Stronghold 3 PC

User Score
3.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 345 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 345
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 25, 2011
    0
    Don't like this at all. I'm sorry I pre-ordered through Steam. Now I can't get my money back. Just uninstalled and I'm pretty bummed out about this.
  2. Oct 26, 2011
    0
    This game is not even worth pirating. It is so poorly designed and full of bugs. This game is not even worth pirating. It is so poorly designed and full of bugs. This game is not even worth pirating. It is so poorly designed and full of bugs. This game is not even worth pirating. It is so poorly designed and full of bugs.
  3. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Castle building? Again and again? You've gone too far this time! You don't need to to cause more pain again and again and again until we're all dead. No one's gonna buy it, so go make another game at least a handful of people will find interesting.
  4. Nov 11, 2011
    4
    They could do better. As the concept of play is not bad, but failed to create a beautiful game. It is boring, lacks consistency and incomplete, because even in the building free once built the main structures, the game stops. We find ourselves saying: "ok I built everything, now I turn off". A real shame, because the concept is really nice. Fail!
  5. Nov 25, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. En resumen, un juego muy simple para el siglo en el que vivimos... según mi criterio los chicos te strongnord no trabajaron en lo que tenian que trabajar, mas opciones, mejor gestion de los castillos, cosas nuevas, inovaciones. muy mal, Si me dieran la oportunidad no lo compraria Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2011
    4
    Bottomline:Stronghold 3 is a colossal disappointment for the die hard fans who have been waiting for this game for almost 7 years.Instead of improving and building on what made the original so successful they take many steps backward.First of all let me be very specific Firefly did release their game imcomplete(tat was obvious)with a price tag of 1 would imagine of high profile titles likeBottomline:Stronghold 3 is a colossal disappointment for the die hard fans who have been waiting for this game for almost 7 years.Instead of improving and building on what made the original so successful they take many steps backward.First of all let me be very specific Firefly did release their game imcomplete(tat was obvious)with a price tag of 1 would imagine of high profile titles like call of duty or Bethesda "Elder scrolls" series(i regret each single penny that i lost).The game is broken full of Bugs,unplayable,extremely tiny map and CAN U BELIEVE IT THE SKIRMISH MODE IS GONE..SIGH! I seriously thinkwhat Firefly was thinking while omitting those features in the game...GRAPHICS are the worst part...extremely dated graphics(of one you'd imagine back in 2002)...An imcomplete and incompetant product for 50$(seriousy guys i threw my money off)........STROGHOLD 3 IS A COMPLETE FIASCO Expand
  7. Feb 29, 2012
    0
    An insult to Stronghold Crusader.
    Let's not even talk about this game, let's talk about a good Stronghold - Crusader, a classic 2D RTS with excellent gameplay mechanics and serviceable graphics, 3 is terrible in every aspect, it doesn't have as much content to be terrible at.
  8. Jun 14, 2012
    0
    do not listen to the person called "Lucifercrow" for was hired by firefly to try and get as many sales for this abomination of a game that is called "stronghold 3" his main goal being to sell as much **** as possible before running away

    the reason why this is called for is because of one thing, the game upon 6 months after the disastrous launch it faced (similarly to swords in the stars
    do not listen to the person called "Lucifercrow" for was hired by firefly to try and get as many sales for this abomination of a game that is called "stronghold 3" his main goal being to sell as much **** as possible before running away

    the reason why this is called for is because of one thing, the game upon 6 months after the disastrous launch it faced (similarly to swords in the stars 2) is still broken in many areas or missing many features which would be a standard copy and pasting (in terms of design, etc)

    where to begin

    multiplayer
    although multiplayer is not a selling point for many people it should be said that if a game announces that it will have it then it will stick to it's promise, what we got instead was a mutliplayer game which cannot even be played because it has extremely poor performance issues which essentially break mutliplayer (not to mention latency spikes when more than around 80 units are on the screen

    Skirmish
    a stronghold game without a skirmish mode? well this isn't really stronghold (just stronghold slapped on as a title) stupid designs
    who the hell though it would be a good idea to have every unit (except ranged units) be able to destroy stone walls? i can understand wooden but not stone, walls from not only being rendered useless in stopping an attacking force (without siege units) from entering but they also made walls provide NO BENEFITS to those are stationed on them that's right your archers can be killed even in the tallest tower that is available there are many reasons why this game shouldn't be bought but the biggest reason upon all is provided by Firefly themselves, for the simple reason that will censor anyone whom may speak ill of there game, they have even locked there own forms to prevent people from putting others off this game (or perhaps to prevent them from taking responsibility for the game anymore?)

    and the best thing about firefly, as of the new DLC that was added to the game they have publicly announce they will not SUPPORT it anymore, that's right, they will not fix multiplayer or any other bugs which have been reported numerous amounts of time by the community

    so in all i hope this tiny review helped put you off this abomination, the money can be put towards something else (anything better, even nickleback)
    Expand
  9. May 26, 2012
    0
    this game is definitely a zero. From the first underdeveloped slew of garbage that entered my computer, it was a nightmare. My primary reason for being so annoyed was that there was no skirmish mode. You could "re-enact historical sieges", but you couldn't generate a skirmish mode? With that aside, I created an account here to complain about the dlc, and how you couldn't just buy it- youthis game is definitely a zero. From the first underdeveloped slew of garbage that entered my computer, it was a nightmare. My primary reason for being so annoyed was that there was no skirmish mode. You could "re-enact historical sieges", but you couldn't generate a skirmish mode? With that aside, I created an account here to complain about the dlc, and how you couldn't just buy it- you had to purchase the game again. So, at 31.99 with 20% off they are trying to re-sell their underdeveloped game, with one addition campaign that nobody will ever play. I have nothing against dlc, but to charge for a whole game that still doesn't contain the basic components of a castle building sim is just ridiculous. Expand
  10. Jun 9, 2012
    2
    Really dissapointing sequel. Is it even a sequel. Nothing seems to have changed. Maybe the graphics are a little better. Bland picturecard story telling. Poor line of sight mechanics. Poor troop control.
  11. Jun 11, 2012
    0
    I love the stronghold series but i freaking hated StrongHold 3. It was a complete bugged mess that was so hard to beat it was virtually UN-enjoyable. I hear there is a new patch out that i will try and if it helps the game i will give a better review.
  12. Nov 4, 2012
    1
    nerdiest game ever loooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooool
  13. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    My english is bad , but this game is far more bad than my english
    Dis game must have 0 score, people is giving score 9 and 10 is just marketing people, dont trust them
    Even in my Country this game suck a lot , fail game, people in my country buy pirate version and they still want refund it to the pirate store (what a mess, not even worth a penny they say) Why this game bad? dis like asking
    My english is bad , but this game is far more bad than my english
    Dis game must have 0 score, people is giving score 9 and 10 is just marketing people, dont trust them
    Even in my Country this game suck a lot , fail game, people in my country buy pirate version and they still want refund it to the pirate store (what a mess, not even worth a penny they say)
    Why this game bad? dis like asking "why sea water is salty?"
    1. BUGSSS with triple S (means a lotssss) even spartan cant throw spear through walls but spearmen here can, cant build walls , units can freeze and block , even worse, it can make another units freeze when its close to the freeze unit, i called it refrigerator effects, cant build stair to the walls , cant build mount to the walls (wooden shield dat mounted to the walls, make ur archer Invunerable from enemy spear and archer), when night time , enemy can shoot ur acher from darkness , but ur archer dead from below do nothing , until bales of fire thrown to light the way, many buttons dont works
    2. Graphics and Music - suck a lotsssss i hate seeing female villager out from house when built , its so UGLY , gimme beatifull lady better than wretched hag
    3. NON-Sense - pikemen / halberdier can survive spike traps and only injured a very very bit, like the traps was designed by playground child or firefly teams and pikemen was ironman
    Wolves is very very strong and ur soldier no match for them, ur soldier is wimpy retired veteran from stone age war, who in the stone age war was fled , not fighting just pretend dead and recruited by stronghold 3, wolves should has a new name, Godzilla should suit, and even better they can multiply
    4. SADIST , default difficulty is impossible, get out here noob & new player , play a barbie instead stronghold 3 , its too sadist.
    There is a level with a new technology (wooden shield in the wall, make ur archer invulnerable) but next level it is not available, and enemy get stronger, like fighting an army with a stick and harsh languange Enemy Army spawn from the sky, i attack enemy army with small army but can handle entire castle and new enemy army spawn in front of my army and my army just go picnic to the graveyard, you gonna rushed to produce weapons, ur peasant regenerate very slowly and ur army dead faster, and firefly very sadist , when you are attacked by enemy and busy fighting them , disaster come , such as apple blight , wolves come , cows dead heart attack, giving a lots minus in happiness, its just like God doesnt side with the good people, maybe ur enemies was the good people and ure the evil , so God doesnt side you in stronghold 3, and I dont side with stronghold 3, take that 0 , this was bloody hell, hummiliation embarassing crappy worse than hello world programming
    5. EXCITEMENT the only part of this game is make me laugh of joy is when see my peasant with weapon(militia) and my spearmen fighting a group of spearman and enemy militia in the bushes, in the hill , enemy troops just flying out of the bushes and go down hill when dead , like in the roman army in the asterix comics, and dat not gonna worth 1 points, too bad
    Expand
  14. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    I'm going to receive a lot of hate for this but i liked the game. sure it had its fare share of bugs and it was a bit slow i enjoyed it and the game is being patched every week and its getting better all the time.now the reason i didn't give it higher marks is it is not excusable to send out a buggy and unfinished game to the consumers sure its getting better every patch but firefly shouldI'm going to receive a lot of hate for this but i liked the game. sure it had its fare share of bugs and it was a bit slow i enjoyed it and the game is being patched every week and its getting better all the time.now the reason i didn't give it higher marks is it is not excusable to send out a buggy and unfinished game to the consumers sure its getting better every patch but firefly should have checked the game for bugs i wouldn't of minded this game being delayed to finish it. Collapse Expand
  15. Oct 14, 2012
    1
    It pains me to say this because of how much I loved the first game. But everything magical about stronghold was ruined when they went 3-D. Firefly mastered 2-D settings... but.... I can't even play this game without it crashing in the first ten minutes. Besides that.. there is hardly anything resembling an online community..... and they scraped half of the settings that made us all fall inIt pains me to say this because of how much I loved the first game. But everything magical about stronghold was ruined when they went 3-D. Firefly mastered 2-D settings... but.... I can't even play this game without it crashing in the first ten minutes. Besides that.. there is hardly anything resembling an online community..... and they scraped half of the settings that made us all fall in love with SH1 Collapse
  16. Dec 20, 2015
    3
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
  17. Sep 25, 2014
    0
    I'm just going to start off by saying this: What A Load Of Crap! I got this game the day it was released and I was highly. I am just now reviewing this because I was refusing to even acknowledge this game's existence. I recently decided to to install it again to see if it had been patched and was improved, but I was still disappointed. In the original release you had four game modes,I'm just going to start off by saying this: What A Load Of Crap! I got this game the day it was released and I was highly. I am just now reviewing this because I was refusing to even acknowledge this game's existence. I recently decided to to install it again to see if it had been patched and was improved, but I was still disappointed. In the original release you had four game modes, Military Campaign, Economical Campaign, Free Build and Multiplayer Skirmish. The campaigns had engaging stories, but the amount of bugs and glitches makes the game unplayable. I like what they did in free build where you can send invasions against yourself, but the fact that you had three maps, all of which had the worst keep, was a great disappointment. Multiplayer never worked very well, so I can't give anything more than that. The only good things about this game are the music and the story. One of the most frustrating things in this game is the build limit on buildings, while understandable, if you build a huge fort with walls and towers, you will have absolutely no economy. If you are going to buy a Stronghold game, get the Warchest (or whatever its called) from Steam for about $20 or Stronghold Crusader 2, which was released two days ago.
    In conclusion, DO NOT BUY THIS GAME, there are much better ways of spending your money.
    Expand
  18. Aug 21, 2014
    1
    Don't buy this game. I would rather be forced to do hard labor than play this game it's that boring and broken.

    If any credit could be given, it's to the one guy who voice acted at the start. I feel so cheated for having paid $4.00 for this I am just going to paste my Steam review under this. UI takes up 50% of the screen and no option to reduce it. Mini map and UI graphics look
    Don't buy this game. I would rather be forced to do hard labor than play this game it's that boring and broken.

    If any credit could be given, it's to the one guy who voice acted at the start.

    I feel so cheated for having paid $4.00 for this I am just going to paste my Steam review under this.

    UI takes up 50% of the screen and no option to reduce it.
    Mini map and UI graphics look disgusting.
    There is no info, or tooltips on units.
    The game looks damn ugly.
    Very poor unit animation and movement is clunky as hell. They also move like snails.
    Fixed restrictive camera will drive you mad.
    The whole resource gathering mechanisms are horrendously simple and linear.
    Expand
  19. May 31, 2016
    0
    i played stronghold 2 and love it, now stronghold 3.......yes you made a stroy thats all i se bad really bad buildings are bad cant walk on wooden walls like stronghold 2 cant put barracks and armory together like in stronghold 2 the graphics are bad i like the stronghold 2 graphics more simple and the land scape is so small why what has happend did you release this game withi played stronghold 2 and love it, now stronghold 3.......yes you made a stroy thats all i se bad really bad buildings are bad cant walk on wooden walls like stronghold 2 cant put barracks and armory together like in stronghold 2 the graphics are bad i like the stronghold 2 graphics more simple and the land scape is so small why what has happend did you release this game with out tidyup up cant target propyl i love playing building defense freeliy with everythink looking nice stronghold 3 is a fail thank you for stealing my money its like buying sacrid 3 and sacred 2 was better then 3oO pleas read this befor buying game. Expand
  20. Oct 14, 2012
    0
    It pains me to say this because of how much I loved the first game. But everything magical about stronghold was ruined when they went 3-D. Firefly mastered 2-D settings... but.... I can't even play this game without it crashing in the first ten minutes. Besides that.. there is hardly anything resembling an online community..... and they scraped half of the settings that made us all fall inIt pains me to say this because of how much I loved the first game. But everything magical about stronghold was ruined when they went 3-D. Firefly mastered 2-D settings... but.... I can't even play this game without it crashing in the first ten minutes. Besides that.. there is hardly anything resembling an online community..... and they scraped half of the settings that made us all fall in love with SH1 Collapse
Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 29
  2. Negative: 14 out of 29
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 20, 2012
    40
    Failure of the year – first two games don't deserve such a disappointing sequel as Stronghold 3 did. Few pros cannot hide a pile of bugs and bad design decisions. [Dec 2011]
  2. PC Games (Russia)
    Dec 24, 2011
    80
    A traditional strategy with many elements which are too old. Fans of the series may like it still. [January 2012, p.72]
  3. Dec 16, 2011
    30
    Stronghold 3 is boring beyond redemption. The blurb on the retail box should have been written along the lines of "We've run out of ideas, our artists forgot how to draw, and our programmers can't produce stable code anymore, but hey, a long, long time ago we made one really great game!"