User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 545 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 545

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    Unbelievable........SMB is one of the biggest surprises I've had in gaming...period. I bought it for $3.75 on the Steam sale (what the hell right?) and have had so much fun with this game. There are a few very unique innovations that make this game stick out. First, the difficulty is there, it takes time to figure out some levels, and when you do, there's a sense of adrenaline and excitement...like, "oh no, I'm almost to the end of the level (AMAZINGLY!). Once completed, the replay is spectacular, showing all the iterations of your attempts simultaneously. The SFX and Music put many blockbuster games to shame. I'd buy the sound track if I could...and all the little meat splotch sounds are just hilariously satisfying. I'[d recommended this game to anyone. For it's type of game (Indie, platform-spam-death thing) it deserves the highest marks. Expand
  2. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    AMAZING Game. Do not miss this from your collection on PC. Have played through to the end of world 3 and tried a few of the warp zones and dark levels already. Hands down this is my GOTY for 2010. Yes that's right it beats Mass Effect 2, Fallout New Vegas, Alan Wake and even Amnesia the Dark Descent. Addictive, highly replayable, fun to play by yourself or with friends. The replay of all your tries when you finish a level is pure GOLD. Unlocking new characters is also really interesting and adds even more replayability to the game. Whoever designed this game are officially legends. Expand
  3. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    One of the best platformers I have ever played. SMB is a hilarious action packed adventure, with hours of fun gameplay, and then even more bonus levels. The game is frustratingly hard, but not so much that it makes it boring. It is filled with hilarious levels and cutscenes (not to say anything about the characters), a bunch of nostalgia and easter eggs, and some of the best gameplay I've ever scene. Well worth the extremely cheap pricetag. Expand
  4. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    Its everything the 360 version is and more. you can really tell that team meat was looking forward to bringing this to pc and steam. theres the extra characters and theres also a level editor to look forward to. seriously i cant recommend this enough to pc gamers. amazing old school gameplay (aka hardcore platformer). 300 levels , challenging game play , almost 20 characters to use at any time , awesome boss fights , and cutscenes. 10$ for the prepurchase was more then worth it and the 15$ for regular price is still worth your money Expand
  5. Dec 5, 2010
    10
    Simply put, the best true platforming game to come out in YEARS. As you can immediately notice, the user scores are quite polarized, and I believe this is true to the nature of the game. If you find joy in surmounting difficult (But FAIR) platforming challenges, this game is the PERFECT game for you. Let me also state that the 10 I assigned this game was not some knee-jerk reaction to a merely clever indie game. This game is fantastic by ANY standard, it is perfectly executed. There is nothing in the game where I have ever said, man, I wish X existed. In a time where games like Fallout New Vegas and Civ 5 release with the swath of glitches and bugs in the game, it is refreshing to have a game ship out that is immensely bug free, it is absolutely precise. You may even grow to treat this precision as a foe, as there is a razor thin edge between success and death in each level, there is no "give", if you touch a deadly obstacle with any part of your hit-box, you can count on dying. However, this consistency gives rise to the games greatest achievement, the overall fairness of the game. I am astounded that I read other user reviews that actually complained about the controls, they are absolutely astounding. To be fair, I do use a Xbox360 controller, I could see that without one it may take longer to "pick up" but the controls are nevertheless, precise. The character becomes an extension of your will, you'll find sometimes that when an unexpected hazard appears, you react quickly and ably within fractions of a second, as if you were acting out of instinct. I am also disturbed to read some people claiming that this game's difficulty is just a mechanism to lengthen the game. I find it hard to believe we even played the same game. The levels are difficult to be sure, but they are absolutely fair, if you die, it is your fault, there are no invisible traps, your character will not move if you don't tell him to. And even if you die, the levels each can be completed in under a minute, so if you do die (and you will die, often) almost no progress is lost. You will not be spending 5 minutes just to get a chance to practice the spot you died at last time. The other reason I find this explanation difficult to believe is that there are over 300 levels. The game is already massive, it wouldn't need to be lengthened by unnecessary difficulty.

    In short: A difficult platformer, but an absolute masterpiece if you are willing to take up the challenge.
    Expand
  6. Dec 25, 2010
    10
    Team Meat has gone out of their way to make Super Meat Boy polished and amazing. Reliving the best parts of older platformer games, and utilizing 2D graphics in ways I didn't even think of, they were able to take a totally ridiculous idea and turn it into gold. Endless replayability, a various many challenging levels and boss fights, old retro throw backs, and more special characters that you can count on one hand, Super Meat Boy will have you coming back again and again. Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2011
    10
    The charm of this game is unreal. There is something endlessly entertaining about seeing an anthropomorphic slab of meat struggle through brutal and brilliantly designed levels. The only people I believe who will not find enjoyment in this game are those who cannot commit themselves to a challenge or just have poor jumping judgement. The gaming world has been in desperate need of a good hardcore platformer for quite a while. Thank you Team Meat for sorting that out. Expand
  8. Jan 22, 2011
    10
    As my friends and I agree on: "Super Meat Boy feels like a giant Tribute to everything awesome."
    This is not just random praise. It is based on quite a few facts: + The game is overall FUN to play; not feeling like grinding in WoW or over exaggerated Action in CoD. + Although the difficulty gets insanely high, these are the things that make it fun to play: * The controls are absolutely
    tight, meaning the levels don't feel like a stab in the dark or brute-forcing as the player is absolutely in control instead of autoaim or wonky motion controls or quick-time-events. * The learning curve is very well done, constantly making 1 level harder than the previous. * The challenges are widely varied, there is none of the typical "spawning twice as much enemies in the room" * The extreme difficulty does not feel like a punishment, more constant test of skill and in every normal level there is a infinite instant respawn anyway. * To get to the end it is not neccesary to compete every level consecutively, and 3/20 levels do not have to be completed in order to challange each chapter boss. * The extra characters bring a freshness and can potentially help you on the level you are stuck on. + It is multiplatform, available on every current platform except PS3 and mac at the time of writing. + It brings new elements to the "old-fashioned" platforming genre. + The art style design and setting/story is very innovative and often sarcastically hilarious. + The music is very fitting and well made. + It has HEAPS of different levels and with 30+ hours of game time i have yet to beat them all. + The price is at $15 US very very good, and it was $3.75 US when i bought it. + If you buy it you are supporting the indie game market which is a very good thing in my opinion.

    To conclude: It is a must-buy for anyone who can handle a fresh, challenging game.

    Note: I'm basing my review on the PC version of Super Meat Boy. I have played mostly PC/PS3 games from varied genres.
    Expand
  9. Feb 2, 2011
    10
    WeLLLLL!!! To start off, no me gutsa! i like meat but this cind? no way? yes way, very meaty...tastes like eggs...ANYWHOoOoOo i didnt like it cause of the amazing cinimetogyhpy and the other 2010 360s a more favourible kids. to rap this juggular vein up lets say its a "deltoid" of a time and that you should not buy the game
  10. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    A revolutionary game in the form of a distilled platformer for the ADD generation. Not only with its challenge level and precise control does it define what difficulty should really rely on in a game (player skill, not lives-based punishment), but Super Meat Boy also manages to revitalize old school platforming notions of perseverance, muscle memory, concentration, and practice to almost zen-like levels (if you're willing to commit). Respawn times are also virtually nonexistent, giving you little chance to grieve over your last death. By helping put a spotlight on many other interesting games via unlockable characters, SMB has increased its replay value ten-fold and helped put a much-needed spotlight on the indie games movement. The indie development model is also celebrated here, with increased emphasis on discounts and endless content (level editor, user-created level portals). There are bosses to beat and an ending to achieve in Super Meat Boy, but it is hardly the destination of the game, something that is evidenced by the journey of 300+ timed and leaderboard-enhanced levels of pure platforming bliss that Team Meat clearly put two years of blood, sweat, and tears into. Oh yeah, and the music kicks ass. Expand
  11. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    Super Meat Boy is an excellent game. Team Meat really did great work in revitalizing a concept (2D platformers) that was for the most part forgotten in the new modern FPS gaming world. Super Meat Boy is a wonderful game with a great atmosphere and great-looking graphics. From Forests and Hospitals to Hell and The Rapture, you can really tell what the world you are in is. The difficulty curve is VERY high, but this means every time you beat that level that you were stuck on for a day straight you feel like the king of the goddamn world. The soundtrack is simply wonderful, from the steady beats of the Forest to the synthetic notes of the Salt Factory to the symphonic melody of the End all the music fits where it was put by Team Meat. And with sixteen different characters from other indie games to unlock, from Commander Video from the Bit.Trip series to Steve from the smash hit Minecraft, there are plenty of alternate options if you can't beat that level you're stuck on or just plain want to mess around. The controls are great, with you having lots of control over your character.

    However, the insane difficulty might be too much for the more casual gamer, and sometimes you feel too in control of your character, but both are forgiveable as the game has it's difficulty planned out enough so that you will never find yourself stuck in a world far beyond your skillset.

    Super Meat Boy is definitely one of, if not THE best platformer out there. In fact, I rate it higher than classics that everyone knows and loves such as Super Mario Brothers. All of them. I would definitely recommend checking out Meat Boy even if you are bad at platforming, I started out as a horrible gamer and came out a lot better for it. And with the Level Editor coming out very soon, Meat Boy's game is only going to get meatier.
    Expand
  12. Mar 8, 2011
    10
    Definitely not a game for everyone. It's hard, unforgiving, and often times feels nearly impossible. However, once you best the challenges you face, you'll realize that it was actually relatively easy compared to the hell you're about to face in the rest of the game.

    Are you a Masochist? The type of person who smashes your face into concrete for recreation? Give this game a try! You may
    find it causes equal amounts of pain, with less permanent brain damage! Expand
  13. Jan 27, 2013
    10
    One of the best platformers ever made. It applies a perfect learning curve in its level design and can provide dedicated players with a huge amount of content if they're completionists or speed gamers. It has maddeningly difficult levels but provides challenges that always seem fair to the player. When you mess up you can generally feel like it is your own damned fault and not some cheap trick like other difficult platformers released in recent years.

    This is some of the best money I've ever spent and would highly encourage anyone with even a passing interest in platformers to give it a try.
    Expand
  14. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    This game is pure AWESOMENESS!!!! There is no other way to describe it! At first glace I was not sure what to expect, but since its a cheap Indie game I gave it a shot. I was thoroughly impressed, the controls are so smooth, the music is great, the retro arcade aspects to top it all off.
  15. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    Super Meat Boy is for anyone who misses the glory days of 8-bit platformers. Hard ones.

    Some of us remember when games were actually hard. It might have taken you ages to get past a level once in a while, but when you did, man, was it ever a good feeling. The creators of Super Meat Boy clearly remember that feeling, and they've brought it back for those of us who missed it.

    The artistic
    style of the levels is awesome and controls are tight. There's so many reference to other games, both classic and new, that it'll make your head spin.

    If you like your games easy, look elsewhere.
    Expand
  16. Mar 25, 2011
    10
    "I HATE this game!" or so that's what I think when I've tried to finish a stage for the 20th time.
    I actually love this game, it has the same draw to me as Super Mario Bros. or even the original Pitfall.
    As to the vast gulf in the critics respective ratings, I say they're both correct.
    If you enjoyed the days of sitting in front of the TV and trying over and over to beat Super Mario Bros.
    without using the warp zones, then you will probably have a ball with this game.

    If you have different tastes or if you don't like VERY difficult games, then leave this one alone. The point of this game is that it IS so very difficult. Make no mistake, you WILL be playing the same stage over and over and over again. I personally like it. I love watching the replays of 15 former attempts die in the various hilarious ways, as well as the satisfying completion of these very trying stages.

    The people who gave this game negative reviews are correct and... so are the positives. This game polarizes people of different tastes, most of the observances are spot on, both good and bad.

    The point is, you owe it to yourself to TRY THIS GAME!
    Expand
  17. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    This game is perfect. First of all, this is as much content as I've EVER seen in a game this price (free roguelikes aside as that would be completely unfair :D). HUNDREDS of stages, challenges, and unlockable goodies. Also, this game is hardcore. This is a real treat when the general game holds your hand with garbage like a quest compass and regenerating HP... in Super Meat Boy, if you screw up, you die. Usually instantly. And it only gets harder. The learning curve is also fantastically satisfying. You will consistently get better from play. When you are playing the first boss it WILL seem difficult. After playing the next few levels if you go back you'll wonder what was so hard. You will stand back and say, "oh my god, I'm DOING this." The mechanics are very smooth, jumping, wall jumping, dashing, these are fun and for the most part the game seems very fair. When you die you'll know YOU messed up and it wasn't just something stupid due to chance. Point being, if you like video games, get this game. Also, use a controller. This game is a seven with a keyboard, a ten with a controller. Do it. Expand
  18. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    For a game I put off buying until potato sack discount, I wish I would have got it sooner. This is the perfect game in every aspect of the sense. The music, controls, timing, levels, bosses, and bonus content are sure to blow away any graphically enhanced POS that you could get for the same price. This game is the perfect example of what video gaming should be, and what advances to the industry it can bring, beautifully integrated into a retro style game. The challenges the player will face is a difficulty that brings back feelings not felt in decades, creating a unique and extremely difficult playing style that demands perfection (its mega man on crack with too many saws). My favorite quote "A giant F*** You to the casual gamer" Super Meat Boy will easily crack any gamer with weak will power, or skill. If your looking for a game to play occasionally your just bending over to team meat by buying this, but anyone who has skill, experience, and love for unique games, this is just perfect. Honestly if you don't like this game your not good at video games, and its obvious that one made to be hard and frustrating will send virgin gamers screaming, but experts clawing for more, even with keyboard controls. Expand
  19. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    I think game is decent and deserves to be a middle rated game as it is quite fun but very frustrating in most of the game, I use £ here, but I don't think it was worth £12 of steam for what I got I would say £6 at most.
  20. May 2, 2011
    10
    This game will kick your ass repeatedly and you'll probably die a few thousand times before completing the game, but for some reason no matter how much you die, you keep coming back for more punishment. I haven't played such a thrilling and satisfying platformer since Super Mario Bros. 3, and I'm beginning to think it may be my new all-time favorite game in the genre. Just be warned that this game is VERY difficult amongst platformers and it can be frustrating to people who are bad at video games. 90% of the negative reviews are "this game is too hard it kicked my ass."

    The controls are perfect; to put it simply: they put you exactly where you want to be. I went back to Super Mario and for the first time in my life I have to say the controls feel dated by comparison -- and I'm a huge fan of classic Mario platformers. To add to the fantastic gameplay is the outstanding music, beautifully gritty environments, and a really solid "arcade feel" to the theme.

    The only real downside to this game lies within it's virtually non-existent story, but then again if you're playing a platformer for the story, you're doing it wrong.
    Expand
  21. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    Everybody, who tell you that this game is sux just too lame for this game. I love hardcore games. I loved to play N. I loved to play DeFrag. It is hard, yeah, but it is so awesome feeling when you complete a level for A+! There is too little number of really hardcore games nowadays. All think that games should be easy. This is not f*king right. There MUST be some hardcore. And this game is. You die for thousand times to complete the level, but, some time after, you can complete this level for A+ without dying. Wonderful game. Expand
  22. May 26, 2011
    10
    Be reborned into the golden age of games. Think back to when you played Donkey Kong Country or the old Mario games. Because Super Meat boy easily brings back those memories.

    Challenging, but simple indie game can easily bring back the child in you (or in my case, the 90s). The game can easily make you death count reach to the 100s, but the 10-20 second stage completion times (for the true
    indie gamer) more than makes up for this. A must have for gamers and players alike. Expand
  23. Oct 15, 2011
    10
    the 4th best game of all time... and an amazing game to play. i got the ultra RARE editiion, and couldnt be happier to revive the simple run and jump ( it s been a LONG time since ive said that)
    if you like gaming, hard and old school, get get get..

    97%
  24. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    One of the most fluid, tightest platformers in recent memory. Deaths come quick, and often, but just like VVVVVV, you're back into the action in seconds with minimal frustration. The PC version is the definitive copy of this game. Constant updates from the team, including a level editor, renders the 360 version kinda pointless. If that's your only option though, go for it!
  25. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    This is a fun side scrolling platforming game that will never lose its charm. Super meat boy is a story about meat boy saving his girlfriend (bandage girl) from the evil fetus boy (it may be man). This is the old fashion grind your teeth difficult games. You will play some levels more than ten times, but you will love every time. This game has precise controls even if you are using a keyboard (however the game will constantly tell you that controller is better). There are at least three-hundred levels that will entice you to keep on going. The boss battles are fun, but the crown jewel is definitely in the difficulty of the game. This is the kind of game that makes you pull your teeth out of anger. You will die in this game at least one-hundred times, but this game is definitely worth the purchase. it has a funny story, precise controls with a lot of content for only ten dollars, and even show a variety of guest from other indie games (such as the crab thing from half-life) that has special powers that definitely come in handy. Overall this game is an assured buy; you will never regret spending the ten dollars necessary to obtain this amazing game. Expand
  26. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    By far Super Meat Boy is the best platforming game to ever exist. Before i even go into the fact that there are Thousands of levels available for play from users ( like you ) or the hundreds of masterfully crafted levels, the game-play is that of absolute triumph. The storyline alone was amazing from its simplicity and the tug you could feel while playing. I have played over hundreds of hours into SMB and even if it was starting to get boring the music would snap you right back into it. If there was to be a SMB sequel it would be terrifying... because there was absolutely NOTHING that made you feel still hanging by the end of the game. between the storyline with clever and hilarious cut-scenes, a level of difficulty only based on your skill, and a musical score that is beyond parallel there is nothing to even rival the mighty meat boy. Expand
  27. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I love this game. It starts off easy, but the later levels are insanely difficult, requiring you to complete multiple pixel perfect jumps etc. back to back to back. The beauty is that there isn't a punishment on death, there's no waiting, you just get straight back into another attempt. I've sunk >80hrs into this game and would heartily recommend it.
  28. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    I HATE THIS GAME SO MUCH 10/10
    The satisfaction you get after completing a level that you've been putting off for days in the first try is what this games is about.
  29. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    Super Meat Boy clearly depicts what is likely to happened if we do not take control of our environment. The game starts off in a pristine forest filled with squirrels and other creatures. As the player progresses through the levels it is apparent that the game is a metaphor for our destruction of the world. Slowly the scenery begins to change into a dismal industrious world filled with pollution and destruction. As you progress further the increased difficulty is synonymous with difficulty needed to clean up our environment (the more we pollute the harder it will be to return to normal in the future). All in all it was a very educational experience which I recommend for all ages. First Class! Expand
  30. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    This is the best platformer on Steam. Fluid control system, great puzzles and an inherent respect for mature gamers who need a challenge. I have not yet found a character that rivals the initial Meat Boy, but I'll get more bandages and see what happens.
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. 80
    Indie gaming at its retro-loving best, with some of the most cunningly-designed and purposefully infuriating 2D gameplay of the year.
  2. Jun 1, 2011
    89
    Blood, action, romance. Super Meat Boy Ultra Edition has got it all.
  3. May 3, 2011
    90
    Oldschool-Jump and Run at its finest!