Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 90 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tactical Intervention is the latest creation from Counter Strike co-creator, Minh ‘Gooseman’ Le. A first-person tactical shooter, Tactical Intervention revisits the classic battle of Terrorists vs. Counter Terrorists and expands it to include fast-paced driving combat, intelligent AI hostages, controllable K9 units, dead drop rappelling and a wide variety of high powered modern weapons and authentic combat gear including breaching charges and riot shields. Combat takes place in a series of real world locations allowing players to fight atop a skyscraper and inside a subway train, or to ransack a shopping mall and race down a highway. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 5 out of 7
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    62
    Tactical Intervention is an honest online shooter, but doesn't have any excellence point to make it indispensable to play.
  2. Jun 19, 2013
    62
    Vestigial mechanics wrapped around a dated tactical shooter. Play this for the VIP Car Escort mode. [July 2013, p.86]
  3. Oct 7, 2013
    48
    It feels rushed and it's probably only good as a reminder how unapproachable team shooters have been at the turn of the millennium.
  4. Apr 5, 2013
    45
    It's unfortunate then that the game is buried under a myriad of problems, from dated, ugly presentation to shooting that feels clumsy.
  5. Oct 17, 2013
    45
    Tactical Intervention has been proclaimed as the new Counter Strike's successor. That was the expectation. Reality give us a game that is simply not worthy to be compared to the Counter Stike brand, because of the extremely buggy technical structure, the "free-to-PAY" attitude, and some anachronistic gameplay choices. We won't say it's completely rubbish, it can be even fun for some minutes, indeed, but we don't think we will spend any other time (or money) again on it.
  6. Sep 30, 2013
    40
    What balance there is in Tactical Intervention is precarious at best. Mechanics have been piled on mechanics - ideas the game's creator always envisaged adding to his first game before Counter-Strike was firmly thrust into the hands of its community.
  7. Oct 28, 2013
    40
    Glimmers of that CS charm, but needs another year in development and local servers before standing alongside such heavyweights. [Nov 2013, p.91]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 35
  2. Negative: 13 out of 35
  1. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    This is a great old school FPS and its free to play dont know why so many bad reviews.... maybe too many battlefield fanboys here... If you like CS then you gona love this one. Expand
  2. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    All these zeroes are unjustified. It's a beta and the devs already know about it's problems. Every bloody zero here and even those that in the critics section are retarded. You don't rate a game when it's in beta. Does anyone give scores to battlefield 3 during it's beta. During bf3 beta, the game was sooooo bad. Even the bf4 beta right now is pretty bad with graphics and glitches. Does anybody go ahead and make crazy uniformed choices? So please please please. Give this game a chance. Collapse
  3. Sep 4, 2013
    10
    This is really nice game for Free 2 Play form. Yes, there are some bugs and glitches with animations, but that's not so big trouble. Nice gameplay and ideas like battle actions on roads in cars are awesome. I really like this game. Expand
  4. Oct 8, 2013
    6
    Decent game for a f2p, car mode is real fun, and is just a generally nice game to play. It has just come out of beta, despite critic reviews before hand... but give it a try, even though it has its problems. Expand
  5. Jan 14, 2014
    5
    Pros: Fun gameplay, good concept, lots of players, "free-to-play"

    Cons: Pay to win, bad graphics, can be buggy, bad vehicular control, no
    iron site/scope for weapons (unless you buy extras) Expand
  6. Nov 18, 2013
    4
    Tactical Intervention is a FPS which uses the source engine. This game is in a state of Needs A Update. It's okay but I would expect a lot more from the person who gave us CS-1.7 and CS:Source. Yes the person who made Counter-Strike made this mess. I think the man was trying to stick to EVERYTHING LOOK 2004 OTHER WISE I KILL YOU! However there is just 1 mission that makes up for this game. That's why it's a 4. MISSION HIGHWAY. A mission about traveling round in glitchy cars bashing the FBI while shooting out a window at some on coming traffic. It is stupid fun. The driving is stale and the gamemode also becomes stale after a while which is a same. Although it does try to mix up the matches. Though it does now work to well.

    Overall
    -Bad Graphics
    -Glitchy Gameplay
    -Stupidly Fun Highway Mission
    Score 46/100
    Expand
  7. Nov 14, 2013
    0
    Well i just finished playing "Tactical Intervention" and i am sad to say it was bad, i really wanted it to be something i could keep playing for years, i was wrong, anyway its basically budget version of COD, if your missing CSS just play that and don't waste your time Expand

See all 35 User Reviews