User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 77
  2. Negative: 11 out of 77
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JamesF
    Jan 8, 2010
    10
    Great game to get a laugh and play to waste a little time here and there.
  2. May 10, 2012
    9
    Fantastic game from 2005! No doubt the best game for being a zombie as it has everything in it from classic zombie lore/hollywood flicks. If you love zombies and 1950's with a futuristic twist, you'll faint after playing a minute of this. I highly recommend it! Great gameplay, awesome 1950's inspired soundtrack, nothing can go wrong in this game as you set out as Stubb's to get payback.
  3. T.J.W.
    Aug 1, 2007
    9
    This game is SO fun to play. I have only played it for about an hour or so, but the unique gameplay keeps me going. The graphics aren't the greatest, but the humor and the gameplay make up for it.
  4. hansolo
    May 21, 2007
    10
    Great game and great co-op on Xbox
  5. JonathanS.
    May 30, 2007
    9
    I simply love this game. The humor is just so much me, so after i played the demo it struck me that i couldnt live without this game, so i bought it. The gameplay is really nice, i would have liked a few more funny events since this is no scary zombie game, its a comedie. I simply have to smile when i hear the people as i try to eat their brains "Hey! Stop eating my brians! I simply love this game. The humor is just so much me, so after i played the demo it struck me that i couldnt live without this game, so i bought it. The gameplay is really nice, i would have liked a few more funny events since this is no scary zombie game, its a comedie. I simply have to smile when i hear the people as i try to eat their brains "Hey! Stop eating my brians! nonononooonooooooo...". dont buy it if you want a serious game and a great storyline, this game is all about humor and nothing more. I can recommend this game to anyone who considers buying it, but beware that it is a short game and its not just as fun to play second time as it was the first time. But it is still a great game and the grapics are good, some areas are aslo quite hard. So this isent just a "play-for-an-hour-throw-ing-arbage-kind-of-game" even though its a comedie game, and the grapics are fine too. Expand
  6. GrahamM.
    Jun 4, 2007
    9
    I thought this game was both different and very entertaining. A change from the usual.
  7. DanD.
    May 19, 2007
    10
    This is a great game. i dont know why it has such a low score though. Yes it does seem like it doesnt run on the halo game engine but i still think its a great game. i get a great sense of power when controling a zombie horde....it just love it....
  8. RoyB.
    May 21, 2007
    9
    About time a good Zombie game came out whens the add on for Multi-player comeing out that would make the game Hot!
  9. AndersM.R.
    May 24, 2007
    10
    Loved this game. Really you see all these cliche zombie games where you have to shoot them and be the hero and such.. All these games that have been copied out of each other to the eternety. BUT this game is different. Here you can be the drooling and terrifying zombie. You can be a part of the zombie army that the police, military and scientists are trying to kill And then there is all Loved this game. Really you see all these cliche zombie games where you have to shoot them and be the hero and such.. All these games that have been copied out of each other to the eternety. BUT this game is different. Here you can be the drooling and terrifying zombie. You can be a part of the zombie army that the police, military and scientists are trying to kill And then there is all the black BLACK humor, blood and gore.... And brain eating. Thats why im giving it top score 10/10 Expand
  10. PepisN.
    Jun 15, 2007
    10
    Great game and very funny!
  11. JoeK.
    Jun 19, 2007
    9
    GREAT GAME!
  12. MilesH
    Jun 3, 2009
    8
    Fun game unfortunatley with an ati graphics card you can not get past the plice station but still worth the $5 i paid for it on a steam special
  13. WarwickA.
    Jun 28, 2007
    9
    Very entertaining and varied gameplay, and well worth $20 or so. Imaginitive story lines.
  14. DanielS.
    Jan 17, 2008
    10
    Really enjoyed this game all the way through, it was simplistic enough that getting the hang of it was no problem. But it wasnt so simple that I lost interrest before it was over. Plus it easily has the best soundtrack of any game...ever.
  15. BrandonR
    Mar 21, 2009
    10
    its awsome tho there just 1 problem it broke after me playing it a couple hours later
  16. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    Oh man did I fall in love with this game! I played it a few years after it came out, and loved every minute of it! I still play it today every once in a while because they just don't make games like this anymore!
  17. Doc
    Jan 4, 2006
    8
    I play games to have fun and unwind. This game is very fun. I have not finished it but I think I can recommend it to anyone thinking about purchasing the game. It is funny and has a very nice sound track. Pretty good humor. It is appropriately bloody so it earns its M rating. The graphics are pretty good. It is easy enough to play and your combat and "weapons" are certainly unique. Eating I play games to have fun and unwind. This game is very fun. I have not finished it but I think I can recommend it to anyone thinking about purchasing the game. It is funny and has a very nice sound track. Pretty good humor. It is appropriately bloody so it earns its M rating. The graphics are pretty good. It is easy enough to play and your combat and "weapons" are certainly unique. Eating brains or beating someone with a dismembered limb is a fun and refreshing change from a shotgun ! Being able to create a zombie horde is very cool. Some of the game play takes getting used to . First, you are a zombie and can not move like the wind nor do you seem to really have a well defined mission beyond roaming about and eating brains. ...which should really come as no surprise. Your zombie horde can be a bit tricky to direct or control because they too are simply zombies ambling about. I had to remind myself that my horde was not a crack team of physically fit and agile Army Rangers or counterterrorists! If you don't watch out you can get a bit far ahead of your horde. This game is quite enjoyable thus far. I understand that the soundtrack is available so I may definitely need to pick it up. As mentioned above, I could see copies of this game being available at discount shops or bargain bins in the not so distant future. Expand
  18. YannC.
    Aug 12, 2007
    8
    Very good game. funny :)
  19. K.Dep
    Dec 19, 2005
    8
    This game is really funny in a Serious Sam 2 kinda way. It's fun, albeit short, but really fun. Sadly, it's also one of those games where you don't learn the plotline until the game is over. It has next to zero plot, but it's not really needed here. It's a decent value, but this is a game that will be in the bargain bin in 2 months, so wait for the price to drop This game is really funny in a Serious Sam 2 kinda way. It's fun, albeit short, but really fun. Sadly, it's also one of those games where you don't learn the plotline until the game is over. It has next to zero plot, but it's not really needed here. It's a decent value, but this is a game that will be in the bargain bin in 2 months, so wait for the price to drop substantially. One warning - This game is Starforce protected, so people with USB Cd-Roms will not be able to play it. Expand
  20. CarlK.
    Jun 25, 2007
    8
    I give it a 8 for the fact of a NEW THEME! OMG finally someone came up with a real strive at a new version of a game! Overall its too short but allot of fun and laughs as you play it. If you want a good giggle and be in a pleasant mood of fun then you need to sit and play this one. While some of it can be challanging. I think with a little more investment and a multiplayer theme MMO it I give it a 8 for the fact of a NEW THEME! OMG finally someone came up with a real strive at a new version of a game! Overall its too short but allot of fun and laughs as you play it. If you want a good giggle and be in a pleasant mood of fun then you need to sit and play this one. While some of it can be challanging. I think with a little more investment and a multiplayer theme MMO it could be a diverse winner.!! Yes its fun and cute and just general a good time. Work on the Multiplayer version and invest some real coding....people are starving for something FUN and NEW! God knows! Good work guys! Expand
  21. BillA
    Sep 21, 2008
    8
    It was on sale for 5$ via steam, Meta critic gave it a 72, Its from an independent developer
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. To give the visual style greater impact Stubbs the Zombie features the best soundtrack this year.
  2. Play Magazine
    85
    There's a lot to be said about plowing through town with a zombie horde, biting brains. [Dec 2005, p.59]
  3. Edge Magazine
    60
    Wideload has placed a welcome knee in the groin of the status quo, but by taking its subject too lightly it’s also failed to turn an adventurous prototype into a durable production. [Christmas 2005, p.102]