Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Your music is under attack, you must liberate it!
    A mysterious entity is absorbing and corrupting your music before your very eyes. You must battle through your own song collection, discover items, customize your ship and fight boss enemies to liberate the Symphony of Souls and reclaim
    Your music is under attack, you must liberate it!
    A mysterious entity is absorbing and corrupting your music before your very eyes. You must battle through your own song collection, discover items, customize your ship and fight boss enemies to liberate the Symphony of Souls and reclaim your music!...
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Aug 27, 2012
    90
    Although the concept of Symphony is simple, it is one of the most fun and addicting experiences I've had in a good while. Much of the enjoyment comes from the title's ability to incorporate personal music files. Great controls, fun upgrades and a level count that is matched by the number of MP3 files in your collection, Symphony offers a fantastic thrill for a great price.
  2. Sep 4, 2012
    87
    The rhythm videogames are not dead and the software house Empty Clip is here to prove it, with an incredible and adrenalinic shoot'em up. Symphony is a must buy for all music games lovers.
  3. Oct 5, 2012
    84
    Symphony is fun, pure and simple. [Dec 2012, p.75]
  4. Aug 14, 2012
    80
    Symphony is an exciting mouse-controlled shooter that delivers a dynamic way to enjoy your favorite music.
  5. Aug 27, 2012
    75
    What happens when you mix a modern variant of Space Invaders with your own music track list? Then you'll get Symphony. This colorful, but chaotic game will be a fun experience for those who like their game to random generate levels around their own music. From Chopin to Pantera to The Rolling Stones: be creative! Unfortunately, Symphony is rapidly becoming a broken record, which makes this title perfectly suited for shorter play sessions.
  6. Sep 6, 2012
    72
    I expected more from Symphony. Compared with colorful spectacles like Child of Eden or Gridrunner Revolution this music shooter seems blend. It's nice to see the action develop to your personal soundtrack though…
  7. Aug 29, 2012
    60
    In its current form Symphony looks more like a beta version than finished game, but it's worth to check in three month whether the lump of coal has turned into a diamond yet. [10/2012, p.72]

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Sep 4, 2012
    10
    Anyone praising Beat Hazard forget about it instantly and go pick this one up! Symphony is an amazing game really, I just can't stop playingAnyone praising Beat Hazard forget about it instantly and go pick this one up! Symphony is an amazing game really, I just can't stop playing it. And with a few thousand songs from various soundtracks through game music to my favourite metal bands, this title will keep me occupied for quite some time. Beat Hazard is seriously boring compared to Symphony. Symphony has a lot of cool ideas, a little story background and a far better drive. You'll always want to play just one more song :) Expand
  2. Aug 7, 2012
    10
    Worth all the 9$. Really fun and entertaining, a lot of customization with tons of power up and different weapons. All the level are differentWorth all the 9$. Really fun and entertaining, a lot of customization with tons of power up and different weapons. All the level are different and there are a lot of difficult modes (six) , the only downside is that there are not many different enemies. I have played for 2 hours straight and didn't feel it was repetitive at all or anyway not more repetitive than every other game of this genre.
    But anyway it's a really good game for his low price.
    Expand
  3. Jan 8, 2013
    9
    Spent $5 when it was on sale in Steam,but it worth the full price. The best part is you can play the game with any of your favorite musicSpent $5 when it was on sale in Steam,but it worth the full price. The best part is you can play the game with any of your favorite music files on your hard drive!!! Plus this is a shooting game. This makes the game more perfect since I like shooting. You can upgrade your ship as you complete songs. It take a while (20 sec maybe) to initiate/analyze a new song, and the game does not read Asian language font. Expand
  4. Aug 7, 2012
    9
    Easily worth the entertainment value for only $9 bucks. It does make listening to music that much more enjoyable and each of your songs isEasily worth the entertainment value for only $9 bucks. It does make listening to music that much more enjoyable and each of your songs is it's own level. Get this game. Expand
  5. Aug 8, 2012
    8
    Nice game. However sometimes difficult to see enemy bullet.There are times when i do not understand why dead. And whether there was reallyNice game. However sometimes difficult to see enemy bullet.There are times when i do not understand why dead. And whether there was really need this is music game. I think still a good game. Expand
  6. Dec 8, 2012
    6
    This could have easily been as big (and better) than Audiosurf. Unfortunately, the ridiculously clunky implementation of leaderboards (whichThis could have easily been as big (and better) than Audiosurf. Unfortunately, the ridiculously clunky implementation of leaderboards (which is really what these kind of games are mostly about - at least to me) and overall very bad interface keep it from being that.
    It looks like it was designed for mobile platforms and there was NO optimization for PC gaming whatsoever. HUGE text and mouse input only (and on a general note: one cannot store weapon loadouts. It's tremendous fun having to swap all those weapons depending on what difficulty one chooses...). But worse than that, you can't see anywhere which songs were already played by others, you have to let the game analyze a whole song (which takes about 20 seconds) and then you still have to click a button just to check whether there are leaderboards for that particular song. Good luck finding one. Aside from the songs that come with the game and those that are discussed on the GOG forums I have not found a single one so far. And... the fact that there may not be a huge diversity of songs that have been played by people (I can't say for sure because I don't have the time to let the game analyze 100 songs just to check that) wouldn't even be so bad if they would either at least show in the song list which songs have leaderboards or have a catalog somewhere, even if it is just on their website. SOMETHING, damn it!
    They should've ditched the whole story aspect (which I find just annoying aside from the somewhat interesting boss battles) and concentrated on the things mentioned above instead. It could have been so great because while I like the interface of Audiosurf, I don't really like the gameplay of it. With Symphony, I would LOVE the basic gameplay but without proper leaderboards it's just useless. So in a way, my score is somewhat generous. But... it does look and play very well and I see all the potential that it has. It seems such a waste because it seems to me that implementing those things I mentioned probably would just take them 5% of the time that it took to create this whole game. And it could catapult it from nice but useless to cult status.
    Expand
  7. Dec 30, 2012
    3
    Nice game for the first hour, then you will notice that it's always the same and the levels are very similar to each other. You could disableNice game for the first hour, then you will notice that it's always the same and the levels are very similar to each other. You could disable the music and put a random track in the background and feel no difference.
    After the Mezzo-piano difficulty, Mezzo-forte and so on are completely impossible to beat 100% for the 95% of the songs: plenty of enemies, small arena and a big collision box due to the large ship.
    Not mentioning the "cannon balls" fired by the enemies ships that can't be seen when the arena became red (on black background) since they're red or black.
    The story is useless for this type of game and unattractive, the Bosses are easy and only of 5 types. There should be a way to "deactivate" the story mode if I do not want to be interrupted when I'm playing since it doesn't allow you to record a score on the leaderboard because of the extra points you get for the Boss.

    6,99
    Collapse

See all 16 User Reviews

Trailers