Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 97 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tactical Intervention is the latest creation from Counter Strike co-creator, Minh ‘Gooseman’ Le. A first-person tactical shooter, Tactical Intervention revisits the classic battle of Terrorists vs. Counter Terrorists and expands it to include fast-paced driving combat, intelligent AI hostages, controllable K9 units, dead drop rappelling and a wide variety of high powered modern weapons and authentic combat gear including breaching charges and riot shields. Combat takes place in a series of real world locations allowing players to fight atop a skyscraper and inside a subway train, or to ransack a shopping mall and race down a highway. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 5 out of 7
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    62
    Tactical Intervention is an honest online shooter, but doesn't have any excellence point to make it indispensable to play.
  2. Jun 19, 2013
    62
    Vestigial mechanics wrapped around a dated tactical shooter. Play this for the VIP Car Escort mode. [July 2013, p.86]
  3. Oct 7, 2013
    48
    It feels rushed and it's probably only good as a reminder how unapproachable team shooters have been at the turn of the millennium.
  4. Apr 5, 2013
    45
    It's unfortunate then that the game is buried under a myriad of problems, from dated, ugly presentation to shooting that feels clumsy.
  5. Oct 17, 2013
    45
    Tactical Intervention has been proclaimed as the new Counter Strike's successor. That was the expectation. Reality give us a game that is simply not worthy to be compared to the Counter Stike brand, because of the extremely buggy technical structure, the "free-to-PAY" attitude, and some anachronistic gameplay choices. We won't say it's completely rubbish, it can be even fun for some minutes, indeed, but we don't think we will spend any other time (or money) again on it.
  6. Sep 30, 2013
    40
    What balance there is in Tactical Intervention is precarious at best. Mechanics have been piled on mechanics - ideas the game's creator always envisaged adding to his first game before Counter-Strike was firmly thrust into the hands of its community.
  7. Oct 28, 2013
    40
    Glimmers of that CS charm, but needs another year in development and local servers before standing alongside such heavyweights. [Nov 2013, p.91]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 36
  2. Negative: 13 out of 36
  1. Sep 4, 2013
    10
    This is really nice game for Free 2 Play form. Yes, there are some bugs and glitches with animations, but that's not so big trouble. Nice gameplay and ideas like battle actions on roads in cars are awesome. I really like this game. Expand
  2. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    First of all let me just say for all those cry baby types, this is not pay to win. I have played pay to win games and this is not one. I have played this game since beta, and yes it did have some bugs to work out, but unlike other more popular titles, the creator actually fixes things, and listens to player feed back. The game is extremely balanced for a shooter, and new content is being added frequently. The graphics are not top notch but the game play itself is very good. Sure you can pay for ascetic items to pimp your character out but, but nothing you buy with cash that cant be bought with points, which almost every item can be, does not affect your stats what so ever. If your expecting CS with better graphics then don't get your hopes up. But if your looking for the CS feel with some what different game play then download this game. What do you have to lose its free! The best part about the game, is that the creator will read your comments and reply to you personally, or have someone from his staff get back to you, and he is continuing to work on new content all the time. Give it a chance you wont regret it. Expand
  3. Apr 28, 2014
    9
    This game is actually really fun if your with more that 4 or 5 friends and want to play a shooter that's multiplayer. It does lag some times on the car mission but besides that its a pretty good game! Expand
  4. Oct 4, 2013
    6
    This is a good game for it being free to play. However their is no much this game does to separate its self from your run of the mill FPS. Plus theirs small thing that bothered me about the game as well, like no sound track or any kind intro that would make you want to play the game. Also, the lack a tutorial level to show the games feathers made learning all the controls difficult. This game is decently worth a try, especially for being free to play. Expand
  5. Oct 23, 2013
    5
    I wish goose picked a better developer to make this =/
    It has a lot of really good ideas, and he himself is a damn legend, but the studio he
    works with could be better. This game should NOT be a free to play either. I'd happily shell out $60 for this game if goose developed it on his own, or if he picked a better studio to make it.

    As it stands now, the game has tons of potential, with some interesting design choices. But is plagued with bugs, horrible presentation, wonky animations, a really poorly implemented Pay-To-Win cash market, and a tiny community.

    Dispict these issues, the game still manages to be fun at times, which says there are a lot of good design in this game, just terrible execution.

    Hopefully this game will get better with time, or perhaps a whole new version.

    Worth keeping an eye on, but not worth your time in it's current state.
    Expand
  6. Oct 27, 2013
    3
    A nice concept but unfortunately this game is plagued with mediocre gameplay, a hideous UI, generally standard level design, and the typical "pay-to-win" feeling that comes with many free games. To make it worse this game is incredibly buggy and is absurdly dated. Nothing about this feels how a modern FPS should. Expand
  7. Nov 14, 2013
    0
    Well i just finished playing "Tactical Intervention" and i am sad to say it was bad, i really wanted it to be something i could keep playing for years, i was wrong, anyway its basically budget version of COD, if your missing CSS just play that and don't waste your time Expand

See all 36 User Reviews