Sword of the Stars II: Lords of Winter (Enhanced Edition) Image
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 63 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Sword of the Stars 2, gamers will be reaquianted with the original six races from Swords of the Stars I and its expansions as well as reveal the dark secret of the original series, the Suulka - an ancient race that is responsible for tampering with the Liir, Zuul, and other races in theIn Sword of the Stars 2, gamers will be reaquianted with the original six races from Swords of the Stars I and its expansions as well as reveal the dark secret of the original series, the Suulka - an ancient race that is responsible for tampering with the Liir, Zuul, and other races in the SotS universe! Not limited to another entire new race and their unique drive technology, SotS2 will be a major step forward in the SotS approach to 4X gameplay, taking the easy-to-learn-hard-to-master philosophy set out in SotS1 and following that path to a new standard in space strategy games. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Feb 21, 2013
    83
    Sword of the Stars II: Enhanced Edition is getting there, three steps forward and two steps back. But for gods sake, start creating enemies, not stupid names with some attributes! And hey, diplomacy between mighty star empires is not handled by SMS messages! [Feb 2013]
  2. Dec 27, 2012
    68
    It remains only as a recommendation for diehard fans of the genre.
  3. Jan 9, 2013
    65
    A game that confuses "more" with "better" and "depth". A classic example of second-system effect. Every decade needs its own "Master of Orion 3", I guess.
  4. Jan 2, 2013
    55
    Slightly better than it was before, Sword of the Stars II is finally playable, but still hobbled by bizarre design decisions.
  5. Feb 6, 2013
    40
    Sword of the Stars II is exhausting. It has a genius to its depth of strategy, customization, and lore, and its ambition is unmatched by perhaps any other 4X title out there, but trying to reach the fruit of any of those qualities leaves one fastened to the sappy bark of labyrinthine menus and a glacial pace. Amidst the high pedigree of the 4X genre, there simply is no reason to play this.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 31
  2. Negative: 7 out of 31
  1. May 26, 2014
    10
    (This is from a comment i made on a youtube video and i will in future fix this review but for now this is i think enough.)

    Okay i just now
    (This is from a comment i made on a youtube video and i will in future fix this review but for now this is i think enough.)

    Okay i just now finished my first ever sots2 game before that i never played sots will play sots1 in future, i did play all 4x after 2000 besides sots and armada.

    I won a Diplomatic victory it was 4 players im not going go into detail i just write my end conclusion.

    Ended at turn 420 had one crash after five hours+ and had to restart client four times in round four+ hours due to memory leak.

    AI in diplomacy works fine i seen no flew.

    Economics you have private and state you got open and close boarders you got two type of citizens one are state other civilians that will expend on trade and mining stations and even colonies if you move your sliders up and have your boarders open.

    You got government that makes sense it is from left to right very socialistic to communist to liberal to plutocracy and anarchism and center and something between and something i missed .

    Research all 8 races have their own techs and then you got techs that some cant have some can more and less and there are tons of techs that each game will be different for everyone and will play out differently!
    You have special and salvage techs!

    Colonization is not simple you have a choice want high pop=more taxes= want it open want your people to build and spend money on projects such as mines to trade freighters and expend even to new worlds they colonize?sure!

    Want to have that colony closed more secured from pirates and other enemies but less trade and want more imperial more government state pop?more industry?sure!
    Expand
  2. May 31, 2013
    10
    Has become progressively better, and is now almost perfect. Better than any other 4x game out there, including its predecessor. Next expansionHas become progressively better, and is now almost perfect. Better than any other 4x game out there, including its predecessor. Next expansion will make it an even fuller game right now it is exciting, fun, and daunting at just the right times. Rock on Kerberos! Collapse
  3. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    Possibly one of the best 4X games of this age. It is a bit rough around the edges still but overall the game is fantastic. Lots of depth,Possibly one of the best 4X games of this age. It is a bit rough around the edges still but overall the game is fantastic. Lots of depth, engaging lore and back story, each race plays very differently from one another, non-linear tech tree (no one way to victory), impressive asymmetrical balance, and amazing visuals in the 3D combat.

    Even more important really is the the strategic depth is unmatched. Each weapon system has pros and cons for different situations, and hard and soft counters that your enemy could deploy. In MP there is an impressive degree of meta-game that unfolds simply dealing with deploying counters and solutions to what your opponent is fielding currently to gain the upper hand. Tactical depth is also impressive with flanking and diversion tactics, stealth and countermeasures... both close range and long range engagement strategies as well as an impressive degree of battle rider carrier tactics. Beyond this there is also ship-to-ship level combat psionics both offensive and defensive.

    The Kerberos team continues to update and support their game well after launch and I continue to look forward to what comes next in the SOTS universe.
    Expand
  4. Mar 11, 2014
    9
    Much improved over the old game as it usually just devolved into massive fleet spam.
    The new game requires you to manage fleets/resources in
    Much improved over the old game as it usually just devolved into massive fleet spam.
    The new game requires you to manage fleets/resources in a much more realistic way.
    Learning curve is a little bit steep but the people at kerberos forums are extremely helpful!
    Expand
  5. Jan 13, 2013
    8
    I a giving a strong 8 out of 10, because all is now (compared to first release):
    - Stable
    - Overhauled UI, much more streamlined -
    I a giving a strong 8 out of 10, because all is now (compared to first release):
    - Stable
    - Overhauled UI, much more streamlined
    - Enjoyable and Fun ! (my favorite part, designing dreadnought).

    The only point which needs some love is the AI.
    Expand
  6. Sep 18, 2013
    7
    I was disappointed by this buggy sequel to one of the greatest games of all time, but after almost a year of patches, it is FINALLY playable!I was disappointed by this buggy sequel to one of the greatest games of all time, but after almost a year of patches, it is FINALLY playable! This game has some of the best ingame graphics I've seen in a while. While it is essentially an exact remake, they did add a lot of extra features to this game which make it amazing despite my rating. It has amazing customization, good sound, great voice acting, the list goes on. The only thing that keeps the score down is the fact that it is essentially a DLC rather than a full game. Expand
  7. May 21, 2013
    0
    If you bought this game, I'm sorry you wasted your money. I bought this game thinking that it would be an improvement on the original, howeverIf you bought this game, I'm sorry you wasted your money. I bought this game thinking that it would be an improvement on the original, however it's not. Everyone is 100 times more complicated. The game is beyond buggy, and the managed to suck all the fun from it. This one will never be as good as the first. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews