Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. 95
    Long time Homestar Runner fans will be pleased to see that all the major characters they've come to know (Marzipan, The Cheat, Coach Z, Pom Pom, etc.) are included along with many inside jokes.
  2. Barring minor technical errors, The Homestar Ruiner is a great start for this episodic game. It’s funny, inexpensive, easy to play, and has replay value from the mini-games.
  3. 91
    At times like this, it's a wonder that adventure games ever went off the rails.
  4. I came into Strong Bad's expecting quality adventuring, the unique comedic stylings that make me feel like I'm a kid watching Rocko's Modern Life again, and some good old fashioned The Cheat kickin'. That's exactly what I got, and there was virtually nothing throughout the experience that annoyed or dissatisfied me.
  5. For Homestar fans, this is a no-brainer, but if they’re the only ones who play it, it’ll be a shame — the only thing you need to enjoy it is a sense of humor. It’s a great beginning to a longer adventure, and absolutely worth a download.
  6. With fun puzzles and a funnier story in yet another of its game series, Telltale Games has shown everybody that the success and quality of its Sam & Max franchise wasn’t just a fluke, and that any developer/publisher that is interested creating episodic gaming has only to look Telltale’s way on how to do it right.
  7. Perhaps the only people who won't enjoy this game are those who don't understand or like the comedic style of the Homestar Runner universe.
  8. If you liked the humor and structure of the Sam & Max episodes, then you’ll probably enjoy the Strong Bad episodes as well. The Strong Bad episode is also a much better “animated feature” than what just came out in theaters last week, and for about the same price.
  9. 81
    As a point-and-click game it doesn't do anything groundbreaking, but all of the window dressing is fantastic.
  10. 80
    Flawless presentation, funny dialogue, great puzzles.
  11. Developer Telltale has built a sterling reputation on making smart, creative episodic games based on existing intellectual properties (see exhibit "Sam & Max), and Homestar Ruiner is no exception. [Nov 2008, p.75]
  12. Genuinely hilarious. [Nov 2008, p.80]
  13. Excellent humour. [Nov 2008, p.76]
  14. Unless you happen to be an enemy of all things cool and funny, the first installment of Strong Bad is where it's at. This new monthly series shows tons of promise, and the next episode, Strong Badia the Free, looks even more delightfully ludicrous.
  15. As a result, this first game can be called 'pretty good', but it’s still a little short on awesomeness.
  16. Overall, despite its faults, Homestar Ruiner is a pretty enjoyable game, a lighthearted cartoon romp with a great sense of humor and an original flavor.
  17. For fans of the series or the genre the purchase shouldn’t even be a question.
  18. If you like Homestar Runner and Strong Bad and the Cheat and so on and so forth, there is no reason why you should not get this game. You’ll love it, trust me.
  19. 70
    A polished, if uneventfully designed episode, better suited to the Homestar Runner crazy-go-nut.
  20. 70
    SBCGfAP is packed with little extras and mini-games, although none provide more than a few minutes of diversion. The real fun is discovering all of the inside jokes from the series plastered throughout.
  21. As an introduction to Strong Bad's Cool Game for Attractive People, then, the game's adventure elements are mostly a conduit for the humor, the bread to the cheese. And yeah, the bread may be a little mediocre in this case, but the cheese can be divine.
  22. But this is undoubtedly a great start, despite a below average sprinkling of gameplay bottlenecks. It translates remarkably well as an adventure game, but isn’t completely hogtied by adventure game conventions. Bring on episode 2.
  23. Fans of the franchise probably won't be too disappointed if they pick this up, but people looking for a series point-and-click adventure game are probably going to want to go elsewhere.
  24. Overall my suggestion would be, stick the game’s suggestions (hints) on high, enjoy it as a constant stream of brain-dead semi funny entertainment, in a universe you are probably familiar with, and get as much stress-free enjoyment from what admittedly, feels like a pretty polished episodic game.
  25. While demand for this style of gaming and for Homestar-licensed products both peaked a while ago, it's an enjoyably goofy diversion.
  26. Unless you’re a big fan of the Homestar Runner series of web cartoons, you’re likely to spend much of your time with the game scratching your head. [Oct 2008, p.114]
  27. Popular strip converted to game brings fun mostly to its fans. If you count into this group you will enjoy all adventuring, gags and dialogs. But it takes a lot of patience to get into the heart of the matter if you are new to the stories of Homestar Runner. [Sept 2008]
  28. The punchy comedic pacing that works so well in a series of video shorts does not hold up when stretched out over a few hours, and the few times you do chuckle will only punctuate the fact that such moments are few and far between.
  29. You wonder if players will have wanted to spend this amount of time loafing around the Homestar Runner universe, or whether their interaction with it is best limited to ten-minute bursts via their web browser. [Oct 2008, p.101]
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Feb 29, 2012
    9
    This game made me burst out laughing many times over, which is a huge accomplishment in my book. I enjoyed it from start to finish and I'm not very happy with the mixed reviews it received. The puzzles are weird but make sense. The difficulty level is perfect and I finished it without so much as a glance at a walkthrough. My 9 yr old daughter then played it through with only a smattering of hints from her dad and loved it as much as we loved the entire Sam & Max series. This is Telltale at the top of its game. Full Review »
  2. Jun 8, 2013
    9
    I don't think I've ever laughed so much in a game *ever*! I dare say it's even better written than Valve's comedicly genius game Portal. Genuinely impressed and very happy with this game! Full Review »