Sub Command Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Take charge of the most deadly modern-day submarines in the world as you command three distinct submarines across two unique and challenging campaigns. Utilize cutting-edge technology to navigate the world's oceans to locate, track and destroy enemy convoys. Or, park your sub off hostileTake charge of the most deadly modern-day submarines in the world as you command three distinct submarines across two unique and challenging campaigns. Utilize cutting-edge technology to navigate the world's oceans to locate, track and destroy enemy convoys. Or, park your sub off hostile shores to deliver Tomahawk missiles to inland targets. Whether diving, scouring or surfacing, you control the smartest, stealthiest, and most feared subs in the water today. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. 89
    Most importantly, it does what it does well, and except for the lack of a printed manual and more help for learning strategies, is a worthy tribute to the lost Jane's Combat Simulations brand.
  2. No quarter has been spared in delivering one of the most detailed and complex representations of modern sub warfare ever for the PC. [Holiday 2001, p.88]
  3. One of those rare and delicious projects that's 90 percent simulation and 10 percent game. Although it may be the last of a dying breed--it's hard to imagine Sub Command being commercially successful--it is heaven-sent.
  4. This is a realistic simulation, unashamedly difficult to master, but offering the kind of satisfaction that only comes from conquering a difficult challenge. [Mar 2002, p.78]
  5. It's an underwater chess match that builds up to maybe only one chance to shoot. Some missions don't even allow you that...[It's] polished and thoroughly engaging, and the real audience for this game—you know who you are—won't be disappointed.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. PaulA.
    May 30, 2002
    10
    Excellent although hard to get used to at first. Extremely realistic
  2. NateS.
    Jan 16, 2002
    9
    Excellent. If you like realism over ease of play or fun, this is the game. It's really quite amazing how much effort went into this Excellent. If you like realism over ease of play or fun, this is the game. It's really quite amazing how much effort went into this game. I love it. I had to take a point off because it occasionally crashes the system and there is a bit of trouble starting the game. But it's worth it. Expand
  3. RichardS.
    Nov 30, 2006
    9
    Coming from a submariner who's job it is to track and engage contacts, this simulation is extremely accurate (just short of being Coming from a submariner who's job it is to track and engage contacts, this simulation is extremely accurate (just short of being considered classified). Probably not that much fun for someone who is not part of the comunity, but for those of us out there who've earned our fish it's great fun (or a boring simulation of our work). Expand
  4. FábioMachado
    Jun 6, 2008
    9
    Excelent game!
    Good value and very realistc ...
    It takes some time to understand all the functions and weapons but the game is really
    Excelent game!
    Good value and very realistc ...
    It takes some time to understand all the functions and weapons but the game is really interesting ...
    I just don't give a 10/10 because I believe it should have more tutorials, easyer access to control panels and some graphics improvements ....
    But the game is excelent !
    Expand
  5. KurtL.
    Apr 5, 2009
    9
    Don't listen do David, he was expecting probably some Call of Duty underwater sub kill fest. Plus, David, its not about the graphics.Don't listen do David, he was expecting probably some Call of Duty underwater sub kill fest. Plus, David, its not about the graphics. Now, the graphics arnt that good but they don't kill the game. SubCommand is one of the most realistic modern day subsims out there. If you like Subsims, get this. If you like action-packed-adventures, go play Hello Kitty.... Collapse
  6. ChrisP.
    Apr 22, 2007
    8
    Took me a long time to get used to playing the game. (I'm a Silent Hunter kinda guy) But once I figured the game out, it was quite a fun Took me a long time to get used to playing the game. (I'm a Silent Hunter kinda guy) But once I figured the game out, it was quite a fun simulation. Expand
  7. DavidM.
    Jan 4, 2007
    0
    Total waste of money. Worst graphics ever. Boring beyond belief. I will thick twice before I purchase on steam again!