User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 58 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 58
  2. Negative: 14 out of 58

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    8.5 to be more exact. Kerberos has dedicated more than a year to making their baby work right, and it is now damn impressive. It still has some bugs, unfortunately, and it still suffers from a UIX that only a mother could really love.

    However, it's a better UIX than Dwarf Fortress, the visuals can be epic, the tech tree is epic, the lore is rich, and the possibilities are endless.


    Kerberos definitely likes to push the boundaries and explore new ways of approaching 4X / strategy games. So although you won't be jumping in comfortably seeing all your old Total War style interfaces and abstractions, you will learn a hell of a lot, and see 4X with new eyes of a newbie. There are some brilliant ideas to explore, and they generally lead to warships worthy of song and legend.

    Slow down, be willing to learn something different, and RTFM first. Then - in game - you can open the chat (single player or multi) and be connected with everyone else online to share stories, ask questions, and **** the time away while you immerse yourself in one of the best war games ever made.
    Expand
  2. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    Possibly one of the best 4X games of this age. It is a bit rough around the edges still but overall the game is fantastic. Lots of depth, engaging lore and back story, each race plays very differently from one another, non-linear tech tree (no one way to victory), impressive asymmetrical balance, and amazing visuals in the 3D combat.

    Even more important really is the the strategic
    depth is unmatched. Each weapon system has pros and cons for different situations, and hard and soft counters that your enemy could deploy. In MP there is an impressive degree of meta-game that unfolds simply dealing with deploying counters and solutions to what your opponent is fielding currently to gain the upper hand. Tactical depth is also impressive with flanking and diversion tactics, stealth and countermeasures... both close range and long range engagement strategies as well as an impressive degree of battle rider carrier tactics. Beyond this there is also ship-to-ship level combat psionics both offensive and defensive.

    The Kerberos team continues to update and support their game well after launch and I continue to look forward to what comes next in the SOTS universe.
    Expand
  3. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    I would say a very good game. Very complex and deep strategy, fixes the problems I had with SotS1, namely ships spam and lack of stuff to do in peace times. Now we get to organize system defenses and Stations. Graphics is also a very strong point, one can notice the huge attention to details in both small drones and huge Leviathan class ships. The races are very unique, their differences are not just cosmetic as in other 4x games.Tactical combat is very entertaining and deep. There are occasional bugs and Ai is easy to beat if you are an experienced player, but one can count on Kerb support to react to bugs and upgrade the ai. Definitly worth playing if you like space 4x Expand
  4. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    By far the best space strategy game I have ever played. Lots of replayability due to randomized tech tree, VERY pretty graphics, and an intense lore background. Its developers are very dedicated, and have gone above and beyond to continually love the game and add features (many of which are player suggestions) over the long-term.
  5. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    Continuing the dedication to their user base Kerberos is becoming famous for, they have integrated the first expansion, End of flesh, for free into existing copies and any future copies of the game. The game itself now has 7 unique, fully fleshed out races with excellent lore to build your own stories on. Each race has their own unique FTL Drive, with the latest drive being probably the most unique so far.

    It is a 4X space game of unparalleled beauty, built from the ground up as a DX10 engine, and complexity without the game drowning you in spreadsheets 10 pages deep. Combining complex strategic turn based game play with full randomized solar systems and real time space combat using self designed ships and the infamous randomized tech tree each game will be a unique story based on your decisions. The only downside currently being the AI that is still learning to use the more advanced systems. Scenarios are also still being planned on being added (for free).

    Without a doubt the best, prettiest and most complex 4X game to date. Be prepared to RTM ;)
    Expand
  6. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    The game still posses a few rough edges but nothing that seriously detracts from gameplay. Kerberos has shown unparalled dedication in polishing and improving this game and all signs show they plan to continue doing so for a long time to come. It is one of the most complex and satisfying 4x experiences i've ever had and Highly recommend it to anyone who is a fan or even remotely interested in the genre. Expand
  7. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    The simple matter now is down to if you like the complexity or not, and the somewhat overwhelming start if you are new. But if such things don't bother you, there are literally hundreds of hours of great fun to be had, and that is really all that matters. Fun. This isn't a 5 hour FPS that is a horrible port, that still generates endless 90+ reviews (how that happens I will leave up to you to decide). This is a game that is clearly made by people that loves the idea, loves to work on it and loves their job. That means certain things can at times be quite a bit too subtle, but the devs are constantly working on it.

    And battles between very different fleets of Dreadnoughts and Levithans can lead to some of the most enjoyable moments in strategic gaming.
    Expand
  8. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    I have logged approximately a thousand hours on this game since it's difficult birth a year ago. I have seen it mature into the best 4x game I have ever played. The devs are constantly tweaking and fixing and adjusting at an impressive pace. There are still the occasional bugs and the learning curve is nearly vertical at first, but the new global chat in game (even single-player) really helps you get over the first hurdles. Amazing depth, incredible lore (both the novel and the website) and very satisfying gameplay. Expand
  9. Dec 21, 2012
    9
    I've started a weekly game of this with my friends. Every Wednesday night. The asymmetry between races is worked out fantastically well. Each faction moves by a different FTL method and has completely different versions of the same ship sections. Each time I play one of the seven races, it is a totally new experience. The new target based mission system is also great. It makes the end game (something many people fear in a 4X) more manageable, since I am choosing targets which brings up a list of fleets that can attempt the mission type I select... not finding my fleets then telling them to go wherever. Admirals and admiral traits were a neat twist too. Expand
  10. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    SOTS2:EoF is by far the best 4x game ever devised, from the ship design to the brutish 3d star combat, this game delivers on all levels. If you are a returning fan of this platform then you will be pleased to know that this game has gone through a transformation and it is still being modified to suit the needs of the stat hungry fans out there. This game has a great tech tree system as in its original design several years ago, has interesting depth and is filled with intriguing possibilities. Try this game out if you are a fan of space combat, sci-fi space destruction, technology development, and strategic mastery. Expand
  11. May 31, 2013
    10
    Has become progressively better, and is now almost perfect. Better than any other 4x game out there, including its predecessor. Next expansion will make it an even fuller game right now it is exciting, fun, and daunting at just the right times. Rock on Kerberos!
  12. 41b
    Jan 14, 2014
    10
    It's a good game. I've spent a lot of time on it. I'm sure it would become better with multiplayer. Paradox have cancelled any further development or expansions it seems. Unfortunate, I would've paid again for an improved experience. SOTS2 is fundamentally better than SOTS1 in every way, but like the base SOTS1 is not that interesting after a while. I wish Paradox revive the game or shell out for SOTS3, because the death of the franchise because of a poor release would be terrible.

    Having said that, if SOTS2 were to be the last of the series, it would not be such a bad thing. On the whole it is a very good game.
    Expand
  13. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    after bad release this game got a lot of patches, fixes and more content, for this day(25 feb,2014) its the best x4 space game, by far the most content, stunning graphics, very wide research tree that change every game, the battle is RTS with a lot of tactics,missiles, torpedos,lasers,beams,mines,balistic weapons,drones,battle raiders,assault carrys and more.. we can design ships how you like and you got a lot of ships design options, you can play diplomatic or go for war, you can make you empire as economic with a lot of trade rutes, can build space stations with couple of types, build planetary defences with platforms and more, moreover you got 6 races to play, every race play very different with its research and move in space,replay value is never end, i recommend this game for all x4 TBS+RTS gamers. Expand
  14. Mar 11, 2014
    9
    Much improved over the old game as it usually just devolved into massive fleet spam.
    The new game requires you to manage fleets/resources in a much more realistic way.
    Learning curve is a little bit steep but the people at kerberos forums are extremely helpful!
  15. May 26, 2014
    10
    (This is from a comment i made on a youtube video and i will in future fix this review but for now this is i think enough.)

    Okay i just now finished my first ever sots2 game before that i never played sots will play sots1 in future, i did play all 4x after 2000 besides sots and armada.

    I won a Diplomatic victory it was 4 players im not going go into detail i just write my end
    conclusion.

    Ended at turn 420 had one crash after five hours+ and had to restart client four times in round four+ hours due to memory leak.

    AI in diplomacy works fine i seen no flew.

    Economics you have private and state you got open and close boarders you got two type of citizens one are state other civilians that will expend on trade and mining stations and even colonies if you move your sliders up and have your boarders open.

    You got government that makes sense it is from left to right very socialistic to communist to liberal to plutocracy and anarchism and center and something between and something i missed .

    Research all 8 races have their own techs and then you got techs that some cant have some can more and less and there are tons of techs that each game will be different for everyone and will play out differently!
    You have special and salvage techs!

    Colonization is not simple you have a choice want high pop=more taxes= want it open want your people to build and spend money on projects such as mines to trade freighters and expend even to new worlds they colonize?sure!

    Want to have that colony closed more secured from pirates and other enemies but less trade and want more imperial more government state pop?more industry?sure!
    Expand
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Feb 21, 2013
    83
    Sword of the Stars II: Enhanced Edition is getting there, three steps forward and two steps back. But for gods sake, start creating enemies, not stupid names with some attributes! And hey, diplomacy between mighty star empires is not handled by SMS messages! [Feb 2013]
  2. Feb 6, 2013
    40
    Sword of the Stars II is exhausting. It has a genius to its depth of strategy, customization, and lore, and its ambition is unmatched by perhaps any other 4X title out there, but trying to reach the fruit of any of those qualities leaves one fastened to the sappy bark of labyrinthine menus and a glacial pace. Amidst the high pedigree of the 4X genre, there simply is no reason to play this.
  3. Jan 9, 2013
    65
    A game that confuses "more" with "better" and "depth". A classic example of second-system effect. Every decade needs its own "Master of Orion 3", I guess.