Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 334 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Stronghold 3 is the third installment in the award winning castle-building series.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 29
  2. Negative: 14 out of 29
  1. Dec 24, 2011
    80
    A traditional strategy with many elements which are too old. Fans of the series may like it still. [January 2012, p.72]
  2. Nov 2, 2011
    70
    Stronghold 3 is a successor that takes up the story of the original and continues it. Wit a back to the roots approach, the game tries to avoid disgrace a la Stronghold 2. The new day and night cycles, plus the physics of collapsing buildings, are a stark contrast to largely drab graphics and some clipping problems. The missing skirmish mode is also a problem. Still, all in all, Stronghold 3 delivers a solid military and economic gameplay.
  3. Nov 5, 2011
    59
    Every once in a while, a glimpse of the intended gameplay shines through in Stronghold 3, and you can see the strategic elements for what they should be. However, there are so many bugs and flaws with the game that it can be really tough to get a true look at its potential.
  4. Nov 16, 2011
    50
    I thought I would've been more engaged in both campaigns, but I felt that both modes were pretty bland. Yes, it had its fun moments but they were few and far between.
  5. 40
    Failure of the year – first two games don't deserve such a disappointing sequel as Stronghold 3 did. Few pros cannot hide a pile of bugs and bad design decisions. [Dec 2011]
  6. Nov 4, 2011
    40
    Stronghold might have been great once, but that castle has long since crumbled. Spend your ducats elsewhere.
  7. Nov 23, 2011
    0
    This buggy, unfinished mess of a castle-building sim should never have been released in its current state.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 162
  1. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    After playing this for a good few hours I can point out that most of the other reviewers are trolls, the game is fine and I have yet to runAfter playing this for a good few hours I can point out that most of the other reviewers are trolls, the game is fine and I have yet to run into either a bug or a bad gameplay decision, the graphics are nice but the character models could be better, the music is excellent and the gameplay is fine, for those wanting Stronghold 1 go and play Stronghold 1. Expand
  2. Oct 26, 2011
    9
    It is very similar to older titles with some neat new and exciting features. They haven't improved on the path finding but that is ok. IIt is very similar to older titles with some neat new and exciting features. They haven't improved on the path finding but that is ok. I highly recommend this for Stronghold fans. But my God!! This one is HARD! I have experienced no graphical errors (run on high settings). Expand
  3. Oct 30, 2011
    4
    Worst of all the Stronghold games out there. Ive played since Stronghold 1 and did all the campaigns and spend a lot of time on its games. ButWorst of all the Stronghold games out there. Ive played since Stronghold 1 and did all the campaigns and spend a lot of time on its games. But after the first impressions and first militairy campaign mission I quit already. The camera is always on top, everything feels so..small. I did not really look at the graphics at this point, but I think they are a bit worse than SH: 2 graphics. Many small annoying things from SH: 2 have gone, but I think Firefly studios made a bit to much gone; Skirmish mode. The once so marvelous mode were you could pick your own enemies and place to start, on a certain difficult mode just for you. Its a shame that that mode has gone, leaving you to Free build without any enemies, militairy campaign with no freedom; its always following the objectives. And also Economic campaign. I only think Firefly left the units, the buildings, the silly but funny fighting scenes were units collapse into each other, and the name into the Stronghold franchise. This is not Stronghold 3, it feels more like Farmholdville 3. A waste of time and money if you are well known to the Stronghold series.
    Also, I think it might be time to change unit voices. It might be not such a bad game for the non-hardcore Stronghold/strategy fans(after all the bug fixes). But for the real fans out there: Stay Away from this game.
    Expand
  4. Mar 8, 2012
    1
    This game ruined stronghold for me. The only improvement, comparing to stronghold 2, is the graphics - and they're not good at all. The gameThis game ruined stronghold for me. The only improvement, comparing to stronghold 2, is the graphics - and they're not good at all. The game is buggy as f'''k. It's takes an effort to even control your units and get them to move at all.. Just a really. bad. comeback. I don't even want to go into details, because if not the basics are in order, you really can't enjoy the game at all. Not worth a penny. Expand
  5. Oct 27, 2011
    1
    STAY AWAY !!! Thx to the piracy I saved myself money This game is totally unplayable I wanted to have fun not to be irritated. first of allSTAY AWAY !!! Thx to the piracy I saved myself money This game is totally unplayable I wanted to have fun not to be irritated. first of all where the heck is difficulty level ??? second: in the advertisement i heard about realism. so please go to the shop buy bread and find out the very next day /read mission/ that there is no bread available to buy or produce ??? can i forget how to build a farm or bakery just like that ??? new construction should be added not removed and if You guys try to make the game difficult that way - so its bad way !!! third i should be able to buy everything in market building and first of all the items that i cant produce in the first place. 4. i gave that game 4 mission time to convince me that its a good game. and stuck on fourth mission its to difficult for normal player and to annoying. camera control is bad. and the space bar view is useless. Bugs everywhere. Time control would be nice. I,am into strategic games and i hoped to have good game instead i have seen lots of potential wasted. Shame on You Firefly Studios and again thanks to the pirates. It's not like i would say its good to use pirated version but now days i think there is new mission for them to show the crap to the people !!! and they did as to stronghold 3. I would like to buy quality good designed games. I like playing games and i support the companies which are producing games i like. Once again I dont want to be misunderstood piracy is not good for the companies and players too but its good source of knowing what to buy and what to forget Uninstalled deleted forged. Waste of hdd space and money if You intend to buy. Expand
  6. Sep 25, 2014
    0
    I'm just going to start off by saying this: What A Load Of Crap! I got this game the day it was released and I was highly. I am just nowI'm just going to start off by saying this: What A Load Of Crap! I got this game the day it was released and I was highly. I am just now reviewing this because I was refusing to even acknowledge this game's existence. I recently decided to to install it again to see if it had been patched and was improved, but I was still disappointed. In the original release you had four game modes, Military Campaign, Economical Campaign, Free Build and Multiplayer Skirmish. The campaigns had engaging stories, but the amount of bugs and glitches makes the game unplayable. I like what they did in free build where you can send invasions against yourself, but the fact that you had three maps, all of which had the worst keep, was a great disappointment. Multiplayer never worked very well, so I can't give anything more than that. The only good things about this game are the music and the story. One of the most frustrating things in this game is the build limit on buildings, while understandable, if you build a huge fort with walls and towers, you will have absolutely no economy. If you are going to buy a Stronghold game, get the Warchest (or whatever its called) from Steam for about $20 or Stronghold Crusader 2, which was released two days ago.
    In conclusion, DO NOT BUY THIS GAME, there are much better ways of spending your money.
    Expand
  7. Oct 25, 2011
    0
    I was really looking forward to this game. Preordered it. SO disappointed. Laggy (even on my very high spec nearly new laptop), still lagsI was really looking forward to this game. Preordered it. SO disappointed. Laggy (even on my very high spec nearly new laptop), still lags when graphics set lower and lights turned off. Crashes out.... oh I can't even begin to list all the problems.

    I wish I'd never wasted my money :(
    Expand

See all 162 User Reviews