Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. May 10, 2013
    80
    A condensed but fun experience in the role of pretend-doctor and the medical disasters you can impose on your pretend patients. It’s a dark, gruesome, and hilarious take on this life-saving vocation…though you’ll probably end up ruining more lives than you save.
  2. May 9, 2013
    78
    With a current price of $9.99 on Steam, Surgeon Simulator 2013 is coming out of the gates rather reasonably priced for what it is. I didn’t encounter any crashes or bugs, or indeed any form of frustration that wasn’t clearly built into the game intentionally to begin with – if anything, the whole thing feels remarkably polished, more than many major releases.
  3. Apr 30, 2013
    80
    I ended up hooked, playing it for hours, and I'm almost certainly not done. I also made a video of myself performing brain surgery in a moving ambulance, which I can't link to in a Telegraph review because I have a mouth like a sailor.
  4. Apr 29, 2013
    75
    Fun and messy in every sense. Can a videogame be fun with a control system so absurd? The answer is yes.
  5. Apr 29, 2013
    80
    This is a nicely contained couple of hours filled with fully aware daft fun. If you go into the game knowing that, you'll find dark slapstick humour that's worth persisting with.
  6. Apr 25, 2013
    84
    What it does is haphazardly simulate the thrill of ripping a man's heart out of his chest and replacing it with another one under the most ridiculous circumstances possible. It’s a joke of a game, sure, but for once the player gets to be in on it.
  7. Apr 23, 2013
    80
    Surgeon Simulator 2013 is hardly a simulation, but it makes medical malpractice an absolute delight.
  8. Apr 23, 2013
    78
    It's a darkly entertaining way to cut, explore, and appreciate the incredible skill of real surgeons.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 215 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 62
  2. Negative: 23 out of 62
  1. Apr 20, 2013
    1
    What the hell is this? Give me my money back! This should be retitled "Mentaly handicapped Arm Simulator 2013". It's a struggle just to pickWhat the hell is this? Give me my money back! This should be retitled "Mentaly handicapped Arm Simulator 2013". It's a struggle just to pick up a tool and do anything with it. I realize it's supposed to be a joke, but it's so frustrating just to do the most basic tasks. I don't find it funny, I find it super annoying. This will teach me a lesson against trying new things on steam. Full Review »
  2. Apr 20, 2013
    7
    This is definitely a game to play with a friend. It is silly and stupid in a good way. I played the first level 3-4 times and had a lot ofThis is definitely a game to play with a friend. It is silly and stupid in a good way. I played the first level 3-4 times and had a lot of fun losing. The novelty started to wear off when I realized I could not try other levels until I beat the first level. When you start trying to play seriously, the game loses a lot of it's entertainment value. If the devs allowed level selection at any time, it would be a better game. If they had included some kind of hilarious briefing or optional tutorial it would have been a better game.

    A few minor improvements and this is an 8. But for the Steam sale price of $6.99 it is a worthwhile purchase.
    Full Review »
  3. May 16, 2013
    10
    Thanks to Surgeon Simulator 2013 I am now on track to becoming a fully licensed orthopedic surgeon in the great state of Massachusetts. ThanksThanks to Surgeon Simulator 2013 I am now on track to becoming a fully licensed orthopedic surgeon in the great state of Massachusetts. Thanks Surgeon Simulator 2013! Full Review »