Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 202 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Surgeon Simulator 2013 is a darkly humorous over-the-top operation sim game where players become Nigel Burke, a would-be surgeon taking life into his own shaky hands, performing life-saving surgical maneuvers on passive patients.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Apr 25, 2013
    84
    What it does is haphazardly simulate the thrill of ripping a man's heart out of his chest and replacing it with another one under the most ridiculous circumstances possible. It’s a joke of a game, sure, but for once the player gets to be in on it.
  2. Apr 23, 2013
    80
    Surgeon Simulator 2013 is hardly a simulation, but it makes medical malpractice an absolute delight.
  3. Apr 30, 2013
    80
    I ended up hooked, playing it for hours, and I'm almost certainly not done. I also made a video of myself performing brain surgery in a moving ambulance, which I can't link to in a Telegraph review because I have a mouth like a sailor.
  4. May 1, 2013
    70
    Surgeon Simulator 2013 is engagingly ludicrous. It’s neither a substitute for actual medical training, nor will it take anywhere near as long to complete, but it’s a good way to find out where you fall between squeamish and remorseless monster. Physician, heal thy self (and stay away from me).
  5. May 6, 2013
    70
    In the guise of surgeons, you will be asked to perform complex surgical operations without knowing how and what to do. A really fun game, that will snatch more than a laugh. Try it with friends and you will not regret.
  6. Aug 28, 2013
    60
    A likeable little game with the original idea proving definitely your both hands are left. If you approach the game with exaggeration, you won't regret your time nor your money. And that you are full of remorse because you murdered your patients in cold blood? Well, everyone has to start somehow. So grab your scalpel firmly and cut where it moves!
  7. Apr 26, 2013
    50
    Surgeon Simulator 2013 isn’t all bad and I’m surprised I liked it as much as I did. There is a bizarre sense of exploration you get from just goofing around and seeing what exactly you can do, and at times it feels like an odd sort of point and click adventure game, where every puzzle is to use a sharp object on a man’s face

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 60
  2. Negative: 22 out of 60
  1. May 16, 2013
    10
    Thanks to Surgeon Simulator 2013 I am now on track to becoming a fully licensed orthopedic surgeon in the great state of Massachusetts. ThanksThanks to Surgeon Simulator 2013 I am now on track to becoming a fully licensed orthopedic surgeon in the great state of Massachusetts. Thanks Surgeon Simulator 2013! Collapse
  2. Jul 11, 2013
    9
    I will say without a doubt that I love how people can could up a crazy concept (Octodad, etc) and make it into a rather surprising great game.I will say without a doubt that I love how people can could up a crazy concept (Octodad, etc) and make it into a rather surprising great game. Yes, It's suppose to be making a joke of simulator games. A good joke infact. This game is crazy and funny at the same time. For example: Grabbing the end of the drill then slapping the guy in the head with it is PRICELESS. Expand
  3. Oct 31, 2013
    8
    This game is a great game if you like fooling around with a person's body. This game is humorous, because you can (for example) rip theThis game is a great game if you like fooling around with a person's body. This game is humorous, because you can (for example) rip the patient's lung and will still survive. The game is glitchy, but the glitches in this game are so funny that you would almost think it is part of the game. A great game, overall. Expand
  4. ERB
    Jul 28, 2013
    7
    Addicting game.Addicting game. Expand
  5. Jul 1, 2014
    4
    Worst controls ever. Frustration maker of century. And I thought I played games with bad controls in the past - those were actually awesome!Worst controls ever. Frustration maker of century. And I thought I played games with bad controls in the past - those were actually awesome!
    Game has its fun moments, but most of the time its a frustration maker (unless you have patience of a mountain).
    Expand
  6. Jun 18, 2013
    1
    As a pre-med student, I was excited to see what would be in this game. I knew it was kind of a joke, but the controls were so bad the game wasAs a pre-med student, I was excited to see what would be in this game. I knew it was kind of a joke, but the controls were so bad the game was unplayable for me. Could have been a fun game if they would have simplified the controls a little bit. Expand
  7. Aug 24, 2014
    0
    There is no more "competition", sense or fun in that game than in speed eating of 10 lbs of salt. There is no more "competition", sense or funThere is no more "competition", sense or fun in that game than in speed eating of 10 lbs of salt. There is no more "competition", sense or fun in that game than in speed eating of 10 lbs of salt. Expand

See all 60 User Reviews