Surgeon Simulator 2013 PC

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 232 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 232
  2. Negative: 72 out of 232

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 20, 2013
    7
    This is definitely a game to play with a friend. It is silly and stupid in a good way. I played the first level 3-4 times and had a lot of fun losing. The novelty started to wear off when I realized I could not try other levels until I beat the first level. When you start trying to play seriously, the game loses a lot of it's entertainment value. If the devs allowed level selection atThis is definitely a game to play with a friend. It is silly and stupid in a good way. I played the first level 3-4 times and had a lot of fun losing. The novelty started to wear off when I realized I could not try other levels until I beat the first level. When you start trying to play seriously, the game loses a lot of it's entertainment value. If the devs allowed level selection at any time, it would be a better game. If they had included some kind of hilarious briefing or optional tutorial it would have been a better game.

    A few minor improvements and this is an 8. But for the Steam sale price of $6.99 it is a worthwhile purchase.
    Expand
  2. Dec 22, 2013
    5
    I enjoyed it, but this game has unfortunately made ​​me fail my PhD in surgery. It seems that this game does not match the work of a surgeon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  3. May 7, 2013
    6
    Ok this game is a fun and a nice game to play in between your call of duty's and your Battlefield's. This game is "simple stupid fun" don't expect an engaging story or in depth characters, this isn't one of those kind of games. After 3 or 4 hours your gonna get bored. This game has 7 surgery's. Heart,Kidney,Brain surgery. They are also repeated in the more difficult ambulance mode. ThereOk this game is a fun and a nice game to play in between your call of duty's and your Battlefield's. This game is "simple stupid fun" don't expect an engaging story or in depth characters, this isn't one of those kind of games. After 3 or 4 hours your gonna get bored. This game has 7 surgery's. Heart,Kidney,Brain surgery. They are also repeated in the more difficult ambulance mode. There is also a secret surgery which is heart surgery but in a cool concept area. Expand
  4. AWG
    Jun 30, 2013
    7
    You won't be ever able to imagine a most annoying and frustrating than Surgeon Simulator 2013.
    This said and considered, I must admit this game is interesting and well-made and the Team Fortress update adds chaos (and fun) to an already enough chaotic (and funny) simulator.
  5. Apr 24, 2013
    7
    I played the free flash version about half a year ago and wasn't impressed but the way they have immensely upgrade the graphics, the gimmicks, the tools and the operational circumstances etc I have changed my mind. The controls take a lot of getting used to, and while it feels like QWOP Surgery in the beginning I actually managed to get used to the controls and do semi-accurate moves.TheI played the free flash version about half a year ago and wasn't impressed but the way they have immensely upgrade the graphics, the gimmicks, the tools and the operational circumstances etc I have changed my mind. The controls take a lot of getting used to, and while it feels like QWOP Surgery in the beginning I actually managed to get used to the controls and do semi-accurate moves.The surgeries can get a lot of fun when changing locations. While a heart transplant in the hospital may seem simple it get's a whole lot more complicated when performing a double kidney transplant in a running ambulance, with fire extinguishers getting knocked around or even brain operations in space while trying to grab your floating tools. Overall I had a great deal of fun with the game but I can see when people don't get into it. Overall it's a nice fun gimmicky game with great humor. The content is yet limited for it's price so be aware. Expand
  6. Apr 23, 2013
    7
    It's hard to choose a score for this game, but I went with a 7 mainly because it does exactly what it's trying to do, and does it solidly. However, by it's very nature this game is the kind you will play for a few minutes to a few hours, being outrageously entertained, then completely forget about it.
    Think the preposterously difficult control system of QWOP in a 3D physics environment in
    It's hard to choose a score for this game, but I went with a 7 mainly because it does exactly what it's trying to do, and does it solidly. However, by it's very nature this game is the kind you will play for a few minutes to a few hours, being outrageously entertained, then completely forget about it.
    Think the preposterously difficult control system of QWOP in a 3D physics environment in which you must perform surgery with wildly inappropriate tools.
    Hilarious, mindless fun.
    Expand
  7. May 13, 2013
    7
    I shall tell upfront that I am not a fan of simulation games. They tend to just bore the living crap out of me. But every now and then, from any genre, comes a game that catches my eye and my full attention (sometimes some money in my pocket). In this case, It was Surgery Simulator. I played the original, free version and found it quite comical, the silly controls reminiscent of OctodadI shall tell upfront that I am not a fan of simulation games. They tend to just bore the living crap out of me. But every now and then, from any genre, comes a game that catches my eye and my full attention (sometimes some money in my pocket). In this case, It was Surgery Simulator. I played the original, free version and found it quite comical, the silly controls reminiscent of Octodad levels of derpy. When I saw a full version for sale on Steam, I bought it in a heartbeat before the drugged doctor cut my heart out. I come back to tell you I feel... slightly satisfied, but also a bit disappointed. The basic premise is that you are Nigel, a recently hired doctor, or a med student (I never could guess which) who takes lots of drugs, making you do surgeries quite stupidly in your odd status. You must do heart surgery, kidney surgery, and brain surgery in a few different locations, each harder to handle. The laughs and the comedy is still there, if anything, better than ever. It's hilarious to smash a patient's ribcage open, throw their lungs onto the floor, cut out the heart, then try replacing it with a radio or giving the guy two hearts, making him a Time Lord, but the game seems a bit like a joke told too long. It's price doesn't really make me feel justified for it's content. The game is too small for how much is asked for. The frustrating controls also leads to a water cooler experience. No one has the same results and everyone will have a story. But for one last gripe, it's on the controls. They're fine, but sometimes, they seem, unresponsive or spazzy on occasions. The game isn't bad by any right, but couldn't this be cheaper? Expand
  8. Apr 22, 2013
    7
    This game was originally a flash game made for a contest that was then made into a full game in 48 days. The game is quite hilarious fun and very rewarding when you are able to finish a surgery. It also encourages you to experiment in the main menu and in the surgeries with its awesome secrets. Though the physics engine is quite buggy and and there are many times where the scalpel wouldThis game was originally a flash game made for a contest that was then made into a full game in 48 days. The game is quite hilarious fun and very rewarding when you are able to finish a surgery. It also encourages you to experiment in the main menu and in the surgeries with its awesome secrets. Though the physics engine is quite buggy and and there are many times where the scalpel would clip right through other stuff (sitting in the table and flying through the patient's body are two examples). There are also only three surgeries available to complete (heart, double kidney, and brain transplant) After these are completed, you can do them again in the back of an ambulance in ambulance mode (and the heart transplant again in a secret mode). It also can get frustrating when essential tools or the replacement organs fall on the floor or out the back of an ambulance because you then have to restart the operation no matter how far into it you are. The game has some hilarious fun and encourages experimentation but the lack of content and the many bugs keep it from greatness. 7/10 Expand
  9. May 2, 2013
    7
    This game when it comes down to it is just stupid fun, anyone looking for a serious surgeon simulator this is not the game. But for those that enjoy trying to get a hang of controls and improving on your previous attempts then you will like it.
  10. May 26, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I like it. When you even start the game, you can mess around on the menu screen with the great options of drawing stuff, playing video games in a video game, and answering a phone. When you do begin, there are three modes of surgery and three modes of where you do it. The modes of surgery are a Heart Transplant, a Double Kidney Transplant, and a Brain Transplant. Overall the controls are annoying, but in a good way as this is meant to be funny. The modes of where you do it each have a different feature, such as in a Surgery Room nothing, in an Ambulance everything bounces up now and then, and in Space there is not gravity. There's way to stop him losing blood, such as injections, which makes it feel even more realistic. Its a fun, addictive cheesy game and I enjoy playing. Expand
  11. Jun 15, 2014
    6
    Good idea.
    Bad controlling.
    I felt my hands ached,the control is not convenient or efficient enough at all,when playing this game,and this scattered the interesting feel of it.
    好创意。
    烂操控。
    玩这个游戏的时候我觉得手酸,而且控制方式一点也不方便高效,于是,之前对此游戏曾有过的兴趣被冲散了。
  12. Nov 16, 2013
    5
    This game is a good game to play for a good laugh at first, but as you start to get serious, you'll realize that half the tools that you have are useless or to hard or dangerous to use, and when you drop an item, it's gone, including organs. Some of the operations are also difficult, mainly the kidney transplant. Easy at first, the left kidney is blocked by a vein that is impossible to cutThis game is a good game to play for a good laugh at first, but as you start to get serious, you'll realize that half the tools that you have are useless or to hard or dangerous to use, and when you drop an item, it's gone, including organs. Some of the operations are also difficult, mainly the kidney transplant. Easy at first, the left kidney is blocked by a vein that is impossible to cut or move, and it blocks your guys hand from reaching the kidney. There are also many glitches, such as tools leaving the environment, getting your hand stuck in the body or rib cage. The controls are also very difficult to use. For example, when you try to grab an object that is near another one, it will either glitch around and have a disco party in your hand, fly out, or your guy will simply grab the other object. If the developers improved controls and the operations, fixed the glitches, added new uses for the tools, and even make all items that can block your way removable, I would highly recommend this game. Expand
  13. Nov 1, 2015
    5
    A big problem with many games are clumsy control system. This game is all about taking clumsiness to its extreme until it becomes funny. The game is hilarious and filled with Easter eggs, but it quickly becomes repetitive.
  14. May 14, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Expand
  15. Feb 11, 2016
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. On January 12, I purchased Surgeon Simulator 2013. First off, the game costs ten dollars on Steam, which is the average price for a game on Steam. There are five levels, but I don’t play the game very often so I'm only on the third level where you perform a brain surgery on the patent. In my opinion, the second level is the hardest because you perform a dual kidney surgery and it is hard to cut both of the tubes connecting the kidneys. The game will keep you occupied for a while because of the hard levels. So Far, I’ve only told the you good stuff, sometimes objects glitch through other objects and other times, you pick something up but you can't drop it. Overall, I recommend Surgeon Simulator because even though is is a little bit glitchy, the content is definitely worth ten dollars and the game allows many hours of fun. Expand
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Aug 28, 2013
    60
    A likeable little game with the original idea proving definitely your both hands are left. If you approach the game with exaggeration, you won't regret your time nor your money. And that you are full of remorse because you murdered your patients in cold blood? Well, everyone has to start somehow. So grab your scalpel firmly and cut where it moves!
  2. Jun 28, 2013
    60
    It is hilariously awkward to control. [Issue#136, p.111]
  3. CD-Action
    Jun 4, 2013
    50
    It’s a toy that you buy to show to your friends. Completing the game takes about 2 hours and then at best you can occasionally laugh with your buddies at the mess you can make with the saw, scalpels, hammer and your bare hand. [CD-Action 07/2013, p.79]