Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 185 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Superbrothers: Sword & Sworcery EP is an exploratory action adventure with an emphasis on audiovisual style. Traverse a mythic little realm, use a sword to do battle & evoke sworcery to solve mystical musical mysteries. Co-operate with friends via Twitter, experience a videogame world that is affected by moon phases & help a wandering warrior monk complete her woeful errand. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Apr 20, 2012
    91
    What an experience! This little gem transports you right into a mysterious and charmingly designed world.
  2. Apr 27, 2012
    90
    Sword & Sworcery offers an extraordinary audio-visual experience comparable to the price of a ticket to the movies. Even though it has a different yet traditional approach to a player, this game won't satisfy everyone. However, in its class it's an exceptionally original and well-done work of art that will touch your heart if you let it. Besides, you get an amazing soundtrack.
  3. 90
    Best definition of what an indie game should be: stylish, original, intellectually stimulating and an amusing adventure. [June 2012]
  4. May 21, 2012
    88
    The fantastic soundtrack, perfect way of storytelling and the pixel art make you forget the lack of a challenge. The game still feels like an iOS-game, but who cares when it is this brilliant? It might not be the game everyone is going to play, but the one that brings an unforgettable experience.
  5. May 10, 2012
    85
    Regardless of whether you call Superbrothers a game or a concept album with an interactive visualization, I will not forget this adventure for a long time. [June 2012, p.58]
  6. May 30, 2012
    70
    An interactive, aural delight which doesn't quite offer gameplay to match its busy artistry. [June 2012, p.61]
  7. Jun 19, 2012
    70
    Sworcery is worth a look for the presentation and music, but despite the upgrade to HD the mobile version is still the one to go for. [Aug 2012, p.77]

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 63
  2. Negative: 26 out of 63
  1. Apr 28, 2012
    10
    This game is the most stupendous amazingly incredible experience I've had in ages. Any fan of good things owes it to themselves to play this game; it's just that good. Expand
  2. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    I loved this game. Excellent art and music.

    The controls aren't that annoying. I prefer the PC version to the mobile version.

    I didn't
    use the Twitter integration at all, and I don't know why everybody was so annoyed by it. This game, in my opinion, should have received a much higher user score.

    Headphones recommended.
    Expand
  3. Aug 28, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game was advertised as an audiovisual experience, and it did not disappoint. With a fantastic soundtrack from Jim Guthrie and amazing 8-bit graphics, complete with cute little sprites for the small yet memorable cast of characters, this game, if anything, is a treat for your senses. The fact that it is a port from iOS is apparent, as a lot of the gameplay involves point and click, and different "swiping" methods used to advance in the plot. Speaking of the plot, it's highly unorthodox (as one would expect from an indie game), much of it coming from pop up text boxes featuring humorous and odd messages ("We had bridged the chasm & we felt super smart" or "We spied the solitary grave at the edge of The Perilous Precipice & we wondered what was up with that."), or from equally entertaining thoughts projected from the characters via mind reading Megatome. The game is not without its faults, though, as it is infuriating to be asked to tweet every message that comes up via the in-game Twitter support. One mechanic comes to mind, too, that involves waiting for the phases of the moon to advance (although this is a very neat aspect of the game, and can be worked around with some cleverness).

    All-in-all, Superbrothers: Swords and Sorcery is a neat, quirky point and click adventure with fantastic visuals and a breathtaking soundtrack. Even if the gameplay itself can be lacking and involves mildly annoying features, it's a must try.
    Expand
  4. Jul 22, 2012
    5
    This game has amazing art and awesome sound, however the gameplay just doesn't cut it i'm afraid. After playing 10 minutes you kinda feel like you either want to see something really amazing or just end the level so you can move onto another game. Expand
  5. Jul 3, 2013
    4
    Beautiful, poetic, occasionally funny, but very unrewarding and boring to play. This feels like a prototype game concept which is ready to be fleshed out into an actual game, only they skipped that and just decided to release it. I think most of the rave reviews are from people sucked in by how hard the creators tried to set it apart from a cliche fantasy/adventure/puzzle game and are overly impressed with its originality. There is very little depth to this game aside from there being a dream world mirror of the real world and the connection with the moon (I won't give away what). The game is otherwise completely linear. When you remove the nearly funny, vague stylistic narration, there's really not much to the story. Seriously, move along, this is not worth your time if it was free. Points for a great concept only. Expand
  6. Jun 5, 2012
    2
    I decided to finally cave and try a Humble Indie Bundle, my first forays into Indie gaming were less than stellar, so admittedly I was apprehensive, but I figured most of the money goes to charity anyways, so why not? This was the first game I tried out of the bunch, and it looked pretty good, the music wasn't too bad. The story however was really generic, and the minute I started playing I realized this was the kind of hipster junk that put me off Indie games to begin with. I enjoy art, in fact I take quite a bit of graphic design classes, so I can say I appreciate the style, but this SHOULD NOT have been a game. I strongly reccomend against wasting your money on it. The only redeeming factor about all this is that most of my money will go to charity, and that I have four other games to try that look promising. As a game I'll give it a two, as a graphic arts project of some sort I would totally have given it a 9 or so, really cool designs and great music. Expand
  7. Jul 21, 2012
    0
    first of all I have a really hard time understanding where many of these bad reviews came from. Judging the game badly only on the fact that it is point and click game seems quite vague to me. But enough about that, lets discuss the game instead. In my eyes this game is truly a gem. It is by far one of the best indie games i have ever tried. The art is amazing, the music really catches the overall feeling of the game and i generally like all the references it does to other major games. But the reason im not giving it 10 is for one that I played it on PC and the controls and interface seems very much intended for the IOS platform (so go buy it for iPad). Another thing that annoys me is that the game keeps asking me if I want to post my progress on my twitter account. But overall an amazing indie title, and a game that really gave me much fun even though I was not expecting it. Collapse

See all 63 User Reviews