Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
Buy On
  1. Play Magazine
    85
    There's a lot to be said about plowing through town with a zombie horde, biting brains. [Dec 2005, p.59]
  2. 85
    Watching our zombie army do our brain-eating dirty work for us was a gaming moment we won't soon forget.
  3. To give the visual style greater impact Stubbs the Zombie features the best soundtrack this year.
  4. Computer Gaming World
    80
    Good, but we crave more. MORE BRAINS! [Feb 2006, p.78]
  5. Eating the brains of the living to form a massive army of the undead is extremely satisfying, often hilarious, and, unfortunately, almost painfully brief.
  6. PC Gamer
    77
    If your idea of a rousing good time is cracking open skulls like chestnuts to feast on the goo inside, you'll have plenty of fun with this one. [Feb 2006, p.86]
  7. Probably the best soundtrack ever produced for a game.
  8. 75
    It's a game that is great to pick up at any time of the day, eat a few brains, and then move on to something else.
  9. Although Stubbs the Zombie stands as a pleasing deviation from today's genre standards, it still doesn't have enough to engulf players in the long run.
  10. It's a brief ride and the action can become repetitive, but the sharp humour keeps you smiling.
  11. Stubbs might be left craving a few more brains and he might have wished that he could have done a little bit more than just feast and fart, but I think that by the time Punchbowl and love have been conquered, Stubbs is reasonably satisfied with the second chance he was given for life and love.
  12. It’s repetitive and lacks any kind of real long lasting game play. This is more of a game to play to pass a bit of time.
  13. In essence, the game mechanics are as rough as a butcher's dog, yet it remains a game that will make you smile, and one that you'll finish - not least because it's so damn short.
  14. Edge Magazine
    60
    Wideload has placed a welcome knee in the groin of the status quo, but by taking its subject too lightly it’s also failed to turn an adventurous prototype into a durable production. [Christmas 2005, p.102]
  15. Computer Games Magazine
    60
    While most games have you fighting zombies, this one puts you squarely in the rotting feet of one Edward Stubblefield, who one day finds himself slightly undead. [Mar 2006, p.53]
  16. AceGamez
    60
    Comparisons with one of the few other truly anti-hero games, "Destroy All Humans," are warranted - but sadly if you do that, you'll find Stubbs coming up short on pretty much every count.
  17. PC Format
    53
    Great premise, but as fun to spend spend time with as a freshly exhumed corpse. [Mar 2006, p.102]
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. May 10, 2012
    9
    Fantastic game from 2005! No doubt the best game for being a zombie as it has everything in it from classic zombie lore/hollywood flicks. IfFantastic game from 2005! No doubt the best game for being a zombie as it has everything in it from classic zombie lore/hollywood flicks. If you love zombies and 1950's with a futuristic twist, you'll faint after playing a minute of this. I highly recommend it! Great gameplay, awesome 1950's inspired soundtrack, nothing can go wrong in this game as you set out as Stubb's to get payback. Full Review »
  2. JamesF
    Jan 8, 2010
    10
    Great game to get a laugh and play to waste a little time here and there.
  3. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    Oh man did I fall in love with this game! I played it a few years after it came out, and loved every minute of it! I still play it today everyOh man did I fall in love with this game! I played it a few years after it came out, and loved every minute of it! I still play it today every once in a while because they just don't make games like this anymore! Full Review »