User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 126 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 126

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    A really fantastic online fighting game. The single player arcade mode is pretty much pointless other than to see some story cut scenes and whatnot. The trials give you a good training experience with the characters by showing you some of their available combos. But the online is where the whole game is at. Characters are balanced and interesting, combos are hard but incredibly satisfying to pull off and the whole experience is fast paced and great fun! Really the only side on fighting game worth playing! haha (apart from maybe MvC3) Expand
  2. Jul 13, 2011
    9
    I've always been a big fan of the Street Fighter series and when Street Fighter 4 was released to PC I was happy. Capcom redeemed themselves bringing the Super Edition on PC and it is really good! All the characters are unlocked out of the box. You really need an Xbox 360 pad or an arcade stick to play this though, don't expect to win on keyboard! If you like beat em ups then this game is well worth it. Expand
  3. Jul 29, 2011
    9
    Simply the best beat'em up on our PC! This game is great because it can be *funny* played from low to high skilled players.
    Obviously the REAL fun is the on-line fight... the "arcade-offline" mode is kinda useless...
  4. Jul 27, 2011
    9
    Awesome game. It is too bad that de facto it has no competition on the pc. The other producers just forgot pc market alltoghether. This makes SSF4AE even more appreciated not only amongst pc SF fans, but all beat`em up type of games playing people. The game now has 39 unlocked from the get go charackters. The new Oni and Evil Ryu are interesting additions, the other Yun and Yang guys not so much. The game pretty much is identical to the Super Street Fighter 4, although it has some new and reworked online content such as My Channel Advanced or Elite Channels. The characters have also been given a rework, so you`ll need to drop some habits from the sf4 as the gameplay changed quite a bit. Each and every one of them has individual stats, so those looking for high ranks won`t be discouraged to play other characters than their main one from time to time. It is a very clever addition. Nonetheless the gaming is very enjoyable as I think the online code is also a bit better.
    At the moment I can`t think up any flaws (and I mean : any of them).
    Still, it is basicly just an expansion over Street Fighter 4 for PC so cannot be a 10.
    Collapse
  5. Jul 26, 2011
    10
    The best fighting game on PC.

    I can't understand why it has such a low grade.However, people who are playing SSFIV AE are real fans and we gotta say that it could be hard for beginners to start with AE
    Still, AE is one of the only versus fighting game on PC.

    You MUST buy a fightstick to play it in good conditions.
  6. Aug 19, 2011
    7
    It's Street Fighter. IE, it's thoroughly enjoyable and dreadfully aggravating. I find myself wanting to improve my skill at the game, despite never picking up a fighter after Street Fighter II.
  7. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    great fighter! the complete exp. of SF4 really a good game GFWL suck ass and at some times it feels like its ruining the game, BUT the game is a BOMB!
  8. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    A good Street Fighter with a successful graphic design, how successful struggle, why mix the attacks? More characters than other episodes. A game with nice gameplay. In short, Street Fighter is really good especially the fight ...
  9. Aug 15, 2011
    10
    It's Street Fighter. My all time favorite game so nothing less than a 10!

    That said, Games for Windows Live sucks! I get frequent disconnects (just changed my MTU to 1432 and seems to be a bit more stable, plus playing with ANY rather than SAME region seems to help too - strangely!).

    The game is incredible and with a more stable only experience would have earned a 20 ;)
  10. Aug 31, 2012
    8
    It's SFIV, more balanced and with more characters. Online is nearly lagless. Pretty good if you ask me.
    GFWL brings the score down. **** piece of sh*t DRM.
  11. Jan 1, 2012
    2
    The game is impossible on a keyboard so you need to buy an xbox controller just to play it properly. Then, the game itself is nowhere near as good as previous Street Fighter games.
  12. Mar 3, 2012
    5
    I subjectively dislike this game. I objectively think that this game has some of the tightest fighting mechanics and some of the smoothest online implementation in the fighting genre. However the subjectivity kicks back in again when I realize that I don't really care if it has tight fighting mechanics. Mortal kombat might be a slower more methodical, less skillfull game. However the story mode kept me engaged. For people like me who play games for involvement based on something other than competition. This is about as disconnecting as it gets. So what route do I go? Do I not review this at all, and only leave the scoring to the fans of the genre? Must this genre be so polarizing? If street fighter had a story mode with anime cutscenes (like in the trailer for the game) - telling the stories as you went along in the singleplayer mode. I would love the hell out of this game - and since it's a mythos that was expanded brilliantly with the original anime/manga movie - it can be done. I even think the fans would enjoy it, and just play the online/arcade for the pure fighting. So from that standpoint, I don't recommend this game to people who want this genre to expand. I do recommend this game to traditionalists who want a great looking, fast paced, competitive fighting game with smooth online. The pc version is also great, with a smooth framerate and visuals that upscale fantastically to the higher resolution most pc gamers play games at. Expand
  13. Jul 29, 2011
    7
    Can't really complain about the work put into bringing this to PC, it's exactly what you expect from side-on beat 'em up from a series that's always been big on glitzy showmanship, although personally these sort of games never have any longterm gameplay and are more aimed at parties or after a night out with buds, else they get old real quick.
  14. Feb 10, 2012
    9
    In terms of value for money, this is by far one of the most complete and long-lasting games you can buy on PC. All controllers are supported, the graphics ranges supported are incredible, where no matter what graphics card you have, there will be an optimal balance between 60 FPS and good visuals. On highest settings, the graphics are far superior to the consoles. The best thing is that while it costs 1200 MSP for a mere expansion pack on Xbox 360, that's how much you can get the entire game for on PC! So you're not just paying that money for 4 unoriginal and not-new characters which lack trials. You're getting the full package. It's definitely better this way, and makes SSFIV AE a truly new Street Fighter IV experience. Expand
  15. Apr 26, 2013
    8
    Like Mortal Kombat, I plunked untold hoards of quarters in the Street Fighter II machines. A little later, the game would be released to SNES, and I would play that for hours. Fast forward many years later, and I see this little gem released on Steam. The graphics are explosive, the combos are not easy to pull off, and the online mode is tons of fun. If you like the old-school beat 'em up games, this is for you. Expand
  16. Jun 29, 2012
    2
    Game is pointless without a controller. there are better fighting games are out there. Some specials are impossible on the keyboard (aka need a controller). Do not waste your time buying for the PC. Buy it for a console where you'd probably enjoy it more.
  17. Jan 1, 2014
    9
    I bought this game for 6.64 USD and I can say that this is one of the best money spent on a game in my life. Great combat system, nice graphics with very low requirements, a lot of warriors and balanced gameplay What do you want more? If only no DRM protection which require constant access to the internet I would give 10/10.
  18. Jan 21, 2013
    10
    This is almost the best fighting game ever, let alone just for pc. AE is probably the most balanced 2d fighter to date. The gameplay is solid, and there is a good variety of characters. The only 1v1 fighter that could be considered better than this would be the arcade version of 3rd Strike.
  19. Mar 7, 2013
    8
    The game is awesome, but I really dislike the multiplayer! Why?
    1- GFWL is crap everyone knows that. Sometimes it just refuses to connect, while Steam works normally.
    2- I need more options! I don't want to play against random people. Letting us choose who we are going to play against would be much nicer, and it isn't hard do create an interface that allows that. This is what made me
    gave up on many other games (like StarCraft 2 for example). Expand
  20. Nov 20, 2013
    9
    It's Street Fighter! Wow, is all I can say. This game is just so must fun to play. Graphically this game looks pretty good. The controls feel great, aside from the more relaxed inputs. The Arcade mode can be fun to learn about all of the characters. It's just a classic ladder mode, beat everyone up and watch the end cut scene. The Trials mode is also pretty good to teach new players some pretty basic moves for the game, Although some of the combos are just for show and not that viable to do in a real match. The online is pretty good. Sometimes I have a bad connection when playing my friends online and it lags. But all that can be forgotten. The search options to find a match is great! Especially if you want a salty run back. Overall this game is Great! I expect to see even better things in the 2014 version. Expand
  21. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    Released in 2008. Still number one.
    All other fighting games are a joke when compared to the depth and design of Street Fighter IV.
    The true and only real fighting game that is timeless.
  22. Jul 27, 2011
    0
    Awesome game. It is too bad that de facto it has no competition on the pc. The other producers just forgot pc market alltoghether. This makes SSF4AE even more appreciated not only amongst pc SF fans, but all beat`em up type of games playing people. The game now has 39 unlocked from the get go charackters. The new Oni and Evil Ryu are interesting additions, the other Yun and Yang guys not so much. The game pretty much is identical to the Super Street Fighter 4, although it has some new and reworked online content such as My Channel Advanced or Elite Channels. The characters have also been given a rework, so you`ll need to drop some habits from the sf4 as the gameplay changed quite a bit. Each and every one of them has individual stats, so those looking for high ranks won`t be discouraged to play other characters than their main one from time to time. It is a very clever addition. Nonetheless the gaming is very enjoyable as I think the online code is also a bit better.
    At the moment I can`t think up any flaws (and I mean : any of them).
    Still, it is basicly just an expansion over Street Fighter 4 for PC so cannot be a 10.
    Collapse
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. 70
    There is no better way to enter the Street Fighter world. Actually, there is no other option if you seriously look for fighting on PC. [Issue#207]
  2. Aug 29, 2011
    90
    The biggest, the deepest and the most complete fighting experience on PC. Start saving you quarters for that USB arcade stick. [Sept 2011, p.85]
  3. Aug 13, 2011
    92
    The perfect entry point into the series for PC gamers. Time to clear some desk space. [Sept 2011, p.82]