User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 401 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 401

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 9, 2011
    10
    This is one of the greatest and underrated PC games of all time, simply terrifying to play with its unparalleled level of ambient horror this is the RPS that defined the genre and has set the standard for future games in this category. Dead Space/Bioshock/Deus Ex - all the others stem from SS2 and it's no surprise why.
    The gameplay is superior to SS1 and the sound and voice acting are
    some of, if not the best I have ever heard in my years of gaming. To me reviewing this in 2011 after playing it for about 8 years - this is the pinnacle of PC gaming and if you can get your hands on a copy and get it running then you are in for a world of horrific joy! Expand
  2. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    Very possibly the greatest game of all time. Terrifying, well scripted with monstrous twists, atmospheric soundtrack.. the lot. As good as the unofficial sequels (the bioshock series) have been, they simply don't touch this phenomenal piece of work.
  3. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    This game, is quite possibly one of the best ever made. The execution in this product is top-notch, even by today's exacting standards. The atmosphere, frightening, still gives me that creepy feeling on the back of my neck. The NPCs, they seem real, alive with real-issues, all of which drive the story piece by piece. There isn't a single game that I have played to date that is as good as System Shock 2. There are good games, even great games, but this one... I always come back to this one, even a decade later. Sure the graphics are terrible by today's standards, even the controls a tad clunky, but the auditory and psychological experience are second to none.

    This game /can/ be hard. Even seemingly impossibly difficult. That in and of itself is a rare beauty. Too many games nowadays are made for corn-fed calves; this one makes you think, risk, and if you do it right, survive...

    A must have.
    Expand
  4. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    System Shock 2 is the pinnacle of first person gaming to date (2012), modern games can barely stand to its intelligent, innovative and rewarding design. Do NOT think twice, buy it now! But do not expect a walk in the park otherwise Shodan will make you her ****
  5. Apr 30, 2012
    10
    Brilliant atmospheric cyberpunk excellence. System Shock 2 should be looked at back on by all future generations as a shining example of how a game should be made. If your up for some retro gaming this is definately the place to start and it is a horrifying thought that another installment will never be made. This game gives an ongoing sence of desperation and real consequences to the way you develope your character. It was almost as good as System Shock 1 Expand
  6. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    The ultimate masterpiece. Atmosphere, storyline and voice acting are incredible. SHODAN is the best video game villain ever. It's amazing how 13 years old game can still be so gripping and fresh. Only real complaint is a bit unbalanced character progression. For example, Exotic Weapons-skill is almost completely useless.
  7. Apr 5, 2013
    10
    Back in the day when games weren't about achievements or micro-transactions. Nothing in the latter generations comes even close to touching this masterpiece.
  8. Jul 1, 2013
    9
    A glorious game that pretty much invented everything you now know in the modern FPS. Its a shame that future developers decided to loot and dumb-down the mechanics rather than expand and their possibilities. This game plays well even today, clunky interface and all.
  9. Oct 8, 2010
    10
    How awesome is this game? Well - I've played it for the first time in 2007, right after I have finished playing Bioshock and OH MY GOD, SS2 just dominated it.... SO DAMN MUCH. It is a really unique game - one of few games, which manages to combine perfectly cRPG with a shooter - no really, I was very disappointed with Bioshock, Fallout 3 and even Mass Effect 2. SS2 is just so damn good. Sure, the graphics are kind of ugly now, but the game is just so original, so complicated and at the same time, so player-friendly. It shows a beautiful and convincing vision of future - combine it with really great gaming mechanics, good plot, great sounds, beautiful music, huge replayability and even 4 player COOP - and you get System Shock 2. Yeah, the game has some worse moments, but playing it is just so fun, that it makes you forgive about anything that's bad about it (and there's not many bad things about it). If there's a game which makes any new game looks bad and 'brainless', it's System Shock 2. My favorite game of all times and well-deserved 10/10. Expand
  10. May 11, 2013
    10
    Still one of the greatest games ever made. They don't make em like they used to.
  11. Sep 8, 2011
    9
    with a heavy heart i give this a 9 - why would i do this for a game that is amongst my personal top of the finest games ever made? because it could have been more; nonetheless, it is simply one of the most brilliant horror FPS ever made; the game play is certainly immersive - not quite as much as the Thief series (from which SS2 borrowed a lot of the sounds since the same developer (Looking Glass) made both game franchises), but nonetheless incredibly well done; but what i think the game failed to do is to balance all weapons (some are acquired later on and typically quite under-powered and useless, especially since the RPG aspect is so well developed in this game, meaning that a later stages in the game you will already have developed your character to be most proficient in some weaponry - little use are underpowered exotic weapons that your character has little to no skill in using); and the lonely environment is simply not convincing - other attempts in the genre like Dead Space actually do create horror you can feel and thus heighten your feeling of isolation; but in SS2 this feeling never develops because of the vast weaponry at your disposal and the rather pathetic attempts at instigating several encounters with other alive NPCs that then get killed or run off; however, the musical score is superb and creates incredible atmosphere in this game; all in all a definite must-have! Expand
  12. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    This game has one major flaw and sadly it is one of the kind that may leave you disappointed and cast down after playing it. - Most likely there wont ever be any kind of official remake or third part of this series due to legal right issues. At least that is how i feel about whats going on there.

    A lot of aspects about this game are just brilliant. Terri and Eric Brosius work on vocals,
    sound and music just needs to be honored. The level design. Or the way some RPG Elements are implementented in this sci-fi survival shooter too.

    Difficult to find anything similar in todays games where 90% of the budgets just seem to float in graphics and mediocre multiplayer modes.
    Expand
  13. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    una obra de arte, un juego de culto, todo en uno, en los inicios de la carrera de los mejores programadores de todos los tiempos como lo es Ken Levin, famoso por sus 2 obras de arte: System Shock 2 y Bioshock, un juego que no debe perderse, que gano premios, que se convirtio en un titulo de culto, una jugabilidad impresionante, y una historia que es simplemente fantastica.
  14. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    System Shock 2 is everything I look for in a game. Great gameplay, great story, nice graphics, great soundtrack, great atmosphere, uncanningly amazing voice acting. The player models are a bit "ugh" but aside from that the graphics are quite good for the time it was released. The one thing I didn't really like about it was that the default controls really suck. W is forward (as usual), but A and D were turn left and right, respectivly, and S was crouch, whereas Z and C were strafe left and right, respectivly, and X was backward. Of course, this can be easily changed, so it is but a minor annoyance.
    The thing that first hit me about this game was the tutorial. Most of the time, the tutorials in games are crudly done (Half-Life) or very vague (Ghost Recon) if existant at all (Day of Defeat). System Shock 2 takes tutorials to a whole new level. It's very thorough and fits into the storyline like a cute glove. And if you're on your second playthrough, you can skip the tutorial completely. However, if it is your first time playing, you really should play it. This is not just another FPS. This is unique.
    So how much is this worth? More than Steam is selling it for. If you don't like RPGs, you wouldn't like this. If you only play modern games because "GWAFIXXXXX", stop it for this game. You can't just not play it.
    Expand
  15. Jan 7, 2013
    10
    My absolute favorite game of all time. I've given up finding a game that replicates the feeling I had when I first played this. Amazing story-line that couldn't be told better with so many twists that you won't see coming. Level design, lighting, sounds, voice acting and music will make for an unparalleled experience: you will feel desperately alone on a massive spaceship trillions of miles from earth. A simple look out the window from a crew member's cabin reminds you all too well of this. All this despite the graphics were not the best going around, even for its day. There are a few problems, namely the weapons needing to be repaired too frequently, some upgrades such as exotic weapons not balanced, and perhaps a reduction in the quality of the levels in the late game (but only compared to the high standard of those that come before). Even in 2013 I'd still recommend people to play it. Try to play on XP if you can, there is a patch out there somewhere.

    I wish I could give it an 11.
    Expand
  16. Jul 7, 2013
    9
    It pains me to see, after this RPG master-piece, the path which Irrational Games took. From pure RPG games with shooting elements to the latest "Call of Duty" Infinite with barely any trace of RPG. But, I guess, its what today's gaming public wants... Shame.
  17. Apr 5, 2014
    10
    A landmark game to be sure. The RPG elements were well implemented, allowing for many different playstyles and adding to the replayability. The atmosphere is great, the plot is well developed, SHODAN is a great villain and this game is very scary.
  18. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    When a game like this is still being talked about and still given recognition 14 years from when it was released, that means a lot. This game has defined the FPS/Survival horror genre so that all the others before it could be inspired. It has also innovated storytelling and having a villain in a game that gets you really involved in what's going on. SHODAN is still considered one of the greatest video game characters and villains of all time. This game has had a profound impact on games and I believe if they made a 100 greatest games of all times list 100 years from now, System Shock 2 would be on the list. Expand
  19. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    Best survival horror I have ever played. This is a game wear I actually was scared a few times, and the tension of every shot having to count is pulled of perfectly.
  20. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    A Masterpiece, why this game hasn't had a HD remake is beyond me. A terrifying and clever take on the original with brilliant writing by the always magnificent Ken Levine.
  21. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    Well let's go with this. It's in my top 5 single player games.
    Survival horror, FPS RPG, a fascinating story and world, memorable characters, solid OST and replay value.
    Can't truly go into details without giving spoilers!
    It does slip up towards the end though when things become rushed, level design quality drops and there's a terrible mandatory platforming section that never showed up
    in the previous 17 hours of the game. Expand
  22. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    What else to say? Other comments said everything that has to be said. A simply masterpiece done by Looking Glass.
  23. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    Nothing short of the best game I have ever played, and ive played a fecking LOT of games. Sadly, they just don't make them like this anymore. While modern games look prettier, and are far more technically accomplished, none of them are half as immersive as this game was and still is to this day. Everyone should give this game a chance and try to look past its age visuals, because it truly is one of the greatest games every developed. Expand
  24. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    This game is one of my all time favorites, not because it's good graphic or fancy characters, but the awesome story and epic atmosphere. Too bad, current games are lacking those elements. I am waiting for the new episode more than 10 years now, and still hoping someone can do it right!
    Best mix in FPS-RPG elements, just like Deus Ex one.
  25. Aug 9, 2011
    10
    I remember buying it in 1999. Still it is the best game I ever played. The complexity of the story and the gameplay. You can really immerse into the atmosphere. There are so many objects to use. You can play it so many different kind of ways. There is no flaws in this game at all. Wish they would create a remake of it with a new graphic engine.
  26. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    I'd consider this one an underground classic. SS2 introduced RPG elements to the FPS genre before it become trendy years later, so in that regard it was ahead of its time. The main drawbacks are that I can't get the game to run on any version of Windows newer than XP, and the weapons are unbalanced (all you really need is the Assault Rifle, provided you have enough ammo). Aside from those negative points, you can hack computer terminals and turrets, kill aliens and rip out their organs to research their weaknesses, get more intel on the game plot through emails and audio logs, and acquire psionic disciplines (akin to magic powers, but a Psi-Amp is required). Bioshock's resemblance in gameplay is no coincidence. It's also worth noting the survival horror element of the game - it's a creepy atmosphere all around. It's like a cyberpunk Resident Evil. Overall, I consider System Shock 2 to be a cult classic in the gaming industry. A must play at some point in your life. Expand
  27. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Having never found the game in 99 to buy i picked it up on GOG after having played the demo in 99. I must say it makes Deus EX look like a dumbed down console tard game! System shock 2 is the best GAME EVER MADE. All kinds of options and skills and weapons. Scary as hell and a story that is top notch. The RPG elements are great and the skills and just beg you to replay it. The coop is also great and doesn't cause to many problems with one person. GET IT ON GOG or STEAM SOON! Expand
  28. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    One of my fellow reviewers, ShaunDerichuk, evidently has bad taste in games, because this was one of the leading pioneers in both horror and 3D gaming. It has genuine suspense, tragedy, action, strategy, and it's graphics haven't aged well...in the RIGHT way. The enemy's jerky movements are genuinely unsettling and paired with their cries for help and warnings towards you to run, even apologizing to you, is piss-your-pants in terror scary. Security cameras are worthy adversaries, causing lengthy alarms if triggered that make you truly think about whether to fight or flee, the turrets are tough and can kill you easily, and equiptment like chemicals for research or maintenance tools are hard to come by. Even RESPAWNING requires strategy, because it requires you to manually activate a machine and pay money to use it. Come to thing of it, money is used for EVERYTHING, which makes it really important to budget out. You can't really be a 'Jack-of-all trades' in this game, so don't expect to be able to hack with your toes while pulling off head shots with a laser and repairing a grenade launcher, while also doing in depth research on ancient alien brains and running really fast. This is a severely underrated gem that is one of the games you HAVE to play before you die. Expand
  29. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    Best horror game i have ever played. Also, its first person shooter with rpg elements, i haven't seen something like this before. Game looks absolutely unique, graphics and game play is innovating. Voice acting is outstanding. But i doubt that new school players will like it.
  30. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    Extremely deep PC game and I like how this one of the few PC exclusives now and its very well done all the sound effects and audio logs much better than that crappy overrated piece of crap Bioshock came after this and this is the best of all of the Shocks games
  31. May 31, 2013
    9
    One of the best survival-horror kind with some RPG element! The game didnt old good at all, but if you don't like the graphics, there is Mods now where u can retexture about everything. Everyone that called themselves PC players, should play at this at least once.
  32. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    System Shock 2 is simply one of the greatest games ever!
    It's VERY atmospheric and it's an only FPS game in my Top5 list of all times
    (others are: Heroes 3 wog, X-Com 1/2, Master of Orion 2 and Civilization series).
    10 out of 10 -
    Strongly recommended!
  33. May 17, 2013
    10
    Cela faisait plusieurs années que j'avais entendu parler de Sytem Shock 2. Atmosphère stressante, voix intimidantes et bien réalisés, système de RPG excellent, je n'entendais que du bon de ce jeu. J'ai pus enfin me le procurer résemment et me suis empressé d'y jouer. Sérieusement, mes attentes furent emplements atteintes! Je n'es jamais fais de review avant, mais pour System Shock 2 il fallait que je le fasse.

    -Le jeu immerse le joueur en le poussant s'investir dans l'exploration du Van Braun. Il n'y a pas de gros indicateur dans l'écran pour vous dire où aller comme la plus part des jeux d'aujourd'hui, non, vous devez lire et bien écouter ce qu'on vous dit pour trouver ce que vous aller devoir chercher, l'exploration rapporte gros dans ce jeu. Certains détails comme prendre une arme sur le sol pour la décharger de ses munitions avant de la reposer sur le sol apporte un certains réalisme au côté survie du jeu.

    -Les ennemies comme les mutants, cyborg, robots, araignés et Intelligence Artificielle diaboliques qui habitent le vaisseau vous ferons ressentir un sentiment de solitude et de danger oppressant, surtout parce que vous n'êtes pas équiper comme un commando et qu'économiser ses balles et médecines est nécessaire. Les voix sont de vrais merveilles, je suis franchement impressionné par celle de "The Many" et particulièrement celle de SHODAN.

    -Le côté RPG est excellent. Vous devrez user de votre tête pour déterminé quoi améliorer travers les compétences qui vont de hacking réparation, armes feux ou pouvoirs psychiques. La multitude de compétences augmenter vous permettra d'avoir différentes approches chaque fois que vous rejouerez. Qui dit RPG dit inventaire. Un peu comme Diablo ou Resident Evil 4, vous devrez placer vos différents objets dans de multiples cases et parfois même devoirs faire du rangement pour pouvoir y mettre un item de plus. Ce n'est pas nécessairement une corvée car malgré le grand nombre d'objets disponible, vous aurez bien souvent assé de place pour ce que vous voulez.

    -L'arsenal de notre héros est simple, mais intéressante. Vous avez 4 catégorie d'armes:
    Standard Pistolet, fusil pompe et fusil d'assault.
    Lourd Lance-greandes, fusil fusion et générateur de champs magnétiques.
    Énergie Épée laser, pistolet laser et fusil EMP.
    Éxotiques Crystal, Viral Proliferator et l'anelid lanceur de vers infectés.
    À vous de voir ce qui vous plaira. Chaque catégorie approte différentes tactiques.

    -La musique est bien souvent électronique et rythmé. Elle vous préparera mentalement exterminer tout danger qui osera vous défier. (Cela ne veut pas dire que vous pouvez tirer partout comme un fou haha).

    -Les graphiques ont un peu mal vieillit. Il ne sont pas d'est plus affreux, mais même en 1999 il se faisait mieux. Des taches de sang sur le sol, des ordinateur mise en pièces, des murs marqué de griffures énormes rendent l'environnement plus réel et l'on peut facile s'imaginer quel genre de massacre il y a eu dans les couloirs du Van Braun. *Des mods sont disponibles pour améliorer l'apparence des personnages et les textures de l'environnement. Vous trouverez tout rapidement sur google.

    -Les contrôles sont un peu diffciles commencement, mais après une heure y jouer vous n'aurez plus aucun problème rapidement aller dans votre inventaire, utiliser un objet, changer d'arme ou de munitions et vérifier vos objectifs. N'utiliser pas de manette, le jeu été fait pour la souris et le clavier.

    -Le level design peut paraître labyrinthique et se perdre peut arriver, mais si vous jeter de rapides coup d'oeil votre map et vous assurez de bien savoir les informations relié votre objectif, tout ira bien. Une mini-map peut être afficher si vous cocher l'option disponible quand vous regarder votre map. Le Van Braun est ÉNORME. On se sent tout petit dans cet énorme vaisseau et cela immerse vraiment le joueur. Des couloirs, des laboratoires, des chambres et salles de mahcines, il y a de tout!

    System Shock 2 en vaut vraiment la peine, c'est une expérience vivre et moins de 10$ sur Steam, vous seriez fou de passer coté. J'espère que mon review vous a plus, merci.
    Expand
  34. Jul 16, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. System Shock 2 is one of the greatest games of all time. This is one of the most claustrophobic, scariest, creepiest, pulse-pounding, heart-racing, adrenaline-pumping, games I've ever played. The music score really gets you ready for anything and puts you on the edge of your seat. This game isn't full of jump scares either. It has great atmosphere. The hybrids have the scariest voice I've ever heard. The game's graphics are dated but that's about all. I don't even care about graphics. I care about gameplay. The gameplay is pretty good too. It uses the dark engine which the first two Thief games use. The game also has one of the greatest reveals in video game history and THE greatest villain in video game history, SHODAN. SHODAN is on almost every Top 10 video game villains list I've seen. System Shock 2 is also an RPG. It is actually my favorite RPG. The game takes place in space on board the starship Von Braun. The game is very intense. I highly recommend this game! Expand
  35. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    It's the best game I have ever played I really would like to back to the past and play this game for the first time. I can't understand why there are 10 negative opinions. Game is just perfect. Especially I love the soundtrack of "SS2" Eric Brosius is a genius. Thanks to him this game is so climatic. Now I am going to turn on this game again
  36. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    One of my favourite single player experiences of all time! Truly an amazing game. The gameplay is very fun, being a shooter with RPG elements but it strikes the perfect balance. Heaps of logs (that are all voiced) that give lots of detail to the story. Great story and Shodan is one of the best characters very made! The atmosphere is perfect and the item management is challenging and fun!

    This game is truly a flawless shooter.
    Expand
  37. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    One of the most memorable, thrilling and exciting games I've ever played on a PC. Or for that matter on any platform. And I've played computer and video games over 20 years. A classic, this one is.
  38. Feb 3, 2013
    9
    Amazing game. Everything is polished and well-made: complex level design and inspired environments(for 1999, at least), excellent sound, great electronic music, good story, multi-dimensional and fleshed-out characters you never actually meet and yet you care about them, mostly balanced RPG elements, which allow multiple ways to develop your character thus enabling high replay value. The atmosphere isn't as soul-crushing and horrifying as it probably was when released, but it's still there for the most of the time. Sometimes it's brutally hard and does have some stupid design choices(once the script required me to buy some item in order to continue the story, but I lacked the necessary resources, so I was forced to scavange the entire ship for the remains).Note that, this review isn't coming from someone suffering from nostalgia goggles. I played Bioshock and Bioshock 2 before System Shock 2 and in my opinion this cyberpunk-themed masterpiece surpasses both of them in every way imaginable(except for graphics, of course). Strongly advised, especially for Bioshock fans, who must see what their object of fascination basically was: an OK steampunk-dieselpunk game which takes gameplay concepts, story structure and even characters from System Shock 2 and "streamlines" it. In all, a must-have without any doubt, despite the game showing it's age Expand
  39. Feb 21, 2012
    9
    Please note that all games are reviewed against current standards. What the game 'was' for it's time. Does not factor into the score. Only what it is.

    System shock 2 remains one of the most atmospheric, deep, and psychological games ever made - even in 2012. It's visuals have aged VERY poorly. However it's sound design has not, and remains at the top of it's class. This game is a
    masterpiece, there is no other word for it. It's one of the scariest game's ever made, and then it layers deep rpg systems over the top as well as exceptional audio design and story presentation. The end result is nothing short of a timeless miracle. Expand
  40. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    Visually dated, but SS2 is still as adept at creating an immersive, tense atmosphere as it was in 1999. Ultima Underworld in space, massively influential and with a narrative every bit as engaging as its gameplay. One of the best PC games ever made, no question.
  41. Apr 17, 2014
    10
    First time playing it, it reminds me of Half Life in terms of graphics. But the more I play it, the more I realize just how deep this experience is. They don't make games like this, anymore. Highly recommended. 10 out of 10.
  42. Dec 2, 2013
    9
    Tense. Scary. Deep. Gripping.

    A wonderful experience for a BioShock fan like me, uncovering how the series was born and finding a story just as interesting as Rapture and gameplay way more satisfying than I could have imagined. The fights in this are some of the most white knuckle moments I've had in a game, playing out more like a really high pressure MMORPG battle than the simple
    shooters future entries were. I encourage anyone who loves good survival gameplay, where you really have to think about what supplies you have and what build your character is, to try this out.

    And of course, that story.
    That AMAZING story.

    Definitely a classic worth embracing if you have the time.
    Expand
  43. May 10, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game still give me the shivers.
    It was the game that defined the entire RPS genre as well as the idea of betrayals.
    It isn't filled with enemies to fight, instead it is a game about being better than them. Find their weaknesses and conserve your ammo, cause you will be short for most of the game. And because of that and the sneaky placement of enemies (and the way they attack) you sneak around peeking into new rooms, hoping more often than not that there are no enemies or cameras. Thinking "I have this much ammo, but when I kill that guy three more will show up..." There were literally times when I had no ammo at all, and was forced to wrench down even rather brawny enemies (loader robots, stupid but dangerous).
    Incidentally this makes the game into a semi-stealthgame, while not intended for that. You really weigh up all options pretty much all the time. Do I hack that camera, do I shoot it, do I ambush the scary guards, do I try to avoid it all?

    And all the while being taunted for my inadequacies... "I-i-i-inseccct", nowhere since have I hated an enemy as much.
    As well as constantly being on the trail of the few other survivors, until finally I catch up to them only to be unable to call to them as they are chased away again.
    And the ghosts... disturbingly unpleasant to say the least. And the enemies, creepy!

    This game is stressful in the good way, moody in the right way.
    Bioshock was the heir to this game, yet none of them ever truly managed to match it's masterful combination of the things I listed, even if they tried valiantly.
    Expand
  44. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    The greatest RPG/ FPS/ Horror game ever made. (How many of those are there anyways?) It has some great RPG elements where what skills you choose will greatly affect your performance, and yet the shooting gameplay is still really good, unlike certain RPG/FPS games today where one aspect always tends to overshadow the other (*cough*Fallout 3*cough*) It has a great, scary atmosphere, and the story is amazing. This game came out almost 15 years ago and yet most games today have not even come close to being as consistently great as this game. Expand
  45. Oct 16, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. System Shock 2 is not only one of the best games I've ever played but it's one of the scariest as well.
    This game has every thing a good should have, a great story, great atmosphere, terrific voice action, great gameplay, a great tutorial level, real scares, great level design, and one of the best plot twists ever. The plot twist is so big it easily rivals Bioshock infinite's ending.
    Expand
  46. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    A fine, fine game. One of the best games ever created, System Shock 2 pioneered the FPS RPG hybrid and created an immensely potent atmosphere at the same time, and on top of that, it has aged surprisingly well. The graphics may seem dated but the audio design is superb, the atmosphere engrossing and unnerving, and the gameplay surprisingly 'fun' and visceral. I cannot reccommend this game enough.
  47. Sep 13, 2013
    9
    Needs comic relief, but it is one of the best FPS RPG Horror games i have ever had the honor to play.
    However i found the Multiplayer to be lacking, and the voice of SHODAN to be hard to understand with all the distortion.
  48. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    For the time, when this game was released, it was the perfect FPS game. The graphics were great. The sounds and music still work their charm and aged well. The gameplay is still top-tier. The massively successful bioshock franchise is the spiritual successor to this game. There are graphics overhauls to make the game appear more modern, along with the sounds and story this game can still be greatly enjoyed. Expand
  49. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    Ahh, System Shock 2 the word 'classic' gets thrown around a lot these days where games are concerned (justifiably so in some cases, not so in others), but this game deserves that handle and then some.

    This piece of gaming magic was one of the very first proper RPG-style games I ever played (got a late start in the genre) and I was hooked right from day one. The atmosphere of the
    deserted hallways on the Von Braun is still, in my view, the finest piece of game design I've ever seen. (The haunted hotel from VtM: Bloodlines comes second brr!) The RPG elements (stats and such) are detailed enough to allow a wide range of character builds catering to various play styles but not so onerous as to induce boredom with the whole thing. True, the graphics are prehistoric compared with what we're used to nowadays but with a game that plays this well, who cares??

    After nearly fifteen years of gaming across various systems and generations and having played some truly fine games (and others not so, for my sins) System Shock 2 holds a place of honour on my gaming roster and shows no signs of being ousted any time soon.
    Expand
  50. Nov 10, 2013
    9
    A pioneer in the Sci-fi Horror genre. The game has an a gripping story (you don't need to play the first one to understand thi one), great atmosphere and really satisfying gameplay, even after all these years since it was released. If you have a chance buy it, and enjoy the game that made the Bioshock and Dead Space franchises happen
  51. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    Probably one of the best games ever made, not just a short jaunt through a frag fest this game requires thought and innovation on the part of the player. The class system is very intensivley done and you can pick from multiple class's to make very believable subclasses all starting with your original choices for career path in the military.

    It is worth any hardcore gamers time to pick
    up this game and play it through to the end, as the story is very compelling. I never played system Shock 1 but when I started this game it made me want to. The graphics are a bit outdated by now but There are several individuals who have gone through this game to reskin and upgrade the textures. One such mod is called SS2 Rebirth, but there are others. Expand
  52. Jul 30, 2014
    10
    Finally! After 15 long years, I was fortunate enough to experience supposedly one of the best pieces of pc gaming history that missed me in it's time, and.... yes, it's a masterpiece! SHODAN is one of the best villains ever, retrospective story told in the found audio logs is extremely effective, atmosphere and all the game mechanics are fantastic. Deus Ex still holds the crown in this category for me, but it's important to realize that SS2 came before that and have been a huge source of inspiration, which you can feel in every corner. I was a bit surprised by quite hard difficulty, but that added even more dread and tension to the overall experience. True PC gaming gem. 10/10 Expand
  53. Aug 28, 2014
    10
    Made account to review this game. System Shock 2 (which I just completed with graphics mods installed) was equally as enjoyable as Deus Ex on first playthough, which was fantastic. The game starts off slow but after a few hours I was hooked. What I'd like to know is why the BioShock games feel like less of an experience compared to SS2. Sure they have way better graphics, physics, etc, but in no way shape or form were the BioShock games as enjoyable or as compelling as SS2. Not even close. I wish I never played any of the BioShock games and just played SS2. You know what--burn in hell BioShock. Forever. Expand
  54. Oct 19, 2014
    10
    Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. A gaming triumph...More astonishingly, they've created a system of classes and abilities that are so varied that there's a compelling reason to actually play through the game more than once.
  2. A frightening game to the point that I found myself having to take breaks from playing just to ease the tension in my shoulders.
  3. Like RPGs? Like to be scared? System Shock 2 shows that a game can please you on a multitude of levels: visual, auditory, and emotional.