Tales of Maj'Eyal PC

Tales of Maj'Eyal Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 2 Critics Awaiting 2 more reviews What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 60 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tales of Maj’Eyal is a roguelike RPG, featuring tactical turn-based combat and advanced character building. Play as one of many unique races and classes in the lore-filled world of Eyal, exploring random dungeons, facing challenging battles, and developing characters with your own tailoredTales of Maj’Eyal is a roguelike RPG, featuring tactical turn-based combat and advanced character building. Play as one of many unique races and classes in the lore-filled world of Eyal, exploring random dungeons, facing challenging battles, and developing characters with your own tailored mix of abilities and powers. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Dec 17, 2013
    100
    Deep, complex and infinitely satisfying, Tales of Maj'Eyal is the pinnacle of the fantasy roguelike as it exists in 2013.
  2. Jun 16, 2017
    80
    Though I personally don't enjoy roguelikes, ToME is a marvellous game with bundles of class and race options that give the game an astounding amount of replay value. Coupled with the amazingly interesting lore and map design, ToME draws you in time and again.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    ToME is an amazingly detailed, immersive world to explore. Dungeons aplenty to fight your way through (it's hard!) and tons of great loot.ToME is an amazingly detailed, immersive world to explore. Dungeons aplenty to fight your way through (it's hard!) and tons of great loot. The classes and combat are well balanced which makes for lots of different playable classes that can go all the way to the endgame.

    Replay ability is paramount here. You can have 100 adventures and still be finding new items, monsters, spells, even classes, all the time.

    Every few months I search for actual, quality games to play. 99% of the games I try don't meet my criteria and aren't worth playing. ToME is the 1 in a million that I will play for years and remember my whole life due to the uniqueness of each experience in the game. I rank it up there with the original Zelda from my childhood.
    Expand
  2. Aug 4, 2014
    10
    My need to commend this game is the reason I created an account here.

    I have been solidly addicted to this game since I purchased it three
    My need to commend this game is the reason I created an account here.

    I have been solidly addicted to this game since I purchased it three months ago from steam. Easy to get to grips with but it also contains so much depth.. this is a game you'll continue to come back to over and over again.
    The classes range from your typical rogue, warrior or archmage to things like Oozemasters, alchemists and many many more.
    If you like deep rogue-likes, or have always wanted to try something a little deeper, I suggest you give this a go. There's a great community online which is always ready to offer advice, and you can chat with people via the in-game chat as you play.
    Try it. Become addicted. Profit (but loose sleep;)
    Expand
  3. Jul 29, 2015
    10
    This game is an amazing turned based RPG. It took me some times to acclimate to graphics, and to learn the basics.
    Already 500 hours played.
    This game is an amazing turned based RPG. It took me some times to acclimate to graphics, and to learn the basics.
    Already 500 hours played. Awesome !
    Expand
  4. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    TL;DR Tales of Maj'Eyal (or TOME) is a very well-built and versatile game that appeals to many turnbased RPG/strategy audiences, not just yourTL;DR Tales of Maj'Eyal (or TOME) is a very well-built and versatile game that appeals to many turnbased RPG/strategy audiences, not just your standard roguelike junkies (like me). Try it out.

    I definitely recommend giving TOME a shot, especially considering it's free off of their main site at http://te4.org/ although the 'free' copy doesn't net you the Stone Warden class, cosmetic features (such as a wider range of character sprites and even beards on dwarven females), and Exploration mode for those who don't like the idea of losing their character to a limited life count.

    For people not familiar with roguelikes, the genre is capitalized by a few strong features: Permadeath, turnbased combat, randomly generated content, and dungeon crawling. Some games, such as FTL, Rogue Legacy, or Binding of Isaac, are often called roguelites, because they feature some roguelike elements while bringing in flavors from other genres.

    TOME is definitely a pure roguelike, although it has different things to accommodate those who aren't diehard fans fo the genre, but to start I want to get into the features that roguelike players will appreciate.

    First, the game features an auto-explore button (default key is Z) that will literally run around the entire dungeon for you, exploring any crevice you haven't discovered yourself, and stopping the turn after a monster is found or when you are injured. Although it comes with the immediate disadvantage of losing a turn to a monster attack, this allows you to get past the 'easy' parts of the game relatively quickly after you know how to deal with them.

    This amazing feature is bundled with another, to ensure you're reaching your skill level of play as soon as possible: Dungeons that are too easy for you automatically teleport you to the final room, where you can skip several floors of almost worthless loot and monsters that grant barely any EXP, so you can get straight to the climactic fight with the dungeon's final boss.

    The game also features a cloud storage system for your save files off of an online account that syncs save files across every computer you have. This does not, however, make the game online-only, but instead means that when you access the internet you can play the same save file across multiple computers without having to manually transfer the file.

    The few classes you start with offer a lot of choice to the game:
    The Berserker dishes out massive damage with equally massive weapons.
    The Bulwark plays defensively, using a sword-and-board fighting style to tank and dish out damage.
    The Archer uses bows or slings and excels at taking foes out either at range or with deadly traps.
    The Arcane Blade, my personal favorite, combines his choice of melee combat style with arcane forces, allowing him to dish out devastating physical attacks and powerful elemental abilities on the same turn.
    The Rogue uses his stealth and traps to take out foes while remaining entirely unnoticed. Just remember to take off your light sources, as they'll give away your position quickly.
    The Shadowblade functions the same way the Rogue does, but uses the arcane arts as a utility to assassinate his targets.
    Finally, the Alchemist and his trusty golem sidekick are your starting magical powerhouse, using arcane magic to rain down destruction on their foes.
    The classes I've listed are only about a quarter of what you can play ingame, but most of them are locked. Each class provides a unique way of playing the game, each with his own special powers and abilities. There are also unlockable races as well. I'd tell you more, but the 5k character limit won't allow me to do so, and I don't want to spoil the game to everyone reading this.

    For beginners to roguelikes or more casual gamers, the Adventure game mode gives you multiple lives instead of your standard 1* present in most roguelikes, and the Exploration game mode allows you to play the game from start to end without fear of a permanent death. TOME also comes with something an unfortunately large number of roguelikes lack: a tutorial. The tutorial is actually pretty comprehensive compared to other roguelikes that take a half-hearted shot at teaching you how to play, meaning you aren't going into the game entirely clueless.
    Expand
  5. Dec 27, 2013
    9
    Tales of Maj'Eyal (ToME) is truly one of the best Rogue-like games I've every played. This is coming from a guy who started with the originalTales of Maj'Eyal (ToME) is truly one of the best Rogue-like games I've every played. This is coming from a guy who started with the original Rogue on floppy disks years ago. I even beat that game multiple times. That was freaking hard in a world without the World Wide Web to go look stuff up on. Yes I'm old, thanks for reminding me. Over the years, I've played nearly every Rogue-like game that has come out. Many have featured new ideas, while sticking with the basics. Only one other that I can think of reached the levels of greatness similar to this (Ancient Domains of Mystery or ADOM, and that one was long ago in the days of Muds (again, I'm old... stop picking on me!).

    ToME truly takes the best of all Rogue genres and blends them into one masterpiece of a game. The story and lore in the game are amazingly detailed. If you aren't into that (like my wife!), it doesn't matter. You can hack and slash (and die) your way through the game with little problem. There are tons of race and class combinations. Insane amounts of items. Lots of hidden easter eggs. There are plenty of reasons to replay the game for as you unlock new content all the time. Plus the game is very modable! What is there not to love?!?

    I pretty much never give out 10's in my reviews as I believe games can always be improved. ToME still has a few minor bugs as any game this huge and open does. DarkGod (the creator) is very fast at fixing them when found though. I wish there was a tad more variability in the early levels as there is almost no grinding allowed in the game. Early dungeons are pretty much always in the same places, and starting your 20th character can be a little boring in the early levels due to this.

    I tend to rate a game's value on entertainment time versus cost. If I spend less than a dollar per hour playing the game, I feel my time was worth it. I've lost track of how many hours I've put into this game. Probably over 100 now. I think the game currently runs around $6 on Steam, and I donated $10 to the game back in the early stages of Beta. I'd say this is one of the best values for a game I've ever had (right up there with FF Tactics Advance for me). Go buy it! Now!
    Expand
  6. Jun 18, 2015
    8
    Tales of Maj'Eyal is immersive. I often found myself playing for more time than I anticipated. It is VERY deep, but if you want a shallowerTales of Maj'Eyal is immersive. I often found myself playing for more time than I anticipated. It is VERY deep, but if you want a shallower experience you can choose a simple class and simply hammer away at enemies. I don't understand why it is rogue-like, I found it far too difficult that way so I played on infinite lives mode. I felt there was too much to lose when playing with a fixed number of lives.

    Really good for the price. Can sometimes feel a little slower than other RPGs since it's turn based strategy. Played 60 hours on it, could have played 100 easily.
    Expand
  7. Mar 12, 2016
    0
    If you like crude and antique, then this is for you. The patcher is the worst for any game ever made= broken.
    Character classes have 0
    If you like crude and antique, then this is for you. The patcher is the worst for any game ever made= broken.
    Character classes have 0 balance. The same dungeons on a horrible scheme are used over and over.
    Once this game hit steam it was adios to ever seeing any real improvements. Here come the cheesy expansions, none of which I will ever buy until the core game gets some serious work.
    Expand

See all 18 User Reviews