Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Built upon over 10 years of experience, Take On Helicopters immerses players within beautifully rich landscapes and an authentic helicopter experience.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. 80
    The very first flight simulator capable of attracting gamers who always ignored this genre. Two large maps and plenty of missions with detailed models of helicopters make you a fan of flying. [Dec 2011]
  2. Oct 31, 2011
    80
    Take on Helicopters will entertain all of you thinking that DCS: Ka-50 Black Shark simulator is too complicated or that Apache Air Assault is too arcade-oriented and militarily specialized. Take on Helicopters stands in the middle bringing half-done campaign and not so many machines, but on the other hand we can't leave out its future evolvement that now lies in the hands of the skilled community.
  3. Mar 30, 2012
    78
    A challenging helicopter simulator not as hardcore as another flight simulators but still fun to play. Brings a different Career approach focused on drama.
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    75
    Take On Helicopters is packed with lots of modes and missions that will entertain all the helicopter sims fans out there. You need to spend some hours learning how it works, so don't expect an arcade experience at all, even at the lowest difficulty level.
  5. Feb 9, 2012
    70
    Take on Helicopters doesn't revolutionize the simulator genre but most definitely will go down in gaming history as an interesting experiment. Have the developers focused more on the "simulator" part, the game could gain more recognition among hardcore fans.
  6. Jan 19, 2012
    65
    Take on Helicopters is an attempt to prove that civil aviation does not have to be boring. The problem of this game is that it sits on a fence between mass accessibility and hardcore simulation. It's competent in both cases but I'm not sure it can win over either group of players. [February 2012, p.56]
  7. Jan 9, 2012
    50
    Neither hardcore sim nor arcade fun, Take On Helicopters can't even get in the air. [Jan 2012, p.46]

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Jul 9, 2013
    10
    I really enjoyed this game. It's some nice non-violent fun that acts as an aid to learning how to fly helicopters. There are issues, but the biggest issue for me is simply that the game was too short. I played with a joystick and did not use auto-hover, by the time I got to the end of the game, I felt like I had just mastered all aspects of flying helicopters, from hovering, to landing, to auto-rotation, and even sling loads. But at that point, I was hoping the game was going to give me some harder challenges to really put my skills to the test, instead the game just ended. It's basically a very long tutorial on how to become a helicopter pilot, and for that, it's great! If that is what you are looking for then this is the game for you. Expand
  2. Sep 1, 2012
    10
    I love the feel... Its just like a real helicopters flight characteristics and I should know I flew for years ... love it.. Good job Bohemia! Graphics Roads, cars and small details doesn't do my NVidia 2gb 690 video card justice .. I just bought this do to the memory's of tooling around in a Hughes 500D model helicopter and feeling like your hung from a string really shows you need small inputs to the cyclic smooth transitions to landing and all will be good Collapse
  3. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    TOH has an interesting campaign, with a challenging flightmodel. It is a bit like a modern Sim Copter, and even though Im not a very big flightsim guy, I was very entertained by this title. The mission editor, extensive modability and community doesn't hurt the future experience either. Expand
  4. Nov 20, 2013
    8
    I know it might not be a game for everyone, but I friggin' love Take on Helicopters. Voice work is very good, characters are believable, story is interesting and draws you in, and I really don't know how it is to fly a helicopter in real life, but I must say I find ToH's compromise between arcade and simulation awesome. Indicators are easy to read without holding your hand. Flight experience is very flowing and relaxing, while tense and demanding. Terrain textures are quite ugly and I didn't really like the FPS segments, but you can skip those.

    Very, very good game. Easily worth my 15€.
    Expand
  5. Nov 17, 2014
    7
    Take On Helicopters has similar strengths and weaknesses to the ARMA series, only more so. It tries to bridge the gap between simulators and conventional video games, which it does with some success. There are few niche games like this, so it is good when one shows up, even if it is not perfect. It reminds me a bit of SimCopter from 1996.
    Realism and flight physics are very good but not perfect. There is a start-up procedure, but it is simplified. There is no autopilot but there is an optional auto-hover helper. The controls have the same kind of problems as in ARMA, and I had to spend a long time tweaking them. Unlike most sims, you control a human as you would in any shooter game, who in turn can board and pilot helicopters realistically.
    There is a career mode that has interesting missions and a decent believable story. It takes 10-15 hours but I wish it was longer. There is also a small management aspect - you can buy new equipment, inspect your helicopter, and pay for maintenance to prevent breakdowns. While the voice acting is good, it does have a low-budget / mod feel with crude character animations etc. And as with ARMA, some missions were a bit difficult, and had unreliable scripting, forcing me to retry a few times. Overall, I still enjoyed it.
    Then there are the more challenging time trials, where you have to fly as fast as you can through virtual hoops placed between buildings and under bridges etc. The courses range from moderate to insane. These are probably the most intense and challenging races I have tried in any game. They are awesome, but do require you to have mastered the helicopter controls. There are also some combat missions with a Hind attack helicopter in a desert map.
    Contrary to what most say, the graphics look good and I get decent fps (with a i5-4570 and overclocked GTX660 - here is a video I made doing a speed run: http://youtu.be/zzOpNE7_YK0). But I did have to carefully tweak the video settings. The Seattle environment is detailed and beautiful.
    Sadly multiplayer does not work, due to the gamespy server shutdown. While you can just about play with a keyboard or controller, you really do need a '3-axis + thruster' joystick (about $30).
    Despite its flaws, I would strongly recommend this to mature patient gamers willing to try a flight sim.
    Expand
  6. Mar 15, 2012
    6
    I do enjoy Take on Helicopters but it is lacking in fights and gets more boring than Microsoft Flight. You can actually add it as an addon to OA ArmaII etc.. anyways.. I am drifting here.. look for the release of Hinds on 3/15/2012 Expand
  7. Nov 5, 2011
    0
    Massive bugs, broken career mode missions, awful controls and unrealistic flight dynamics make this anything but a simulator. You will experience hours of frustration trying to tackle missions that have broken scripts. You will facepalm when you realize that it's easier to control the copters with mouse and keyboard than it is with a joystick, because the game registers joystick inputs incorrectly. You will be disappointed by the limited **** interactivity. The only good thing in this typical poor attempt from Bohemia is the beautifully detailed, but limited Seattle scenery. Beware of this turd.

    If you're into flying civilian choppers, FSX is still the best thing on the market, has better controls, functionality and more available third-party content.
    Expand

See all 10 User Reviews