Super Meat Boy PC

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 782 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 58 out of 782

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 6, 2011
    8
    Pretty fun game, lots of levels, flawless controls, catchy music :p but i would only recommend this game for PC if you own a gamepad/xbox360/ps3 wired controller, i dont know if its just me, but the keyboard controls just sucked so i had to use my PS3 controller, which worked out great, i didnt even have to configure the controller it just did it automatically
  2. Apr 28, 2011
    8
    Should you buy this game? Yes. Despite the classic, old-school look of the game, it's still very engaging and definitely an encore of videogaming's previous retro years. Yes, it's side-scroll, but don't think it's another Metal Slug or Sonic. It's tough. You'll be navigating you small meaty hero through complicated mazes, avoiding needles, buzz saws, flowing lava and even salt. But don'tShould you buy this game? Yes. Despite the classic, old-school look of the game, it's still very engaging and definitely an encore of videogaming's previous retro years. Yes, it's side-scroll, but don't think it's another Metal Slug or Sonic. It's tough. You'll be navigating you small meaty hero through complicated mazes, avoiding needles, buzz saws, flowing lava and even salt. But don't worry, the game has a smooth learning curve. Starting from the easiest to the most brain-heating levels, you'll find that the difficulty curve will increase gradually as you'll learn to time you jump or when to sprint. And if you think meat boy can never get through a particular maze, don't worry as there are other characters with special abilities to avoid traps (though it will be less challenging and hence, less satisfying). Still, if you find yourself deeply annoyed and frustrated by the hardness of the mazes, even after repeating the whole level for a hundred times, just stop playing and resume a few hours later, after you cool down. That way you can always figure out how to get through the puzzle. Having played in the PC, i see no trouble playing this. Just the basic arrow keys for movement, space for jump and shift for sprint. It's that simple! Though the downside of the game is when you want to reach the collectables: bandages. That's when your real platformer skills will be put to the test. Overall, a must have game for all casual gamer. Expand
  3. Oct 9, 2015
    8
    I originally played Super Meat Boy on PC and. largely thanks to issues I had with the controls, didn't enjoy it at all. With so many good reviews and it being a PS+ freebie this month I decided to give it another try and am really glad I did. It’s still as infuriatingly difficult as it once but it seems as though the issues I had with the controls were more down to my PC than the gameI originally played Super Meat Boy on PC and. largely thanks to issues I had with the controls, didn't enjoy it at all. With so many good reviews and it being a PS+ freebie this month I decided to give it another try and am really glad I did. It’s still as infuriatingly difficult as it once but it seems as though the issues I had with the controls were more down to my PC than the game itself as it controls perfectly on PS4 meaning that the (many) deaths are always my fault rather than the games.

    Being such a difficult title I'd be surprised if I made it all the way to the end but I've already had many enjoyable (if that's the right word for this game) hours with Super Meat Boy.
    Expand
  4. Aug 25, 2013
    8
    Very good game. The level design is clever and the soundtrack is just legendary. The extreme difficulty of the game is what makes it so good, but at the same time it digs into the gameplay for me. I'm sure people will narrow their eyes and make a scolding angry face at this review because they heavily disagree and are much better at the game.

    Some people like extreme challenges, and
    Very good game. The level design is clever and the soundtrack is just legendary. The extreme difficulty of the game is what makes it so good, but at the same time it digs into the gameplay for me. I'm sure people will narrow their eyes and make a scolding angry face at this review because they heavily disagree and are much better at the game.

    Some people like extreme challenges, and though I do admire the difficulty of the game, I get a bit of sick of dying and replaying the same level over and over, only to finally pass it and die another 200 times on the lever after that. Fortunately, I'm not incorporating my difficulty issue into my rating. The plot behind the game is very weak and almost non-existent.

    The game is creative, original, challenging and has 10/10 music, but it's not mindblowing and feels a lot like a flash game.
    Expand
  5. Jan 4, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game has it's ups and downs. First, all the rage that is bottled up in the game. But other than that, the graphics are 2D decent, the fact that you can use other characters from other games interests the players to get more bandages, and the dark world featuring a ton more saws and rage makes the game twice as big. Expand
  6. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    Super Meat Boy is a great game, one that is simple and quick to pick up. Everyone can play, though a tad bit graphic for kids (not that I care in the slightest). If youre a beast in platformers, then this is right up your alley. If you can barely beat a Mario game, then you might want to wait for this to go on sale, or step your game up, because chances are youll slam your desk inSuper Meat Boy is a great game, one that is simple and quick to pick up. Everyone can play, though a tad bit graphic for kids (not that I care in the slightest). If youre a beast in platformers, then this is right up your alley. If you can barely beat a Mario game, then you might want to wait for this to go on sale, or step your game up, because chances are youll slam your desk in frustration. Either way, who doesnt like seeing a slab of meat getting grinded over and over? Expand
  7. May 25, 2012
    8
    The first word I tkink to introduce that game is "HARD".
    Gameplay is really fast and nervous, technical and 2D levels are well-constructed. What a pleasure!
    Don't be mad to die all the time; the way to learn is the succession of fails.
  8. Jul 18, 2012
    8
    Super Meat Boy

    Enjoyment - 7 Difficulty - 7 (very challenging, but that's what makes it fun) Promise - 9 (everything in the description, is in the game) Replay - 7 (you can also play user made levels) Controls - 6 (tons of inertia; this is what makes it challening) Performance - 7 (I had to run in low detail or certain events wouldn't occur) Multiplayer - 5 (User made levels,
    Super Meat Boy

    Enjoyment - 7
    Difficulty - 7 (very challenging, but that's what makes it fun)
    Promise - 9 (everything in the description, is in the game)
    Replay - 7 (you can also play user made levels)
    Controls - 6 (tons of inertia; this is what makes it challening)
    Performance - 7 (I had to run in low detail or certain events wouldn't occur)
    Multiplayer - 5 (User made levels, beating friend's times)
    Story - 8 (Meat Boy's quest is to save band-aid girl)
    Price - 9 ($15, Could be more and still be worth it)

    Total points: 65/81
    Userscore: 8.02 (8)
    Expand
  9. Aug 16, 2012
    8
    super tough. I bought a controller only for this game and it is still tough. but I have had fun playing it. it is like what would really happen if you could put real physics to a psyco-action platformer. Now what I mean by real physics is if a little guy made of meat could really run fast, stick to and jump off walls, and here is the catch, fall off platforms!!! Yes you do not stick tosuper tough. I bought a controller only for this game and it is still tough. but I have had fun playing it. it is like what would really happen if you could put real physics to a psyco-action platformer. Now what I mean by real physics is if a little guy made of meat could really run fast, stick to and jump off walls, and here is the catch, fall off platforms!!! Yes you do not stick to platforms but can fall right off if you under or over jump. No super mario world here. Expand
  10. Dec 24, 2012
    8
    oh god, why did I ever buy this game? This game is very disappointing considering the $15 price tag. The levels are frustrating and hard, and instead of satisfaction for completing one, you are greeted with another equally frustrating mission. This is a game you can find online for FREE, and would probably be more fun than super meat boy. This has scarred me for life, and I am veryoh god, why did I ever buy this game? This game is very disappointing considering the $15 price tag. The levels are frustrating and hard, and instead of satisfaction for completing one, you are greeted with another equally frustrating mission. This is a game you can find online for FREE, and would probably be more fun than super meat boy. This has scarred me for life, and I am very cautious whenever I buy an indie game Expand
  11. Mar 21, 2015
    8
    Very fun. Difficult but rewarding gameplay that occasionally borders on frustrating. If you want a more relaxed experience stick to the "light world" levels.

    Great fast pace and wall-jumps.

    You can re-map the key bindings by editing files, which you will want to do for a keyboard setup.

    Gave me 60 hours of fun, 17923 deaths, highly recommended.
  12. Feb 11, 2013
    8
    This isn't my type of game, but i'm not going to let that make me write negative things about it. Now I never heard of this game till I saw a few of my friends playing it, really enjoying it and then when I first saw this game on sale for 3.50$ on steam I got it, in the end I sure did get my money's worth, the gameplay is simple and the cutscences are cute, but I wasn't really able toThis isn't my type of game, but i'm not going to let that make me write negative things about it. Now I never heard of this game till I saw a few of my friends playing it, really enjoying it and then when I first saw this game on sale for 3.50$ on steam I got it, in the end I sure did get my money's worth, the gameplay is simple and the cutscences are cute, but I wasn't really able to complete the whole game since I wasn't that good, the challenge was to great. While playing it I discovered that this game had history behind it which is interested to play like an old arcade game. This game is very well polished the boss missions are rewarding and the time consumption is overwhelmingly satisfying. I would recommend to this to only one who are indie, platformer players because you are going to love this game. Expand
  13. Feb 13, 2014
    8
    Skillbased 2D side-scrolling platformer at it's finest a must have!

    This will get you through some tough emotions. It will make you rage, cry, despair, break stuff but it will also deliver you an unbelievable amount of fun!
  14. Jul 13, 2013
    8
    Overall, Super Meat Boy for the PC is an eight. Although Super Meat Boy is a simple yet great looking game with many fantastically designed levels, I feel like the game 'cheats' too much. By this I mean unfair deaths. Most of the time when a player dies, the player will feel like it is their fault for the death. And just because Super Meat Boy is challenging does NOT mean it's unfair. IOverall, Super Meat Boy for the PC is an eight. Although Super Meat Boy is a simple yet great looking game with many fantastically designed levels, I feel like the game 'cheats' too much. By this I mean unfair deaths. Most of the time when a player dies, the player will feel like it is their fault for the death. And just because Super Meat Boy is challenging does NOT mean it's unfair. I seem to die too often by the game not responding to my key presses when I jump or sway (and no, my keyboard is not wireless or cheap). The other issue that bothers me about the PC version are the control settings. There's no way to change the awkward spacing of the controls. Setting aside the rage moments, Super Meat Boy is a fun and challenging platformer with fantastic art design, epic music that will rock your socks, and overall challenging levels that will put your skills to the test. Expand
  15. Jul 23, 2013
    8
    a original game that will have you breaking everything you own in rage, comes at an amazing price, if I had to sum up this game I would say that ITS SO FUC KING HARD!!!!!
  16. Oct 2, 2015
    8
    Tier 2
    + Wickedly polished with some of the best game feel of any platformer
    + Challenging and visceral with aesthetics that compliment gameplay + The addition of extra characters adds some fun content to the game ? An incredibly high commitment is required for completion, only hardcore fans will try ? Difficulty curve is incredible, requires a lot of patience from players - Probably
    Tier 2
    + Wickedly polished with some of the best game feel of any platformer
    + Challenging and visceral with aesthetics that compliment gameplay
    + The addition of extra characters adds some fun content to the game
    ? An incredibly high commitment is required for completion, only hardcore fans will try
    ? Difficulty curve is incredible, requires a lot of patience from players
    - Probably inaccessible to non-hardcore players
    Expand
  17. Dec 14, 2013
    8
    This game was super hard platforming game which made me rage, hit my desk, and screamed at Dr. Fetus. This game gets an 8 because of the even harder controls on a PC if using a keyboard. I could not beat this game, it took me over 200 tries to complete the first boss. This game stays at an 8 because of the characters available for PC making the game easier, also you can plug in aThis game was super hard platforming game which made me rage, hit my desk, and screamed at Dr. Fetus. This game gets an 8 because of the even harder controls on a PC if using a keyboard. I could not beat this game, it took me over 200 tries to complete the first boss. This game stays at an 8 because of the characters available for PC making the game easier, also you can plug in a controller which is good too for the PC. Team Meat thanks for this game! Expand
  18. Jun 10, 2014
    8
    Magnífico juego para ver gran cantidad de mecánicas de los juegos de plataformas. Muy interesante para desarrolladores que quieran hacer un juego de este tipo. Buena compra calidad-precio.
  19. Nov 15, 2014
    8
    Distilling platforming to its purest essence, Super Meat Boy is challenging but never unforgiving or unfair. The levels are short and sweet, and the sheer amount of them provide endless hours of fun.
  20. Feb 22, 2011
    7
    As an avid platforming fan, I decided that Super Meat Boy would be a good investment of 15$ - loads of quality content for a cheap price. Needless to say, I was disappointed after playing it after 90 minutes, but even that said and done, this is a very well-made game.

    Production values are excellent. The art style and sound design come together quite nicely. Music is, as expected from a
    As an avid platforming fan, I decided that Super Meat Boy would be a good investment of 15$ - loads of quality content for a cheap price. Needless to say, I was disappointed after playing it after 90 minutes, but even that said and done, this is a very well-made game.

    Production values are excellent. The art style and sound design come together quite nicely. Music is, as expected from a gameplay-oriented platformer, acceptable. This game packs a whallop of a punch dollar-wise: What was it, 250+ levels? 20 or so characters? Specifics, I don't remember them. All I can attest to is that there was a LOT of content for 15$.

    Level design is as excellent as advertised. I found myself constantly marveling at strategic locations of sawblades, and after adjusting to dodge that particular sawblade, be killed by an equally deviously placed obstacle. The character-specific levels are also well-made to teach you the attributes of your new character.

    Unfortunately, I found the controls wonky. Space to Jump and Shift to run? It only works in FPS. In a game that emphasizes twitch-response actions and complete control over your character, it's disappointing to have such an unusual control scheme. It's even WORSE that you can't customize it: I can't create my preferred setup. That, plus unchangeable wall-jump mechanics, made this game much less fun to enjoy.

    It also kept reminding me to buy an Xbox controller. If I wanted to use an Xbox controller, I'd get it on Xbox Live, thank you. Maybe I wouldn't NEED to buy one if you let me change controls, eh?

    Overall, it's a solid game. If you can put up with the Shift-to-run-space-to-jump movement scheme, this is a definite must-buy.
    Expand
  21. Mar 4, 2011
    7
    So the game is enjoyable... however... It is not really designed for the PC. I found the controls hard to get used to. I have some old USB controller laying around and I might give that a try. Really this is the only thing I found that was holding the game back from it becoming one of my top time wasters.
  22. Feb 28, 2012
    7
    Do you like repeating very small levels 50 times? 100 or more times? If so, you are in luck, as that is all Super Meat Boy is about. It is not about clever mechanics, interesting game world/story, or well designed platforming and good controls. It is the exact opposite of that. The developers decided to display a large disclaimer every single time you start the game, trying to get playersDo you like repeating very small levels 50 times? 100 or more times? If so, you are in luck, as that is all Super Meat Boy is about. It is not about clever mechanics, interesting game world/story, or well designed platforming and good controls. It is the exact opposite of that. The developers decided to display a large disclaimer every single time you start the game, trying to get players to specifically use an Xbox 360 controller. Furthermore, this same disclaimer often states that playing with a keyboard should not be done. This is completely unacceptable. I bought this game for PC, and I expect to be able to play it as such. Every level is a repetition of the last, with only the boss levels actually feeling different. The general level design and artwork are mediocre and bland, creating very little excitement and entertainment. There is a vast amount of campaign levels, and the option to download levels from the in-game bulletin board, but there is little reason to go through them. The repetitiveness of it all, in conjunction with how terrible the game mechanics and controls are make Super Meat Boy not very fun at all. It simply keeps on recycling the small amount of game play it has over and over. There is no variation, very little amusement, and not much to look at or listen to. The level design and difficulty are so badly unreasonable, that the patience required to play this game is unnatural. This is not a platform game. It is an attempt at forced trick jumping with lackluster controls. It appears that Edmund McMillen went back to his awful roots with Gish, and created something almost as appalling and flawed. Expand
  23. Jun 22, 2012
    7
    Super Meat Boy is a extremely fun platformer puzzle game. You play Meat Boy who is trying to save his one true love Bandage girl from the evil clutches of Dr. Foetus, you must traverse several insane levels designed to make you work for your accomplishment. The only downside to this is if you have a short attention span you will quickly become frustrated with the difficulty of some of theSuper Meat Boy is a extremely fun platformer puzzle game. You play Meat Boy who is trying to save his one true love Bandage girl from the evil clutches of Dr. Foetus, you must traverse several insane levels designed to make you work for your accomplishment. The only downside to this is if you have a short attention span you will quickly become frustrated with the difficulty of some of the tasks at hand. Expand
  24. Jul 20, 2013
    7
    It's a good game and a nice tribute to old hardcore platform games. There are some great qualities to the game, but there are equally negative traits that make the game more frustrating than hard.

    1) I actually didn't find this game as difficult as people claim it to be. I think I burned through the game in a matter of 2 or 3 days very quickly. The puzzles will be very difficult to a
    It's a good game and a nice tribute to old hardcore platform games. There are some great qualities to the game, but there are equally negative traits that make the game more frustrating than hard.

    1) I actually didn't find this game as difficult as people claim it to be. I think I burned through the game in a matter of 2 or 3 days very quickly. The puzzles will be very difficult to a casual platform gamer, but to people who can handle games like Megaman X6, this will only feel above average in difficulty.

    2) I don't know if it's just me, but I find the controls unresponsive on the PC version. Sometimes it won't jump when I know for a fact I pressed jumped. I've even tested this while standing still and I know I'm not crazy. Sometimes the jump will not register and for twitch sensitive moments in the game, this is bad. You could have amazing reflexes and still die simply because a jump didn't register when it should have. I've also had issues where if you switch between left and right too quickly, it locks the control in the last direction pressed. I've died many times when I pressed left, but my character kept going right. In anycase, the unresponsive controls got me killed more times than the difficulty of the levels has. That's not cool.

    3) The level design puzzles are amazing providing some really entertaining jumping puzzles, but the level design visuals are not. I don't mean that in the "this is crappy graphics" kind of way. It's the fact that it's extremely difficult sometimes to tell what is capable of killing you and what isn't. Other platform games make your enemies obvious. I've spent quite a bit of time "testing" what killed me and what didn't. A player should never have to do that.

    4) I really enjoy the music and it adds a nice bit of energy, but not much. I think the game could do with some catchier rhythms to make the adrenaline rush much smoother.

    Overall, it's a great game with great level designs and puzzles, but in terms of quality, I feel like this game carries design and technical flaws that forces me to rate it lower than platform games I've enjoyed in the 90s. Gameplay mechanics like forcing me to learn timing, memorization, etc are fine. Forcing me to squint at the screen to try and discern what objects are what is not.
    Expand
  25. Oct 13, 2013
    7
    Game Play 8 ]
    controls 10 ]
    contactable easter Eggs 7 ]
    Innovation 6 ]
    graphics 0 ]
    sounds 6 ]
    replay Value 10 ]
    gaming Satisfaction 8 ]
    price playtime 6 ]
    technical Issues 5 ]
    ------------------------------------
    Over All 6.6
  26. Mar 30, 2011
    6
    I tried, but I couldn't get into SMB. I want exploration in a platformer, not a series of tiny, sadistic obstacle courses. Don't be fooled - SMB is nothing like Metroid or Super Mario. It's more like brutally difficult arcade game, with "levels" that are one-screen in size. I mean, it's charming and I can see why other people like it. But it really wasn't my thing, and I'm usually allI tried, but I couldn't get into SMB. I want exploration in a platformer, not a series of tiny, sadistic obstacle courses. Don't be fooled - SMB is nothing like Metroid or Super Mario. It's more like brutally difficult arcade game, with "levels" that are one-screen in size. I mean, it's charming and I can see why other people like it. But it really wasn't my thing, and I'm usually all about 2D platforming action. It just isn't fun dying 150 times trying to get past the same boring little level. Expand
  27. Mar 24, 2011
    6
    This game was fun at the beginning. As it gradually became more difficult, I challenged myself to do the best I could to become a platforming master. I loved the idea of being able to jump at precisely the right times and do godly runs through courses filled with obstacles waiting to splatter poor meat boy. But as the time I spent on the game increased, and my frustration mounted, IThis game was fun at the beginning. As it gradually became more difficult, I challenged myself to do the best I could to become a platforming master. I loved the idea of being able to jump at precisely the right times and do godly runs through courses filled with obstacles waiting to splatter poor meat boy. But as the time I spent on the game increased, and my frustration mounted, I started to wonder whether it was worth it. Am I really enjoying myself by trying to create the perfect muscle memory to make it through a stage, only to be challenged by a more difficult stage that will require hundreds of deaths to pass through?

    It might have to do with the type of controller. I use a keyboard, and the game does tell you in the introduction screen that you should switch to using a gamepad as it is much easier and was designed for the game.

    But even if I did go out of my way to buy a gamepad specifically for this game (which should only detract from the score), I suspect that it wouldn't really quell my concerns in general. Platformers can be fun. But this platformer, as someone else put it, is for masochistic personalities.

    There are some courses where you literally require pixel perfect jumps, and with the inability to save during each course, that means you have to keep up that level of perfection throughout the course in several areas, making things tremendously difficult. Why subject myself to this? Is it really worth the hours, days of stress accumulated in trying to play like a computer? It depends on the player. If you're good at these sorts of games, perhaps you'll relish the challenge. For the vast majority of us, I suspect the answer is no.

    The story is fairly simple; while it will keep you interested just to see whether you can save your fair maiden, the sheer difficulty of the game will likely prevent one from every reaching the end, let alone the completion of the bonus levels.

    In the end I awarded this game a 6 just because it does provide some short-term entertainment for a few "worlds" (series of courses with themes). But in retrospect, I don't think its all that worth it unless you're really good at these sorts of games. Because most people will just end up being discouraged and stressed out, and I'm pretty sure games were designed to be enjoyable.

    Also I bought this during a special sale on steam, when it was available for 2 dollars. So I may be biased in giving this game a higher score than it deserves, but all in all I think 6 is a decent score for this title.
    Expand
  28. Jun 23, 2012
    6
    Old school game, hardcore and arcade. If you're not into frenzied record rushes and endless series of tries, it will amuse you for one hour, maybe two, but not more.
  29. Dec 30, 2012
    6
    This is a speed twitch game where you can spend 20 minutes trying to get a clean 15 second run. You play meatboy that can jump about to avoid pointy things. I was excited to give this a try after watching the Indie Game movie, but found it to be fun but somewhat overrated. It held my attention exceptionally well for a few days but now that the novelty has worn off, I see it sitting onThis is a speed twitch game where you can spend 20 minutes trying to get a clean 15 second run. You play meatboy that can jump about to avoid pointy things. I was excited to give this a try after watching the Indie Game movie, but found it to be fun but somewhat overrated. It held my attention exceptionally well for a few days but now that the novelty has worn off, I see it sitting on the shelf. If you buy this game, be sure to run the "campaign" to learn how to better control meat boy before hitting the user-submitted levels. Expand
  30. Apr 2, 2011
    5
    I've played platform games 'back in the day'... I thought I'd buy this for the hell of it because it was supposed to be hard. Within the 1st 30-40 minutes, beat 2 'worlds'. Which is, I don't know, I've seen people struggle on just 1 world stage for 40 minutes. I don't know, I don't find it that difficult as it is annoying. This is on the PC mind you. People say the control on PC is bad, II've played platform games 'back in the day'... I thought I'd buy this for the hell of it because it was supposed to be hard. Within the 1st 30-40 minutes, beat 2 'worlds'. Which is, I don't know, I've seen people struggle on just 1 world stage for 40 minutes. I don't know, I don't find it that difficult as it is annoying. This is on the PC mind you. People say the control on PC is bad, I can't say much about it. Some parts of it are just incredibly annoying, mainly cause the controls are glitched up sometimes. Do you wish to jump off this wall? No you don't! So I slide off and die. This isn't just a once a life time occurrence, it happens quite often. I've jumped off that wall a lot of times, and sometimes it won't let you, sometimes it will, not sure why, but it is really annoying, and it has nothing to do with 'precise' control, its just annoying.

    The controls, it won't let you change the controls, so you're stuck with space and shift, which are quite awkward for some reason. Well, I have a habit of playing with the buttons 'Shift' 'Z' 'X' and 'C'.

    Graphics... well, they're retarded, but its an indie game and it fits the goal of the game so its fine.
    Sound, I personally don't like computer generated sounds, and there are quite a bit of em, but some of them aren't, but it fits the general bill of what the game is.
    Overall I just find the game decent, albeit annoying because of the random 'I won't listen to the player' moments. Difficulty, its supposed to get harder, but I don't see it getting harder as it is just make platforms smaller and more obstacles. It does get to become more of the same.
    Expand
  31. Dec 31, 2011
    5
    I didn't see anything good in this game. Is very difficult and you must have much patient to keep playing this old school arcade game. I prefer something more fresh from an indie game
  32. AWG
    Jun 21, 2013
    5
    Why is a console controller HIGHLY RECOMMENDED for a PC game? Is it because a keyboard is not indie enough? If you can't properly port a game, just don't do it. But I suppose that not having your game on the PC market is not indie enough...
    Super Meat Boy is a frustrating game you can only beat by repeating and repeating and repeating and repeating and repeating and repeating the same
    Why is a console controller HIGHLY RECOMMENDED for a PC game? Is it because a keyboard is not indie enough? If you can't properly port a game, just don't do it. But I suppose that not having your game on the PC market is not indie enough...
    Super Meat Boy is a frustrating game you can only beat by repeating and repeating and repeating and repeating and repeating and repeating the same action again and again and again.
    Well, I guess suffering from OCD is indie enough at least.
    Expand
  33. Apr 7, 2017
    5
    It's a good platformer, but it is hard to the point of being unfair a little too often. Unlike most hard games, super meat boy is not rewarding but frustrating. I fail to see how people find this game enjoyable.
  34. Jun 17, 2011
    4
    There is an easy mistake to make when making a game to be 'challenging'
    unfortunatly team meat made this mistake.
    The games difficulty is definitly for the masochists, which is a good thing, because i love platformers, and im something of a masochist myself. however i know that this game will not appeal to the masses. However even i cant take the pain of laggy controls, jumpy graphics,
    There is an easy mistake to make when making a game to be 'challenging'
    unfortunatly team meat made this mistake.

    The games difficulty is definitly for the masochists, which is a good thing, because i love platformers, and im something of a masochist myself. however i know that this game will not appeal to the masses.

    However even i cant take the pain of laggy controls, jumpy graphics, and all together glitchyness.
    To this day this problem occurs! its been a while since the game was released, so why am i still having these problems?

    I know not everyone is having the problems im having, but the game should run perfectly on ALL hardware out thereat this stage, its nothing short of a flash game really...

    the proof: cheap laptop with intel graphics accelerator on-board, celeron processor and 1GB ram runs perfectly...

    laptop with ati radeon 3200 graphics, amd athlon x2 processor and 3gb ram, buggy as hell, and completely unplayable!..

    my gaming rig with ati radeon HD 5770, amd athlon II x4 and 4gb ram, laggy and buggy, pretty much unplayable!

    why is it that on a rig where i can play crysis on high settings with 40-60fps, i cant get 15fps on a 2d retro-esque game?

    the answer: bad QM and lazy devs

    there have been numerous updates to the game and still no fix for me!

    On top of all that this game is nothing like the classics that we grew up with, anyone who says it is obviously didnt grow up with the classics, you see on the NES the controls responded when you input something with less than a 1 second delay
    Expand
  35. Apr 18, 2011
    4
    I was very kindly gifted SMB on Steam by a friend so I had no reason not to like this game, I paid nothing for it and I'm a big fan of platformers dating back to the original two Oddworld titles.

    My first problems arose with the game when it very rudely tells you to use a gamepad rather than a keyboard. PC games are designed for PC and therefore should always play better with a
    I was very kindly gifted SMB on Steam by a friend so I had no reason not to like this game, I paid nothing for it and I'm a big fan of platformers dating back to the original two Oddworld titles.

    My first problems arose with the game when it very rudely tells you to use a gamepad rather than a keyboard. PC games are designed for PC and therefore should always play better with a keyboard+mouse with a gamepad being a player preference on some titles.
    The game is literally IMPOSSIBLE with a keyboard so it loses points for forcing you to own a gamepad and even then it didn't recognise my PS3 controller and struggled to register my 360 controller.

    The game takes place in several stages such as a Forest and a Hospital. Sadly you see little of these good tilesets as most of the game takes place in subterranean passageways.

    However now we come to the games big problem, the difficulty. This is a game that tries to hard to be hard. The game certainly is not hard but merely frustrating. You shouldn't have to repeat a stage over and over to complete it using trial and error rather than observation and technique. A good platformer is hard due to it being complex and clever, SMB is hard due to frustrating controls and enemy placements.

    I liked the soundtrack but sadly it does little to save the game, I really wanted to like SMB but due to the controls and the frustrating nature of the game it comes off as a rather bland and outdated platformer.

    If a Platformer fan is considering getting SMB I would recommend instead the free N-Game or the two excellent Oddworld platformers which are available through Steam.
    Expand
  36. Mar 9, 2013
    4
    The game-play in Super Meat Boy deserves a solid 8. But I'm going to give it a 4 anyway. Why? Because the PC port feels horribly unpolished.

    An XBox 360 controller is (understandably) the recommended method of controlling Meat Buy. But does a it work out the box? No. The buttons mapping is completely mangled with no way of reconfiguring in-game. So fixing up the input config file
    The game-play in Super Meat Boy deserves a solid 8. But I'm going to give it a 4 anyway. Why? Because the PC port feels horribly unpolished.

    An XBox 360 controller is (understandably) the recommended method of controlling Meat Buy. But does a it work out the box? No. The buttons mapping is completely mangled with no way of reconfiguring in-game. So fixing up the input config file I eventually got the stage controls to work but the menus are still buggered.

    Whatever, I can deal with that; except that there are parts of the menu that are unreachable with a mangle button setup. Oops. Fortunately having done a bit of game-dev specifically controller input I got the feeling that it was a Human Interface Device gone wrong. Fine, found it and removed it from the Device manager and everything worked.

    I should be happy. No, I've spent my time fixing issues the developers should have dealt with. Added to the controller woes: SMB does not start on some machines (screen remains black) and the graphics are messed up on others (mostly black textures) making it unplayable.

    A good concept? Yes. A good implementation? No.
    Expand
  37. Nov 1, 2013
    4
    This game relies solely on luck. I'm only playing it to get the achievements; otherwise, I wouldn't waste my time. Leaderboards are a joke, as players have found ways to beat levels in 0.00 seconds. This game was also clearly made for the Xbox as some menu buttons don't even work (space bar to accept option changes is completely unresponsive, for example) and Xbox controls are shown inThis game relies solely on luck. I'm only playing it to get the achievements; otherwise, I wouldn't waste my time. Leaderboards are a joke, as players have found ways to beat levels in 0.00 seconds. This game was also clearly made for the Xbox as some menu buttons don't even work (space bar to accept option changes is completely unresponsive, for example) and Xbox controls are shown in a few areas. I'm not having any fun playing this game anymore—it's more of an assignment now. Expand
  38. Jun 16, 2013
    4
    Nice atmospheric fast game, but too buggy (Linux version from Humble Bundle seems like stable, but Windows version from steam is full of bugs). It's annoying when game freezes or crashes on "hot" moment. And it makes me angry, when saves are broken. Again.
  39. Aug 12, 2012
    3
    This game pretty much epitomizes everything that is wrong with video game development today. There is only frustration to be found here. When people talk about video games making kids dumber they are talking about games like this.
  40. May 13, 2012
    3
    Yes, that's a true, honest platformer game, but come on... "game of the year", "biggest surprise", "awesomeness" and "charm", "a story so moving", "epic boss fights"??? Perhaps I've bought another Meat Boy, the one with a tasteless story and nothing-special-gameplay. As for the "tough as nails platformer difficulty" idea itself - didn't we have IWBTG since 2007 or something like that? IYes, that's a true, honest platformer game, but come on... "game of the year", "biggest surprise", "awesomeness" and "charm", "a story so moving", "epic boss fights"??? Perhaps I've bought another Meat Boy, the one with a tasteless story and nothing-special-gameplay. As for the "tough as nails platformer difficulty" idea itself - didn't we have IWBTG since 2007 or something like that? I definitely don't understand what all the hype about Meat Boy game is about. Expand
  41. Dec 28, 2012
    3
    This game certainly takes a lot from it's newgrounds origins; and not in the good way, so there's occasionally good ideas that could have gone somewhere in the direction of interesting, the devs had neither the intelligence nor the technical skill to pull it off. For all the hype I'd heard about its controls, I found them to be nearly unusable (and by the way; insulting PC gamers who don'tThis game certainly takes a lot from it's newgrounds origins; and not in the good way, so there's occasionally good ideas that could have gone somewhere in the direction of interesting, the devs had neither the intelligence nor the technical skill to pull it off. For all the hype I'd heard about its controls, I found them to be nearly unusable (and by the way; insulting PC gamers who don't own a XBox 360 controller? real grown up, Team Meat), if there's the slightest clue that you might be near a wall, the game will interpret every action you take as something to do with wall jumping. The levels are also badly designed: the platforms are always the exact distance apart to make the timings of the dash and jump buttons incredibly fiddly, destroying any flow the level had, and the graphical design on the level is just plain idiotic, as pretty much everything is the same colour on each stage, so the "hectic pace" is slowed down by you squinting at the screen to see if you're next to a crumbling block or a sawblade launcher Expand
  42. Aug 20, 2013
    3
    A platformer that breaks rule number one for it's genre and of course I mean DON'T MASSACRE THE CONTROLS! On top of the god awful control scheme the game is just boring. They wanna be like retro platformers but they failed to be even as interesting as the original Super Mario Bros. It's sad because I absolutely loved the Binding of Isaac.
  43. Jan 6, 2011
    2
    Whoever said this game is fun is a masochist. It's fun if you like replaying the same bloody level 40 times because there's no way to beat it aside from trial and error and mind-numbing memorization of button sequences until you could play the level blind-folded. Oldschool my @$$. What is up with people's obsession with "oldschool" anyway? Oldschool sucked. Mario sucked ... sure, it wasWhoever said this game is fun is a masochist. It's fun if you like replaying the same bloody level 40 times because there's no way to beat it aside from trial and error and mind-numbing memorization of button sequences until you could play the level blind-folded. Oldschool my @$$. What is up with people's obsession with "oldschool" anyway? Oldschool sucked. Mario sucked ... sure, it was great at the time, because *there was nothing else.* While I'm at it, guess what else? Goldeneye sucks too. It's not "the greatest FPS of all time." Try playing it on an HDTV? It looks like garbage and it controls even worse. It was just the best of what was available. People's over-bloated infatuation with nostalgia is beyond puzzling. People always want to think "the good old days" were better. Really? In the "good old days" people used to die from diarrhea. The "good old days" blew. This blows. Stop pretending it's awesome just because it references gaming in the 80s... Expand
  44. Jan 27, 2014
    2
    One of the worst games I've ever played, very stupid, without humor, you only need to click buttons quickly and aptly. Game is difficult but success depends on luck because beyond stupid clicking the game has nothing to offer. I don't recommend it unless you have nothing to do, and nerves of steel. I bought it for a little more than 1€ so it isn't a tragedy, according to me this is theOne of the worst games I've ever played, very stupid, without humor, you only need to click buttons quickly and aptly. Game is difficult but success depends on luck because beyond stupid clicking the game has nothing to offer. I don't recommend it unless you have nothing to do, and nerves of steel. I bought it for a little more than 1€ so it isn't a tragedy, according to me this is the real value of this **** Expand
  45. Dec 17, 2012
    1
    Another stupidly hard "indie" platformer. Ugly, ridiculously hard and unfun, shoehorned boss battles, stupid "meme" garbage and poor PC support. The only positive thing I can think to say about it is it has a lot of levels but I don't want to play them. You'd have to be a real masochist to play this trash; there are better platformers out there that you haven't played yet, I guarantee it.
  46. Nov 5, 2013
    1
    Someone in the reviews actually said this game is "fair". They ought to be a politician. Anyways, Super Meat Boy. It's another faux-retro hardcore platformer because you know, we're in short supply of THOSE.

    First thing you'll notice when you power it up is that it has messages like "Anyone who says Keyboard is better than controller get shot in the face", because you know: showing
    Someone in the reviews actually said this game is "fair". They ought to be a politician. Anyways, Super Meat Boy. It's another faux-retro hardcore platformer because you know, we're in short supply of THOSE.

    First thing you'll notice when you power it up is that it has messages like "Anyone who says Keyboard is better than controller get shot in the face", because you know: showing contempt for your audience gets you a 90 on Metacritic. Good.

    The next thing you'll notice is that "indie sense of humor" which consists of toilet jokes and references. Always makes me laugh when nerds slam Epic Movie (which don't be confused, is awful) for "only making references" then turn around and praise things like Scott Pilgrim and Super Meat Boy for the same thing because it references things they like. But anyways, it's not funny, but most indie games aren't.

    Super Meat Boy's graphics are awful. It's literally a Flash game. Anyone could code it and put it up on Newgrounds for free. Also, since it's coded in flash, it's inconsistent. Here's an example of why the programming in Super Meat Boy is crap: There's a custom level hub (also janked) which includes "auto boy" levels, where the intent is to stand still and not move and the level architecture will carry you to the goal automatically, kind of like a "DDA" map in N (An example of a hardcore platformer done... I wouldn't say "right", but at least "better"). The problem? The results are completely random if you'll make it or not because Flash is more unstable than Syd Barrett. Also, glad to see that Edmund McMllen includes characters from all the other bad indie games (Minecraft, VVVVVV, I Wanna Be The Guy, Braid, etc). I love indie circlejerks. Game sucks. Never play it. Make Edmund McMillen get a real job. 1/10 because it has good music
    Expand
  47. Dec 1, 2010
    0
    Super Meat Boy revives the painful old days of restricted technology that forced game developers to make unintuitive and difficult games to make their products last longer. On top of that, it adds silly "features", which might as well be called gimmicks for what they're worth, such as "boss battles" and extra playable characters. The boss battles are nothing more than a regular level withSuper Meat Boy revives the painful old days of restricted technology that forced game developers to make unintuitive and difficult games to make their products last longer. On top of that, it adds silly "features", which might as well be called gimmicks for what they're worth, such as "boss battles" and extra playable characters. The boss battles are nothing more than a regular level with a big object following the character, while extra characters work the exact same way as Meat Boy, with silly, gimmicky "abilities" that nobody will ever use, at the cost of speed.
    But unsatisfied with the state of their game, Team Meat has also shipped the game on PC without testing it on different configurations, resulting in missing graphics elements, glitches everywhere, frequent crashes and a lack of support for direct input controllers. Talk about a lack of polish.
    The rest of the game consists of jumping, running and avoiding saws. and holes. That's basically it. Story? No big deal, let's just make a short animation at the beginning of the game and call it a day.
    There's also the fact that the main character is a piece of meat trying to save a girl made from bandages from a fetus in a jar in a suit. Tasteless. Also reminds me of Super Mario. This game is original, too.

    I added two points to it for tricking me into buying it in the first place. But ultimately, Super Meat Boy is an incredibly disappointing "game" (or should I call it a "chore"?).
    Expand
  48. Jul 29, 2013
    0
    perfect for the masochist 12 year old. Difficult for the sake of being difficult, unintuitive controls (on top of that insults non-gamepad users).

    There's little variation in game play, obstacles, etc. and the story is cookie cutter.

    Still feels like a flash game.
  49. Dec 14, 2014
    0
    This game is hard, which I don't have any problems with. However, I find it laggy and that is very annoying. This is a game for you who like trial by error games and have a great amount of patience. Not fun according to me.
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. 80
    Indie gaming at its retro-loving best, with some of the most cunningly-designed and purposefully infuriating 2D gameplay of the year.
  2. Jun 1, 2011
    89
    Blood, action, romance. Super Meat Boy Ultra Edition has got it all.
  3. May 3, 2011
    90
    Oldschool-Jump and Run at its finest!