hard game gets a lot harder when you use a joystick, but for fly-boys of old who aren't afraid of that, it's an awesome experience. If you have a Nostromo/n52/n52te keypad to go along with your joystick, then you're about to have one sick, specialized peripheral romp in space mecha wonderland. 10/10 best $16 I've spent in a long time. Expand
  19. Feb 10, 2013
    8
    The most fun I have had in a Space Combat Sim since Project Silpheed, an often overlooked game for the 360. It needs a bit of polish and there are some serious difficulty spikes, but once you get a feel for it there is a ton of fun to be had. For $20 you really cannot go wrong and I hope that going forward they can tune this solid 8.0 into a 10.0
  20. Mar 6, 2013
    7
    The game supports my Logitech G940, this reason alone makes this game worth the price. Now the gameplay itself is fairly decent, not the best in the world but still good enough to have fun. The story and voice acting is a bit weak, but that does not hamper the overall experience, if you are a Space-sim fan then you must try this game out.
  21. Jan 23, 2013
    8
    Really good fun - pretty standard space shooter but its been a while since one came around I actually enjoyed! A little light on the story and pretty simple if nice graphics and sound - but hey, its cheap and its fun!
  22. Jan 25, 2013
    9
    A good story
    a bit of a problem with the text ,for instance "you are being moved forward" When in fact what they ment was "you are being sent to the front" - the first one feels like someone who doesnt speak english
    great graphics and a solid game ,i have to admit i loved flying the fighter more then the super fighter/robot thing
    but its fun
    in total , a good game
  23. Jan 25, 2013
    7
    Solid 7 - it never reaches the height of Colony Wars and isn't a serious space sim - but as a shooter its solid fun - once you get past the first few missions and get a Mech that is!
  24. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    The leaves maybe a little repetitive but the game-play just blows that away. I do not know what all the other reviews mean when there say its frustrating because I am not finding that. The game is a good challenge and if you are looking for a Nostalgia kick or a good space sim this is the game for you.
  25. Jan 23, 2013
    7
    Space? Check. Giant ships? Check. Transforming death-spitting robots? Got that too.
    Chances are that if you enjoyed any of the Ace Combat series or had fun watching mecha anime, you'll lap this up. The first thing that will strike you is the graphics; for an indie offering they are excellent and really lend themselves to the game and it's mechanics. The gameplay is generally good
    although the difficulty curve will be very sharp for players not used to flight games, but after you clear that initial fence you'll be having a whale of a time blasting down those darn colonists. The story is the usual objective based bibble, "Save /destroy the X to defeat/save the Y", but you can forgive it as the game would suffer if it were dialogue heavy
    That said the game otherwise is an excellent indie offering that deserves your consideration for being fun, challenging and the only one of it's kind for long time. (*sigh* where did all the mechs go?)
    Expand
  26. Jan 24, 2013
    9
    With great music, a polished and easy to use set of controls this game is really amazing for a KickStarter funded project. If you ever wanted to play as an interceptor in a HomeWorld game, now is your chance :)
  27. Jan 24, 2013
    5
    I helped kickstart Strike Suit Zero, with hopes of a game in the style of Freespace 2. I'll tell you now, if you are hoping for something on the level of Freespace 2 (Also there is no open world gameplay, all linear missions, so don't come here looking for that), Strike Suit Zero comes up far short. The game presents an adequate aesthetic visually and musically, though the voice acting is clearly phoned in, the story is completely generic and forgettable, and missions are repetitive. There is no multiplayer to speak of and the modding tools are yet to be released, through have been promised. The difficulty varies from a complete joke to insanely frustrating. The frustration of the game stems not from the AI being challenging, or even challenging objectives, it comes often from the fact your AI allies are almost always useless,that the enemy has a habit of focusing most of its fire on you (With almost pinpoint accuracy and projectiles that often cause your screen to shake wildly), and your given extremely time limited objectives to kill enemies or protect something at the drop of a hat, with failure resulting in mission failure. You'll be faced with infinitely spawning enemies that appear just out of your sight but already in range to fire on you, objectives that are far out of range and place you in a position without what little support allies offer, and objectives that your current ship or weapons leave you woefully unprepared for (This isn't Freespace 2, no detailed tactical briefs before missions, just trial and error). Another issue is that you have such a limited supply of rockets or missiles (No resupply besides a new mission or dying) for certain missions you can't use them for anything except for objectives that are time sensitive. Of course, you could always die and go back to the checkpoint, for a full refill on ammo and health (Probably because balance and pacing was not tweaked properly so this was the developers answer to make sure you can make progress). Often in cases where the enemies never end, you'll have access to your Strike Suit, which is pretty much a requirement to even hope to beat such missions. It unfortunately fails to make you feel powerful when you realize you have to use it and it only lets you keep up with the pace of the infinitely spawning enemies, who can still tear you to pieces while in Strike Suit mode. While Strike suit mode sounds cool on paper, this implementation leaves much to be desired. The checkpoint system is also flawed, placing checkpoints far back, often up to a quarter of an hour back in the mission, making the game feel more repetitive. While a fair attempt on the part of the developers, Strike Suit Zero doesn't present anything that hasn't been done before and done better by older games. Maybe some patches or DLC can fix some of the issues, but as it stands I would not recommend this game to anyone. Instead, I recommend acquiring a copy of Freespace 2, updating it with the Freespace 2 Source Code Project (Which greatly improves and already great game), and enjoying the rich experience offered by the game and its mods. Expand
  28. Jan 24, 2013
    8
    Considering it is an indie game, it's a pretty well done space fighter sim. The thing that impressed me most was the graphics - not just the fx, but they actually implemented support for nVidia surround properly. A lot of games these days allow for the resolution and the GUI is usually broken, but this game has an option to constrain hud/gui to the center monitor. It supports using an xbox controller, and it's highly recommended to do so.

    Targetting and weapons loadout is a bit over-simplistic, and the missions are pretty much only destroy and intercept variety. It has great potential for improvement with dlc.
    Expand
  29. Jan 24, 2013
    4
    Backed this on Kickstarter. Thought it might tide me over a bit until Star Citizen is released... it has failed to do so even in the first 2 days.

    I come from the Wing Commander / X-Wing / Tie-Fighter / Freespace 2 ilk. I know what a difficult game is. I used to get so frustrated with X-Wings save game system, where my character's progression would be permanently lost on a failed
    mission (and being picked up by the empire), that I used to "backup" my saved game file at the end of each mission to a floppy to keep it safe! The difficulty of those games, introduced some frustration, but when you actually passed the missions, you knew that it was mainly down to your improved skill as a space fighter pilot and it was immensely satisfying. Strike Suit Zero is difficult... stupidly difficult... "I want to chainsaw my PC in two kinda difficult". When I do eventually pass some of the tougher missions... I don't feel a sense of progression and achievement... I feel like I just want to get the game over with so I can see the probable disappointing ending and just be done with the game!

    I feel so deflated, as this game really had the potential to be incredible, but ended up falling way short. The graphics are pretty decent, in terms of the ship models at least. The space background "vista's" are indeed pretty, but they're absolutely STATIC! I thought that Born Ready Games wanted our KickStarter money to apply all the necessary layers of polish to really make the game shine!? The menu UI feels lacklustre, the HUD elements look tacked on, like some ASCII / ASSEMBLER developer designed them in his spare time. The upgrades are attained by very "arcadey" means... i.e. "Kill x frigates" to get energy upgrade. I don't think I suck at the game, but I'm on level 10 and I have only achieved 2 of the upgrades so far. I'm beginning to think that the upgrades are essential for later levels, as I'm on mission 10 and hopelessly stuck... having tried it over 10 times! The mission designs are HORRIBLE! They're BASED on the assumption that you WILL die, and therefore at those check points you will be restored with full health and full missiles to have a better attempt at making it through the mission. What a terribly lazy mechanic for mission progression, either that or I just suck at the game... but I don't think so, I'm no Luke Skywalker, but I've shot my fair share of Womp Rats with my T-16 back home. I simply have no more motivation to continue playing the game. It has beaten me into submission like a cotton-field slave master and I've simply had enough...

    Argh... I'm ranting now, I'll leave it there. Born Ready Games? Strike Suit Zero is more reminiscent of something stillborn. So much hope and expectation for it's entry into the world, but unfortunately all it brought with it, is heartache and tears.
    Expand
  30. Jan 25, 2013
    4
    I backed this on kickstarter and find myself deeply underwhelmed. How someone can make a transforming space mecha combat game feel dull and repetitive is beyond me. I think I actually enjoyed the space combat sections of Star Wars:The Old Republic more than this,and that is truly damning it with faint praise. Things that made me uninstall the game after 3 hours-
    -Narrow Field of
    Vision,Between 40 and 57 degrees are something I never want to see as my options. 70-80 make the bare comfortable minimum for me. It also makes space combat feel cramped and confusing .
    -Awful handling on the ships. The two birds I got to fly in this game both handled like WWII fighters in space, they seem to lack fine maneuverability and the game gives you few options rather than charging head on at a capital ships guns and then the ships poor handling rakes off all your shields as you scrape along the hull.
    -Repetitive mission design. Escort this, Go here kill X amount of fighter or turrets, don't let your ridiculously incompetent squadron mates die. The missions are boring, and most of the time failure is caused by allied AI incompetence.
    -Strike Suit Mode, rather than feeling like a powerful and useful transformation turns you into a sitting duck. The only thing I found it truly useful for was rapidly targeting enemy torpedoes to protect a capital ship and taking out clusters of fighters. Both of which feel like mundane baby-sitting level tasks.
    Expand
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 40
  2. Negative: 3 out of 40
  1. Apr 16, 2014
    80
    In conclusion, as a small downloadable title there is much to like about Strike Suit Zero; its story is interesting if awkwardly told, and its gameplay is finely-tuned and worth revisiting.
  2. Jun 10, 2013
    60
    I’m under the impression that Strike Suit Zero’s developers paid attention to aspects of the game that, although important, like graphics, music, presentation, were not the truly essential ones- thus leaving important elements, like gameplay, A.I and action, to chance. [March 2013]
  3. Mar 7, 2013
    70
    If you want to spend a night out with FreeSpace 2 in a slinky red dress, this is your game. Just don't expect thrilling dinner conversation. [March 2013, p.84]