Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Apr 25, 2013
    84
    What it does is haphazardly simulate the thrill of ripping a man's heart out of his chest and replacing it with another one under the most ridiculous circumstances possible. It’s a joke of a game, sure, but for once the player gets to be in on it.
  2. May 10, 2013
    80
    A condensed but fun experience in the role of pretend-doctor and the medical disasters you can impose on your pretend patients. It’s a dark, gruesome, and hilarious take on this life-saving vocation…though you’ll probably end up ruining more lives than you save.
  3. Apr 30, 2013
    80
    I ended up hooked, playing it for hours, and I'm almost certainly not done. I also made a video of myself performing brain surgery in a moving ambulance, which I can't link to in a Telegraph review because I have a mouth like a sailor.
  4. Apr 29, 2013
    80
    This is a nicely contained couple of hours filled with fully aware daft fun. If you go into the game knowing that, you'll find dark slapstick humour that's worth persisting with.
  5. Apr 23, 2013
    80
    Surgeon Simulator 2013 is hardly a simulation, but it makes medical malpractice an absolute delight.
  6. May 9, 2013
    78
    With a current price of $9.99 on Steam, Surgeon Simulator 2013 is coming out of the gates rather reasonably priced for what it is. I didn’t encounter any crashes or bugs, or indeed any form of frustration that wasn’t clearly built into the game intentionally to begin with – if anything, the whole thing feels remarkably polished, more than many major releases.
  7. Apr 23, 2013
    78
    It's a darkly entertaining way to cut, explore, and appreciate the incredible skill of real surgeons.
  8. Apr 29, 2013
    75
    Fun and messy in every sense. Can a videogame be fun with a control system so absurd? The answer is yes.
  9. May 30, 2013
    70
    It looks shoddy and the gameplay gets samey quickly, but this is worth a look. [July 2013, p.82]
  10. May 6, 2013
    70
    In the guise of surgeons, you will be asked to perform complex surgical operations without knowing how and what to do. A really fun game, that will snatch more than a laugh. Try it with friends and you will not regret.
  11. May 1, 2013
    70
    The game isn’t clear how its surgeries work – which bits need be cut where, and with what tools – not a problem when you’re merrily and messily experimenting, but annoying if you’re keen to progress. Still, few games take that odd, occasional gulf between what you intend to happen and what actually occurs on screen and fill it with such comedy.
  12. 70
    Surgeon Simulator 2013 is engagingly ludicrous. It’s neither a substitute for actual medical training, nor will it take anywhere near as long to complete, but it’s a good way to find out where you fall between squeamish and remorseless monster. Physician, heal thy self (and stay away from me).
  13. Apr 25, 2013
    70
    It's a good laugh for the player - although there's always that weird You've Been Framed dampening effect which comes from something that's been set up to be amusing rather than something that's just naturally, accidentally, organically hilarious - but the real fun is being had by the people ogling over your shoulder.
  14. Aug 28, 2013
    60
    A likeable little game with the original idea proving definitely your both hands are left. If you approach the game with exaggeration, you won't regret your time nor your money. And that you are full of remorse because you murdered your patients in cold blood? Well, everyone has to start somehow. So grab your scalpel firmly and cut where it moves!
  15. Jun 28, 2013
    60
    It is hilariously awkward to control. [Issue#136, p.111]
  16. Apr 27, 2013
    55
    Surgeon Simulator 2013 is the QWOP of the year: a game that's hilarious because of the impossible controls and high difficulty. Accidentally dropping a running drill in a patients lung is something we've always wanted to do. We just hope we'll never have to get operated on by anyone who has played this game.
  17. Jun 4, 2013
    50
    It’s a toy that you buy to show to your friends. Completing the game takes about 2 hours and then at best you can occasionally laugh with your buddies at the mess you can make with the saw, scalpels, hammer and your bare hand. [CD-Action 07/2013, p.79]
  18. Apr 26, 2013
    50
    Surgeon Simulator 2013 isn’t all bad and I’m surprised I liked it as much as I did. There is a bizarre sense of exploration you get from just goofing around and seeing what exactly you can do, and at times it feels like an odd sort of point and click adventure game, where every puzzle is to use a sharp object on a man’s face
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 194 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 59
  2. Negative: 22 out of 59
  1. Apr 20, 2013
    1
    What the hell is this? Give me my money back! This should be retitled "Mentaly handicapped Arm Simulator 2013". It's a struggle just to pick up a tool and do anything with it. I realize it's supposed to be a joke, but it's so frustrating just to do the most basic tasks. I don't find it funny, I find it super annoying. This will teach me a lesson against trying new things on steam. Full Review »
  2. Apr 20, 2013
    7
    This is definitely a game to play with a friend. It is silly and stupid in a good way. I played the first level 3-4 times and had a lot of fun losing. The novelty started to wear off when I realized I could not try other levels until I beat the first level. When you start trying to play seriously, the game loses a lot of it's entertainment value. If the devs allowed level selection at any time, it would be a better game. If they had included some kind of hilarious briefing or optional tutorial it would have been a better game.

    A few minor improvements and this is an 8. But for the Steam sale price of $6.99 it is a worthwhile purchase.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 20, 2013
    8
    Hilarious and fun! If you've played games like "Octodad" and enjoyed them, you'll love this.

    Differences from the free original version
    are more surgeries (6 in total), a much more polished experience, and many secrets/easter eggs. I've played for a few hours already and the laughs haven't stopped. They've also tightened the controls enough where the surgeries are actually beatable.

    For those who have no idea what this game is you control the arm of a "surgeon" similar to a puppeteer controlling a marionette. Fingers are mapped to buttons and arm/wrist controls are done via mouse. The physics on everything is overly exaggerated. Combining this with the hilariously awkward arm controls means every movement you make is a recipe for disaster and some great laughs. Example: I picked up a drill accidentally by the drill bit and not the handle...the drill handle started spinning out of control, flailing about and obliterating the poor patient's ribcage in the process. I proceeded to use a hammer to open the rest of the ribcage, which got stuck in the patient between a lung and a rib.

    This is NOT a serious simulator game! I REPEAT: THIS IS NOT AN ACTUAL SIMULATOR! What this is, is a hilarious time waster that has been polished up enough to be an actual game. Not everyone enjoys these types of products, but if you're like me you'll be laughing until you cry and your sides ache.
    Full Review »