User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 144 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 144

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    A really fantastic online fighting game. The single player arcade mode is pretty much pointless other than to see some story cut scenes and whatnot. The trials give you a good training experience with the characters by showing you some of their available combos. But the online is where the whole game is at. Characters are balanced and interesting, combos are hard but incredibly satisfyingA really fantastic online fighting game. The single player arcade mode is pretty much pointless other than to see some story cut scenes and whatnot. The trials give you a good training experience with the characters by showing you some of their available combos. But the online is where the whole game is at. Characters are balanced and interesting, combos are hard but incredibly satisfying to pull off and the whole experience is fast paced and great fun! Really the only side on fighting game worth playing! haha (apart from maybe MvC3) Expand
  2. Jul 13, 2011
    9
    I've always been a big fan of the Street Fighter series and when Street Fighter 4 was released to PC I was happy. Capcom redeemed themselves bringing the Super Edition on PC and it is really good! All the characters are unlocked out of the box. You really need an Xbox 360 pad or an arcade stick to play this though, don't expect to win on keyboard! If you like beat em ups then this game isI've always been a big fan of the Street Fighter series and when Street Fighter 4 was released to PC I was happy. Capcom redeemed themselves bringing the Super Edition on PC and it is really good! All the characters are unlocked out of the box. You really need an Xbox 360 pad or an arcade stick to play this though, don't expect to win on keyboard! If you like beat em ups then this game is well worth it. Expand
  3. Jul 29, 2011
    9
    Simply the best beat'em up on our PC! This game is great because it can be *funny* played from low to high skilled players.
    Obviously the REAL fun is the on-line fight... the "arcade-offline" mode is kinda useless...
  4. Jul 27, 2011
    9
    Awesome game. It is too bad that de facto it has no competition on the pc. The other producers just forgot pc market alltoghether. This makes SSF4AE even more appreciated not only amongst pc SF fans, but all beat`em up type of games playing people. The game now has 39 unlocked from the get go charackters. The new Oni and Evil Ryu are interesting additions, the other Yun and Yang guys notAwesome game. It is too bad that de facto it has no competition on the pc. The other producers just forgot pc market alltoghether. This makes SSF4AE even more appreciated not only amongst pc SF fans, but all beat`em up type of games playing people. The game now has 39 unlocked from the get go charackters. The new Oni and Evil Ryu are interesting additions, the other Yun and Yang guys not so much. The game pretty much is identical to the Super Street Fighter 4, although it has some new and reworked online content such as My Channel Advanced or Elite Channels. The characters have also been given a rework, so you`ll need to drop some habits from the sf4 as the gameplay changed quite a bit. Each and every one of them has individual stats, so those looking for high ranks won`t be discouraged to play other characters than their main one from time to time. It is a very clever addition. Nonetheless the gaming is very enjoyable as I think the online code is also a bit better.
    At the moment I can`t think up any flaws (and I mean : any of them).
    Still, it is basicly just an expansion over Street Fighter 4 for PC so cannot be a 10.
    Expand
  5. Jul 26, 2011
    10
    The best fighting game on PC.

    I can't understand why it has such a low grade.However, people who are playing SSFIV AE are real fans and we gotta say that it could be hard for beginners to start with AE
    Still, AE is one of the only versus fighting game on PC.

    You MUST buy a fightstick to play it in good conditions.
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    great fighter! the complete exp. of SF4 really a good game GFWL suck ass and at some times it feels like its ruining the game, BUT the game is a BOMB!
  7. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    A good Street Fighter with a successful graphic design, how successful struggle, why mix the attacks? More characters than other episodes. A game with nice gameplay. In short, Street Fighter is really good especially the fight ...
  8. Aug 15, 2011
    10
    It's Street Fighter. My all time favorite game so nothing less than a 10!

    That said, Games for Windows Live sucks! I get frequent disconnects (just changed my MTU to 1432 and seems to be a bit more stable, plus playing with ANY rather than SAME region seems to help too - strangely!).

    The game is incredible and with a more stable only experience would have earned a 20 ;)
  9. Feb 10, 2012
    9
    In terms of value for money, this is by far one of the most complete and long-lasting games you can buy on PC. All controllers are supported, the graphics ranges supported are incredible, where no matter what graphics card you have, there will be an optimal balance between 60 FPS and good visuals. On highest settings, the graphics are far superior to the consoles. The best thing is thatIn terms of value for money, this is by far one of the most complete and long-lasting games you can buy on PC. All controllers are supported, the graphics ranges supported are incredible, where no matter what graphics card you have, there will be an optimal balance between 60 FPS and good visuals. On highest settings, the graphics are far superior to the consoles. The best thing is that while it costs 1200 MSP for a mere expansion pack on Xbox 360, that's how much you can get the entire game for on PC! So you're not just paying that money for 4 unoriginal and not-new characters which lack trials. You're getting the full package. It's definitely better this way, and makes SSFIV AE a truly new Street Fighter IV experience. Expand
  10. Jan 1, 2014
    9
    I bought this game for 6.64 USD and I can say that this is one of the best money spent on a game in my life. Great combat system, nice graphics with very low requirements, a lot of warriors and balanced gameplay What do you want more? If only no DRM protection which require constant access to the internet I would give 10/10.
  11. Jan 21, 2013
    10
    This is almost the best fighting game ever, let alone just for pc. AE is probably the most balanced 2d fighter to date. The gameplay is solid, and there is a good variety of characters. The only 1v1 fighter that could be considered better than this would be the arcade version of 3rd Strike.
  12. Nov 20, 2013
    9
    It's Street Fighter! Wow, is all I can say. This game is just so must fun to play. Graphically this game looks pretty good. The controls feel great, aside from the more relaxed inputs. The Arcade mode can be fun to learn about all of the characters. It's just a classic ladder mode, beat everyone up and watch the end cut scene. The Trials mode is also pretty good to teach new players someIt's Street Fighter! Wow, is all I can say. This game is just so must fun to play. Graphically this game looks pretty good. The controls feel great, aside from the more relaxed inputs. The Arcade mode can be fun to learn about all of the characters. It's just a classic ladder mode, beat everyone up and watch the end cut scene. The Trials mode is also pretty good to teach new players some pretty basic moves for the game, Although some of the combos are just for show and not that viable to do in a real match. The online is pretty good. Sometimes I have a bad connection when playing my friends online and it lags. But all that can be forgotten. The search options to find a match is great! Especially if you want a salty run back. Overall this game is Great! I expect to see even better things in the 2014 version. Expand
  13. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    Released in 2008. Still number one.
    All other fighting games are a joke when compared to the depth and design of Street Fighter IV.
    The true and only real fighting game that is timeless.
  14. May 7, 2014
    10
    the game is wonderfull but online gaming can really makes you cancer......! i hate crapcom to make this game netcode terrible..street figther = 2 player game = online gaming = needs better online gameplay but you crapcom all you r thinking is money..you add just 5 new character named it ultra then want me to pay 15 euro again for the same game...anyway i gave 9 to the game and gave ZEROthe game is wonderfull but online gaming can really makes you cancer......! i hate crapcom to make this game netcode terrible..street figther = 2 player game = online gaming = needs better online gameplay but you crapcom all you r thinking is money..you add just 5 new character named it ultra then want me to pay 15 euro again for the same game...anyway i gave 9 to the game and gave ZERO for online gameplay Expand
  15. Jun 12, 2014
    9
    Pro tip: get a controller first if you want to buy this game it really helps you. Other than that the game is literally perfect it is street fighter god damn it what else can you talk about. But actually i have a few criticism for this game, first of all the game has no story, that is a bit disappointing when mortal kombat or injustice has a great story. Secondly it is a bit hard to learn,Pro tip: get a controller first if you want to buy this game it really helps you. Other than that the game is literally perfect it is street fighter god damn it what else can you talk about. But actually i have a few criticism for this game, first of all the game has no story, that is a bit disappointing when mortal kombat or injustice has a great story. Secondly it is a bit hard to learn, again mortal kombat and injustice is much easier to get used to but beside from that the game is really grat Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. 70
    There is no better way to enter the Street Fighter world. Actually, there is no other option if you seriously look for fighting on PC. [Issue#207]
  2. Aug 29, 2011
    90
    The biggest, the deepest and the most complete fighting experience on PC. Start saving you quarters for that USB arcade stick. [Sept 2011, p.85]
  3. Aug 13, 2011
    92
    The perfect entry point into the series for PC gamers. Time to clear some desk space. [Sept 2011, p.82]