Takedown: Red Sabre PC

User Score
3.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 166 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 166

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 20, 2013
    8
    So it's buggy for now, yes. Connection problems, yes. But the core gameplay is what it promised to be, hardcore shooter. Graphics are really nice, if you don't count the clunky terrorist AI animation. It's really punishing and really hard core. Don't buy the game if you're expecting something else. It's also mainly multiplayer game, probably best in team based versus modes where there isSo it's buggy for now, yes. Connection problems, yes. But the core gameplay is what it promised to be, hardcore shooter. Graphics are really nice, if you don't count the clunky terrorist AI animation. It's really punishing and really hard core. Don't buy the game if you're expecting something else. It's also mainly multiplayer game, probably best in team based versus modes where there is no AI issues. The AI is not that bad, I like the random enemy locations. Adds a lot of re-playability to otherwise small amount of content. Don't expect an AAA title with this price. And wait for them to patch it before judging. Expand
  2. Feb 15, 2014
    10
    Yes its buggy, yes its got bad ai and yes it was released early but i have actually had so much fun playing this with a group of 6 of my friends and genuinely enjoy this
  3. Sep 20, 2013
    8
    There are the glaring issues present like too many people being able to join coop and crashing it, Server browser issues, The AI having vision through doors/cubicles and other objects and hacker level aim/sense sometimes, the TTS (which isnt even a bug it's just REALLY annoying), Flashbangs doing literally NOTHING to the AI, some leaning around corner issues, and the ever Hilarious 10 footThere are the glaring issues present like too many people being able to join coop and crashing it, Server browser issues, The AI having vision through doors/cubicles and other objects and hacker level aim/sense sometimes, the TTS (which isnt even a bug it's just REALLY annoying), Flashbangs doing literally NOTHING to the AI, some leaning around corner issues, and the ever Hilarious 10 foot eyeballs of doom on death.

    Despite those things i was able to get in with a good group of players through the mumble provided by Serellean we played for about 8 hours straight and had a great time, at this point playing with randoms who are unwilling to cooperate (mumble/skype or other forms of communication) make this game a living breathing nightmare, But once you have a cohesive group of people working together game after game it becomes a very enjoyable experience.
    Expand
  4. Sep 22, 2013
    9
    except some glitches the game is very good .I think all tactical Lovers will enjoy the game.as iam thinking the patches will release asap to overcome those glitches.All the best TakeDown.
  5. Oct 8, 2013
    9
    In is current state it is still good fun, it has the problems that everyone knows about but is due a patch anytime time now. If you are interested in the game keep an eye on it for a while and see what gets fixed. If you are looking for Rainbow Recon 10 maybe it would be worth looking at something else but if you are after a a challenge at a reasonable price in it's current state it worthIn is current state it is still good fun, it has the problems that everyone knows about but is due a patch anytime time now. If you are interested in the game keep an eye on it for a while and see what gets fixed. If you are looking for Rainbow Recon 10 maybe it would be worth looking at something else but if you are after a a challenge at a reasonable price in it's current state it worth a look and can only get better. My advice is stay away from reviews and watch some game play videos and get a feel if its right for you. Expand
  6. Feb 16, 2014
    10
    The game had a bad first release but since has seen a lot of improvement. I hold high hopes for this game and it has plenty of potential. Putting bugs aside, it has some pretty damn awesome gameplay. Its really getting down to the gritty tactical shooter it is meant to be, 1 shot one kill, hardcore and difficult. Take it slow and plan out your moves. playing with a friend is an absoluteThe game had a bad first release but since has seen a lot of improvement. I hold high hopes for this game and it has plenty of potential. Putting bugs aside, it has some pretty damn awesome gameplay. Its really getting down to the gritty tactical shooter it is meant to be, 1 shot one kill, hardcore and difficult. Take it slow and plan out your moves. playing with a friend is an absolute THRILL because of just how difficult it is. I love this game and I know it has a bright future. The graphics are not bad AT ALL, especially for a game that is full price only $15. Its no AAA title but it is a game with potential. All the 1 ratings are haters, the game is nowhere near that bad. Give it a chance. Expand
  7. Mar 22, 2014
    9
    Honestly one of the best tactical shooters I've ever played. Rivaled only by Dark Souls in pure brutal difficulty., this game is amazing. Only marred by a few minor glitches (AI not paying attention, no reloading") this game is one of the best of the year. It needs a few updates, but I eagerly await to see the console version of this game, and a sequel
Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 15 out of 17
  1. Feb 24, 2014
    35
    Takedown: Red Sabre sums up the fears of every Kickstarter backer: that in the end they’ll have paid up front for something that doesn’t turn out very good. With clumsy presentation and wildly uneven difficulty, the game fails to be a competent FPS, much less a tactical one. The best advice I can give is to avoid it, which is little solace for those who backed it in the first place.
  2. PC PowerPlay
    Feb 3, 2014
    50
    Serellan seems dedicated to shaping Takedown into its original pitch, but it needs far more time in the planning phase. [Feb 2014, p.90]
  3. Nov 8, 2013
    49
    Rarely exciting, mostly disappointing. An unfinished tactical shooter let down by technical issues and terrible AI.