System Shock 2 Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 427 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Like System Shock 1, there will be persistent levels (i.e., drop an item on one level, and you could go back later to retrieve it), gameplay elements like logs, inventory, skills, persistent world, leaning, hacking, rpg elements, multiple weapons and enemies, and a compelling storyline.Like System Shock 1, there will be persistent levels (i.e., drop an item on one level, and you could go back later to retrieve it), gameplay elements like logs, inventory, skills, persistent world, leaning, hacking, rpg elements, multiple weapons and enemies, and a compelling storyline. Unlike most other first person shooters, the purpose of System Shock was not to kill everything in sight; nor was it a "find the key to move onto the next level" game. The plot was always present, but not so confining as in traditional shooters - there was almost always more than one task to accomplish. Levels were realistically designed and had logical reasons behind them. It is the principle of System Shock 2 to continue this game design. [sshock2.com] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. 100
    The first game was an undeniable classic that could easily be ruined in the wrong hands. We're here to tell you to pack those fears away in a box because this is the dream sequel.
  2. Irrational Games and Looking Glass have produced one of the best games I've ever played. System Shock 2 is truly scary, smart, challenging, fascinating, and disturbing. I recommend it to any adventurous adventure player.
  3. If playing games is more of a religion than a hobby to you, meet your new bible...System Shock 2 will scare the hell right out of you -- and you'll like it for that reason.
  4. Simply put, the creepy atmosphere is incredible. Forget those survival horror games full of cheap scares and dark alleys. System Shock 2 manages to frighten without succumbing to horror contrivances. Considering this game is six years old, it truly is an achievement. [Aug 2005]
  5. A gaming triumph...More astonishingly, they've created a system of classes and abilities that are so varied that there's a compelling reason to actually play through the game more than once.
  6. A frightening game to the point that I found myself having to take breaks from playing just to ease the tension in my shoulders.
  7. Utterly immersive in its use of character attachment and amnesiac story-telling, it is a game that will honestly give you the sweats...It's all about replacing your shorts every half-hour or so.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 95
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 95
  3. Negative: 3 out of 95
  1. KittenYuna
    Dec 30, 2002
    10
    This game is brilliant. not one for all you f..king noobs who can only play counterstrike though.
  2. Feb 9, 2011
    10
    This is one of the greatest and underrated PC games of all time, simply terrifying to play with its unparalleled level of ambient horror thisThis is one of the greatest and underrated PC games of all time, simply terrifying to play with its unparalleled level of ambient horror this is the RPS that defined the genre and has set the standard for future games in this category. Dead Space/Bioshock/Deus Ex - all the others stem from SS2 and it's no surprise why.
    The gameplay is superior to SS1 and the sound and voice acting are some of, if not the best I have ever heard in my years of gaming. To me reviewing this in 2011 after playing it for about 8 years - this is the pinnacle of PC gaming and if you can get your hands on a copy and get it running then you are in for a world of horrific joy!
    Expand
  3. BrettM.
    Dec 17, 2008
    10
    Playing this for the first time 10 years after its release, it still impressed me enough with the gameplay, story and atmosphere to rank it Playing this for the first time 10 years after its release, it still impressed me enough with the gameplay, story and atmosphere to rank it in my top five games of all time. Wanting to see how good a modern remake of it could be, I tried playing Bioshock, and now I weep for modern video gaming. Seriously, if we've digressed this much, I pity our future generations. SS2>>>>bioshock (and most other games for that matter). Expand
  4. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    System Shock 2 is simply one of the greatest games ever!
    It's VERY atmospheric and it's an only FPS game in my Top5 list of all times
    System Shock 2 is simply one of the greatest games ever!
    It's VERY atmospheric and it's an only FPS game in my Top5 list of all times
    (others are: Heroes 3 wog, X-Com 1/2, Master of Orion 2 and Civilization series).
    10 out of 10 -
    Strongly recommended!
    Collapse
  5. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    System Shock 2 is everything I look for in a game. Great gameplay, great story, nice graphics, great soundtrack, great atmosphere, uncanninglySystem Shock 2 is everything I look for in a game. Great gameplay, great story, nice graphics, great soundtrack, great atmosphere, uncanningly amazing voice acting. The player models are a bit "ugh" but aside from that the graphics are quite good for the time it was released. The one thing I didn't really like about it was that the default controls really suck. W is forward (as usual), but A and D were turn left and right, respectivly, and S was crouch, whereas Z and C were strafe left and right, respectivly, and X was backward. Of course, this can be easily changed, so it is but a minor annoyance.
    The thing that first hit me about this game was the tutorial. Most of the time, the tutorials in games are crudly done (Half-Life) or very vague (Ghost Recon) if existant at all (Day of Defeat). System Shock 2 takes tutorials to a whole new level. It's very thorough and fits into the storyline like a cute glove. And if you're on your second playthrough, you can skip the tutorial completely. However, if it is your first time playing, you really should play it. This is not just another FPS. This is unique.
    So how much is this worth? More than Steam is selling it for. If you don't like RPGs, you wouldn't like this. If you only play modern games because "GWAFIXXXXX", stop it for this game. You can't just not play it.
    Expand
  6. May 31, 2013
    9
    One of the best survival-horror kind with some RPG element! The game didnt old good at all, but if you don't like the graphics, there is ModsOne of the best survival-horror kind with some RPG element! The game didnt old good at all, but if you don't like the graphics, there is Mods now where u can retexture about everything. Everyone that called themselves PC players, should play at this at least once. Expand
  7. ShawnDarichuk
    Jul 9, 2008
    0
    This game is broken to the point of being unplayable. I don't get a gun when I start, I'm told that I can't even use the gun IThis game is broken to the point of being unplayable. I don't get a gun when I start, I'm told that I can't even use the gun I just found (because people in the military don't know what guns are), and my only weapon is a wrench. Wow, isn't that fun.
    Easily the worst PC game ever made.
    Expand

See all 95 User Reviews