• Publisher: NCSOFT
  • Release Date: Oct 30, 2007
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 103 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 103
  2. Negative: 14 out of 103

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MikeB.
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    Despite what a lot of the nay sayers may be posting i had more fun in this game than i have had in any game to come out in the past 10 years. Sure there are some bugs but those will surely be addressed. The new gameplay style is awesome compared to the boring old MMO style found in every single MMO. Now if you liked the way the older games played then this new system might not be for you, Despite what a lot of the nay sayers may be posting i had more fun in this game than i have had in any game to come out in the past 10 years. Sure there are some bugs but those will surely be addressed. The new gameplay style is awesome compared to the boring old MMO style found in every single MMO. Now if you liked the way the older games played then this new system might not be for you, but that doesnt mean it sucks. It just means you like things the old way and this game isn't for you. But for those players that are looking for something more real-time and different then this game probably has something to make you happy. The graphics aren't the greatest in the world, but at least they used great colors and environmental effects to keep the world from looking bland. Overall I think this game was just super amazing to play. Any game that can get me back into video gaming (hardcore style) is worth a 10. I almost completely swore off games because of all the crap coming out (on the PC anyway.) Collapse
  2. EricE.
    Jan 14, 2008
    6
    If you enjoy killing waves upon waves of about 5 different mobs with virtual no difference between the levels then you will enjoy this game. I really did enjoy it but after 3-4 weeks of killing the same mobs every single level by the thousands it got old. The Control Points (CP) in the game are a interesting and fun object of the game. However even this gets boring because 2-3 players can If you enjoy killing waves upon waves of about 5 different mobs with virtual no difference between the levels then you will enjoy this game. I really did enjoy it but after 3-4 weeks of killing the same mobs every single level by the thousands it got old. The Control Points (CP) in the game are a interesting and fun object of the game. However even this gets boring because 2-3 players can take or defend almost any CP. This game is very shallow and has no depth. If there wasn't a monthly fee then a lot of my complaints I wouldn't mind but I expect more for my $15 a month. However I will be keeping my eye on this game and see how it develops and will probably pop in and out of the game 1-2 months a year or whenever they release an expansion because it has potential. Just not realized yet. Expand
  3. joshq
    Dec 21, 2007
    0
    WTF... why is this game rated so high, it sucks. The combat is just like any other mmoe xcept tehres no changes whatsoever in the middle of a fight except like the 4 skills u have lol. the game's story couldnt compell a 5 yr old, the graphics are shitty even for an mmo, wows 4 years old kids and it has better so stfu if ur one of the ppl sayin the graphics are good in this game, iWTF... why is this game rated so high, it sucks. The combat is just like any other mmoe xcept tehres no changes whatsoever in the middle of a fight except like the 4 skills u have lol. the game's story couldnt compell a 5 yr old, the graphics are shitty even for an mmo, wows 4 years old kids and it has better so stfu if ur one of the ppl sayin the graphics are good in this game, i swear wen i first saw trees i thought they were a cliff and teh best part is u cant walk between the trees lol? anyway the little pvp tehre is sucks believe me, like i said ur gonna have like 8 active skills tops by the end of the game.. lets be real this game is autoassault with human models.. 100x worse pvp, worse storyline, id say worse graphics especially terrain wise and even more static (boring) environments, an hows auto assault doing o wait it closed down because it couldnt even make the profit that MMOs u laugh at make... if u think im makin up my comparisons between autoassault and this game, check it out urself, tehy run on NCsofts same engine basis similar to city of heroes. DONT FORGET THIS GAME COSTS LIKE 15-16$ PER MONTH Expand
  4. BobwickR
    Aug 28, 2008
    0
    This game is so terrible that I uninstalled it before even being able to successfully create my first character! The client is so buggy that I essentially could not do so, or at least was unwilling to fight with it to manage it. I can only assume that most of the favorable reviews this game gets in the tabloids are due to shills who were paid for, and most of the favorable reviews it getsThis game is so terrible that I uninstalled it before even being able to successfully create my first character! The client is so buggy that I essentially could not do so, or at least was unwilling to fight with it to manage it. I can only assume that most of the favorable reviews this game gets in the tabloids are due to shills who were paid for, and most of the favorable reviews it gets in the user base are due to rampant stupidity and a willingness to pay for utter garbage. I had the opportunity to play this game for free for two weeks and I've already uninstalled it. I suggest you do the same, if you've already wasted your time acquiring it. If not, don't. Expand
  5. NK
    Dec 15, 2007
    3
    This simply won't cut it as an MMO--an MMO's interface must be intuitive and dead simple for it to truly succeed. This game is a chore to play. The constant gunshot sounds grind on your brain.
  6. JackieJ.
    Nov 4, 2007
    10
    This game is like a breath of fresh air. I like shooters, but I'm not as super accurate as the people who eat, breathe, and sleep FPSes. With TR, I can have my cake and eat it to.... rpg and fps melded together!
  7. JoeG.
    Nov 6, 2007
    9
    Beautiful, fast-paced, compelling, well-designed, addictive. I think it's the WoW killer, at last. Enjoying every minute of it. I've played a lot of MMORPGs, and this is the best one so far, no contest.
  8. MaxD.
    Apr 1, 2008
    7
    The arcade-game of MMORPGs, the fast paced, aggression-rewarding combat and interesting play styles and abilities are what set this apart from the pack. Because of this, however, dedicated MMORPG players will likely be put off by the rather shallow and twitchy game play. As of March 2008 they have added more content to address this, but Tabula Rasa still mainly shines in 30-60 minuteThe arcade-game of MMORPGs, the fast paced, aggression-rewarding combat and interesting play styles and abilities are what set this apart from the pack. Because of this, however, dedicated MMORPG players will likely be put off by the rather shallow and twitchy game play. As of March 2008 they have added more content to address this, but Tabula Rasa still mainly shines in 30-60 minute bursts of entertainment, unlike the hours-long sessions of its rivals. Expand
  9. Mikhail
    Nov 20, 2007
    9
    In my opinion, this game gave a second breath to the MMORPG world, and brought new, exclusive and initially new features to a gameplay. A good, interesting game with a interesing and exciting story.
  10. AnonymousMC
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    An MMO where the player can feel like a hero and does not die at the sight of the first enemy, that's what I like and that's what TR delivers. Nice graphics, nice animations, great environmental sound and music, interesting storyline, better quests than any other MMORPG and still contains a little bit of mystery as far as game mechanics are conserned, this game feels less like anAn MMO where the player can feel like a hero and does not die at the sight of the first enemy, that's what I like and that's what TR delivers. Nice graphics, nice animations, great environmental sound and music, interesting storyline, better quests than any other MMORPG and still contains a little bit of mystery as far as game mechanics are conserned, this game feels less like an Excel-sheet rpg, one good example of which WoW is. Expand
  11. BobH.
    Nov 3, 2007
    9
    Fantastic game and storyline, no elves! YAY! People complain about lag but it is more likely they have the graphics settings too high and it is client-side not server-side. Yes it needs a beast to run at high res in Ultra mode but scales nicely too for lower-end PCs, just takes a bit of playing around with the settings. Lots of features to come let's hope it lives up to the hype
  12. PeterS.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    A game with potential, to be sure. Whether something will be done with that potential? The current game industry makes something of a sceptic out of me, but I'm willing to remain hopeful for a game that sweet.
  13. PhilP.
    Nov 5, 2007
    9
    The first MMO in years that's actually vaguely original, with a unique MMO control system, great storyline and engaging combat system. If you're bored of all of the fantasy and medieval clones then perhaps this is for you. It's a multiplayer Starship Troopers meets Planetside with just a hint of Ultima Online's ground breaking (at the time) take on the world of online The first MMO in years that's actually vaguely original, with a unique MMO control system, great storyline and engaging combat system. If you're bored of all of the fantasy and medieval clones then perhaps this is for you. It's a multiplayer Starship Troopers meets Planetside with just a hint of Ultima Online's ground breaking (at the time) take on the world of online gaming. It's top notch - but you have to give it time to catch your attention, so it's not one for those who lack an attention span. Expand
  14. AlphabetK.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    No game is for everyone. For those, like me, who love space opera, shooting, a fast pace, lots of exploration, a constant sense of danger, a loot system that is rewarding but slow, so that you value each new pistol or piece of armour you get as a quest reward - for people like me, Tabula Rasa is a wonderful surprise. The tutorial is underwhelming, and the first few missions a little No game is for everyone. For those, like me, who love space opera, shooting, a fast pace, lots of exploration, a constant sense of danger, a loot system that is rewarding but slow, so that you value each new pistol or piece of armour you get as a quest reward - for people like me, Tabula Rasa is a wonderful surprise. The tutorial is underwhelming, and the first few missions a little bland. But give it half an hour, when you're crouching on a rock trying to snipe enemies in a bunker 30m below you, while all around dropships dispense more enemies and your colleagues are barely able to cope with the onslaught, you'll be in love. I spent seven hours on the Sunday after release fighting my way through the three major mission-instances on the first large map, and I haven't had as much fun playing a game in years. There's a wide variety of skills and stuff to acquire, and a developing story. But the key to the appeal of this is that it's fun to play, and the sense of place is very good. Forcefields! Laser Turrets! Raiding a research complex with five friends and being attacked by thirty aliens on a sun-blasted ramp! Will it last? Is it worth subscribing to? I don't know. All I know is that for the price of admission, Tabula Rasa has already given me more fun than any game this year save Bioshock and Portal, and it's already had more hours than those two together. Expand
  15. MichaelH.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    I was suprised how good this is. Now at lvl 22 and still every time when i play it feels better and better. Honestly, for me this is possible serious alternative for wow.
  16. JimP.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    TR is amazingly addictive. There are moments playing the game where it truly feels like you're in the middle of a ferocious war. There are other moments where you can take your time and enjoy the scenery. There are moments where you can focus on crafting or socialising in bases and forming your squad or clan. Overall, I can't recommend this game more, it's fantastic!
  17. D.Z.
    Oct 20, 2007
    4
    A bland MMO with poor performance on most machines. This game makes very little effort to engage you in what could be a very gripping story. Instead, like most MMOs, it pushes you through the story, making you feel as if what you do has no real effect. The interface is also not inspired, it looks exactly like every other MMO on the market. Overall, I would've expected more from A bland MMO with poor performance on most machines. This game makes very little effort to engage you in what could be a very gripping story. Instead, like most MMOs, it pushes you through the story, making you feel as if what you do has no real effect. The interface is also not inspired, it looks exactly like every other MMO on the market. Overall, I would've expected more from Richard Garriot. Expand
  18. Brandon
    Feb 9, 2008
    4
    aimless and boring grind. The entire thing is basically Richard Garriot glorifying himself like the whackjob he is, he tromps around in a fantasy persona called "General British" and just about every event is centered around him. The game has a weak story overall and it has a few graphical bugs that are pretty annoying. Overall I was disappointed, especially the repetitive combat and aimless and boring grind. The entire thing is basically Richard Garriot glorifying himself like the whackjob he is, he tromps around in a fantasy persona called "General British" and just about every event is centered around him. The game has a weak story overall and it has a few graphical bugs that are pretty annoying. Overall I was disappointed, especially the repetitive combat and limited customization. Expand
  19. unacomn
    Sep 3, 2008
    9
    Tabula Rasa is an excelent change of pace from regular MMOs. It has a relativly unique gameplay style with many interesting options such as cloning, and more to come in fallowing patches. The best thing I like about this game is the atmosphere, the constant warzone where you can stand around, look at the scenery, and get hit by an incoming mortar. No other MMO does that. The game is goodTabula Rasa is an excelent change of pace from regular MMOs. It has a relativly unique gameplay style with many interesting options such as cloning, and more to come in fallowing patches. The best thing I like about this game is the atmosphere, the constant warzone where you can stand around, look at the scenery, and get hit by an incoming mortar. No other MMO does that. The game is good and has the potentioal to grow even further. Expand
  20. Godstar
    Nov 11, 2007
    5
    Graphics sucks, I had them turned up on a quad core system with an NVIDIA 8800 GTS and background effects were either popping or bleeding into the foreground. Water effects were bleeding into other areas, and all that before I've even left the starting area! The game itself looks about 5-7 years dated graphically, so wasn't too impressed. The gameplay is 'so so' and Graphics sucks, I had them turned up on a quad core system with an NVIDIA 8800 GTS and background effects were either popping or bleeding into the foreground. Water effects were bleeding into other areas, and all that before I've even left the starting area! The game itself looks about 5-7 years dated graphically, so wasn't too impressed. The gameplay is 'so so' and seems to be way overhyped for what it is. Anarchy Online is a bit better IMO, and at least is a bit more fleshed out of a game if you want a sci-fi based MMORPG. Eve Online if you want ships. I wouldn't recommend this beta quality game to anyone, maybe in a year when they fix their issues. Expand
  21. GregHamilton
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    Recovering WOW addicts will like this game a lot. The pace is fast, but familiar enough. I was in early beta, and had my doubts at first if it would be ready by Xmas. But the last several patches have really shown load of progress each time. All the complaints I see are about stuff fixed weeks ago, which I find kinda dumb. If they keep it up, they can compete with games that already haveRecovering WOW addicts will like this game a lot. The pace is fast, but familiar enough. I was in early beta, and had my doubts at first if it would be ready by Xmas. But the last several patches have really shown load of progress each time. All the complaints I see are about stuff fixed weeks ago, which I find kinda dumb. If they keep it up, they can compete with games that already have their expansions out. I love the weapons and armor. The fighting can get intense. Definitely worth a buy. Expand
  22. JimB.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    Amazing combat system, the best yet for an MMO, Graphically it's top notch, sound and visual effects are also amazing. Tabula Rasa is the complete package. Out of the box I'm having a blast and the planned updates sound like a ton of fun- mounts with guns!! I'm all in on TR!
  23. JulianH.
    Nov 2, 2007
    9
    Tabula Rasa brings a new level of innovation and gameplay to the MMO genre.
  24. JamesB.
    Nov 2, 2007
    9
    A brilliant divergance from the typical sword and scorcery MMO grinding garbage.
  25. CassieB.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    Beautiful graphics, engaging gameplay, fantastic UI.
  26. HolyMoley
    Nov 7, 2007
    9
    There are sooo many things to consider when appraising an MMORPG. But most importantly, I'm having fun without it feeling like a job. I really have enjoyed the pacing so far in this game. I'd give the game a 10 if I couldn't think of any ways to improve it, so I gave this a 9 as I think there are a few MINOR graphic and performance issues. They don't get int the way of There are sooo many things to consider when appraising an MMORPG. But most importantly, I'm having fun without it feeling like a job. I really have enjoyed the pacing so far in this game. I'd give the game a 10 if I couldn't think of any ways to improve it, so I gave this a 9 as I think there are a few MINOR graphic and performance issues. They don't get int the way of the game at all, but they're there and a little annoying. All in all, I think it feels new and refreshing when it comes to gameplay and character class. Oh, and the combat... You feel so much more engaged in it without the pointless cool downs. They balanced the weaponry out by adjusting the damage, not just making your toon stand there for three seconds, doing nothing in between attacks. Hey Richard Garriott... Nice game, man! Expand
  27. JohnL.
    Oct 31, 2007
    8
    Faced paced fun that feels more like a solo player game than an MMO and that says alot.
  28. MarkM.
    Jan 28, 2008
    9
    Excellent game, does lack some polish, though. it's 1/28/2008, and my biggest worry is, no updates in the last 35+ days. Some updates are occuring on the server, looks like, but still some bugs I wish they would fix. Still, i've fallen hard for this game, i HOPE they keep improving it, it has huge potential
  29. AlexC.
    Nov 11, 2007
    5
    I was expecting this to be an FPS MMO but it's not. It's has a sort of semi twitch combat method that is neither FPS or turnbased but requires little skill to take the mobs down. I found this tedious after the first couple of hours. Not worth the money.
  30. Danny
    Nov 13, 2007
    6
    Certainly feels more like a solo player than an MMO, graphics are not to up to par, gets boring after a while. My biggest disappointment is, having to pay a monthly fee to play the game. It is fair to say, Tabula Rasa should be free to play online. Online players will lose interest & begin to decline overtime. At least, the creative mind of Richard Garriott will in fact help pave the road Certainly feels more like a solo player than an MMO, graphics are not to up to par, gets boring after a while. My biggest disappointment is, having to pay a monthly fee to play the game. It is fair to say, Tabula Rasa should be free to play online. Online players will lose interest & begin to decline overtime. At least, the creative mind of Richard Garriott will in fact help pave the road for future MMO Expand
  31. MichaelR.
    Nov 14, 2007
    9
    Tons of fun with only a few minor bugs, been playing it for several hours every night since I picked it up. I feel a couple patches down the road it will be amazing, although you do need some hefty memory to run it well.
  32. TonyL.
    Nov 15, 2007
    5
    It not dynamic, its a very static game. Working together is a chore, just like every other MMO. It falls short of being an RPG, in that the mechanics dont reward teamwork more than the base "hurray! More damage!" It feels like a singleplayer game alright, and thats a BAD thing. Its as silent as some of the worst mmo's
  33. SteveM.
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    A very nice departure from the standard sword and sorcery MMO. Fast action and the ability to take on large groups of bad guys at a time really makes this game stand apart from the rest. I'm a bit of an MMOaholic, and this game comes in time to save me from more orcs and elves for awhile.
  34. JedK.
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    An excellent game that's fun alone or with friends. Action is easy to jump into, but you may find not find it so easy to get out! The game suffers from a few bugs, namely memory leaks, occasional crashes, and some lag issues, but a recent patch fixed the lag issues and increased stability. Overall, a very fun, easy-to-get-into, and pretty game.
  35. PavelG.
    Nov 19, 2007
    9
    Looks really nice and will be even better when they have fixed lags and bugs. Pure condensed fun.
  36. MysenS.
    Nov 19, 2007
    9
    I've played the Beta of the game but not the real thing. And I gotta say, this game is absolutely stunning. I could play this and have more fun than I ever did on World of Warcraft. The new style of gameplay, the immersive and spectacular worlds, and the overall fun of Tabula Rasa makes this a game you want to spend month after month leveling up on.
  37. JamesR.
    Oct 12, 2007
    9
    Phenomenal fun, but suffers from memory issues, lag, and a very bitter MMO crowd, with very demanding tastes. It breaks so much new ground and does things so differently that it may be too much too soon for an audience who needs it.
  38. RegnorV.
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    Finally, a sci-fi based MMO that delivers a fresh experience while maintaining all of the best conventions of the genre. Although I agree that crafting sucks and that's a downside (I would have voted 9.5 if that were possible, the game does have shortcomings, but I rate it higher than a 9). Gameplay does not feel tedious, grinding is non-existent, the instances are varied and Finally, a sci-fi based MMO that delivers a fresh experience while maintaining all of the best conventions of the genre. Although I agree that crafting sucks and that's a downside (I would have voted 9.5 if that were possible, the game does have shortcomings, but I rate it higher than a 9). Gameplay does not feel tedious, grinding is non-existent, the instances are varied and uniquely interesting and challenging, and the loot is fun to come by and use. Logos are a great idea to keep the questing diverse, rewarding and meaningful. All in all, the only PC game that's taken me away from my XBox and brought me back to my original love of PC gaming. Expand
  39. WalterM.
    Nov 27, 2007
    9
    This is a wonderful mix of FPS and MMO, unlike anyting done before. You vcan jump in for a half hout of go all night and it's always fun. It will take a while to build up clans and teh kind of high level teaming in WOW (which I didn't like much) but it's easy to team up on the fly into squads to beat the tougher instances. It has a few graphic bugs, but this thing can only This is a wonderful mix of FPS and MMO, unlike anyting done before. You vcan jump in for a half hout of go all night and it's always fun. It will take a while to build up clans and teh kind of high level teaming in WOW (which I didn't like much) but it's easy to team up on the fly into squads to beat the tougher instances. It has a few graphic bugs, but this thing can only get better. Highly recommended. Expand
  40. WillL.
    Nov 3, 2007
    7
    This game is not bad. Its a refreshing new approach from the typical sword/sorcery/D&D rehash that you see in 99.9% of MMORPGs out there. The RPG element is light, not hardcore like WoW or FFXI. The game could accomodate the casual gamer who are not usually into MMOs and/or RPGs. The concept and ideas are great, however the execution is less than WoW, pardon the pund. That is not to say This game is not bad. Its a refreshing new approach from the typical sword/sorcery/D&D rehash that you see in 99.9% of MMORPGs out there. The RPG element is light, not hardcore like WoW or FFXI. The game could accomodate the casual gamer who are not usually into MMOs and/or RPGs. The concept and ideas are great, however the execution is less than WoW, pardon the pund. That is not to say its a bad game, but its just does not have the amazing "factor", not near the caliber as WoW or FFXI, particularly as a first impression during the beta. Two ways to describe this game as a critique: weak RPG with "fast 3rd/fps-like action" or Planetside on RPG-training-wheels. Again, good game, but not so great as to charge it $50 AND $15/month fee. IMO, either make this F2P or free to register and only have monthly fees. I think NCsoft's $$$ expectations are a little too high, i might just stick with RRO and Granado Espada until then. Expand
  41. C.J.
    Nov 3, 2007
    9
    A great game with an awesome setting. Gameplay is just plain fun and very satisfying, while little touches bring the game world to life. Tabula Rasa offers beautful worlds to explore and has one of the best uses of instances I have experienced. Instances are used to drive the story forward in a personal setting, rather than as loot-factory timesinks. My only major complaint is that some A great game with an awesome setting. Gameplay is just plain fun and very satisfying, while little touches bring the game world to life. Tabula Rasa offers beautful worlds to explore and has one of the best uses of instances I have experienced. Instances are used to drive the story forward in a personal setting, rather than as loot-factory timesinks. My only major complaint is that some of the classes lack a defined role and play similarly to a recruit in many situations. Currently, the in game economy is scheduled to receive a major patch with Operation 0: Fair Trade. Hopefully, this coming patch will bring other improvements as well. Overall a great game for your first MMO, or for MMO veterans looking for something refreshing and new. Expand
  42. BillS.
    Nov 4, 2007
    8
    Extremely fun game, had to tone it back on the graphics some. The targeting can be frustrating for those coming out of other MMO's. It's a Third Person Shooter RPG, basically. Control Zone battles are a blast. In some cases it does not lead you by your nose to your objectives, be prepared to search around alot and/or ask alot of questions.
  43. CaseyT.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Action packed excitement at every turn. From what I've seen so far, the story is epic in scope with your play choices effecting outcomes later on. I've never seen this attempted in an MMO space, and I always wondered why. They have these spots called control points on the overland maps that are forts. If the Bane take them over, then the quests and shops there aren't Action packed excitement at every turn. From what I've seen so far, the story is epic in scope with your play choices effecting outcomes later on. I've never seen this attempted in an MMO space, and I always wondered why. They have these spots called control points on the overland maps that are forts. If the Bane take them over, then the quests and shops there aren't available to play. I spend a lot of time at these cause its fun assaulting the bad guys and fending of massive onslaughts. I have a lower end system for this game, but it runs fine. I'd read about people griping about lag, but i guess that was only in the beta, as I don't have issues. My neighbor has a dual core system with four gigs of ram and very nice card, and i have to say, seeing the graphics at max resolution settings made my jaw drop. This game is a work of art on all levels, and I'm going to be playing it for a very long time. Expand
  44. DagmarH.
    Nov 5, 2007
    7
    Nice graphics cannot makeup for lack of substance. Team mechanics are inferior compared to other MMORPG's. As someone else mentioned this is an MMOG that plays like a solo game but that is not a positive thing. What is the point of paying $14.99 a month for a solo game? This is a game that tries to satisfy both first person shooter enthusiasts and traditional MMORPG players and only Nice graphics cannot makeup for lack of substance. Team mechanics are inferior compared to other MMORPG's. As someone else mentioned this is an MMOG that plays like a solo game but that is not a positive thing. What is the point of paying $14.99 a month for a solo game? This is a game that tries to satisfy both first person shooter enthusiasts and traditional MMORPG players and only succeeds in being average at both. Save your money and wait until they drop the price, the subscription fees, and revamp the team mechanics. Expand
  45. EricG.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Tabula Rasa brings together a rich play style of important elements from both RTS and FPS game play that result in a wonderful and long term entertaining gaming experience!
  46. [Anonymous]
    Nov 6, 2007
    1
    Wow, what a huge waste. This game was horrible, poor graphics after all the hype. Weak game play and a worse story line. It reminded me of Star Wars Galxies when it first launched and was panned. TR is actually worse though.
  47. AnnieP.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    There's plenty of stuff to do, to discover. Very fun and refreshing!
  48. LindaW.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Refreshing change of pace from the typical MMO. The fast paced gameplay makes it really fun.
  49. ChristopherC.
    Nov 8, 2007
    4
    This game attempts to combine two incompatable genres (RPG and Shooter) and, unfortunately, doesn't achieve its goal. Interesting idea, bad rendering thereof.
  50. ChrisM.
    Oct 21, 2007
    8
    FUN, Simple, and worth playing. BIG fan of the action style combat. reminds me of a slower version of Advent Rising (pc,xbox) Not to sure about the monthly fee if there will be any, or not. If theres was, hopefully its not set to high! little bit of lag could just be my computer, felt it would be a better game if it were available on console systems via. 360.
  51. John
    Dec 14, 2007
    6
    Worth having a poke at if you're bored, but nothing really long term. Good looking game, nice people, let down by questing (You're still grinding mobs/collecting items from grinding mobs) some weapons feel completely useless (easier to just melee enemies) Crafting system isn't too good and the game makes you feel every class is like a Hunter/Ranger (Shooting game would make Worth having a poke at if you're bored, but nothing really long term. Good looking game, nice people, let down by questing (You're still grinding mobs/collecting items from grinding mobs) some weapons feel completely useless (easier to just melee enemies) Crafting system isn't too good and the game makes you feel every class is like a Hunter/Ranger (Shooting game would make you feel like that. You know, minus pets.) Healing system is somewhat horrible and the instances/dungeons are okay, like a scripted encounter/battle rather than mash everything until loot drops. It's still the same tedious grind and the same tedious quest giving with a new makeover and an interesting class progression system. Not going to tear you away from WoW/FFXI/EQ2. Average at best. Expand
  52. GerryA.
    Dec 4, 2007
    9
    No camping, no griefers, lots of fun and a dynamite interface. If you have hung back from MMOs, this is your opportunity to try a great one but at your pace. Note that many retailers have deep discounts on this, especially the river.
  53. CassandraB.
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    I'm loving this game. Lots of action and plenty of creatures to kill.
  54. JamesRadzom
    Nov 11, 2007
    8
    I've been a pretty active WoW player (read: addict,lol) and I've really been enjoying this game. Will it have the depth to surpass WoW? All I can say atm is that it's faced paced and fun and a great change of pace. Highly recommended for ant mmorpg'er looking for something fresh.
  55. MichaelO.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Been in since beta, and it's fan-freaking-tastic! I'm having such a blast with control points and logos. I can't wait to get to tier 4, but which class to choose?! I'm cloning as I go so I can try them all!
  56. AlanT.
    Nov 21, 2007
    9
    Awesome game, great graphics if you have the hardware to run on high. A few bugs here and there prevent a perfect score, but I have faith that they will be addressed soon enough.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. It will appeal to both hardcore gamers who want to spend hours exploring every square centimeter of this immense world, as well as the casual gamer who only wishes to play for 20 minutes at a time yet feels like they accomplished something.
  2. 80
    While the lack of an auction house hurts the game, the awesome combat, intense battlefield action, fun missions and interesting character progression is more than enough to keep players coming back for a good long while. A well-realized science fiction setting in a genre overflowing with elves and orcs doesn't hurt either.
  3. If this genre has intimidated you in the past, Tabula Rasa is the perfect entry point with its user-friendliness and swift tempo. Calling it a clean slate may be a bit of a stretch, but Richard Garriott has certainly provided gamers with something unique.