User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 545 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 545

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 5, 2010
    10
    Simply put, the best true platforming game to come out in YEARS. As you can immediately notice, the user scores are quite polarized, and I believe this is true to the nature of the game. If you find joy in surmounting difficult (But FAIR) platforming challenges, this game is the PERFECT game for you. Let me also state that the 10 I assigned this game was not some knee-jerk reaction to a merely clever indie game. This game is fantastic by ANY standard, it is perfectly executed. There is nothing in the game where I have ever said, man, I wish X existed. In a time where games like Fallout New Vegas and Civ 5 release with the swath of glitches and bugs in the game, it is refreshing to have a game ship out that is immensely bug free, it is absolutely precise. You may even grow to treat this precision as a foe, as there is a razor thin edge between success and death in each level, there is no "give", if you touch a deadly obstacle with any part of your hit-box, you can count on dying. However, this consistency gives rise to the games greatest achievement, the overall fairness of the game. I am astounded that I read other user reviews that actually complained about the controls, they are absolutely astounding. To be fair, I do use a Xbox360 controller, I could see that without one it may take longer to "pick up" but the controls are nevertheless, precise. The character becomes an extension of your will, you'll find sometimes that when an unexpected hazard appears, you react quickly and ably within fractions of a second, as if you were acting out of instinct. I am also disturbed to read some people claiming that this game's difficulty is just a mechanism to lengthen the game. I find it hard to believe we even played the same game. The levels are difficult to be sure, but they are absolutely fair, if you die, it is your fault, there are no invisible traps, your character will not move if you don't tell him to. And even if you die, the levels each can be completed in under a minute, so if you do die (and you will die, often) almost no progress is lost. You will not be spending 5 minutes just to get a chance to practice the spot you died at last time. The other reason I find this explanation difficult to believe is that there are over 300 levels. The game is already massive, it wouldn't need to be lengthened by unnecessary difficulty.

    In short: A difficult platformer, but an absolute masterpiece if you are willing to take up the challenge.
    Expand
  2. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    This game is perfect. First of all, this is as much content as I've EVER seen in a game this price (free roguelikes aside as that would be completely unfair :D). HUNDREDS of stages, challenges, and unlockable goodies. Also, this game is hardcore. This is a real treat when the general game holds your hand with garbage like a quest compass and regenerating HP... in Super Meat Boy, if you screw up, you die. Usually instantly. And it only gets harder. The learning curve is also fantastically satisfying. You will consistently get better from play. When you are playing the first boss it WILL seem difficult. After playing the next few levels if you go back you'll wonder what was so hard. You will stand back and say, "oh my god, I'm DOING this." The mechanics are very smooth, jumping, wall jumping, dashing, these are fun and for the most part the game seems very fair. When you die you'll know YOU messed up and it wasn't just something stupid due to chance. Point being, if you like video games, get this game. Also, use a controller. This game is a seven with a keyboard, a ten with a controller. Do it. Expand
  3. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    Its everything the 360 version is and more. you can really tell that team meat was looking forward to bringing this to pc and steam. theres the extra characters and theres also a level editor to look forward to. seriously i cant recommend this enough to pc gamers. amazing old school gameplay (aka hardcore platformer). 300 levels , challenging game play , almost 20 characters to use at any time , awesome boss fights , and cutscenes. 10$ for the prepurchase was more then worth it and the 15$ for regular price is still worth your money Expand
  4. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    Unbelievable........SMB is one of the biggest surprises I've had in gaming...period. I bought it for $3.75 on the Steam sale (what the hell right?) and have had so much fun with this game. There are a few very unique innovations that make this game stick out. First, the difficulty is there, it takes time to figure out some levels, and when you do, there's a sense of adrenaline and excitement...like, "oh no, I'm almost to the end of the level (AMAZINGLY!). Once completed, the replay is spectacular, showing all the iterations of your attempts simultaneously. The SFX and Music put many blockbuster games to shame. I'd buy the sound track if I could...and all the little meat splotch sounds are just hilariously satisfying. I'[d recommended this game to anyone. For it's type of game (Indie, platform-spam-death thing) it deserves the highest marks. Expand
  5. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    AMAZING Game. Do not miss this from your collection on PC. Have played through to the end of world 3 and tried a few of the warp zones and dark levels already. Hands down this is my GOTY for 2010. Yes that's right it beats Mass Effect 2, Fallout New Vegas, Alan Wake and even Amnesia the Dark Descent. Addictive, highly replayable, fun to play by yourself or with friends. The replay of all your tries when you finish a level is pure GOLD. Unlocking new characters is also really interesting and adds even more replayability to the game. Whoever designed this game are officially legends. Expand
  6. Dec 25, 2010
    10
    Team Meat has gone out of their way to make Super Meat Boy polished and amazing. Reliving the best parts of older platformer games, and utilizing 2D graphics in ways I didn't even think of, they were able to take a totally ridiculous idea and turn it into gold. Endless replayability, a various many challenging levels and boss fights, old retro throw backs, and more special characters that you can count on one hand, Super Meat Boy will have you coming back again and again. Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2011
    10
    The charm of this game is unreal. There is something endlessly entertaining about seeing an anthropomorphic slab of meat struggle through brutal and brilliantly designed levels. The only people I believe who will not find enjoyment in this game are those who cannot commit themselves to a challenge or just have poor jumping judgement. The gaming world has been in desperate need of a good hardcore platformer for quite a while. Thank you Team Meat for sorting that out. Expand
  8. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    YES YES YES YES YES!

    I bought this game for my friend and he hasn't been off it since, this is one of my favourite platformers ever. Even though it says you need an Xbox controller, you don't it is perfectly playable with the keyboard. The port is fantastic, gameplay is amazing and the villain.. Oh my, is one of my favourite ever. The extra retro levels are awesome aswell. If you have
    time pickup the level creator from steam tools and make some levels! Expand
  9. Dec 24, 2010
    9
    Difficult without being frustrating, pinpoint-accurate controls and all-round retro platforming awesomeness. Don't stress over it, just give it a chance and you'll be engrossed!
  10. Jan 17, 2011
    9
    Super Meat Boy is definitely not a game for hardcore FPS players. It is purely made for players who want to relive "the good old days" or for those who never truly lived them. The game goes extremely masochistic after few levels and at times I felt I was going to lose my mind just when I saw the next level. In a good way though. The music is very catching when you're escaping a boss from almost certain death. And those battles are probably the highlight of the game. The controls are great with both keyboard and Xbox 360 controller so you can easily swap between controller and keyboard. There are so few buttons to use so it stay simple. The story isn't complex either and the game don't need it. Meat Boy is lovable character and will be remembered in the future. The simplicity of the game is its key to success. This game is just classic. Expand
  11. Jan 22, 2011
    10
    As my friends and I agree on: "Super Meat Boy feels like a giant Tribute to everything awesome."
    This is not just random praise. It is based on quite a few facts: + The game is overall FUN to play; not feeling like grinding in WoW or over exaggerated Action in CoD. + Although the difficulty gets insanely high, these are the things that make it fun to play: * The controls are absolutely
    tight, meaning the levels don't feel like a stab in the dark or brute-forcing as the player is absolutely in control instead of autoaim or wonky motion controls or quick-time-events. * The learning curve is very well done, constantly making 1 level harder than the previous. * The challenges are widely varied, there is none of the typical "spawning twice as much enemies in the room" * The extreme difficulty does not feel like a punishment, more constant test of skill and in every normal level there is a infinite instant respawn anyway. * To get to the end it is not neccesary to compete every level consecutively, and 3/20 levels do not have to be completed in order to challange each chapter boss. * The extra characters bring a freshness and can potentially help you on the level you are stuck on. + It is multiplatform, available on every current platform except PS3 and mac at the time of writing. + It brings new elements to the "old-fashioned" platforming genre. + The art style design and setting/story is very innovative and often sarcastically hilarious. + The music is very fitting and well made. + It has HEAPS of different levels and with 30+ hours of game time i have yet to beat them all. + The price is at $15 US very very good, and it was $3.75 US when i bought it. + If you buy it you are supporting the indie game market which is a very good thing in my opinion.

    To conclude: It is a must-buy for anyone who can handle a fresh, challenging game.

    Note: I'm basing my review on the PC version of Super Meat Boy. I have played mostly PC/PS3 games from varied genres.
    Expand
  12. Feb 2, 2011
    10
    WeLLLLL!!! To start off, no me gutsa! i like meat but this cind? no way? yes way, very meaty...tastes like eggs...ANYWHOoOoOo i didnt like it cause of the amazing cinimetogyhpy and the other 2010 360s a more favourible kids. to rap this juggular vein up lets say its a "deltoid" of a time and that you should not buy the game
  13. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    This game is pure AWESOMENESS!!!! There is no other way to describe it! At first glace I was not sure what to expect, but since its a cheap Indie game I gave it a shot. I was thoroughly impressed, the controls are so smooth, the music is great, the retro arcade aspects to top it all off.
  14. May 2, 2011
    10
    This game will kick your ass repeatedly and you'll probably die a few thousand times before completing the game, but for some reason no matter how much you die, you keep coming back for more punishment. I haven't played such a thrilling and satisfying platformer since Super Mario Bros. 3, and I'm beginning to think it may be my new all-time favorite game in the genre. Just be warned that this game is VERY difficult amongst platformers and it can be frustrating to people who are bad at video games. 90% of the negative reviews are "this game is too hard it kicked my ass."

    The controls are perfect; to put it simply: they put you exactly where you want to be. I went back to Super Mario and for the first time in my life I have to say the controls feel dated by comparison -- and I'm a huge fan of classic Mario platformers. To add to the fantastic gameplay is the outstanding music, beautifully gritty environments, and a really solid "arcade feel" to the theme.

    The only real downside to this game lies within it's virtually non-existent story, but then again if you're playing a platformer for the story, you're doing it wrong.
    Expand
  15. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    Greatest. Platformer. Ever.
    This game is incredibly fun and incredibly hard. The level design is perfect and very masochistic, you will die many many times, finishing the game 100% is a real tough challenge, getting all achievements is nearly impossible. The graphics are beautiful, the unlockable characters add replay value. It's very cool to compete with your friends in the highscores and
    find new, faster routes for the levels. Definitely one of my all time favorite games! I recommend playing it with the xbox 360 controller for windows, keyboard controls are simply not precise enough for such a game. Expand
  16. Jul 19, 2012
    9
    I played this game like 6 month ago on a friend's PC. I didn't really liked it, the handling was to messy, the game difficulty was to hard. I was basically finished with this game, but then it was included in the HumbleBundle so I got it for 1$ and I gave it another try. And this time it was like an other game for me. As soon as you're trusted with the handling the game is as fun as hell. I couldn't stop playing it until I had this game on 100%. The playtime is more than enough even for the full price. After finishing all levels you can either create your own or play custom level from others. Can't give the full 10 points due to the achievements are pretty hard to get. Even after having this game on 100% I still don't have more then half of the achievements. All in all this game is perfect for people who either need a game that they can play in small gaming sessions or for people who simply like that kind of games Expand
  17. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    Alright so to address some of the other reviews:
    1. BUY A CONTROLLER. The game was designed for one. It is a platformer and you really need the abillity to control the variable speed with the joystick. Majority of the negative reviews I see, they complain about the controls being glitchy. On a controller, the game handles like a dream.
    2. Since when did a challenge become
    masochistic? Yes it's hard, but it gets progressively harder. If the latter levels weren't hard, then it wouldn't be much of a platformer now would it?

    I have completed the game to 100% and have to say that no other game in the past six or so years has given me such satisfaction upon completion. The last levels are absolutely insane, and require literally perfect execution. But if you die, it's your fault, never once could I blame the game. If you want a walk in the park cinematic experience, this game isn't for you. If you want a game that will have you jump up out of your chair and give a loud "FUCCCCKKKK YESSSS!!!!!!" that your neighbors three houses down can here, then this is the game for you.
    Expand
  18. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    I'm not sure if I've ever slammed my keyboard as much as I do when playing this game. This game is frustrating, damn difficult and very unforgiving. I have never died so many times in a game before on a single level. Despite the extreme difficulty though, I loved every minute I spent playing this game. The levels are ingeniously detailed and varied, with many obstacles in your way such as spinning saws and bottomless pits. The levels are also very short, so when (not if) you die, you will not have to constantly repeat huge segments. The game's music is also incredible and really just makes you want to keep playing even if you've died 50 times already on the level you're trying. This is a really great game that I can't recommend enough. Just make sure you don't break your keyboard out of frustration. Collapse
  19. Oct 26, 2013
    9
    This game is good,some people don't like it because it's hard,but that means more happiness for the ones who finished it.
    The story it's simple but amazing
    It follows the path:The girl is kidnapped,you find her,the doctor sends a monster at you and run in a different location,it repeats over and over and the you beat the doctor and go away with the girl.
    The unlock able characters give
    the game diversity and makes it easier but still hard.
    The music in this game is gorgeous,the music you will like and will pump you with adrenaline.
    So this game is very good and it's not old school,because it's a funny and spontaneous game with a lot of references.
    So one of the best platforming games that ever existed.
    Expand
  20. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    Great game with or without a gamepad. So much fun to play and watch others play. Very difficult but very rewarding, not the biggest fan of retro platformers but this one definitely kept me entertained.
  21. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    One of the best platformers I have ever played. SMB is a hilarious action packed adventure, with hours of fun gameplay, and then even more bonus levels. The game is frustratingly hard, but not so much that it makes it boring. It is filled with hilarious levels and cutscenes (not to say anything about the characters), a bunch of nostalgia and easter eggs, and some of the best gameplay I've ever scene. Well worth the extremely cheap pricetag. Expand
  22. Jun 9, 2011
    9
    It's a classic platformer for the hardcore gamer. Not suitable for first time gamers, or people that are lazy or don't have quick reflexes. Most people that **** about it, are unexperienced gamers who want their games to be like "press X not to die". Super Meat Boy is a hard game, but it's only hard because you don't know how to play it. It features very sharp controls, awesome music, adrenaline pumping gameplay, features countless of stages, a good plethora of playable characters each with his own abilities and a level editor so you can make your own stages. ( Controller is not required you can change the keys to WASD or whatever you like ) Expand
  23. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    A revolutionary game in the form of a distilled platformer for the ADD generation. Not only with its challenge level and precise control does it define what difficulty should really rely on in a game (player skill, not lives-based punishment), but Super Meat Boy also manages to revitalize old school platforming notions of perseverance, muscle memory, concentration, and practice to almost zen-like levels (if you're willing to commit). Respawn times are also virtually nonexistent, giving you little chance to grieve over your last death. By helping put a spotlight on many other interesting games via unlockable characters, SMB has increased its replay value ten-fold and helped put a much-needed spotlight on the indie games movement. The indie development model is also celebrated here, with increased emphasis on discounts and endless content (level editor, user-created level portals). There are bosses to beat and an ending to achieve in Super Meat Boy, but it is hardly the destination of the game, something that is evidenced by the journey of 300+ timed and leaderboard-enhanced levels of pure platforming bliss that Team Meat clearly put two years of blood, sweat, and tears into. Oh yeah, and the music kicks ass. Expand
  24. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    Super Meat Boy is an excellent game. Team Meat really did great work in revitalizing a concept (2D platformers) that was for the most part forgotten in the new modern FPS gaming world. Super Meat Boy is a wonderful game with a great atmosphere and great-looking graphics. From Forests and Hospitals to Hell and The Rapture, you can really tell what the world you are in is. The difficulty curve is VERY high, but this means every time you beat that level that you were stuck on for a day straight you feel like the king of the goddamn world. The soundtrack is simply wonderful, from the steady beats of the Forest to the synthetic notes of the Salt Factory to the symphonic melody of the End all the music fits where it was put by Team Meat. And with sixteen different characters from other indie games to unlock, from Commander Video from the Bit.Trip series to Steve from the smash hit Minecraft, there are plenty of alternate options if you can't beat that level you're stuck on or just plain want to mess around. The controls are great, with you having lots of control over your character.

    However, the insane difficulty might be too much for the more casual gamer, and sometimes you feel too in control of your character, but both are forgiveable as the game has it's difficulty planned out enough so that you will never find yourself stuck in a world far beyond your skillset.

    Super Meat Boy is definitely one of, if not THE best platformer out there. In fact, I rate it higher than classics that everyone knows and loves such as Super Mario Brothers. All of them. I would definitely recommend checking out Meat Boy even if you are bad at platforming, I started out as a horrible gamer and came out a lot better for it. And with the Level Editor coming out very soon, Meat Boy's game is only going to get meatier.
    Expand
  25. Feb 24, 2011
    9
    Excellent platformer. Full of humor, sometimes really hard but enjoyable nevertheless. Nice retro touch and excellent 8-bit-like music. Nice surprise, I strongly recommend for people who enjoyed old-school platformers.
  26. Mar 8, 2011
    10
    Definitely not a game for everyone. It's hard, unforgiving, and often times feels nearly impossible. However, once you best the challenges you face, you'll realize that it was actually relatively easy compared to the hell you're about to face in the rest of the game.

    Are you a Masochist? The type of person who smashes your face into concrete for recreation? Give this game a try! You may
    find it causes equal amounts of pain, with less permanent brain damage! Expand
  27. May 1, 2011
    9
    This game is a total blast! Totally made for the OCD-type players that like to master speed runs. Its very rewarding when you surgically rip through a puzzle and are able to watch the replay right afterwards. I'd say its a niche-market type of game, most definitely not meant for everyone, but immense adrenaline-fueled fun for those who're into that type of speed/twitch puzzle solving. I'm using a brand new Gamepad for it and have noticed a few control responsiveness issues, but nothing major. Seems as though many, if not most, of the people giving the game very poor ratings are playing it with a keyboard, which is pretty bad idea in the first place. Upon first purchasing it, I tried it with the keyboard and knew instantly that I would never fully appreciate this game without a gamepad. Expand
  28. Jan 27, 2013
    10
    One of the best platformers ever made. It applies a perfect learning curve in its level design and can provide dedicated players with a huge amount of content if they're completionists or speed gamers. It has maddeningly difficult levels but provides challenges that always seem fair to the player. When you mess up you can generally feel like it is your own damned fault and not some cheap trick like other difficult platformers released in recent years.

    This is some of the best money I've ever spent and would highly encourage anyone with even a passing interest in platformers to give it a try.
    Expand
  29. Mar 17, 2011
    9
    One of the most frantic and painful platformers released in years. This game presents an extremely fun and refreshing challenge compared to most games these days. If you are of the new spoon-fed generation you may not enjoy this due to the difficulty, but I'd advise you to give it a shot anyways.
  30. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    Super Meat Boy is for anyone who misses the glory days of 8-bit platformers. Hard ones.

    Some of us remember when games were actually hard. It might have taken you ages to get past a level once in a while, but when you did, man, was it ever a good feeling. The creators of Super Meat Boy clearly remember that feeling, and they've brought it back for those of us who missed it.

    The artistic
    style of the levels is awesome and controls are tight. There's so many reference to other games, both classic and new, that it'll make your head spin.

    If you like your games easy, look elsewhere.
    Expand
  31. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    I'm not sure if I've ever slammed my keyboard as much as I do when playing this game. This game is frustrating, damn difficult and very unforgiving. I have never died so many times in a game before on a single level. Despite the extreme difficulty though, I loved every minute I spent playing this game. The levels are ingeniously detailed and varied, with many obstacles in your way such as spinning saws and bottomless pits. The levels are also very short, so when (not if) you die, you will not have to constantly repeat huge segments. The game's music is also incredible and really just makes you want to keep playing even if you've died 50 times already on the level you're trying. This is a really great game that I can't recommend enough. Just make sure you don't break your keyboard out of frustration. Collapse
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. 80
    Indie gaming at its retro-loving best, with some of the most cunningly-designed and purposefully infuriating 2D gameplay of the year.
  2. Jun 1, 2011
    89
    Blood, action, romance. Super Meat Boy Ultra Edition has got it all.
  3. May 3, 2011
    90
    Oldschool-Jump and Run at its finest!