User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 237 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 237

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    Looks great. Plays fun. Lots of explosions in this one. As with the original Total Annihilation game, I think the best part is that the production/building process can be sped up by having multiple drones (and/or your commander) build the same thing at the same time.

    Excellent UI design, in my opinion, particularly the multimonitor support that they have. This was never really a
    Looks great. Plays fun. Lots of explosions in this one. As with the original Total Annihilation game, I think the best part is that the production/building process can be sped up by having multiple drones (and/or your commander) build the same thing at the same time.

    Excellent UI design, in my opinion, particularly the multimonitor support that they have.

    This was never really a story-driven game for me, and I only played to build units and watch them blow each other up essentially. Of course, I do like to deploy my units strategically during combat, but I also sometimes feel lazy and simply want to throw units at my enemy until they die which SC allows you to do really well once you manage your resources well enough and you have enough unit factories and drones to speed up the unit production process.
    Expand
  2. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    This game holds a special place in my heart, I've been playing RTS games forever and this one never gets old! It has it all: GIANT robotic armies, tons of ground/air/naval units, experimental weapons (Colossus robots, flying motherships, etc.), great balancing, good difficulty curve, endless fun in Skirmish mode against AI. The campaigns aren't bad, they're not the best but they areThis game holds a special place in my heart, I've been playing RTS games forever and this one never gets old! It has it all: GIANT robotic armies, tons of ground/air/naval units, experimental weapons (Colossus robots, flying motherships, etc.), great balancing, good difficulty curve, endless fun in Skirmish mode against AI. The campaigns aren't bad, they're not the best but they are enjoyable and have somewhat interesting stories. The Skirmish mode is amazing, AI has multiple difficulty settings that will never stop challenging you, the battles are complex and strategic, and the unit count is off the charts! If you like RTS games with huge armies, tons of units to choose from, MANY buildings and endgame experimental weapons, definitely give this game a shot! I played this along with War Front: Turning Point, C&C3, AoE III, Starcraft: BW, and Warcraft III, and the only game out of those that were better than Supreme Commander was Warcraft III. One of the best RTS's I've ever played, probably my third favorite of all time. The three different races are complex and give a good variety to any battle, and the amount of different attacks/approaches/defenses that are available is incredible, and will make sure no two battles play out the same way!

    The campaign's theme of EXPANDING the map instead of loading a different one makes the game require some heavy duty hardware in your computer. By the end of a mission the map will be HUGE and there'll probably be like 1000 units on it at once, so be warned that you need a hefty computer to handle this game, or you'll have to decrease the graphics a lot (Which by the way, the graphics are REALLY good for when this game was made: they even stand up to today's standards in some aspects!).
    Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    Supreme Commander is a really good strategic game. It is clean, fun and makes you think. The Campaign takes up a lot of time. Playing Skirmish is fun, especially on the huge 50k by 50k maps. The units and stuff are well designed, well animated and have really good sounds.

    This game is really fun, I have all three SupCom games!
  4. Oct 3, 2010
    10
    Almost the perfect RTS. Strategy, tactics, music, atmosphere, graphics, sound, mega-armies, superrobots, all there. Hundred-thousands of skirmish units have already exploded on my screen. It takes weeks to master, but when you do, it's worth every second. Even the atrocious campaigns with the moronic game-characters will not drag my rating down from 10.
  5. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    A combination of Tier 1 units that can be massed into a huge force, tier 3 units that can be used in small strike forces, and experimental units that can be used as one would use a nuke in most other games make Supreme Commander one of the most intelligently designed RTS games in a while. Each faction is very similar yet not at all identical. The UEF have a health advantage, the Aeon haveA combination of Tier 1 units that can be massed into a huge force, tier 3 units that can be used in small strike forces, and experimental units that can be used as one would use a nuke in most other games make Supreme Commander one of the most intelligently designed RTS games in a while. Each faction is very similar yet not at all identical. The UEF have a health advantage, the Aeon have a range advantage and the Cybran have a stealth advantage. Those are just 3 of the many qualities each faction brings to the table. Do not judge this game based on the Tier 1 units, those are just to start you off. When you reach Tier 2, you have reached Supreme Commander. Expand
  6. Nov 12, 2014
    10
    Almost the perfect RTS. Strategy, tactics, music, atmosphere, graphics, sound, mega-armies, superrobots, all there. Hundred-thousands of skirmish units have already exploded on my screen. It takes weeks to master, but when you do, it's worth every second The best strategy game i have ever played in fact.Greatest RTS ever! Resource system is ingenious, at least i think so. The game is veryAlmost the perfect RTS. Strategy, tactics, music, atmosphere, graphics, sound, mega-armies, superrobots, all there. Hundred-thousands of skirmish units have already exploded on my screen. It takes weeks to master, but when you do, it's worth every second The best strategy game i have ever played in fact.Greatest RTS ever! Resource system is ingenious, at least i think so. The game is very complex, has so many units, four factions total, GIANT units, great command structure, incredibly massive scale, Naval battles, and air power the likes of which I've never seen in another RTS! Expand
  7. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    If you liked Total Annihilation back in the day, this is made by the same lead designer and is a spiritual successor. It has a current metacritic score of 86/100 and is a seriously fun game. It features full dual monitor support (each screen in showing a different location, eg. one on your base and the other the front line, or whatever you like. very handy for an RTS) The defaultIf you liked Total Annihilation back in the day, this is made by the same lead designer and is a spiritual successor. It has a current metacritic score of 86/100 and is a seriously fun game. It features full dual monitor support (each screen in showing a different location, eg. one on your base and the other the front line, or whatever you like. very handy for an RTS) The default population cap is 1000 units per player. Expand
  8. lhw
    May 31, 2011
    10
    It's been 4 years since the release of Supreme Commander and still today its the best real time strategy game out there. Though on a side note there isn't really any competition as any other 'strategy' game currently available is more or less only a tactic game.
    The variety of huge maps available through the community and the fun of building massive armies consisting of hundreds of small
    It's been 4 years since the release of Supreme Commander and still today its the best real time strategy game out there. Though on a side note there isn't really any competition as any other 'strategy' game currently available is more or less only a tactic game.
    The variety of huge maps available through the community and the fun of building massive armies consisting of hundreds of small and huge robots, ships and planes is practically unrivaled. But even with thousands of units brawling on 40x40km maps its still possible to control because Supreme Commander allow you to zoom out into the strategy map. Where you can control and give advanced orders like ferries or coordinated attacks easily.
    The sometimes criticized resource- and build-system might take some time to get used to but it's in no way inferior to any other strategy game.
    The only negative critic I have is that this game hogs your PC quite radically. Even after 4 years and with a modern mid-class PC it still gets slow when 2000-3000 units are present on the map.
    In my opinion everyone with a slight interest in strategy games should get a copy of this. Including the addon 'Forged Alliance' it shouldn't cost more then 15$.
    Expand
  9. May 29, 2012
    10
    All I can say is, some people have a strange view of what makes a good RTS. Supreme Commander is a great title because this game is really supreme. I have played about every RTS I can find and this tops them all in its scale and scope of game play and it's terrific graphics. The abilities one has to control the units is simply enormous. You can queue up build orders, attack orders,All I can say is, some people have a strange view of what makes a good RTS. Supreme Commander is a great title because this game is really supreme. I have played about every RTS I can find and this tops them all in its scale and scope of game play and it's terrific graphics. The abilities one has to control the units is simply enormous. You can queue up build orders, attack orders, designate patrol paths, set ferrying orders so that transports will wait by factories until units are constructed, then load them automatically, fly them to the point of your choosing, unload and return for more reinforcements. You can set multiple build orders in a factory: Build two of these, five of those, three of these and so on, even have the loop repeat. You can upgrade the Commander with various new abilities which differs by faction. You can literally scroll out in a second to view an enormous landscape and yet still control all your units with ease. The game runs very smoothly at maximum settings with hundreds of units on the screen with any decent computer today. The models and animations are highly detailed and you can zoom in very close. No, I wouldn't compare this game to the Total War series: Those are the slowest, most boring games I ever played. If I wanted something that slow-paced, I would still be played Avalon Hill strategy board games, like I did as a child. At least they were interesting. Don't listen to the naysayers here, just look at the amount of positive reviews and realize they are only trying to rock the boat. Supreme Commander rules! Expand
  10. Monty
    Feb 20, 2007
    10
    Excelent game, can be a bit demanding on the pc if you havent upgrades in over 18 months, intrsting thing about this game is how versatile it is when creating your stratagys, for example you can select say super fast jet fighters and slow tanks to perform a joint attack on some point on the map meaning that they will both arrive at there destination at the same time, then theres the Excelent game, can be a bit demanding on the pc if you havent upgrades in over 18 months, intrsting thing about this game is how versatile it is when creating your stratagys, for example you can select say super fast jet fighters and slow tanks to perform a joint attack on some point on the map meaning that they will both arrive at there destination at the same time, then theres the waypoints where you hold shift and you can manipulate patrol paths by dragging waypoints to new areas. theres plenty to offer the proffional RTS gamer out there. the online side of things turn out to be a intresting affair aswell with player using very different strategies, tank or aircraft rushes dont always work and its not always best to try and race those tech 3 units out. if you find an opponent that is your equil you may find a rather long battle on your hands and in my books thats good. Expand
  11. ChrisW.
    Mar 31, 2007
    9
    This is probably my favorite RTS, and it earns this distinction by actually bringing -- dare I say it -- "strategy" to a real time strategy game! No other RTS on the market has the same level of depth and immersion you'll find in Supreme Commander. The control system is amazing -- unlike other RTS games where you can give your units "orders" in Supreme Commander you can give them This is probably my favorite RTS, and it earns this distinction by actually bringing -- dare I say it -- "strategy" to a real time strategy game! No other RTS on the market has the same level of depth and immersion you'll find in Supreme Commander. The control system is amazing -- unlike other RTS games where you can give your units "orders" in Supreme Commander you can give them entire missions! By queuing up commands you can have some of your units automatically carry out simple tasks or "hit-and-run" missions while you focus you attention on more complicated battles. While some may find the base creation system and resource system tedious, I find it a fun challenge to develop the most effecient war machine possible. I refrain from giving it a perfect "10" only because some minor balance issues make certain units almost entirely unnecessary. I would also offer caution to anyone who tries running this game on anything other than a VERY powerful system as you are likely to be dissapointed with it's performance. That said, if you have a computer that can handle it, and if you feel that RTS should be about more than just rushing or "point-and-click" invasions from a large, unorganized mob, than you should definitely give this game a try. Expand
  12. Jin
    Mar 5, 2007
    9
    If you have anything above a 3ghz CPU 1gb Ram and a Nvidia 6600GT 256mb Graphics card then this game is playable on minimum settings. Maps are good ranging from 10x10 km square to 80x80km square so its as big or small as you like. some great camera controls using the ctrl+v keys to lock the view into place and plenty of base building and battle action.
  13. AH
    Apr 15, 2007
    9
    Dual monitor gaming Rocks!!!
  14. MichaelH.
    May 3, 2007
    10
    Best. Strategy. Game. Ever. Running it on an AMD2 4200+ with 2 gig of RAM and a 7900GT and I have stellar performance most of the time and beautiful graphics. I literally spent minutes at a time just watching my units and still LOVE the T3 artillery swinging into position. Is this an ugly game? Not by any stretch as long as you have a decent computer. You know, buy 1500$ in parts and Best. Strategy. Game. Ever. Running it on an AMD2 4200+ with 2 gig of RAM and a 7900GT and I have stellar performance most of the time and beautiful graphics. I literally spent minutes at a time just watching my units and still LOVE the T3 artillery swinging into position. Is this an ugly game? Not by any stretch as long as you have a decent computer. You know, buy 1500$ in parts and build it yourself instead of being lazy and ordering from Dell and you might get a good machine. As for the gameplay? Priceless. I have never had an easier time with builds in my life and, to boot, there's something simple enthralling about being able to airlift units across half a map and right into battle automatically, not to mention looking cool when doing it. The visual of half a dozen heavy transports and sweeping onto an LZ is simply priceless and something no other RTS is likely to pull off soon, even the Company of Heroes (yes, I also have it) which I quite like is missing the ease of use and clean camera control which this game featured. True, I do have a minor whiff about unit AI, like most of CT's game it's a tad oddball, though enemy base AI seems to be a bit better it's reliance on unit patrols remains mystifying. This is, however, the first RTS where the AI can use nukes effectively, and the second RTS with truly ranged artillery, unlike most other games where artillery gets a scant three grid advantage over other units *cough*Starcraft*cough*. I could go further; get into the rest of the awesomeness about naval units and air units that no other game has tried to accomplish, but I'll just leave it at this. My retinas are spoiled and my scroll-wheel is a lot more worn by this game. Well done GPG! Expand
  15. GlynnF.
    Feb 19, 2007
    9
    This is one of the best RTS games of all time without a doubt, An honest recreation of Total Annihilation. Doesn't need amazing specs to run (maybe a boost in RAM would help most people having problems) With a unique method of collecting resources that doesn't rely heavly on micromanagement, and with many novel and quite frankly ingenious features (The ability to alter the This is one of the best RTS games of all time without a doubt, An honest recreation of Total Annihilation. Doesn't need amazing specs to run (maybe a boost in RAM would help most people having problems) With a unique method of collecting resources that doesn't rely heavly on micromanagement, and with many novel and quite frankly ingenious features (The ability to alter the waypoints for patrolling comes to mind.) This game seriously raises the bar to a level that C&C3 will have to try very hard to match Also, please Ignore the reviewer at Australian GamePro who decided to throw a hissy fit because his machine is having problems the real meta score for this game should be 90. Expand
  16. RobertR.
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    This is what RTS is all about: hundreds of units per side, massive maps, devastating weapons and endless action. Best game I've played for years!
  17. Xenois
    Mar 1, 2007
    10
    All articles posted by the new fans of the game have been dull. They don't realize potential warefare strategy of massive environment. So i u spend 1 hour/40 minutes building a base after that its game on. Relising only what every game has, is AI will never beat u. I say 10 for 10 for multi-player and game like this, I have all the time in the world. Pluss having to upgrade your All articles posted by the new fans of the game have been dull. They don't realize potential warefare strategy of massive environment. So i u spend 1 hour/40 minutes building a base after that its game on. Relising only what every game has, is AI will never beat u. I say 10 for 10 for multi-player and game like this, I have all the time in the world. Pluss having to upgrade your computer to run the game, u shouldn't be worried as well all know that GPU/CPU prices will drop because of the new Technology hitting our computers (AMD3) (quad cores) it can only get better and cheaper. AMD number 1 always Expand
  18. DerickC.
    Apr 2, 2007
    9
    This type of game is what I was waiting for, a massive tactical battle, where strategy is not controlling a few units but entire armies on land, at sea and in the air. The scale of the game blew me away completely. The only complaints I have is the ridiculous pc requirements which makes any 4 player large map a slideslow and the near identical campaigns that did nothing but to introduce This type of game is what I was waiting for, a massive tactical battle, where strategy is not controlling a few units but entire armies on land, at sea and in the air. The scale of the game blew me away completely. The only complaints I have is the ridiculous pc requirements which makes any 4 player large map a slideslow and the near identical campaigns that did nothing but to introduce the units for the factions. Hopefully, some of these disappointing factors will be resolved with patches, expansions and mods. Expand
  19. DarkV.
    May 8, 2007
    9
    Just Epic... Has a few flaws, but doesn't stop it from being an amazing game
  20. MarkI.
    Aug 29, 2007
    10
    Best strategy game i've played since the days of red alert, and starcraft. never played TA unfortunately to compare. awesome effects, like playing the droid wars in star wars 1. System requirements aren't too demanding, it just requires that you setup your computer properly to take advantage of the hardware you have. I'm running a 4 year old bartonXp2500 with a x850xt and Best strategy game i've played since the days of red alert, and starcraft. never played TA unfortunately to compare. awesome effects, like playing the droid wars in star wars 1. System requirements aren't too demanding, it just requires that you setup your computer properly to take advantage of the hardware you have. I'm running a 4 year old bartonXp2500 with a x850xt and it runs good until i hit the really large games. Expand
  21. ChadG.
    Sep 12, 2007
    9
    My altime favorite RTS game right now. Massive, allows for creative strategic thinking. There are still a few bugs here and there but the game is great.
  22. Jesse
    Jun 23, 2008
    9
    Very satisfying gameplay, amazing visuals and sound. Campaign is surprisingly fleshed out. UI is lacking some polish by today's standards, which may put off the casual gamer. Overall a very solid tactical / strategy experience.
  23. SteveL.
    Jan 18, 2007
    10
    I love this game.
  24. BrandonJ.
    Feb 13, 2007
    10
    If you bother to post, make sure it has absolutely nothing to do with the performance, because that's YOUR fault, not the game's.
  25. MikeC.
    Feb 13, 2007
    9
    RTS on a grand scale.
  26. MikkoM.
    Feb 14, 2007
    10
    Really cool trategy game and a worthy successor to Total Anhilation.
  27. Mobius
    Feb 14, 2007
    9
    To start my rig is XP OS 3200+ athlon 1GB Ram Geforce 6600gt 256mb currently im happy with this as it plays all current games at 1280x1024 with full options on, but for Supreme Commander this is nowhere near enough power. for me i can start the game with full detail but once the map starts to get full the pc chugs along so for me to get a playable perfomance i am requird to play at To start my rig is XP OS 3200+ athlon 1GB Ram Geforce 6600gt 256mb currently im happy with this as it plays all current games at 1280x1024 with full options on, but for Supreme Commander this is nowhere near enough power. for me i can start the game with full detail but once the map starts to get full the pc chugs along so for me to get a playable perfomance i am requird to play at 1024x768 with all options off. the good thing is that even with all options off it doesnt look an ugly game but its a reminder to think about upgrading for the future. the game its self is a master peice of RTS gaming and any self respecting RTS player should not miss this. no longer are you restricted to the typical small scale playing area like you find in any other RTS. for me when my rig is upgraded to run this properly it will be the ultimate RTS. i would say to get the most out of this your gonna need a dual or quad core cpu with 3 gig ram and the latest G card. Expand
  28. MoritzV.
    Feb 21, 2007
    10
    Easily the best RTS in existence. Gameplay for years! It differs hugely from run-of-the-mill Command & Conquer or ****Craft clones. Perfectly suited for e-Sports IMHO, I've been playing in the beta among the top 10 and am somewhere in the top 100 at the moment. This is a very competitive and very balanced game, with fast-paced action once you understand its simple, but unique economy Easily the best RTS in existence. Gameplay for years! It differs hugely from run-of-the-mill Command & Conquer or ****Craft clones. Perfectly suited for e-Sports IMHO, I've been playing in the beta among the top 10 and am somewhere in the top 100 at the moment. This is a very competitive and very balanced game, with fast-paced action once you understand its simple, but unique economy model. (okay, not so unique - we had that model in Total Annihilation, its spiritual predecessor, and we loved it!) Expand
  29. ARealRTSFan
    Feb 21, 2007
    10
    A nice change of pace from the other Real-time strategy games out there. It
  30. Magnus
    Feb 20, 2007
    10
    Definitely an epic strategy game. It's massive scale and superb UI compliments the excellent graphics and AI to a point which has been sorely missed in RTS as of late. Any RTS gamer will need to purchase this excellent game and enjoy it's splendor. A word of warning however. The system requirements are very high. Expect poor framerates and stuttering on anything below mid-high Definitely an epic strategy game. It's massive scale and superb UI compliments the excellent graphics and AI to a point which has been sorely missed in RTS as of late. Any RTS gamer will need to purchase this excellent game and enjoy it's splendor. A word of warning however. The system requirements are very high. Expect poor framerates and stuttering on anything below mid-high end gaming PC's. Expand
  31. OldSkool
    Feb 22, 2007
    9
    So I have been reading some of the reviews and honestly, they seem to be mostly judged on the Demo. I played the beta since November of last year, and to say the game is boring without any strategic options, is utterly insane. There are so many ways to win or lose in just a 1v1 game. The tide of battle can turn on lucky strike or a beaten down foe can recover and defeat thier attacker So I have been reading some of the reviews and honestly, they seem to be mostly judged on the Demo. I played the beta since November of last year, and to say the game is boring without any strategic options, is utterly insane. There are so many ways to win or lose in just a 1v1 game. The tide of battle can turn on lucky strike or a beaten down foe can recover and defeat thier attacker while on the ropes. Forget the many ways to exploit a group of players in larger maps with 2v2 and 3v3 4v4 games. But I do understand what people think strategy is how quickly you can click the "Special Spell" on their SnoreCraft "SuperHeroes" at the right instant. These are the same people who thought Mortal Combat was the first RTS. Then again it might be the system requirements, yes you need to have a video card that is 33% as powerful as the current generations. Sorry, want to play games without investment - by a PS3. To see if you suck and just don't know it - visit Tom's Hardware and peep the VGA charts. Secondly, for the AI to have any chance at all in a single player game (yes it must use the CPU to 'think'), forgetting about multiple AI's, you will need a fast or Dual Core processor. Now that I have covered the technical aspects. Let's go over some the possible ways to win. By land - early or late with Air Support. Bombers and fighters doing early game attrition damage. Using transports/ferry system to move massive numbers of Tech1 and Tech2 land troops close the enemy base - works on a large or small maps. Using Naval, even Tech1 Navy can hit from a distance, Tech 2 and 3 are devastating. Missile strikes, tactical and strategic nukes. Medium, long and global artillery, backed up by multi tiered mobile artillery. You can lunge at an opponent, who can defend or strike back. You can hurl death through the air from a heavy protected base, wearing down your foe's defenses. You can scramble for resources and Tech up quickly for a pin point execution of the enemy commander. The list is nearly endless, capturing rather than destroying unprotected targets, covert remote base constructions, power or mass generation strikes, huge experimental units, combination of land with air and naval bombardment support. Any critic who said the game is simplistic is painfully two dimensional in their tactics and I, like the rest of SupCom beta testers would love to ring the bell, and school them on tactics. Expand
  32. MikeG.
    Feb 27, 2007
    10
    Total Annihilation was brilliant compared to the other RTS games in its day, and Supreme Commander just takes it to the next level. I'm rather baffled by some of the comments here about the graphics (my graphics card and I beg to differ) and the intricacies of the gameplay are astonishing. I've played Command & Conquer since I was in 2nd grade, but C&C was just never as flexible Total Annihilation was brilliant compared to the other RTS games in its day, and Supreme Commander just takes it to the next level. I'm rather baffled by some of the comments here about the graphics (my graphics card and I beg to differ) and the intricacies of the gameplay are astonishing. I've played Command & Conquer since I was in 2nd grade, but C&C was just never as flexible or as epic in scale as Supreme Commander is. Expand
  33. JohnJ.
    Feb 27, 2007
    10
    This is a truly epic RTS game. If you like RTS games you owe it to yourself to seriously consider getting it. At first glance it may not seem like much but give it some time to get a grasp of it or check out the better replays available in GPGnet. I've seen people talking about the game online in forums and often they are mistaken as to a certain feature or ability of the game so This is a truly epic RTS game. If you like RTS games you owe it to yourself to seriously consider getting it. At first glance it may not seem like much but give it some time to get a grasp of it or check out the better replays available in GPGnet. I've seen people talking about the game online in forums and often they are mistaken as to a certain feature or ability of the game so just because someone says X doesn't mean its true. This is a huge and well thought out game. Many people complain it's a spam units kind of RTS but the game offers many types of ways to defend, too. Also not all players are spammers and in games with more than two people you have another added dynamic. The graphics are simply amazing. You can pan the camera around and move it rather intuitively which is more applicable when watching replays because you'll be busy when commanding. Just watching the good SupCom replays, though, is very enjoyable all on its own. One of the really cool things about this game is watching huge numbers of units go into battle. I just watched about 80 fighters flying around and not only is it nice to be able to command so many, it's just beautiful to watch. Each unit has a lot of computation as to firing angle, speed, target tracking speed, experience, speed of movement, height, etc etc etc. The game is doing a lot of computation for each unit and this adds a lot to gameplay and replayability. I agree with Ira Gardner-Morse's previous comments here on this page except with his mention of the slow game performance in the single digits -- it was slow for me too until I set my directx sound acceleration to 'basic' (until the patch comes out to fix this) because of a known bug (feb 2007). Once I did that, performance is quite good for me on my AMD 4200+X2 with nV7600GT with 1GB of RAM. I love SupCom and I've had it less than a week. I've been gaming since about 1976 and I've played a hell of a lot of games. This is a great game. Expand
  34. ChrisZ.
    Feb 27, 2007
    10
    This is the best RTS I have ever played, and almost the best game I've ever played. The graphics, while not very important, are incredible. This means you need a great computer to run it well, but with this game your framerate isn't exactly essential. I can play well at 10-15 fps, which is where I usually stay. I don't like that you have to run the game in 1024x768 as a This is the best RTS I have ever played, and almost the best game I've ever played. The graphics, while not very important, are incredible. This means you need a great computer to run it well, but with this game your framerate isn't exactly essential. I can play well at 10-15 fps, which is where I usually stay. I don't like that you have to run the game in 1024x768 as a minimum, but other than that it's great. The units are all unique and useful, without having anything just used for filler. The AI is good enough to hold its own for those nights with no friends, while not being over done. The maps go from small 1 on 1 quick matches, to epic 4v4 world-sized conquests that take hours upon hours to complete, and are never boring. This game is a great time spender. I say spender, because to call it a waste of time would be completely untrue. You owe it to yourself to play this game, and you will love every minute of it. Expand
  35. MarkJ.
    Feb 28, 2007
    9
    This is a game that seems to illustrate "What Might Have Been." It is not a game that follows the way that RTS have developed. In most RTS's, it feels to me that the player guides their units or squad from encounter to encounter, trying to build up that one group so that you can take out the enemy's base. You rarely focus on multiple fronts. From what I've seen and This is a game that seems to illustrate "What Might Have Been." It is not a game that follows the way that RTS have developed. In most RTS's, it feels to me that the player guides their units or squad from encounter to encounter, trying to build up that one group so that you can take out the enemy's base. You rarely focus on multiple fronts. From what I've seen and experienced, COH did a good job of making you think about the entire battlefield...but SupCom does it even better. In SupCom, I've found that I don't try to think about using one or two squads to conquer the entire map. Instead, I end up setting up multiple rallying points, support lines, and firebases outputting troops. I am CONSTANTLY expanding and thinking about how to best approach my enemy. I find that I use Radar and Scouts to (GASP) actually gather intelligence. And then, I use a combination of air, ground and sea units to begin try and remove the capabilities of my opponent. But, here are the high points. The way the game handles patrol points is fantastic. The Ferry System...as soon as I figured that out, I had a moment of "Oh Dear LORD!" It's very elegant and simple. I can now, with this game, set up a transport to ferry to one location, which creates a Ferry Point. Then, I can have a few factories produce units in tandem (2 or more factories producing the same build order on repeat, a very nice touch) and have them dispatch their new troops to the Ferry Point. Then, by ordering my other transports to Assist the original transport, all of a sudden I have a FLEET of transports moving my rapidly developing strike force. It's a beautiful sight. This game does a good job in moving your focus to the entire field of battle, instead of just one "path." I find myself fighting on multiple fronts...and loving it in this game where as I would have hated it in any game before. I find myself looking at each map as a puzzle to be solved, instead of a series of discreet engagements leading up to a base trashing romp with a "super squad." Here, it's a full field battle. Oh, and besides that...the nukes are just fabulous. Expand
  36. BrianL.
    Feb 8, 2007
    9
    Possibly the best RTS games I've ever played. The strategic zoom is so perfect that you wonder why it's never been used before. And there's a certain kind of satisfaction you get from sending your giant experimental units or nukes at the enemy that you won't find anywhere else. My only frustration at this point is the major slowdown you get when playing multiplayer (at Possibly the best RTS games I've ever played. The strategic zoom is so perfect that you wonder why it's never been used before. And there's a certain kind of satisfaction you get from sending your giant experimental units or nukes at the enemy that you won't find anywhere else. My only frustration at this point is the major slowdown you get when playing multiplayer (at least in beta version). Expand
  37. StevW.
    Feb 9, 2007
    10
    Excellent zoom system, makes everything very easy. Many innovations, hugescale combat. incredible. Easy to learn, and very smooth even on fairly low-end computers as long as you have a dual-core processor and enough RAM for the gametype you're playing.
  38. ConstatineC.
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    This game is really the next revolution in RTS, CNC3 is going down as its just a rehash, EA's specialty.
  39. DavidL.
    Mar 18, 2007
    10
    This is to everybody that gave this game a 0 - get a better computer! You just have sour grapes because your hardware sucks - get over it, and get over yourselves.......It is by far the best rts game to come out, period.
  40. ChrisC.
    Mar 23, 2007
    10
    Excellent. Fun. Deep. Colorful. Explosive. Gargantuan. And one word to rule them all: Epic. The game design is top-notch, and forgoes the norm to take a different approach with resources and construction, similar only to its very predecessor, Total Annihilation. If anyone can find a game as ground-breaking or as big as this, please let me know. Also, modding and map-making can be as easy Excellent. Fun. Deep. Colorful. Explosive. Gargantuan. And one word to rule them all: Epic. The game design is top-notch, and forgoes the norm to take a different approach with resources and construction, similar only to its very predecessor, Total Annihilation. If anyone can find a game as ground-breaking or as big as this, please let me know. Also, modding and map-making can be as easy as using pictures as heightmaps. Fans have already churned out tons of maps, and mods are sure to come, once a development kit is released. Expand
  41. RobertD.
    May 19, 2007
    9
    One of the best strategy games of all time. However, you do need a beast of a machine to play it smoothly. Tactical zooming is one of the most innovative and easy-to-use methods seen in RTS games lately, and it's definitely hard to go back to a C&C 3 style game afterwards.
  42. RobertW.
    May 24, 2007
    10
    I've anticipated this game ever since playing its spiritual predecessor, Total Annihilation. Thankfully, the game didn't disappoint. It raises the bar for all RTSGs by its scale, its multiplayer matching and rating system GPGNet, and its modifiability. The design discourages micromanagement of battles, enabling an unrivaled scale that puts the strategy into RTSG. A recent patch I've anticipated this game ever since playing its spiritual predecessor, Total Annihilation. Thankfully, the game didn't disappoint. It raises the bar for all RTSGs by its scale, its multiplayer matching and rating system GPGNet, and its modifiability. The design discourages micromanagement of battles, enabling an unrivaled scale that puts the strategy into RTSG. A recent patch demonstrated the love that Gas Powered Games has for this game--it addressed nearly every common complaint about the initial release by tuning factional balance, fixing minor bugs and UI issues, and adding new features to make the game even more playable. Every common complaint was addressed, and performance improved to boot. Any RTSG fan should not miss this game. Expand
  43. MalcolmB.
    May 27, 2007
    9
    I read with trepidfation the horror stories of this game running slow and grinding when it gets busy. But I have found it to be the smoothest running game I have (except the old ones)- 2gb RAM, twin 256 NVIDIA GPU in SLI mode and a 3ghz twin core processor helps. I just beat SUPREME AI in skirmish mode and am feeling prettty pleased with myself - it is my obsession of the moment (taken I read with trepidfation the horror stories of this game running slow and grinding when it gets busy. But I have found it to be the smoothest running game I have (except the old ones)- 2gb RAM, twin 256 NVIDIA GPU in SLI mode and a 3ghz twin core processor helps. I just beat SUPREME AI in skirmish mode and am feeling prettty pleased with myself - it is my obsession of the moment (taken over from trakmamia) - sad for a 44 yr old...but ya gotta love robots. Expand
  44. ScottT.
    Jul 11, 2007
    9
    A brilliant and almost flawless addition to Chris' Total Annihilation. It may not the be "official" sequel, but it is the "spiritual successor". Amazing army sizes. * Beautiful graphics. * Unique Factions. Will steal hours from your days. * - If your computer can run it. It will demand a lot of processing power (dual-core) and a high end graphics card (My geforce 6 is running it on A brilliant and almost flawless addition to Chris' Total Annihilation. It may not the be "official" sequel, but it is the "spiritual successor". Amazing army sizes. * Beautiful graphics. * Unique Factions. Will steal hours from your days. * - If your computer can run it. It will demand a lot of processing power (dual-core) and a high end graphics card (My geforce 6 is running it on low, maybe a geforce 8 would do a better job.). Expand
  45. LucianG
    Feb 16, 2009
    10
    If I'd have reviewed this game when I first bought it, I'd probably have given it a much lower score - the gameplay is at first a little dull, and the UI is confusing for new players. I was also experiencing very low frame rates, since my processor is quite slow.

    Now, however, after patching the game and learning the ins and outs of the gameplay, I can say that it is one of
    If I'd have reviewed this game when I first bought it, I'd probably have given it a much lower score - the gameplay is at first a little dull, and the UI is confusing for new players. I was also experiencing very low frame rates, since my processor is quite slow.

    Now, however, after patching the game and learning the ins and outs of the gameplay, I can say that it is one of the most enjoyable Real-time Strategy games I've played.
    Most importantly: **patching the game increased my frame rate from 20fps average to near-constantly above 60fps with NO changes in my hardware**. The patching system really sucks, but it's more than worth it for the performance increase, new features, and online multiplayer.

    Overall, I'd say if you're new to the game (or the genre), STICK WITH SUPCOM! I did, and now I couldn't be happier with it :)
    Expand
  46. RohanC.
    Dec 28, 2007
    9
    Story is a little undertoned but is not as bad as a person saying "kill those guys" although the story maybe lacking the system requirements are a little steep for the simple fact the it might as well be 8600 required to run at anything above 1280X1024 I bought an 8800 for this game though and that $500 was justified.
  47. Killtacular
    Dec 30, 2007
    10
    Best RTS of all time. I can tell that Chris Taylor and his team have poured their hearts and souls into making this masterpiece. It forces strategic and tactical thinking. and often forces the player to improvise new tactics in the midst of combat. Like Hector G. said "you can't win by larger army" is very true. Anyone who says that this game is unoriganal or brings nothing new has Best RTS of all time. I can tell that Chris Taylor and his team have poured their hearts and souls into making this masterpiece. It forces strategic and tactical thinking. and often forces the player to improvise new tactics in the midst of combat. Like Hector G. said "you can't win by larger army" is very true. Anyone who says that this game is unoriganal or brings nothing new has obviously only played this game for a few minutes and couldn't comprehend its vast and deep military and economy system. I have never heard of another RTS that has such an excellent Economy system (doesn't mean that there isn't another one) based on rates, building costs are deducted as the unit is built not, all the resources are taken away at once making you wait forever to get enough resources to build something then losing it all in one fell swoop then awiting forever for it to get built. Also very few other RTS games including the very good and Popular Company of Heroes have fully realized navies and air forces, radar and counter- intelligence. complete arsenal of nukes, tactical missiles, missile defenses, short and long range artillery, shield genorators, tide turning expirimentals, Full zoom from the entire map view to up close to see the smallest unit in detail, and the best and most innovative feature is the assiting of units and factories streamlining unit building, repairing, and resources gathering and really maximizing the players Command potential. In short Supreme Commander is a must have and is indeed a very origanal RTS, Its much more than it's first impression blandness (i hated it until I got the hang of it and now its incredible) But don't take my word for it go to the store and buy it and the expansion because its even more awesome, and expirience the extreme depth and immersion. Expand
  48. DanielN.
    Feb 13, 2007
    9
    Some issues with AI but neverthless an overwhelmingly excellent game.
  49. AndrewP.
    Feb 14, 2007
    10
    I think the Australian GamePro bunch should re test Supreme Commander. Seems like they are the only ones with performance issues. Maybe they should pull their head out and realize ther may have been a problem with the system they tested on. If you ask me they had nothing but the intention of giving Sup Com a bad score anyway.
  50. TheCaptain
    Mar 18, 2007
    10
    Certainly the best RTS I've ever played. This game is increadibly addicting and great to play with friends. There seem to be bugs here and there, but it would be silly to let that compromise my rating when everything else is pretty much great. The game play is designed to let you truly strategize. Instead of just making the biggest army telling it to attack you can make many platoons Certainly the best RTS I've ever played. This game is increadibly addicting and great to play with friends. There seem to be bugs here and there, but it would be silly to let that compromise my rating when everything else is pretty much great. The game play is designed to let you truly strategize. Instead of just making the biggest army telling it to attack you can make many platoons and use queued movements to make them attack in just the right places at just the right time. The subtle differences in the three factions do in fact make choosing between them mean a lot. Expand
  51. KevinB.
    Mar 27, 2007
    9
    What a great game! I've been waiting for years and years for Total Annihilation 2 to come out and that's exactly what Supreme Commander is. Now, don't get me wrong, the Total War series is great and Company of Heroes is an excellent title, but THIS is the game that true RTS fans have been waiting for. It has the scale of a turn-based strategy game with the pace of a What a great game! I've been waiting for years and years for Total Annihilation 2 to come out and that's exactly what Supreme Commander is. Now, don't get me wrong, the Total War series is great and Company of Heroes is an excellent title, but THIS is the game that true RTS fans have been waiting for. It has the scale of a turn-based strategy game with the pace of a real-time strategy game. BEWARE, however - SupCom will put your brain to the test. Imagine a game of chess where each turn lasts no more than 2 seconds and there are approximately 700 pieces on a board the size of Rhode Island... then you'll begin to understand the breadth of this epic game. If you can put on your thinking cap for a few hours, you'll see the intricacies of the incredible build/orders queue system and you'll become giddy when you realize you've mastered your own, completely unique build strategy to take you from measly scout bots to giant UFO's and Fusion Reactors before your opponent can say "Spiritual Successor to Total Annihilation" four times without messing up! Only reason it doesn't get a 10 is b/c they lied about system requirements. An Athlon XP 3000+ w/ 2gb RAM and a 256mb graphics card could NOT handle this game. Had to go upgrade to a 3.4ghz P4 and a new mobo to get the "medium" fidelity on relatively small 1v1 games. Go for a quad core if you want to play 4v4... Expand
  52. AJ
    Mar 28, 2007
    10
    Awesome, any magnitude of the whole battlefield in your view with just the use of scroll! Graphics next gen stunning, it IS the next evolution in RTS; proving to be a true incarnate of Total Annihilation.
  53. Alpha352N/A
    May 19, 2007
    10
    It simply cannot be beat. The spiritual successor to Total Annihilation. While the game is tough on resources, it is designed for modern computers similarly to how TA was.
  54. Jul 7, 2014
    10
    Supreme Commander Forged Alliance is a very diverse RTS. The game features several tiers of units. Each tier, usually referred to as tech 1-4, the units have more damage, health or utility. Each tier having lots of units within them. Land, air, naval and stand alone units are all included. Games can be played with 2-12 players on maps that range from small to insanely massive. The forgedSupreme Commander Forged Alliance is a very diverse RTS. The game features several tiers of units. Each tier, usually referred to as tech 1-4, the units have more damage, health or utility. Each tier having lots of units within them. Land, air, naval and stand alone units are all included. Games can be played with 2-12 players on maps that range from small to insanely massive. The forged alliance forever community, a community made by players with a better game game client than steam, is helpful and very friendly to new players.

    The game starts with just your Armored Commander Unit(ACU). Your ACU is a diverse unit that has high build rate but also can be very useful for fighting early on. Games vary immensely on size of map and skill of the players involved. Maps with high resource escalate quickly towards high tier units. Longer games will see experimentals(tech 4 units), nukes and long range artillery. There's also plenty of units that allow you to out think your opponent. For example some factions have mobile shield units, stealth fields and plenty of other great features. The Forged Alliance Forever(FAF) community has made lots of custom games and hundreds of new maps so game possibles are endless.

    Overall the game is a lot of to play whether you are competitive or casual about gaming. I'd recommend it to any gamer who likes RTS games.
    Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. A remarkable piece of work, and a worthy successor to "Total Annihilation." Strategy games don't come this big, and this ambitious, and they never demand this much from you. Take command - if you think you can handle it. [Feb 2007, p.62]
  2. This is all-out war on a scale we've never seen before, and it is glorious. [Mar 2007, p.23]
  3. Sup Com is very much a PC gamer's beast, and the supernova-sized war games may prove a little too demanding for anyone other than accomplished RTS players (our heads still hurt from the last LAN skirmish). If only for its sheer scale and battle mechanics, this should be sampled by every RTS fan with a graphics card - and indeed, mental powers - that are up to the task.