User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 440 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 440

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 9, 2011
    10
    This is one of the greatest and underrated PC games of all time, simply terrifying to play with its unparalleled level of ambient horror this is the RPS that defined the genre and has set the standard for future games in this category. Dead Space/Bioshock/Deus Ex - all the others stem from SS2 and it's no surprise why.
    The gameplay is superior to SS1 and the sound and voice acting are
    This is one of the greatest and underrated PC games of all time, simply terrifying to play with its unparalleled level of ambient horror this is the RPS that defined the genre and has set the standard for future games in this category. Dead Space/Bioshock/Deus Ex - all the others stem from SS2 and it's no surprise why.
    The gameplay is superior to SS1 and the sound and voice acting are some of, if not the best I have ever heard in my years of gaming. To me reviewing this in 2011 after playing it for about 8 years - this is the pinnacle of PC gaming and if you can get your hands on a copy and get it running then you are in for a world of horrific joy!
    Expand
  2. Cynewulf
    Nov 18, 2008
    10
    Simply one of the finest games ever created. One of very few games that reduced me to cowering in a corner listening intently for any signs of movement. The graphics may not be up to standard these days but there's no way this game should be marked down for that. Perfection! Rest in peace Looking Glass.
  3. Feb 20, 2013
    8
    Before we start. I was born in Nov. 85. and was about 14 when this game was released, I remember specifically playing this game with my brother, and although never advancing beyond the first Deck, the game still gave me a lasting impression of it being an amazing game.

    Setting: System Shock 2 is a Sci-Fi Survival Horror game, it all starts on the ship The Von Braun, which is a type of
    Before we start. I was born in Nov. 85. and was about 14 when this game was released, I remember specifically playing this game with my brother, and although never advancing beyond the first Deck, the game still gave me a lasting impression of it being an amazing game.

    Setting:
    System Shock 2 is a Sci-Fi Survival Horror game, it all starts on the ship The Von Braun, which is a type of research vessel, and the most advanced ship the human species has manged to build, you get interrupted in your cryo sleep by another survivor, and told that the ship is under some kind of attack. Even today the game manages to make you feel like you're on a space ship, running down corridors down in engineering to fix something, or rummaging around in a cargo bay for clues. And the game doesn't use levels, as such, you often have to go down to lower levels after you've been other places, and if you research objects you'll often try and remember where the last Chemical Storeroom was. You're on a desolate ship with Aliens that hate you, and want you dead, and an AI that won't hide the fact that you're but a puppet or insect to her, doing as she demands. You do hear from survivors every now and then, but it's far in between, and most of the time you just feel like you're working with someone who just hates you a little less than the creatures who wants to kill you do.

    Gameplay:
    I always have 2 fears when playing old games, one of them is graphics, is it so bad that I'll be taken out of the experience? And the second is gameplay, nostalgia is a hell of a thing, and shows us how deceptive our brains can be. I always try and be objective atleast. Imo this game stands up just fine on gameplay, mouse and keyboard just works, and even some of the more different ways of doing things feel natural, like right clicking to interact with things, there's no hand holding, but I was very rarely so lost that I couldn't find my way eventually, although some of the levels for me were a lot of brute forcing just walking back and forth, so that can be frustrating.
    One thing I honestly loved was how much of a panic I was in when I saw a spider because I knew I didn't have enough anti Tox syringes to save myself if I got bit, it caused me to go into such a panic I would just flee and do something insanely stupid, and I don't even have arachnophobia. The combat is the most dated probably. Even the biggest creatures can pretty easily be defeated using melee weapons, although you do have to step back a few times.

    Sound/Music:
    One of the things that completely freaked me out as a kid was the fact that you heard the tormented voices of the infected, saying: I'm sorry! or Kill me! As they were hitting, or shooting you, just the idea of being possessed and doing things you normally wouldn't was a really spooky thing, there's a lot of cool things like that, like you'll hear them speak as they are looking for you, and it seems clear they are very aware of your presence. The music worked really well too, it was weird sometimes when I went through a door, and the music changed to something completely different, but I still really liked the soundtrack, and there was something about the music in the Hydroponics area that made my heart pumping. And Shodan just sounds cool every time she speaks.(Looloolooook at you, hahahaaacker!).

    Graphics:
    Ok this is a bit of a cheat, didn't play it with it's original graphics, I got a texture mod, as well as some model updates, and environmental mods(Plants, goo etc.), and with these mods the game looks great, it's not perfect, but it's a lot better than triangle hands, and square and flat faces. The game looks old if you don't have any mods on it, it might be charming, but the mods I installed didn't make the experience less epic, or scary.

    Conclusion:
    I rarely find myself compelled to play games like crazy, it has to have an interesting story. I got Bioshock after I heard it was basically an alternative take on System Shock 2, but I honestly couldn't be bothered after a while, and I wasn't at all as captivated as I was during my play through with System Shock 2. The game isn't perfect, I hoped there would be a few choices towards the end, but other than that, the game shows that games back in the 90's were onto something, something that's been missing in most recent games.
    Expand
  4. Apr 5, 2013
    10
    Back in the day when games weren't about achievements or micro-transactions. Nothing in the latter generations comes even close to touching this masterpiece.
  5. May 11, 2013
    10
    Still one of the greatest games ever made. They don't make em like they used to.
  6. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    Very possibly the greatest game of all time. Terrifying, well scripted with monstrous twists, atmospheric soundtrack.. the lot. As good as the unofficial sequels (the bioshock series) have been, they simply don't touch this phenomenal piece of work.
  7. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    This game, is quite possibly one of the best ever made. The execution in this product is top-notch, even by today's exacting standards. The atmosphere, frightening, still gives me that creepy feeling on the back of my neck. The NPCs, they seem real, alive with real-issues, all of which drive the story piece by piece. There isn't a single game that I have played to date that is as good asThis game, is quite possibly one of the best ever made. The execution in this product is top-notch, even by today's exacting standards. The atmosphere, frightening, still gives me that creepy feeling on the back of my neck. The NPCs, they seem real, alive with real-issues, all of which drive the story piece by piece. There isn't a single game that I have played to date that is as good as System Shock 2. There are good games, even great games, but this one... I always come back to this one, even a decade later. Sure the graphics are terrible by today's standards, even the controls a tad clunky, but the auditory and psychological experience are second to none.

    This game /can/ be hard. Even seemingly impossibly difficult. That in and of itself is a rare beauty. Too many games nowadays are made for corn-fed calves; this one makes you think, risk, and if you do it right, survive...

    A must have.
    Expand
  8. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    System Shock 2 is the pinnacle of first person gaming to date (2012), modern games can barely stand to its intelligent, innovative and rewarding design. Do NOT think twice, buy it now! But do not expect a walk in the park otherwise Shodan will make you her ****
  9. Apr 30, 2012
    10
    Brilliant atmospheric cyberpunk excellence. System Shock 2 should be looked at back on by all future generations as a shining example of how a game should be made. If your up for some retro gaming this is definately the place to start and it is a horrifying thought that another installment will never be made. This game gives an ongoing sence of desperation and real consequences to the wayBrilliant atmospheric cyberpunk excellence. System Shock 2 should be looked at back on by all future generations as a shining example of how a game should be made. If your up for some retro gaming this is definately the place to start and it is a horrifying thought that another installment will never be made. This game gives an ongoing sence of desperation and real consequences to the way you develope your character. It was almost as good as System Shock 1 Expand
  10. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    The ultimate masterpiece. Atmosphere, storyline and voice acting are incredible. SHODAN is the best video game villain ever. It's amazing how 13 years old game can still be so gripping and fresh. Only real complaint is a bit unbalanced character progression. For example, Exotic Weapons-skill is almost completely useless.
  11. Jul 1, 2013
    9
    A glorious game that pretty much invented everything you now know in the modern FPS. Its a shame that future developers decided to loot and dumb-down the mechanics rather than expand and their possibilities. This game plays well even today, clunky interface and all.
  12. Giygas
    Oct 9, 2008
    10
    Possibly the greatest game I have ever played. Great music, great gameplay, and even greater story.
  13. Feb 21, 2012
    9
    Please note that all games are reviewed against current standards. What the game 'was' for it's time. Does not factor into the score. Only what it is.

    System shock 2 remains one of the most atmospheric, deep, and psychological games ever made - even in 2012. It's visuals have aged VERY poorly. However it's sound design has not, and remains at the top of it's class. This game is a
    Please note that all games are reviewed against current standards. What the game 'was' for it's time. Does not factor into the score. Only what it is.

    System shock 2 remains one of the most atmospheric, deep, and psychological games ever made - even in 2012. It's visuals have aged VERY poorly. However it's sound design has not, and remains at the top of it's class. This game is a masterpiece, there is no other word for it. It's one of the scariest game's ever made, and then it layers deep rpg systems over the top as well as exceptional audio design and story presentation. The end result is nothing short of a timeless miracle.
    Expand
  14. Sep 8, 2011
    9
    with a heavy heart i give this a 9 - why would i do this for a game that is amongst my personal top of the finest games ever made? because it could have been more; nonetheless, it is simply one of the most brilliant horror FPS ever made; the game play is certainly immersive - not quite as much as the Thief series (from which SS2 borrowed a lot of the sounds since the same developerwith a heavy heart i give this a 9 - why would i do this for a game that is amongst my personal top of the finest games ever made? because it could have been more; nonetheless, it is simply one of the most brilliant horror FPS ever made; the game play is certainly immersive - not quite as much as the Thief series (from which SS2 borrowed a lot of the sounds since the same developer (Looking Glass) made both game franchises), but nonetheless incredibly well done; but what i think the game failed to do is to balance all weapons (some are acquired later on and typically quite under-powered and useless, especially since the RPG aspect is so well developed in this game, meaning that a later stages in the game you will already have developed your character to be most proficient in some weaponry - little use are underpowered exotic weapons that your character has little to no skill in using); and the lonely environment is simply not convincing - other attempts in the genre like Dead Space actually do create horror you can feel and thus heighten your feeling of isolation; but in SS2 this feeling never develops because of the vast weaponry at your disposal and the rather pathetic attempts at instigating several encounters with other alive NPCs that then get killed or run off; however, the musical score is superb and creates incredible atmosphere in this game; all in all a definite must-have! Expand
  15. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    This game has one major flaw and sadly it is one of the kind that may leave you disappointed and cast down after playing it. - Most likely there wont ever be any kind of official remake or third part of this series due to legal right issues. At least that is how i feel about whats going on there.

    A lot of aspects about this game are just brilliant. Terri and Eric Brosius work on vocals,
    This game has one major flaw and sadly it is one of the kind that may leave you disappointed and cast down after playing it. - Most likely there wont ever be any kind of official remake or third part of this series due to legal right issues. At least that is how i feel about whats going on there.

    A lot of aspects about this game are just brilliant. Terri and Eric Brosius work on vocals, sound and music just needs to be honored. The level design. Or the way some RPG Elements are implementented in this sci-fi survival shooter too.

    Difficult to find anything similar in todays games where 90% of the budgets just seem to float in graphics and mediocre multiplayer modes.
    Expand
  16. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    System Shock 2 is everything I look for in a game. Great gameplay, great story, nice graphics, great soundtrack, great atmosphere, uncanningly amazing voice acting. The player models are a bit "ugh" but aside from that the graphics are quite good for the time it was released. The one thing I didn't really like about it was that the default controls really suck. W is forward (as usual), butSystem Shock 2 is everything I look for in a game. Great gameplay, great story, nice graphics, great soundtrack, great atmosphere, uncanningly amazing voice acting. The player models are a bit "ugh" but aside from that the graphics are quite good for the time it was released. The one thing I didn't really like about it was that the default controls really suck. W is forward (as usual), but A and D were turn left and right, respectivly, and S was crouch, whereas Z and C were strafe left and right, respectivly, and X was backward. Of course, this can be easily changed, so it is but a minor annoyance.
    The thing that first hit me about this game was the tutorial. Most of the time, the tutorials in games are crudly done (Half-Life) or very vague (Ghost Recon) if existant at all (Day of Defeat). System Shock 2 takes tutorials to a whole new level. It's very thorough and fits into the storyline like a cute glove. And if you're on your second playthrough, you can skip the tutorial completely. However, if it is your first time playing, you really should play it. This is not just another FPS. This is unique.
    So how much is this worth? More than Steam is selling it for. If you don't like RPGs, you wouldn't like this. If you only play modern games because "GWAFIXXXXX", stop it for this game. You can't just not play it.
    Expand
  17. Jan 7, 2013
    10
    My absolute favorite game of all time. I've given up finding a game that replicates the feeling I had when I first played this. Amazing story-line that couldn't be told better with so many twists that you won't see coming. Level design, lighting, sounds, voice acting and music will make for an unparalleled experience: you will feel desperately alone on a massive spaceship trillions ofMy absolute favorite game of all time. I've given up finding a game that replicates the feeling I had when I first played this. Amazing story-line that couldn't be told better with so many twists that you won't see coming. Level design, lighting, sounds, voice acting and music will make for an unparalleled experience: you will feel desperately alone on a massive spaceship trillions of miles from earth. A simple look out the window from a crew member's cabin reminds you all too well of this. All this despite the graphics were not the best going around, even for its day. There are a few problems, namely the weapons needing to be repaired too frequently, some upgrades such as exotic weapons not balanced, and perhaps a reduction in the quality of the levels in the late game (but only compared to the high standard of those that come before). Even in 2013 I'd still recommend people to play it. Try to play on XP if you can, there is a patch out there somewhere.

    I wish I could give it an 11.
    Expand
  18. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    Best horror game i have ever played. Also, its first person shooter with rpg elements, i haven't seen something like this before. Game looks absolutely unique, graphics and game play is innovating. Voice acting is outstanding. But i doubt that new school players will like it.
  19. May 17, 2013
    10
    Cela faisait plusieurs années que j'avais entendu parler de Sytem Shock 2. Atmosphère stressante, voix intimidantes et bien réalisés, système de RPG excellent, je n'entendais que du bon de ce jeu. J'ai pus enfin me le procurer résemment et me suis empressé d'y jouer. Sérieusement, mes attentes furent emplements atteintes! Je n'es jamais fais de review avant, mais pour System Shock 2 ilCela faisait plusieurs années que j'avais entendu parler de Sytem Shock 2. Atmosphère stressante, voix intimidantes et bien réalisés, système de RPG excellent, je n'entendais que du bon de ce jeu. J'ai pus enfin me le procurer résemment et me suis empressé d'y jouer. Sérieusement, mes attentes furent emplements atteintes! Je n'es jamais fais de review avant, mais pour System Shock 2 il fallait que je le fasse.

    -Le jeu immerse le joueur en le poussant s'investir dans l'exploration du Van Braun. Il n'y a pas de gros indicateur dans l'écran pour vous dire où aller comme la plus part des jeux d'aujourd'hui, non, vous devez lire et bien écouter ce qu'on vous dit pour trouver ce que vous aller devoir chercher, l'exploration rapporte gros dans ce jeu. Certains détails comme prendre une arme sur le sol pour la décharger de ses munitions avant de la reposer sur le sol apporte un certains réalisme au côté survie du jeu.

    -Les ennemies comme les mutants, cyborg, robots, araignés et Intelligence Artificielle diaboliques qui habitent le vaisseau vous ferons ressentir un sentiment de solitude et de danger oppressant, surtout parce que vous n'êtes pas équiper comme un commando et qu'économiser ses balles et médecines est nécessaire. Les voix sont de vrais merveilles, je suis franchement impressionné par celle de "The Many" et particulièrement celle de SHODAN.

    -Le côté RPG est excellent. Vous devrez user de votre tête pour déterminé quoi améliorer travers les compétences qui vont de hacking réparation, armes feux ou pouvoirs psychiques. La multitude de compétences augmenter vous permettra d'avoir différentes approches chaque fois que vous rejouerez. Qui dit RPG dit inventaire. Un peu comme Diablo ou Resident Evil 4, vous devrez placer vos différents objets dans de multiples cases et parfois même devoirs faire du rangement pour pouvoir y mettre un item de plus. Ce n'est pas nécessairement une corvée car malgré le grand nombre d'objets disponible, vous aurez bien souvent assé de place pour ce que vous voulez.

    -L'arsenal de notre héros est simple, mais intéressante. Vous avez 4 catégorie d'armes:
    Standard Pistolet, fusil pompe et fusil d'assault.
    Lourd Lance-greandes, fusil fusion et générateur de champs magnétiques.
    Énergie Épée laser, pistolet laser et fusil EMP.
    Éxotiques Crystal, Viral Proliferator et l'anelid lanceur de vers infectés.
    À vous de voir ce qui vous plaira. Chaque catégorie approte différentes tactiques.

    -La musique est bien souvent électronique et rythmé. Elle vous préparera mentalement exterminer tout danger qui osera vous défier. (Cela ne veut pas dire que vous pouvez tirer partout comme un fou haha).

    -Les graphiques ont un peu mal vieillit. Il ne sont pas d'est plus affreux, mais même en 1999 il se faisait mieux. Des taches de sang sur le sol, des ordinateur mise en pièces, des murs marqué de griffures énormes rendent l'environnement plus réel et l'on peut facile s'imaginer quel genre de massacre il y a eu dans les couloirs du Van Braun. *Des mods sont disponibles pour améliorer l'apparence des personnages et les textures de l'environnement. Vous trouverez tout rapidement sur google.

    -Les contrôles sont un peu diffciles commencement, mais après une heure y jouer vous n'aurez plus aucun problème rapidement aller dans votre inventaire, utiliser un objet, changer d'arme ou de munitions et vérifier vos objectifs. N'utiliser pas de manette, le jeu été fait pour la souris et le clavier.

    -Le level design peut paraître labyrinthique et se perdre peut arriver, mais si vous jeter de rapides coup d'oeil votre map et vous assurez de bien savoir les informations relié votre objectif, tout ira bien. Une mini-map peut être afficher si vous cocher l'option disponible quand vous regarder votre map. Le Van Braun est ÉNORME. On se sent tout petit dans cet énorme vaisseau et cela immerse vraiment le joueur. Des couloirs, des laboratoires, des chambres et salles de mahcines, il y a de tout!

    System Shock 2 en vaut vraiment la peine, c'est une expérience vivre et moins de 10$ sur Steam, vous seriez fou de passer coté. J'espère que mon review vous a plus, merci.
    Expand
  20. Jul 7, 2013
    9
    It pains me to see, after this RPG master-piece, the path which Irrational Games took. From pure RPG games with shooting elements to the latest "Call of Duty" Infinite with barely any trace of RPG. But, I guess, its what today's gaming public wants... Shame.
  21. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    When a game like this is still being talked about and still given recognition 14 years from when it was released, that means a lot. This game has defined the FPS/Survival horror genre so that all the others before it could be inspired. It has also innovated storytelling and having a villain in a game that gets you really involved in what's going on. SHODAN is still considered one of theWhen a game like this is still being talked about and still given recognition 14 years from when it was released, that means a lot. This game has defined the FPS/Survival horror genre so that all the others before it could be inspired. It has also innovated storytelling and having a villain in a game that gets you really involved in what's going on. SHODAN is still considered one of the greatest video game characters and villains of all time. This game has had a profound impact on games and I believe if they made a 100 greatest games of all times list 100 years from now, System Shock 2 would be on the list. Expand
  22. BBarage
    Sep 4, 2007
    10
    Everything that Bioshock should have been. I'll take the less impressive graphics of SS2 and stellar replay/gameplay over the stellar graphics of Bioshock and lacking replay/gameplay. If you've played Bioshock, you owe it to yourself to find a copy of SS2 and see what could have been!
  23. Col
    Apr 25, 2005
    10
    SS2 is simply the best PC game Ive ever played. I got it around 4 years ago in a PC game bundle and was blown away. Ridiculously atmospheric, great for allowing different approaches and a stunning plot make this a classic. This one goes up to 11!
  24. AndrewG.
    Jan 13, 2008
    10
    Probably inferior to Half-Life in its scenic variety and execution - but a far more compelling story, with intelligent and very well balanced rpg elements - Story and depth - this is as games should be. Better than BioShock, by a country mile. We need a System Shock 3.
  25. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    Best survival horror I have ever played. This is a game wear I actually was scared a few times, and the tension of every shot having to count is pulled of perfectly.
  26. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    A Masterpiece, why this game hasn't had a HD remake is beyond me. A terrifying and clever take on the original with brilliant writing by the always magnificent Ken Levine.
  27. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    Well let's go with this. It's in my top 5 single player games.
    Survival horror, FPS RPG, a fascinating story and world, memorable characters, solid OST and replay value.
    Can't truly go into details without giving spoilers! It does slip up towards the end though when things become rushed, level design quality drops and there's a terrible mandatory platforming section that never showed up
    Well let's go with this. It's in my top 5 single player games.
    Survival horror, FPS RPG, a fascinating story and world, memorable characters, solid OST and replay value.
    Can't truly go into details without giving spoilers!
    It does slip up towards the end though when things become rushed, level design quality drops and there's a terrible mandatory platforming section that never showed up in the previous 17 hours of the game.
    Expand
  28. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    What else to say? Other comments said everything that has to be said. A simply masterpiece done by Looking Glass.
  29. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    Nothing short of the best game I have ever played, and ive played a fecking LOT of games. Sadly, they just don't make them like this anymore. While modern games look prettier, and are far more technically accomplished, none of them are half as immersive as this game was and still is to this day. Everyone should give this game a chance and try to look past its age visuals, because it trulyNothing short of the best game I have ever played, and ive played a fecking LOT of games. Sadly, they just don't make them like this anymore. While modern games look prettier, and are far more technically accomplished, none of them are half as immersive as this game was and still is to this day. Everyone should give this game a chance and try to look past its age visuals, because it truly is one of the greatest games every developed. Expand
  30. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    This game is one of my all time favorites, not because it's good graphic or fancy characters, but the awesome story and epic atmosphere. Too bad, current games are lacking those elements. I am waiting for the new episode more than 10 years now, and still hoping someone can do it right!
    Best mix in FPS-RPG elements, just like Deus Ex one.
  31. Aug 9, 2011
    10
    I remember buying it in 1999. Still it is the best game I ever played. The complexity of the story and the gameplay. You can really immerse into the atmosphere. There are so many objects to use. You can play it so many different kind of ways. There is no flaws in this game at all. Wish they would create a remake of it with a new graphic engine.
  32. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    I'd consider this one an underground classic. SS2 introduced RPG elements to the FPS genre before it become trendy years later, so in that regard it was ahead of its time. The main drawbacks are that I can't get the game to run on any version of Windows newer than XP, and the weapons are unbalanced (all you really need is the Assault Rifle, provided you have enough ammo). Aside from thoseI'd consider this one an underground classic. SS2 introduced RPG elements to the FPS genre before it become trendy years later, so in that regard it was ahead of its time. The main drawbacks are that I can't get the game to run on any version of Windows newer than XP, and the weapons are unbalanced (all you really need is the Assault Rifle, provided you have enough ammo). Aside from those negative points, you can hack computer terminals and turrets, kill aliens and rip out their organs to research their weaknesses, get more intel on the game plot through emails and audio logs, and acquire psionic disciplines (akin to magic powers, but a Psi-Amp is required). Bioshock's resemblance in gameplay is no coincidence. It's also worth noting the survival horror element of the game - it's a creepy atmosphere all around. It's like a cyberpunk Resident Evil. Overall, I consider System Shock 2 to be a cult classic in the gaming industry. A must play at some point in your life. Expand
  33. May 29, 2013
    8
    I played this game in 2013, after playing Bioshock 1 & 2 and in anticipation of buying Bioshock Infinite. The game almost lost me in the beginning. It took a couple hours to adapt to the dated graphics, but after that the plot helped my imagination add in as many polygons as I wanted. This game holds up remarkably well for its age. I feel like its only major flaw is extremely steepI played this game in 2013, after playing Bioshock 1 & 2 and in anticipation of buying Bioshock Infinite. The game almost lost me in the beginning. It took a couple hours to adapt to the dated graphics, but after that the plot helped my imagination add in as many polygons as I wanted. This game holds up remarkably well for its age. I feel like its only major flaw is extremely steep learning curve of the first deck. I could have used more hand holding or more restricted options. I quickly discovered that I had chosen poorly in regards to my specializations. After a couple hours of frustration and a restart with new selections, I found my pace and was enjoying myself. I had minor issues with the map and menu systems. With a minor facelift this game could pass as a 2012 release. Expand
  34. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Having never found the game in 99 to buy i picked it up on GOG after having played the demo in 99. I must say it makes Deus EX look like a dumbed down console tard game! System shock 2 is the best GAME EVER MADE. All kinds of options and skills and weapons. Scary as hell and a story that is top notch. The RPG elements are great and the skills and just beg you to replay it. The coop is alsoHaving never found the game in 99 to buy i picked it up on GOG after having played the demo in 99. I must say it makes Deus EX look like a dumbed down console tard game! System shock 2 is the best GAME EVER MADE. All kinds of options and skills and weapons. Scary as hell and a story that is top notch. The RPG elements are great and the skills and just beg you to replay it. The coop is also great and doesn't cause to many problems with one person. GET IT ON GOG or STEAM SOON! Expand
  35. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    One of my fellow reviewers, ShaunDerichuk, evidently has bad taste in games, because this was one of the leading pioneers in both horror and 3D gaming. It has genuine suspense, tragedy, action, strategy, and it's graphics haven't aged well...in the RIGHT way. The enemy's jerky movements are genuinely unsettling and paired with their cries for help and warnings towards you to run, evenOne of my fellow reviewers, ShaunDerichuk, evidently has bad taste in games, because this was one of the leading pioneers in both horror and 3D gaming. It has genuine suspense, tragedy, action, strategy, and it's graphics haven't aged well...in the RIGHT way. The enemy's jerky movements are genuinely unsettling and paired with their cries for help and warnings towards you to run, even apologizing to you, is piss-your-pants in terror scary. Security cameras are worthy adversaries, causing lengthy alarms if triggered that make you truly think about whether to fight or flee, the turrets are tough and can kill you easily, and equiptment like chemicals for research or maintenance tools are hard to come by. Even RESPAWNING requires strategy, because it requires you to manually activate a machine and pay money to use it. Come to thing of it, money is used for EVERYTHING, which makes it really important to budget out. You can't really be a 'Jack-of-all trades' in this game, so don't expect to be able to hack with your toes while pulling off head shots with a laser and repairing a grenade launcher, while also doing in depth research on ancient alien brains and running really fast. This is a severely underrated gem that is one of the games you HAVE to play before you die. Expand
  36. May 31, 2013
    9
    One of the best survival-horror kind with some RPG element! The game didnt old good at all, but if you don't like the graphics, there is Mods now where u can retexture about everything. Everyone that called themselves PC players, should play at this at least once.
  37. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    System Shock 2 is simply one of the greatest games ever!
    It's VERY atmospheric and it's an only FPS game in my Top5 list of all times
    (others are: Heroes 3 wog, X-Com 1/2, Master of Orion 2 and Civilization series).
    10 out of 10 -
    Strongly recommended!
  38. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    It's the best game I have ever played I really would like to back to the past and play this game for the first time. I can't understand why there are 10 negative opinions. Game is just perfect. Especially I love the soundtrack of "SS2" Eric Brosius is a genius. Thanks to him this game is so climatic. Now I am going to turn on this game again
  39. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    One of my favourite single player experiences of all time! Truly an amazing game. The gameplay is very fun, being a shooter with RPG elements but it strikes the perfect balance. Heaps of logs (that are all voiced) that give lots of detail to the story. Great story and Shodan is one of the best characters very made! The atmosphere is perfect and the item management is challenging and fun!One of my favourite single player experiences of all time! Truly an amazing game. The gameplay is very fun, being a shooter with RPG elements but it strikes the perfect balance. Heaps of logs (that are all voiced) that give lots of detail to the story. Great story and Shodan is one of the best characters very made! The atmosphere is perfect and the item management is challenging and fun!

    This game is truly a flawless shooter.
    Expand
  40. DanielF.
    Jul 15, 2003
    10
    Certainly one of the best games I have ever played. A real classic!
  41. DemonicAngel
    Nov 5, 2004
    9
    Extraordinary. System Shock 2 combines FPS action, a nicely-thought-out character building system, a genuinely frightening atmosphere and a superbly-told story into a package which, despite its faults, stands as one of the finest and most gripping interactive experiences ever, even 5 years after its release. Utterly indispensable.
  42. JohnLama
    Mar 3, 2008
    10
    This is such an easy review, it's the greatest game ever made. If you haven't played it, get it now! Don't think I've over hyped this game, you can't it really is that good. If you are a game developer reading this, please, please play this game and learn from it. We don't need another boring shooter with no atmosphere and a plot to fall asleep to. We need aThis is such an easy review, it's the greatest game ever made. If you haven't played it, get it now! Don't think I've over hyped this game, you can't it really is that good. If you are a game developer reading this, please, please play this game and learn from it. We don't need another boring shooter with no atmosphere and a plot to fall asleep to. We need a System Shock 3. Expand
  43. MichalW.
    Dec 5, 2003
    10
    There are only two games in history that can compare to it - Thief and Deus Ex. It's simply a masterpiece.
  44. DanielSill
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    I spend about 2 weeks locating patches, hacks & add-ons to make it run under Vista32. Still a great game!! I graphics were dated at its release, but the audio more than made up the difference. I believe it is still one of the creepiest game audio experiences there is to be had.
  45. K.M.
    Nov 16, 2004
    10
    In this day and age where the typical FPS game has more style than substance, this game, despite its age, is a welcome breath of fresh air. I've almost never come across a game so well-crafted, and I've played a lot of PC games. From its believable characters, deep plot, immersive atmosphere (read: spooky), exquisite sound and art, System Shock 2 delivers in every way. It is a In this day and age where the typical FPS game has more style than substance, this game, despite its age, is a welcome breath of fresh air. I've almost never come across a game so well-crafted, and I've played a lot of PC games. From its believable characters, deep plot, immersive atmosphere (read: spooky), exquisite sound and art, System Shock 2 delivers in every way. It is a successful marriage of several game genres. Although FPS games nowadays may be fused with better graphics and sound, very few can come close to the production values and innovation of this game. Unforgettable. A classic in PC gaming. Expand
  46. MattM.
    Apr 8, 2004
    10
    The multiplayer patch added later enhances the game immeasurably. Suddenly you and four friends have the freedom to specialize in different skill areas and team up against any enemy you come across - or split up and complete objectives separately to make it through the game faster. Coop is -so much fun- that for a period of 6 months I played it exclusively. I've never seen another The multiplayer patch added later enhances the game immeasurably. Suddenly you and four friends have the freedom to specialize in different skill areas and team up against any enemy you come across - or split up and complete objectives separately to make it through the game faster. Coop is -so much fun- that for a period of 6 months I played it exclusively. I've never seen another game approach anything like this, in the 5 years since its release. Expand
  47. BrettM.
    Dec 17, 2008
    10
    Playing this for the first time 10 years after its release, it still impressed me enough with the gameplay, story and atmosphere to rank it in my top five games of all time. Wanting to see how good a modern remake of it could be, I tried playing Bioshock, and now I weep for modern video gaming. Seriously, if we've digressed this much, I pity our future generations. SS2>>>>bioshock Playing this for the first time 10 years after its release, it still impressed me enough with the gameplay, story and atmosphere to rank it in my top five games of all time. Wanting to see how good a modern remake of it could be, I tried playing Bioshock, and now I weep for modern video gaming. Seriously, if we've digressed this much, I pity our future generations. SS2>>>>bioshock (and most other games for that matter). Expand
  48. WagnerT.
    Dec 12, 2002
    10
    Clearly, one of the all-time greats!
  49. JAG
    Dec 25, 2003
    10
    System shcok 2 is among my list of Best Games Ever, and considering all the pcgames I've played, that is high praise. Not for newbs, and definently not for console kiddies, but for everyone else, ENJOY!
  50. BalazsS.
    May 28, 2006
    10
    Forget Half Life or Doom forever! This game is still my favourite of all!
  51. SHODAN
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    Very intelligent game design with near flawless execution. The art and sound direction contructs a thoroughly believable, atmospheric setting laden heavily with tension. It really does seem that you are 6.5 billion miles from Earth, utterly on your own, and that the ships were once well lived in. The nature of the antagonist as all-pervasive is brilliant in instilling a sense of futility. Very intelligent game design with near flawless execution. The art and sound direction contructs a thoroughly believable, atmospheric setting laden heavily with tension. It really does seem that you are 6.5 billion miles from Earth, utterly on your own, and that the ships were once well lived in. The nature of the antagonist as all-pervasive is brilliant in instilling a sense of futility. There are just so many design decisions here that seem so well thought out, even insightful. Brilliant. Expand
  52. PeteD
    Feb 17, 2008
    10
    All I can say, is that I love this game so much, that if I were to win the lottery, I would hunt down all the previous developers of this game, and hire them to make a system shock 3. I would then publish it, and the computer gaming world would be sent into a frenzy. Nobody would be able to get enough of it, because it would be the most perfect game ever made. And this version wouldAll I can say, is that I love this game so much, that if I were to win the lottery, I would hunt down all the previous developers of this game, and hire them to make a system shock 3. I would then publish it, and the computer gaming world would be sent into a frenzy. Nobody would be able to get enough of it, because it would be the most perfect game ever made. And this version would have the multiplayer built in, in an easy to use way.
    One of my absolute top 10, no, top 5 games.
    I'm wanting to play this game again, but it doesn't run on my new computer. Dumb new technology...
    Expand
  53. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    One of the most memorable, thrilling and exciting games I've ever played on a PC. Or for that matter on any platform. And I've played computer and video games over 20 years. A classic, this one is.
  54. Feb 3, 2013
    9
    Amazing game. Everything is polished and well-made: complex level design and inspired environments(for 1999, at least), excellent sound, great electronic music, good story, multi-dimensional and fleshed-out characters you never actually meet and yet you care about them, mostly balanced RPG elements, which allow multiple ways to develop your character thus enabling high replay value. TheAmazing game. Everything is polished and well-made: complex level design and inspired environments(for 1999, at least), excellent sound, great electronic music, good story, multi-dimensional and fleshed-out characters you never actually meet and yet you care about them, mostly balanced RPG elements, which allow multiple ways to develop your character thus enabling high replay value. The atmosphere isn't as soul-crushing and horrifying as it probably was when released, but it's still there for the most of the time. Sometimes it's brutally hard and does have some stupid design choices(once the script required me to buy some item in order to continue the story, but I lacked the necessary resources, so I was forced to scavange the entire ship for the remains).Note that, this review isn't coming from someone suffering from nostalgia goggles. I played Bioshock and Bioshock 2 before System Shock 2 and in my opinion this cyberpunk-themed masterpiece surpasses both of them in every way imaginable(except for graphics, of course). Strongly advised, especially for Bioshock fans, who must see what their object of fascination basically was: an OK steampunk-dieselpunk game which takes gameplay concepts, story structure and even characters from System Shock 2 and "streamlines" it. In all, a must-have without any doubt, despite the game showing it's age Expand
  55. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    Visually dated, but SS2 is still as adept at creating an immersive, tense atmosphere as it was in 1999. Ultima Underworld in space, massively influential and with a narrative every bit as engaging as its gameplay. One of the best PC games ever made, no question.
  56. Apr 17, 2014
    10
    First time playing it, it reminds me of Half Life in terms of graphics. But the more I play it, the more I realize just how deep this experience is. They don't make games like this, anymore. Highly recommended. 10 out of 10.
  57. Dec 2, 2013
    9
    Tense. Scary. Deep. Gripping.

    A wonderful experience for a BioShock fan like me, uncovering how the series was born and finding a story just as interesting as Rapture and gameplay way more satisfying than I could have imagined. The fights in this are some of the most white knuckle moments I've had in a game, playing out more like a really high pressure MMORPG battle than the simple
    Tense. Scary. Deep. Gripping.

    A wonderful experience for a BioShock fan like me, uncovering how the series was born and finding a story just as interesting as Rapture and gameplay way more satisfying than I could have imagined. The fights in this are some of the most white knuckle moments I've had in a game, playing out more like a really high pressure MMORPG battle than the simple shooters future entries were. I encourage anyone who loves good survival gameplay, where you really have to think about what supplies you have and what build your character is, to try this out.

    And of course, that story.
    That AMAZING story.

    Definitely a classic worth embracing if you have the time.
    Expand
  58. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    The greatest RPG/ FPS/ Horror game ever made. (How many of those are there anyways?) It has some great RPG elements where what skills you choose will greatly affect your performance, and yet the shooting gameplay is still really good, unlike certain RPG/FPS games today where one aspect always tends to overshadow the other (*cough*Fallout 3*cough*) It has a great, scary atmosphere, and theThe greatest RPG/ FPS/ Horror game ever made. (How many of those are there anyways?) It has some great RPG elements where what skills you choose will greatly affect your performance, and yet the shooting gameplay is still really good, unlike certain RPG/FPS games today where one aspect always tends to overshadow the other (*cough*Fallout 3*cough*) It has a great, scary atmosphere, and the story is amazing. This game came out almost 15 years ago and yet most games today have not even come close to being as consistently great as this game. Expand
  59. Oct 16, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. System Shock 2 is not only one of the best games I've ever played but it's one of the scariest as well.
    This game has every thing a good should have, a great story, great atmosphere, terrific voice action, great gameplay, a great tutorial level, real scares, great level design, and one of the best plot twists ever. The plot twist is so big it easily rivals Bioshock infinite's ending.
    Expand
  60. Rem
    Sep 28, 2014
    8
    System Shock 2 presents an interesting layout, you are a military recruit fresh off training stationed at the Von Braun and when like any other game, it all goes horribly wrong. I won't dive into too much plot detail but if you have ever played a Bioshock game, System Shock 2 plays similarly, so much so that it is only recognizable to fans of the Bioshock franchise. However the differenceSystem Shock 2 presents an interesting layout, you are a military recruit fresh off training stationed at the Von Braun and when like any other game, it all goes horribly wrong. I won't dive into too much plot detail but if you have ever played a Bioshock game, System Shock 2 plays similarly, so much so that it is only recognizable to fans of the Bioshock franchise. However the difference between this and its spiritual successor is that System Shock 2 has stronger rpg elements and is more unforgiving. Even with the limited engine of Thief running it, the developers manages to make the game not scary, but rather atmospheric and eerie to a point where noise gave me the chills. The sound design in this game is also fantastic, as it serves the gameplay by identifying which enemy is to be expected. I recommend turning the music off, not only to help the mood and ambiance of the game, but also the soundtrack has a rather uninspired midi-techno that dulls rather than elevates the game. However additional problems also extend into the game with hit detection, predictable and exploitable AI, and the final quarter of the game which loses steam and interest w/ an ending that leaves much to be desired. However, none of this holds back one of the finer PC games back in the Golden Age of shooters and the seat of atmosphere that led to the creation of the Bioshock franchise. Expand
  61. Apr 6, 2015
    10
    I've been a huge fan of this game since it came out in '99. Everything comes together in this low-fi horror game set in sci-fi future space. The interface is a joy to use and feels just complicated enough to keep things interesting while being intuitive. You never get a chance to rest for long and activating your inventory does not pause the game. This lends to incredible immersion.I've been a huge fan of this game since it came out in '99. Everything comes together in this low-fi horror game set in sci-fi future space. The interface is a joy to use and feels just complicated enough to keep things interesting while being intuitive. You never get a chance to rest for long and activating your inventory does not pause the game. This lends to incredible immersion. Audio design is top notch. Shodan, Xerxes, The Many...all excellently crafted. There's a million other things to say about this game, but If I were to say just one more thing, I'd tell you that there is a reason after all these years that this game can be re-released and still gets 90+ on Metacritic. The reason is, it's a game not to be missed by anyone. Expand
  62. sft
    Jan 12, 2015
    8
    Shockingly good

    Despite being a 16-year-old game SYSTEM SHOCK 2 has a lot to offer. Yes the graphics look very dated when compared to today’s games but they can be improved by the mod packs readily available online. And it’s really only the visual differences that set this game aside from contemporary titles. It’s immediately obvious that SS2 is the progenitor of the excellent Bioshock
    Shockingly good

    Despite being a 16-year-old game SYSTEM SHOCK 2 has a lot to offer. Yes the graphics look very dated when compared to today’s games but they can be improved by the mod packs readily available online. And it’s really only the visual differences that set this game aside from contemporary titles. It’s immediately obvious that SS2 is the progenitor of the excellent Bioshock series. There’s a strong storyline backed by first-rate voice acting. The combat is okay given the game’s age, and the RPG elements are convincing. Personally, I’m not a fan of weapon degradation and repair (thankfully dropped in the Bioshock games) but otherwise the gameplay design is very good. You can pick this game up very cheaply these days and if you want a nostalgic wander down Video Game Lane you can’t go far wrong with this.
    Expand
  63. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    A fine, fine game. One of the best games ever created, System Shock 2 pioneered the FPS RPG hybrid and created an immensely potent atmosphere at the same time, and on top of that, it has aged surprisingly well. The graphics may seem dated but the audio design is superb, the atmosphere engrossing and unnerving, and the gameplay surprisingly 'fun' and visceral. I cannot reccommend this game enough.
  64. Aug 16, 2013
    8
    Amazing atmosphere, in terms of both audio and graphics. The gameplay is a little dated, mostly in terms of melee combat, but it doesn't really bother you that much once you get acclimated to it.

    The ending, which most people seem to be really fond of, isn't really for me though, and kind of on the atmosphere that the entire game was creating, which I didn't appreciate. Still a great
    Amazing atmosphere, in terms of both audio and graphics. The gameplay is a little dated, mostly in terms of melee combat, but it doesn't really bother you that much once you get acclimated to it.

    The ending, which most people seem to be really fond of, isn't really for me though, and kind of on the atmosphere that the entire game was creating, which I didn't appreciate. Still a great game despite that.
    Expand
  65. Sep 13, 2013
    9
    Needs comic relief, but it is one of the best FPS RPG Horror games i have ever had the honor to play.
    However i found the Multiplayer to be lacking, and the voice of SHODAN to be hard to understand with all the distortion.
  66. Jul 2, 2014
    8
    Creepy. Entertaining. Brutally challenging. This game will test your will and your guts. It is EXTREMELY tough and will challenge you even on Easy, but the narrative is what drove me to complete it. This is a very grotesque game, set in the farthest reaches of space. A setting I personally like because of its isolation. It is VERY creepy. Perfectly incites horror on a star ship 57 trillionCreepy. Entertaining. Brutally challenging. This game will test your will and your guts. It is EXTREMELY tough and will challenge you even on Easy, but the narrative is what drove me to complete it. This is a very grotesque game, set in the farthest reaches of space. A setting I personally like because of its isolation. It is VERY creepy. Perfectly incites horror on a star ship 57 trillion miles away from Earth, hallways echo with moans of creatures, and looking out windows you can see the bleakness of space. The narrative is intriguing but lets down a bit towards the very end. IF you seek to challenge yourself ALOT yet enjoy an interesting sci-fi horror story at the same time, this is your game. Expand
  67. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    For the time, when this game was released, it was the perfect FPS game. The graphics were great. The sounds and music still work their charm and aged well. The gameplay is still top-tier. The massively successful bioshock franchise is the spiritual successor to this game. There are graphics overhauls to make the game appear more modern, along with the sounds and story this game canFor the time, when this game was released, it was the perfect FPS game. The graphics were great. The sounds and music still work their charm and aged well. The gameplay is still top-tier. The massively successful bioshock franchise is the spiritual successor to this game. There are graphics overhauls to make the game appear more modern, along with the sounds and story this game can still be greatly enjoyed. Expand
  68. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    Ahh, System Shock 2 the word 'classic' gets thrown around a lot these days where games are concerned (justifiably so in some cases, not so in others), but this game deserves that handle and then some.

    This piece of gaming magic was one of the very first proper RPG-style games I ever played (got a late start in the genre) and I was hooked right from day one. The atmosphere of the
    Ahh, System Shock 2 the word 'classic' gets thrown around a lot these days where games are concerned (justifiably so in some cases, not so in others), but this game deserves that handle and then some.

    This piece of gaming magic was one of the very first proper RPG-style games I ever played (got a late start in the genre) and I was hooked right from day one. The atmosphere of the deserted hallways on the Von Braun is still, in my view, the finest piece of game design I've ever seen. (The haunted hotel from VtM: Bloodlines comes second brr!) The RPG elements (stats and such) are detailed enough to allow a wide range of character builds catering to various play styles but not so onerous as to induce boredom with the whole thing. True, the graphics are prehistoric compared with what we're used to nowadays but with a game that plays this well, who cares??

    After nearly fifteen years of gaming across various systems and generations and having played some truly fine games (and others not so, for my sins) System Shock 2 holds a place of honour on my gaming roster and shows no signs of being ousted any time soon.
    Expand
  69. Nov 10, 2013
    9
    A pioneer in the Sci-fi Horror genre. The game has an a gripping story (you don't need to play the first one to understand thi one), great atmosphere and really satisfying gameplay, even after all these years since it was released. If you have a chance buy it, and enjoy the game that made the Bioshock and Dead Space franchises happen
  70. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    Probably one of the best games ever made, not just a short jaunt through a frag fest this game requires thought and innovation on the part of the player. The class system is very intensivley done and you can pick from multiple class's to make very believable subclasses all starting with your original choices for career path in the military.

    It is worth any hardcore gamers time to pick
    Probably one of the best games ever made, not just a short jaunt through a frag fest this game requires thought and innovation on the part of the player. The class system is very intensivley done and you can pick from multiple class's to make very believable subclasses all starting with your original choices for career path in the military.

    It is worth any hardcore gamers time to pick up this game and play it through to the end, as the story is very compelling. I never played system Shock 1 but when I started this game it made me want to. The graphics are a bit outdated by now but There are several individuals who have gone through this game to reskin and upgrade the textures. One such mod is called SS2 Rebirth, but there are others.
    Expand
  71. Jul 30, 2014
    10
    Finally! After 15 long years, I was fortunate enough to experience supposedly one of the best pieces of pc gaming history that missed me in it's time, and.... yes, it's a masterpiece! SHODAN is one of the best villains ever, retrospective story told in the found audio logs is extremely effective, atmosphere and all the game mechanics are fantastic. Deus Ex still holds the crown in thisFinally! After 15 long years, I was fortunate enough to experience supposedly one of the best pieces of pc gaming history that missed me in it's time, and.... yes, it's a masterpiece! SHODAN is one of the best villains ever, retrospective story told in the found audio logs is extremely effective, atmosphere and all the game mechanics are fantastic. Deus Ex still holds the crown in this category for me, but it's important to realize that SS2 came before that and have been a huge source of inspiration, which you can feel in every corner. I was a bit surprised by quite hard difficulty, but that added even more dread and tension to the overall experience. True PC gaming gem. 10/10 Expand
  72. Aug 28, 2014
    10
    Made account to review this game. System Shock 2 (which I just completed with graphics mods installed) was equally as enjoyable as Deus Ex on first playthough, which was fantastic. The game starts off slow but after a few hours I was hooked. What I'd like to know is why the BioShock games feel like less of an experience compared to SS2. Sure they have way better graphics, physics, etc, butMade account to review this game. System Shock 2 (which I just completed with graphics mods installed) was equally as enjoyable as Deus Ex on first playthough, which was fantastic. The game starts off slow but after a few hours I was hooked. What I'd like to know is why the BioShock games feel like less of an experience compared to SS2. Sure they have way better graphics, physics, etc, but in no way shape or form were the BioShock games as enjoyable or as compelling as SS2. Not even close. I wish I never played any of the BioShock games and just played SS2. You know what--burn in hell BioShock. Forever. Expand
  73. Oct 8, 2010
    10
    How awesome is this game? Well - I've played it for the first time in 2007, right after I have finished playing Bioshock and OH MY GOD, SS2 just dominated it.... SO DAMN MUCH. It is a really unique game - one of few games, which manages to combine perfectly cRPG with a shooter - no really, I was very disappointed with Bioshock, Fallout 3 and even Mass Effect 2. SS2 is just so damn good.How awesome is this game? Well - I've played it for the first time in 2007, right after I have finished playing Bioshock and OH MY GOD, SS2 just dominated it.... SO DAMN MUCH. It is a really unique game - one of few games, which manages to combine perfectly cRPG with a shooter - no really, I was very disappointed with Bioshock, Fallout 3 and even Mass Effect 2. SS2 is just so damn good. Sure, the graphics are kind of ugly now, but the game is just so original, so complicated and at the same time, so player-friendly. It shows a beautiful and convincing vision of future - combine it with really great gaming mechanics, good plot, great sounds, beautiful music, huge replayability and even 4 player COOP - and you get System Shock 2. Yeah, the game has some worse moments, but playing it is just so fun, that it makes you forgive about anything that's bad about it (and there's not many bad things about it). If there's a game which makes any new game looks bad and 'brainless', it's System Shock 2. My favorite game of all times and well-deserved 10/10. Expand
  74. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    una obra de arte, un juego de culto, todo en uno, en los inicios de la carrera de los mejores programadores de todos los tiempos como lo es Ken Levin, famoso por sus 2 obras de arte: System Shock 2 y Bioshock, un juego que no debe perderse, que gano premios, que se convirtio en un titulo de culto, una jugabilidad impresionante, y una historia que es simplemente fantastica.
  75. Oct 12, 2013
    7
    It's an ok game. An interesting storyline, amazing level design and progression, not to mention open character delevopment and many different ways to solve puzzles and kill enemies. Annoying and broken combat (wrench ftw), many ways to abuse shortcomings anout it. Personally I hated hacking minigames. Anyway, it's a superior title to almost all next gen productions and you can clearly seeIt's an ok game. An interesting storyline, amazing level design and progression, not to mention open character delevopment and many different ways to solve puzzles and kill enemies. Annoying and broken combat (wrench ftw), many ways to abuse shortcomings anout it. Personally I hated hacking minigames. Anyway, it's a superior title to almost all next gen productions and you can clearly see dumbing down process if you compare this to its "spiritual successors" of Bioshock series. Expand
  76. Apr 5, 2014
    10
    A landmark game to be sure. The RPG elements were well implemented, allowing for many different playstyles and adding to the replayability. The atmosphere is great, the plot is well developed, SHODAN is a great villain and this game is very scary.
  77. Jul 16, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. System Shock 2 is one of the greatest games of all time. This is one of the most claustrophobic, scariest, creepiest, pulse-pounding, heart-racing, adrenaline-pumping, games I've ever played. The music score really gets you ready for anything and puts you on the edge of your seat. This game isn't full of jump scares either. It has great atmosphere. The hybrids have the scariest voice I've ever heard. The game's graphics are dated but that's about all. I don't even care about graphics. I care about gameplay. The gameplay is pretty good too. It uses the dark engine which the first two Thief games use. The game also has one of the greatest reveals in video game history and THE greatest villain in video game history, SHODAN. SHODAN is on almost every Top 10 video game villains list I've seen. System Shock 2 is also an RPG. It is actually my favorite RPG. The game takes place in space on board the starship Von Braun. The game is very intense. I highly recommend this game! Expand
  78. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    Extremely deep PC game and I like how this one of the few PC exclusives now and its very well done all the sound effects and audio logs much better than that crappy overrated piece of crap Bioshock came after this and this is the best of all of the Shocks games
  79. Dec 29, 2014
    3
    This is a famous and highly praised game. Unfortunately I cannot share the enthusiasm: for me it was one large ride of frustration and agony. The game is from 1999 so the graphics are dated but that's not the main problem. The lack of clues makes you pretty much run around for hours. For example in one level you need an access card which can be found on a corpse in a basement which I justThis is a famous and highly praised game. Unfortunately I cannot share the enthusiasm: for me it was one large ride of frustration and agony. The game is from 1999 so the graphics are dated but that's not the main problem. The lack of clues makes you pretty much run around for hours. For example in one level you need an access card which can be found on a corpse in a basement which I just overlooked. Ammo is scarce so you end up using the hand weapon most of the time. However this weapon doesn't work all the time and especially enemies on the ground (e.g. monkeys, spiders, worms) are hard to hit. Also be aware that enemies re-spawn. So after you clear a floor to have a quiet look around, suddenly they reappear and you can start over. Weapons eventually jam which adds up to the annoyance. On top of that there was a bug in the game that cybernetic modules didn't get registered so I had to start over. This is all unfortunate because the game has potential. I would only recommend it to gamers who doesn't care to take hours to explore whole levels. Expand
  80. Oct 19, 2014
    10
    Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect!Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Expand
  81. Jaegar
    Oct 6, 2003
    7
    It cannot be helped. I'm a veteran in this game series. I've played sshock1 through about 10 times and I loved it. Maybe it's just me but I was a bit disappointed. Where did all the cyborgs go? Don't get me wrong I like the game and it's good but I compare it to sshock1 and that cut's the points down. Hopefully WHEN the sshock3 is for sale (I hope for their It cannot be helped. I'm a veteran in this game series. I've played sshock1 through about 10 times and I loved it. Maybe it's just me but I was a bit disappointed. Where did all the cyborgs go? Don't get me wrong I like the game and it's good but I compare it to sshock1 and that cut's the points down. Hopefully WHEN the sshock3 is for sale (I hope for their sake that they'll make one) it has cyborgs and more guns better puzles and even thicker plot. Expand
  82. KittenYuna
    Dec 30, 2002
    10
    This game is brilliant. not one for all you f..king noobs who can only play counterstrike though.
  83. May 10, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game still give me the shivers.
    It was the game that defined the entire RPS genre as well as the idea of betrayals.
    It isn't filled with enemies to fight, instead it is a game about being better than them. Find their weaknesses and conserve your ammo, cause you will be short for most of the game. And because of that and the sneaky placement of enemies (and the way they attack) you sneak around peeking into new rooms, hoping more often than not that there are no enemies or cameras. Thinking "I have this much ammo, but when I kill that guy three more will show up..." There were literally times when I had no ammo at all, and was forced to wrench down even rather brawny enemies (loader robots, stupid but dangerous).
    Incidentally this makes the game into a semi-stealthgame, while not intended for that. You really weigh up all options pretty much all the time. Do I hack that camera, do I shoot it, do I ambush the scary guards, do I try to avoid it all?

    And all the while being taunted for my inadequacies... "I-i-i-inseccct", nowhere since have I hated an enemy as much.
    As well as constantly being on the trail of the few other survivors, until finally I catch up to them only to be unable to call to them as they are chased away again.
    And the ghosts... disturbingly unpleasant to say the least. And the enemies, creepy!

    This game is stressful in the good way, moody in the right way.
    Bioshock was the heir to this game, yet none of them ever truly managed to match it's masterful combination of the things I listed, even if they tried valiantly.
    Expand
  84. Mar 26, 2014
    7
    This is one game for "found memories". Yes, then and because it was a sequel to System Shock, it was great. But today, playing it again, brings back all the drawbacks to the front. It is not a game that, by other mean than pure chance, can be won without cheating. There are less and less ammo and resources as you progress and need it more and more. There is more re-re-re-spawning than youThis is one game for "found memories". Yes, then and because it was a sequel to System Shock, it was great. But today, playing it again, brings back all the drawbacks to the front. It is not a game that, by other mean than pure chance, can be won without cheating. There are less and less ammo and resources as you progress and need it more and more. There is more re-re-re-spawning than you can handle with what the game let you have. It's really an unfair game made for cheaters. If, like me, you like to win a game in normal mode with a normal chance then, unless you get it real cheap, stay away from this one. If you do play it, it will still be enjoyable until you leave the Rickenbacker. After that, quit or put up with lots of frustrations or resort to cheating. Expand
  85. May 10, 2013
    2
    Shock 2 ain't no Looking Glass game that's for sure. Comparing it with the original is like calling mud chocolate mouse. Clunky, silly, unscary, slow, predictable....and no cyberspace. Thumbs down.
  86. ShawnDarichuk
    Jul 9, 2008
    0
    This game is broken to the point of being unplayable. I don't get a gun when I start, I'm told that I can't even use the gun I just found (because people in the military don't know what guns are), and my only weapon is a wrench. Wow, isn't that fun.
    Easily the worst PC game ever made.
  87. TheHacker
    Aug 14, 2006
    10
    System Shock 2 received a lukewarm market reception and suffered from the closing of its development studio shortly after release. Despite the obvious troubles Looking Glass were experiencing financially, System Shock 2 was released to universal critical acclaim. And rightly so. Every element of this Science Fiction FPS/RPG is so close to perfection it is almost a religious experience to System Shock 2 received a lukewarm market reception and suffered from the closing of its development studio shortly after release. Despite the obvious troubles Looking Glass were experiencing financially, System Shock 2 was released to universal critical acclaim. And rightly so. Every element of this Science Fiction FPS/RPG is so close to perfection it is almost a religious experience to behold. [***SPOILERS***] Your journey through the halls of the Von Braun on her maiden voyage gone awry is one of wonder, excitement, trepidation and outright terror, all convincingly fit into an RPG that was (for its time) uniquely set in the first person without feeling shoehorned. Character building is balanced, rewarding and essentially requires enough thought and planning to satisfy RPG fanatics without being inaccessible to fans of the more arcade style FPS genre. The interface is clean, clear, informative and functional. Each item has a complete text file attached giving its history, stat requirements and method of use, giving a sense of depth to the System Shock universe and even filling many story gaps from the previous game. The storyline is rich, detailed and full of the kind of incidental information that makes the Lord of the Rings feel like a living breathing world. As mentioned above, each and every item, from weapons and health items to potted plants and bottles of whisky have their own lovingly crafted place in the overarching plot of the System Shock world. Gameplay is closely linked to the main story and follows as a direct sequel to the original game in a manner that would make most Hollywood script writers embarrassed of their work. Each morsel of storyline, sparingly fed to you throughout the game, is like a treasure uncovered, another piece of the jigsaw slotted into place. Coupled with satisfyingly cerebral and often intense combat in both the ranged and melee departments, it still stands out as one of the most well crafted FPS games in existence. Sound is a standout feature, with an attention to detail more acute than is given to entire games. The low hum of machinery, the various computer noises, the inane chatter of the ship's droids and the tormented ramblings of your ill-fated crewmates will all conspire to build a tension so thick that it becomes almost unbearable. Much of the story is told through audio logs from dead or missing crewmates and the voice acting must be heard to be believed. If even one quarter of the games released today had this quality of voice acting, the gaming industry would be a much better place. The single drawback of System Shock 2 is in the graphical department. Whilst the concept design of the Von Braun, the items and the creatures which inhabit the ship are of exceptional quality, the Dark engine didn't allow the game to be a shining example of graphical prowess, even at release. That said, everything is functional and well made, but the low number of polys on the characters is a drawback, however small. System Shock 2 is easily one of the best games ever produced in this world or any other. Smart, tense action backed up by a surprisingly deep character development system makes this the ultimate 'thinking man's shooter' and will be no doubt held in the hearts of gamers as an overlooked gem for many years. Expand
  88. JamesC.
    Sep 4, 2008
    9
    This is the best game in the world ever! Well, at least that
  89. DanielF.
    Jul 14, 2003
    10
    Certainly one of the best games I have ever played. A real classic!
  90. BobB.
    Aug 19, 2003
    10
    It is an awesome game, must have!
  91. [Anonymous]
    Mar 28, 2006
    10
    Great Game.One of the best I ever played. Would like to see a remake of thi game. Having Valve do it.
  92. GRAZZA
    Sep 9, 2008
    9
    Not quite as good as Deus Ex or Half Life for me but still a great game. Scary, atmospheric, great storyline and acting. Graphics are good but not brilliant but what do you expect from a game made in the 90's. Only grime is unlike Deus Ex the game is finished in around 15 hours.
  93. Uter
    May 23, 2003
    8
    It's fun. If you've ever played half life, this plays similarly. It might be just me, but i didn't like the rpg elements. the sound and atmosphere absolutely rule though.
  94. TomW.
    Jul 11, 2003
    9
    Hey, I like Counter-Strike! :P This game mixes the best from the FPS (Shoot 'Em Up) and Survival-Horror genres together into one awesome experience. Could've had about two months more polish though: the cutscenes are rushed, the menus look amateurish, the enemies need more polygons, etc. The sound and atmosphere, however, is fantastic. If you could imagine Alien and Dawn Of The Hey, I like Counter-Strike! :P This game mixes the best from the FPS (Shoot 'Em Up) and Survival-Horror genres together into one awesome experience. Could've had about two months more polish though: the cutscenes are rushed, the menus look amateurish, the enemies need more polygons, etc. The sound and atmosphere, however, is fantastic. If you could imagine Alien and Dawn Of The Dead combined, into a game, I think it would be sort of like this. 9/10 Expand
  95. RichardF.
    Jun 29, 2006
    10
    Quite simply The best PC game I have ever played, dethrowning the previous champ; System Shock One. Terrifying, exciting, and engrossing, with amazing sounds, level design, and plot. Oh, and don't expect to finish it in a weekend, it has plenty of challenges to offer.
  96. Jun 16, 2015
    5
    It is very loosely an rpg, unless you happen to read a walk through that has character development, you're up **** creek without a paddle on a river starving piranha, the lack of ammo almost makes you have to create either a melee or psi fighter.
  97. Jun 18, 2015
    9
    One of the greatest games of all time. An amazing atmosphere that makes you rapidly feel like nowhere is safe inside that ship. Light on the RPG bit, but a very good game.
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. A gaming triumph...More astonishingly, they've created a system of classes and abilities that are so varied that there's a compelling reason to actually play through the game more than once.
  2. A frightening game to the point that I found myself having to take breaks from playing just to ease the tension in my shoulders.
  3. Like RPGs? Like to be scared? System Shock 2 shows that a game can please you on a multitude of levels: visual, auditory, and emotional.