Stronghold 2 Image
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 162 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The castle-sim and siege-warfare RTS game Stronghold, the sequel to the award-winning titles Stronghold and Stronghold: Crusader, brings the series to life in glorious 3D. Stronghold 2 also offers players a "castle-life" campaign, enhanced multiplayer capability and a new, innovative andThe castle-sim and siege-warfare RTS game Stronghold, the sequel to the award-winning titles Stronghold and Stronghold: Crusader, brings the series to life in glorious 3D. Stronghold 2 also offers players a "castle-life" campaign, enhanced multiplayer capability and a new, innovative and exciting single player campaign. [Global Star Software] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Stronghold 2 - Rezzed 2014 Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
  1. The vastly improved graphics are a joy to behold, the new punishment stations add a dimension to gameplay and the various modes will keep you playing 'til doomsday and beyond. It's almost perfect atmosphere-wise, and I could not have wished for anything more.
  2. It is a breeze to get started and there are helpful hints to aid those new to the genre.
  3. Manages to provide an engaging combination of simulated medieval warfare and peasant life without getting too lost in the mundane details that can easily wreak havoc on such a title.
  4. Game Informer
    68
    Neither the RTS-style combat nor the castle sim elements of the game live up to today's standards. [June 2005, p.135]
  5. Just doesn’t feel like a finished game.
  6. In the end, though, there's just not enough fruit underneath all the rind. If it's an all-in-one medieval strategy game you're after, just Alt-Tab really quickly between "Medieval: Total War" and "Castles II"--that'll come closer than Stronghold 2 does.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 60
  2. Negative: 26 out of 60
  1. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    Stronghold 2 isnt quite as good as stronghold 1, but is still actaully a pretty good game, the graphics are good and I really enjoyed theStronghold 2 isnt quite as good as stronghold 1, but is still actaully a pretty good game, the graphics are good and I really enjoyed the campaign. i play the multiplayer LAN alot and I love it. Stronghold 2 is one of my favourite games and is a must-have for strategy enthusiasts. Expand
  2. Nov 24, 2017
    10
    I bought this game shortly after it came out, and I have to say that in my opinion it's the best and most fun Stronghold game ever. I haveI bought this game shortly after it came out, and I have to say that in my opinion it's the best and most fun Stronghold game ever. I have played the original Stronghold, Crusader, Legends, SH 3 and Crusader 2, but enjoyed SH 2 the most by far. The singleplayer campaigns are super fun and well made, I really liked those animated sequences in between missions, and the multiplayer is even more awesome. A lot of people disliked this game for things like the honor system, along with the kitchen, estates, crime, rats and gong, but the extra complexity that those things added to the game is exactly the reason why I loved it so much. They could have been implemented in a better way, like for example less crime when people are happy, or giving the gong farmers enough time to clean a place up instead of having the gong make you less popular immediately etc., but even the way it is now is better than not having those things at all. The map editor was also great and very intuitive to use, which is a very important thing to someone like me who loves to create his own maps. I really can't understand why so many people disliked this game, the only explanation I can come up with is that most of them are kids and therefore want everything to be as simple as possible. Expand
  3. Jul 23, 2011
    8
    If you can look past the minor bugs and glitches this game is one of the rare gems that mix warfare with economics. Not only do you have theIf you can look past the minor bugs and glitches this game is one of the rare gems that mix warfare with economics. Not only do you have the manage resources but you must make the populace happy so they join the workforce or the military. People who shun this game know no real simulation when it is right in front of them. It isn't a 10 but surely isn't anything less than a 7. Expand
  4. Bernardo
    May 4, 2005
    5
    Yup, the lag is terrible. Multiplayer is not something to start with (it could take days with the lag). Singleplayer allmost same thing. Yup, the lag is terrible. Multiplayer is not something to start with (it could take days with the lag). Singleplayer allmost same thing. Graphics not so good. The graphics from Stronghold Crusader were better! This just looks like a: "Lets try something 3D!" Its not worth the money. Expand
  5. DavidC.
    Jul 10, 2005
    4
    Stronghold 2 is the worst example of a prematurely released game since Vampire Masquerade. What was a funny, charming and challenging series Stronghold 2 is the worst example of a prematurely released game since Vampire Masquerade. What was a funny, charming and challenging series pays a tragic price for the obligatory transition to a 3d engine. An even greater sin are the many softball reviews that hide the simple truth that this game is unfinished, unplayable and falls far short of being a competitive RTS with any replay value. Shame, shame. Expand
  6. MattEldstrom
    Jun 2, 2005
    2
    they really need to work on the concept of finishing the game completely before releasing it to the public. ive waited for weeks for the lastthey really need to work on the concept of finishing the game completely before releasing it to the public. ive waited for weeks for the last patch and thier still not close to fixing all the nagging bugs. a simply sloppily made game. not worth the money to buy new. Expand
  7. ClarenceF.
    Jun 21, 2005
    0
    I can't even install it. It installs Disk1 for several minutes, and then sees disk2 as corrupt or not there, even though I can view the I can't even install it. It installs Disk1 for several minutes, and then sees disk2 as corrupt or not there, even though I can view the contents! Their tech support is absolutlely worthless! Expand

See all 60 User Reviews

Trailers