Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 188 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Surgeon Simulator 2013 is a darkly humorous over-the-top operation sim game where players become Nigel Burke, a would-be surgeon taking life into his own shaky hands, performing life-saving surgical maneuvers on passive patients.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Apr 25, 2013
    84
    What it does is haphazardly simulate the thrill of ripping a man's heart out of his chest and replacing it with another one under the most ridiculous circumstances possible. It’s a joke of a game, sure, but for once the player gets to be in on it.
  2. Apr 23, 2013
    80
    Surgeon Simulator 2013 is hardly a simulation, but it makes medical malpractice an absolute delight.
  3. Apr 30, 2013
    80
    I ended up hooked, playing it for hours, and I'm almost certainly not done. I also made a video of myself performing brain surgery in a moving ambulance, which I can't link to in a Telegraph review because I have a mouth like a sailor.
  4. 70
    Surgeon Simulator 2013 is engagingly ludicrous. It’s neither a substitute for actual medical training, nor will it take anywhere near as long to complete, but it’s a good way to find out where you fall between squeamish and remorseless monster. Physician, heal thy self (and stay away from me).
  5. May 6, 2013
    70
    In the guise of surgeons, you will be asked to perform complex surgical operations without knowing how and what to do. A really fun game, that will snatch more than a laugh. Try it with friends and you will not regret.
  6. Aug 28, 2013
    60
    A likeable little game with the original idea proving definitely your both hands are left. If you approach the game with exaggeration, you won't regret your time nor your money. And that you are full of remorse because you murdered your patients in cold blood? Well, everyone has to start somehow. So grab your scalpel firmly and cut where it moves!
  7. 50
    Surgeon Simulator 2013 isn’t all bad and I’m surprised I liked it as much as I did. There is a bizarre sense of exploration you get from just goofing around and seeing what exactly you can do, and at times it feels like an odd sort of point and click adventure game, where every puzzle is to use a sharp object on a man’s face

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 58
  2. Negative: 21 out of 58
  1. May 16, 2013
    10
    Thanks to Surgeon Simulator 2013 I am now on track to becoming a fully licensed orthopedic surgeon in the great state of Massachusetts. Thanks Surgeon Simulator 2013! Expand
  2. Jul 11, 2013
    9
    I will say without a doubt that I love how people can could up a crazy concept (Octodad, etc) and make it into a rather surprising great game. Yes, It's suppose to be making a joke of simulator games. A good joke infact. This game is crazy and funny at the same time. For example: Grabbing the end of the drill then slapping the guy in the head with it is PRICELESS. Expand
  3. Jun 30, 2013
    8
    I would not recommend getting this game if you don't like novelty, as that is entirely what this one is built around, but don't dismiss it as a "bad" game because of its clunky controls. Complaining that the control is bad is like ordering food you do not like at a restaurant and then complaining about the taste.

    The whole game's humor, charm, and difficulty stem from the awkward controls. If it were easy to control the arm it would barely have any challenge, plus you wouldn't see so many hilarious mistakes. Also, it really isn't nearly as hard as most people make it out to be. Like anything else, with a little practice and patience, you'll eventually get the hang of the control and easily pull of the surgeries with few errors.

    Bottom line, this game is not meant to be taken serious. It's basically one of those titles to have in your library to force on friends when they come for a visit. It's a good conversation piece, and it makes for a great drinking game. Personally, I find it refreshing to see a game that tries something new instead of going with the done-to-death formulas that are present in so many other games. My only complaint is that I wish it had at least 6 different surgeries instead of 3, but considering it's only a 10 dollar title I guess its fair to have less content.
    Expand
  4. ERB
    Jul 28, 2013
    7
    Addicting game. Collapse
  5. Jul 1, 2014
    4
    Worst controls ever. Frustration maker of century. And I thought I played games with bad controls in the past - those were actually awesome!
    Game has its fun moments, but most of the time its a frustration maker (unless you have patience of a mountain).
    Expand
  6. Jun 18, 2013
    1
    As a pre-med student, I was excited to see what would be in this game. I knew it was kind of a joke, but the controls were so bad the game was unplayable for me. Could have been a fun game if they would have simplified the controls a little bit. Expand
  7. Aug 13, 2013
    0
    This is the Worst Green light game that I have Ever had the misfortune of playing. It feels like an unfinished college project done by someone who failed their computer gaming course. It was a waste of money and wouldn't be worth downloading if it was free. I admire the programmers creativity, but they should have at least made an effort. I feel like the joke is that I would have been better off flushing the $9 down the toilet, that way at least I would have had the satisfaction of wiping my butt with it first. Expand

See all 58 User Reviews