Tabula Rasa PC

  • Publisher: NCSOFT
  • Release Date: Oct 30, 2007
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 105 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 105
  2. Negative: 14 out of 105

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MikeB.
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    Despite what a lot of the nay sayers may be posting i had more fun in this game than i have had in any game to come out in the past 10 years. Sure there are some bugs but those will surely be addressed. The new gameplay style is awesome compared to the boring old MMO style found in every single MMO. Now if you liked the way the older games played then this new system might not be for you, Despite what a lot of the nay sayers may be posting i had more fun in this game than i have had in any game to come out in the past 10 years. Sure there are some bugs but those will surely be addressed. The new gameplay style is awesome compared to the boring old MMO style found in every single MMO. Now if you liked the way the older games played then this new system might not be for you, but that doesnt mean it sucks. It just means you like things the old way and this game isn't for you. But for those players that are looking for something more real-time and different then this game probably has something to make you happy. The graphics aren't the greatest in the world, but at least they used great colors and environmental effects to keep the world from looking bland. Overall I think this game was just super amazing to play. Any game that can get me back into video gaming (hardcore style) is worth a 10. I almost completely swore off games because of all the crap coming out (on the PC anyway.) Expand
  2. JackieJ.
    Nov 4, 2007
    10
    This game is like a breath of fresh air. I like shooters, but I'm not as super accurate as the people who eat, breathe, and sleep FPSes. With TR, I can have my cake and eat it to.... rpg and fps melded together!
  3. JoeG.
    Nov 6, 2007
    9
    Beautiful, fast-paced, compelling, well-designed, addictive. I think it's the WoW killer, at last. Enjoying every minute of it. I've played a lot of MMORPGs, and this is the best one so far, no contest.
  4. Mikhail
    Nov 20, 2007
    9
    In my opinion, this game gave a second breath to the MMORPG world, and brought new, exclusive and initially new features to a gameplay. A good, interesting game with a interesing and exciting story.
  5. AnonymousMC
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    An MMO where the player can feel like a hero and does not die at the sight of the first enemy, that's what I like and that's what TR delivers. Nice graphics, nice animations, great environmental sound and music, interesting storyline, better quests than any other MMORPG and still contains a little bit of mystery as far as game mechanics are conserned, this game feels less like anAn MMO where the player can feel like a hero and does not die at the sight of the first enemy, that's what I like and that's what TR delivers. Nice graphics, nice animations, great environmental sound and music, interesting storyline, better quests than any other MMORPG and still contains a little bit of mystery as far as game mechanics are conserned, this game feels less like an Excel-sheet rpg, one good example of which WoW is. Expand
  6. BobH.
    Nov 3, 2007
    9
    Fantastic game and storyline, no elves! YAY! People complain about lag but it is more likely they have the graphics settings too high and it is client-side not server-side. Yes it needs a beast to run at high res in Ultra mode but scales nicely too for lower-end PCs, just takes a bit of playing around with the settings. Lots of features to come let's hope it lives up to the hype
  7. PeterS.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    A game with potential, to be sure. Whether something will be done with that potential? The current game industry makes something of a sceptic out of me, but I'm willing to remain hopeful for a game that sweet.
  8. PhilP.
    Nov 5, 2007
    9
    The first MMO in years that's actually vaguely original, with a unique MMO control system, great storyline and engaging combat system. If you're bored of all of the fantasy and medieval clones then perhaps this is for you. It's a multiplayer Starship Troopers meets Planetside with just a hint of Ultima Online's ground breaking (at the time) take on the world of online The first MMO in years that's actually vaguely original, with a unique MMO control system, great storyline and engaging combat system. If you're bored of all of the fantasy and medieval clones then perhaps this is for you. It's a multiplayer Starship Troopers meets Planetside with just a hint of Ultima Online's ground breaking (at the time) take on the world of online gaming. It's top notch - but you have to give it time to catch your attention, so it's not one for those who lack an attention span. Expand
  9. AlphabetK.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    No game is for everyone. For those, like me, who love space opera, shooting, a fast pace, lots of exploration, a constant sense of danger, a loot system that is rewarding but slow, so that you value each new pistol or piece of armour you get as a quest reward - for people like me, Tabula Rasa is a wonderful surprise. The tutorial is underwhelming, and the first few missions a little No game is for everyone. For those, like me, who love space opera, shooting, a fast pace, lots of exploration, a constant sense of danger, a loot system that is rewarding but slow, so that you value each new pistol or piece of armour you get as a quest reward - for people like me, Tabula Rasa is a wonderful surprise. The tutorial is underwhelming, and the first few missions a little bland. But give it half an hour, when you're crouching on a rock trying to snipe enemies in a bunker 30m below you, while all around dropships dispense more enemies and your colleagues are barely able to cope with the onslaught, you'll be in love. I spent seven hours on the Sunday after release fighting my way through the three major mission-instances on the first large map, and I haven't had as much fun playing a game in years. There's a wide variety of skills and stuff to acquire, and a developing story. But the key to the appeal of this is that it's fun to play, and the sense of place is very good. Forcefields! Laser Turrets! Raiding a research complex with five friends and being attacked by thirty aliens on a sun-blasted ramp! Will it last? Is it worth subscribing to? I don't know. All I know is that for the price of admission, Tabula Rasa has already given me more fun than any game this year save Bioshock and Portal, and it's already had more hours than those two together. Expand
  10. MichaelH.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    I was suprised how good this is. Now at lvl 22 and still every time when i play it feels better and better. Honestly, for me this is possible serious alternative for wow.
  11. JimP.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    TR is amazingly addictive. There are moments playing the game where it truly feels like you're in the middle of a ferocious war. There are other moments where you can take your time and enjoy the scenery. There are moments where you can focus on crafting or socialising in bases and forming your squad or clan. Overall, I can't recommend this game more, it's fantastic!
  12. unacomn
    Sep 3, 2008
    9
    Tabula Rasa is an excelent change of pace from regular MMOs. It has a relativly unique gameplay style with many interesting options such as cloning, and more to come in fallowing patches. The best thing I like about this game is the atmosphere, the constant warzone where you can stand around, look at the scenery, and get hit by an incoming mortar. No other MMO does that. The game is goodTabula Rasa is an excelent change of pace from regular MMOs. It has a relativly unique gameplay style with many interesting options such as cloning, and more to come in fallowing patches. The best thing I like about this game is the atmosphere, the constant warzone where you can stand around, look at the scenery, and get hit by an incoming mortar. No other MMO does that. The game is good and has the potentioal to grow even further. Expand
  13. GregHamilton
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    Recovering WOW addicts will like this game a lot. The pace is fast, but familiar enough. I was in early beta, and had my doubts at first if it would be ready by Xmas. But the last several patches have really shown load of progress each time. All the complaints I see are about stuff fixed weeks ago, which I find kinda dumb. If they keep it up, they can compete with games that already haveRecovering WOW addicts will like this game a lot. The pace is fast, but familiar enough. I was in early beta, and had my doubts at first if it would be ready by Xmas. But the last several patches have really shown load of progress each time. All the complaints I see are about stuff fixed weeks ago, which I find kinda dumb. If they keep it up, they can compete with games that already have their expansions out. I love the weapons and armor. The fighting can get intense. Definitely worth a buy. Expand
  14. JimB.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    Amazing combat system, the best yet for an MMO, Graphically it's top notch, sound and visual effects are also amazing. Tabula Rasa is the complete package. Out of the box I'm having a blast and the planned updates sound like a ton of fun- mounts with guns!! I'm all in on TR!
  15. JulianH.
    Nov 2, 2007
    9
    Tabula Rasa brings a new level of innovation and gameplay to the MMO genre.
  16. JamesB.
    Nov 2, 2007
    9
    A brilliant divergance from the typical sword and scorcery MMO grinding garbage.
  17. CassieB.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    Beautiful graphics, engaging gameplay, fantastic UI.
  18. HolyMoley
    Nov 7, 2007
    9
    There are sooo many things to consider when appraising an MMORPG. But most importantly, I'm having fun without it feeling like a job. I really have enjoyed the pacing so far in this game. I'd give the game a 10 if I couldn't think of any ways to improve it, so I gave this a 9 as I think there are a few MINOR graphic and performance issues. They don't get int the way of There are sooo many things to consider when appraising an MMORPG. But most importantly, I'm having fun without it feeling like a job. I really have enjoyed the pacing so far in this game. I'd give the game a 10 if I couldn't think of any ways to improve it, so I gave this a 9 as I think there are a few MINOR graphic and performance issues. They don't get int the way of the game at all, but they're there and a little annoying. All in all, I think it feels new and refreshing when it comes to gameplay and character class. Oh, and the combat... You feel so much more engaged in it without the pointless cool downs. They balanced the weaponry out by adjusting the damage, not just making your toon stand there for three seconds, doing nothing in between attacks. Hey Richard Garriott... Nice game, man! Expand
  19. JohnL.
    Oct 31, 2007
    8
    Faced paced fun that feels more like a solo player game than an MMO and that says alot.
  20. MarkM.
    Jan 28, 2008
    9
    Excellent game, does lack some polish, though. it's 1/28/2008, and my biggest worry is, no updates in the last 35+ days. Some updates are occuring on the server, looks like, but still some bugs I wish they would fix. Still, i've fallen hard for this game, i HOPE they keep improving it, it has huge potential
  21. MichaelR.
    Nov 14, 2007
    9
    Tons of fun with only a few minor bugs, been playing it for several hours every night since I picked it up. I feel a couple patches down the road it will be amazing, although you do need some hefty memory to run it well.
  22. SteveM.
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    A very nice departure from the standard sword and sorcery MMO. Fast action and the ability to take on large groups of bad guys at a time really makes this game stand apart from the rest. I'm a bit of an MMOaholic, and this game comes in time to save me from more orcs and elves for awhile.
  23. JedK.
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    An excellent game that's fun alone or with friends. Action is easy to jump into, but you may find not find it so easy to get out! The game suffers from a few bugs, namely memory leaks, occasional crashes, and some lag issues, but a recent patch fixed the lag issues and increased stability. Overall, a very fun, easy-to-get-into, and pretty game.
  24. PavelG.
    Nov 19, 2007
    9
    Looks really nice and will be even better when they have fixed lags and bugs. Pure condensed fun.
  25. MysenS.
    Nov 19, 2007
    9
    I've played the Beta of the game but not the real thing. And I gotta say, this game is absolutely stunning. I could play this and have more fun than I ever did on World of Warcraft. The new style of gameplay, the immersive and spectacular worlds, and the overall fun of Tabula Rasa makes this a game you want to spend month after month leveling up on.
  26. JamesR.
    Oct 12, 2007
    9
    Phenomenal fun, but suffers from memory issues, lag, and a very bitter MMO crowd, with very demanding tastes. It breaks so much new ground and does things so differently that it may be too much too soon for an audience who needs it.
  27. RegnorV.
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    Finally, a sci-fi based MMO that delivers a fresh experience while maintaining all of the best conventions of the genre. Although I agree that crafting sucks and that's a downside (I would have voted 9.5 if that were possible, the game does have shortcomings, but I rate it higher than a 9). Gameplay does not feel tedious, grinding is non-existent, the instances are varied and Finally, a sci-fi based MMO that delivers a fresh experience while maintaining all of the best conventions of the genre. Although I agree that crafting sucks and that's a downside (I would have voted 9.5 if that were possible, the game does have shortcomings, but I rate it higher than a 9). Gameplay does not feel tedious, grinding is non-existent, the instances are varied and uniquely interesting and challenging, and the loot is fun to come by and use. Logos are a great idea to keep the questing diverse, rewarding and meaningful. All in all, the only PC game that's taken me away from my XBox and brought me back to my original love of PC gaming. Expand
  28. WalterM.
    Nov 27, 2007
    9
    This is a wonderful mix of FPS and MMO, unlike anyting done before. You vcan jump in for a half hout of go all night and it's always fun. It will take a while to build up clans and teh kind of high level teaming in WOW (which I didn't like much) but it's easy to team up on the fly into squads to beat the tougher instances. It has a few graphic bugs, but this thing can only This is a wonderful mix of FPS and MMO, unlike anyting done before. You vcan jump in for a half hout of go all night and it's always fun. It will take a while to build up clans and teh kind of high level teaming in WOW (which I didn't like much) but it's easy to team up on the fly into squads to beat the tougher instances. It has a few graphic bugs, but this thing can only get better. Highly recommended. Expand
  29. C.J.
    Nov 3, 2007
    9
    A great game with an awesome setting. Gameplay is just plain fun and very satisfying, while little touches bring the game world to life. Tabula Rasa offers beautful worlds to explore and has one of the best uses of instances I have experienced. Instances are used to drive the story forward in a personal setting, rather than as loot-factory timesinks. My only major complaint is that some A great game with an awesome setting. Gameplay is just plain fun and very satisfying, while little touches bring the game world to life. Tabula Rasa offers beautful worlds to explore and has one of the best uses of instances I have experienced. Instances are used to drive the story forward in a personal setting, rather than as loot-factory timesinks. My only major complaint is that some of the classes lack a defined role and play similarly to a recruit in many situations. Currently, the in game economy is scheduled to receive a major patch with Operation 0: Fair Trade. Hopefully, this coming patch will bring other improvements as well. Overall a great game for your first MMO, or for MMO veterans looking for something refreshing and new. Expand
  30. BillS.
    Nov 4, 2007
    8
    Extremely fun game, had to tone it back on the graphics some. The targeting can be frustrating for those coming out of other MMO's. It's a Third Person Shooter RPG, basically. Control Zone battles are a blast. In some cases it does not lead you by your nose to your objectives, be prepared to search around alot and/or ask alot of questions.
  31. CaseyT.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Action packed excitement at every turn. From what I've seen so far, the story is epic in scope with your play choices effecting outcomes later on. I've never seen this attempted in an MMO space, and I always wondered why. They have these spots called control points on the overland maps that are forts. If the Bane take them over, then the quests and shops there aren't Action packed excitement at every turn. From what I've seen so far, the story is epic in scope with your play choices effecting outcomes later on. I've never seen this attempted in an MMO space, and I always wondered why. They have these spots called control points on the overland maps that are forts. If the Bane take them over, then the quests and shops there aren't available to play. I spend a lot of time at these cause its fun assaulting the bad guys and fending of massive onslaughts. I have a lower end system for this game, but it runs fine. I'd read about people griping about lag, but i guess that was only in the beta, as I don't have issues. My neighbor has a dual core system with four gigs of ram and very nice card, and i have to say, seeing the graphics at max resolution settings made my jaw drop. This game is a work of art on all levels, and I'm going to be playing it for a very long time. Expand
  32. EricG.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Tabula Rasa brings together a rich play style of important elements from both RTS and FPS game play that result in a wonderful and long term entertaining gaming experience!
  33. AnnieP.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    There's plenty of stuff to do, to discover. Very fun and refreshing!
  34. LindaW.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Refreshing change of pace from the typical MMO. The fast paced gameplay makes it really fun.
  35. ChrisM.
    Oct 21, 2007
    8
    FUN, Simple, and worth playing. BIG fan of the action style combat. reminds me of a slower version of Advent Rising (pc,xbox) Not to sure about the monthly fee if there will be any, or not. If theres was, hopefully its not set to high! little bit of lag could just be my computer, felt it would be a better game if it were available on console systems via. 360.
  36. GerryA.
    Dec 4, 2007
    9
    No camping, no griefers, lots of fun and a dynamite interface. If you have hung back from MMOs, this is your opportunity to try a great one but at your pace. Note that many retailers have deep discounts on this, especially the river.
  37. CassandraB.
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    I'm loving this game. Lots of action and plenty of creatures to kill.
  38. JamesRadzom
    Nov 11, 2007
    8
    I've been a pretty active WoW player (read: addict,lol) and I've really been enjoying this game. Will it have the depth to surpass WoW? All I can say atm is that it's faced paced and fun and a great change of pace. Highly recommended for ant mmorpg'er looking for something fresh.
  39. MichaelO.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Been in since beta, and it's fan-freaking-tastic! I'm having such a blast with control points and logos. I can't wait to get to tier 4, but which class to choose?! I'm cloning as I go so I can try them all!
  40. AlanT.
    Nov 21, 2007
    9
    Awesome game, great graphics if you have the hardware to run on high. A few bugs here and there prevent a perfect score, but I have faith that they will be addressed soon enough.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. It will appeal to both hardcore gamers who want to spend hours exploring every square centimeter of this immense world, as well as the casual gamer who only wishes to play for 20 minutes at a time yet feels like they accomplished something.
  2. 80
    While the lack of an auction house hurts the game, the awesome combat, intense battlefield action, fun missions and interesting character progression is more than enough to keep players coming back for a good long while. A well-realized science fiction setting in a genre overflowing with elves and orcs doesn't hurt either.
  3. If this genre has intimidated you in the past, Tabula Rasa is the perfect entry point with its user-friendliness and swift tempo. Calling it a clean slate may be a bit of a stretch, but Richard Garriott has certainly provided gamers with something unique.