User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 192 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 63 out of 192

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 1, 2014
    4
    Worst controls ever. Frustration maker of century. And I thought I played games with bad controls in the past - those were actually awesome!
    Game has its fun moments, but most of the time its a frustration maker (unless you have patience of a mountain).
  2. May 29, 2013
    3
    No tutorial, terrible menu screens, and controls so bad they are verging on broken, at times it seems like you are positively unable to use your fingers and thumb at the same time. honestly the games a bit of a mess, not a lot of content for your money, especially when you consider you HAVE to beat each level to even attempt the next. Avoid like genital warts.
  3. Jul 17, 2013
    2
    The videos on Youtube are more fun than the game. I found the videos hilarious and couldn't resist buying the game, once playing, you realize just how bad the controls are, which I understand is intentional, but when it comes to getting stuck on level 2 for 90mins because the controls are so bad, you quickly lose interest and any "fun" value is long gone. I do not regret buying the game as I believe this company has potential and would like to see what their next endeavor is; I do like to support the intention behind the humour in gameplay, hopefully next time it can be a little more refined. I think it's unfortunate that they seem to pride themselves on how fast this was produced, it would have been better if more time was put into it. Expand
  4. May 15, 2013
    2
    The game i pretty useless, i can't remove the heart and controls are very bad cant operate like real, organs move like objects instead of really disecting, the human it is alredy dissected. i though it was going to be funny but instead just boredoom and a lose of money not funny not even nothing. it is just so lame sorry
  5. Nov 2, 2013
    2
    This game would be better if the hit box wasn't so bad. I failed the kidney transplant in the ambulance because I had the two kidney's in there, but weren't in the right spot. That damn ambulance driver who shoulda never went to driving school, made it fly out the guy's stomach. Both kidneys were in, but the game gave me the middle finger and said nope sorry. The hit box is bad and that ambulance driver needs to be fixed. No one drives that bad. This game needs to be worked on some more. Expand
  6. NLS
    Jan 21, 2014
    2
    Sorry but I hate it.
    I realize it is made to be a game parody of some kind, but this thing sucks.
    There is no point "advancing" (which after all is a matter of luck).
    It's not funny after the first 5 minutes (make this 2 minutes... no make it 60 seconds). It's annoying.
    I bought this as part of a bundle, lucky me.
    Avoid.
  7. Jul 17, 2013
    1
    Absolutely terrible controls and physics. I get that it's not a real simulator and that messing up is the joke, but controlling the arm in the game is like trying to do anything with your own arm after you've been lying on it wrong for an hour and it's gone to sleep. A lot of times objects will get stuck or go rocketing off the table. I gave it a 1 just for the concept, but the game is definitely not worth paying any money for. Expand
  8. Jun 18, 2013
    1
    As a pre-med student, I was excited to see what would be in this game. I knew it was kind of a joke, but the controls were so bad the game was unplayable for me. Could have been a fun game if they would have simplified the controls a little bit.
  9. May 29, 2013
    1
    What could have been a fun and funny Surgeon Simulator ends up becoming a horrible, sloppy mess of a game because the controls are awful.

    People claim that's part of the "joke" of the game and I have to disagree, the game could still have been fun and rewarding without the retard-ly stupid controls it offers.

    Pirate it and try it before you buy it, because if not, you might be very
    unpleasantly surprised. Expand
  10. Aug 24, 2013
    1
    There's nothing funny or even fun about this game. I consider myself to have a great sense of humour, but when the whole "joke" of the game is about how impossibly terrible the controls are, I find myself angry that I don't even get real gameplay out of my $3. Amateur Surgeon did a great job of blending humour with fun, and I feel like this tried and failed to be a 3D version of that.
  11. Apr 20, 2013
    1
    What the hell is this? Give me my money back! This should be retitled "Mentaly handicapped Arm Simulator 2013". It's a struggle just to pick up a tool and do anything with it. I realize it's supposed to be a joke, but it's so frustrating just to do the most basic tasks. I don't find it funny, I find it super annoying. This will teach me a lesson against trying new things on steam.
  12. Jun 29, 2013
    1
    Omg, this game is so bad and it was a free online web app for the longest time, now for some reason they think they can sell it and people will buy it......wait WOW...people are buying it. I have just lost some faith in gammer humanity lol
  13. Oct 5, 2013
    0
    Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Expand
  14. Apr 22, 2013
    0
    Made in 48 hours you get exactly what you paid for (and why anyone would pay more then $0.01 for this is beyond me) it's not fun, it's not funny and it's not clever. It's annoying and frustrating. Even the web browser demo is clumsy, buggy and makes you slam your keyboard from unresponsive keys to framerate drops that move you when not moving. Not for anyone yet those who have $9.99 to waste I beg you to actually spend it on something else. Play the free web version but even that's not fun. Expand
  15. Jul 13, 2013
    0
    I agree with the guy who said they should've named this "The Broken Arm Simulator." Yeah, yeah, I get that you're not supposed to be able to perform flawless surgery, and that it's supposed to be funny to butcher the body in front of you, but the controls and physics are so sloppy that any humor dies very very quickly. The only game I can really compare it to, by virtue of being in the same genre, is Adult Swim's Amateur Surgeon a game which is 100 times better in every way. Expand
  16. Jul 16, 2013
    0
    I was ready for goofy dark fun, but not completely crap controls. I gave this game almost two hours of my life trust trying to learn the control scheme and even after all that I still couldn't pick up one instrument and make and use of it other than gouging the green cloth draped on the patient. I was really excited for this and for it to turn out this way is just ridiculous.
  17. Jan 18, 2014
    0
    Maybe Surgeon Simulator is amazing if you have the patience to master the controls but i dont have that patience. Any game that feels tedious and frustrating generally isnt going to convince me to try and master it, a tutorial or free play would have been nice and allowed me learn the controls but without it Surgeion Simulator doesnt promise anything worth hanging around for.

    I got it
    for free and im glad i did beacuse there is no way i would pay £6.99 for a game whose main gameplay element is broken controls.

    While i'm loath to give any game 0/10 this game boasts how little time it took to make and in my opinion it shows, maybe i'm the only one who doesn't find broken controls hilarious but in my opinion this game has no redeeming features.
    Expand
  18. Jul 10, 2013
    0
    Probably one of the worst games I have ever played.

    It's somewhat funny if you get the Team Fortress 2 references but that gets old quick once you make an attempt at the controls.

    Would not recommend this to anyone.

    Would be better off spending that 10$ on a movie.
  19. Aug 13, 2013
    0
    This is the Worst Green light game that I have Ever had the misfortune of playing. It feels like an unfinished college project done by someone who failed their computer gaming course. It was a waste of money and wouldn't be worth downloading if it was free. I admire the programmers creativity, but they should have at least made an effort. I feel like the joke is that I would have been better off flushing the $9 down the toilet, that way at least I would have had the satisfaction of wiping my butt with it first. Expand
  20. Mar 24, 2014
    0
    Made an account just to say that this is the worst video game that will ever exist in the universe.It literally has the worst control scheme ever devised, and the physics came straight from hell. id rather make a burger from my pancreas than playing this game,i hope the developers die.DONT BUY THIS GAME!!!!!!!!
  21. Mar 29, 2014
    0
    worst game ever i honestly want 100% of my money back. i wasted about 20 min trying to grab a freaking hammer. steams lucky i cant demand my money back
  22. Aug 24, 2014
    0
    There is no more "competition", sense or fun in that game than in speed eating of 10 lbs of salt. There is no more "competition", sense or fun in that game than in speed eating of 10 lbs of salt.
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Aug 28, 2013
    60
    A likeable little game with the original idea proving definitely your both hands are left. If you approach the game with exaggeration, you won't regret your time nor your money. And that you are full of remorse because you murdered your patients in cold blood? Well, everyone has to start somehow. So grab your scalpel firmly and cut where it moves!
  2. Jun 28, 2013
    60
    It is hilariously awkward to control. [Issue#136, p.111]
  3. Jun 4, 2013
    50
    It’s a toy that you buy to show to your friends. Completing the game takes about 2 hours and then at best you can occasionally laugh with your buddies at the mess you can make with the saw, scalpels, hammer and your bare hand. [CD-Action 07/2013, p.79]