User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 65
  2. Negative: 3 out of 65

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NathanM
    Aug 19, 2009
    6
    In general the humor and the attitude is all there...in general... This is to say it "feels" like playing a classic Monkey Island Adventure...however the original complexity and difficulty is not present. The sheer number of scenes or locals with which Guybrush must interact simultaneously to solve the puzzles is simply not present. Another lacking feature that no one has mentioned to my In general the humor and the attitude is all there...in general... This is to say it "feels" like playing a classic Monkey Island Adventure...however the original complexity and difficulty is not present. The sheer number of scenes or locals with which Guybrush must interact simultaneously to solve the puzzles is simply not present. Another lacking feature that no one has mentioned to my knowledge. Where did the "Pick Up" "Open" "Close" "Talk To" "Look At" "Use" "Push" "Pull" go? These options added a great level of depth to the previous games, if even in the form of red herrings, which is lost here. In essence to make a strange comparison... I feel that if we might call the original Monkey Islands "Pokemon" then this latest is more like "Pokemon Snap!" Understand that I am not comparing Monkey Island to Pokemon in content. I am comparing Pokemon to Pokemon Snap in order to more clearly quantify the differential in the level of "gaming depth" between the classic Monkey Islands and this latest release. Same theme, same attitude, but shallower. Expand
  2. sLm
    Feb 11, 2014
    5
    Lots of Spanish references, and not a single game translation of the game in Spanish. Dumbasses... And by the way, the "j" in "Esponja" is not pronounced /dʒ/, but /h/...
    -.-'''
  3. FediS.
    Jul 12, 2009
    5
    This game is painfully mediocre.. All that is good about it comes from the ideas/music/story of the 4 previous games (Yes MI4 included,since it's very good). The new island's design and all the supporting characters are so dull,badly designed and unoriginal that it justs destroys it, even if it has some good puzzles , probably the best Telltale has yet to offer.
  4. FiveAirtonic
    Jul 29, 2009
    9
    Absolutly free 3D flash game. The best! Must play! Tanki Online
  5. tomgo
    Jul 9, 2009
    9
    Guybrush is back! Launch of the Screaming Narwhal is the beginning of an all new saga in the Monkey Island Universe. It's clever, funny and will entertain you for about 4 hours, which is good for an episode. If you're not afraid of thinking while playing and want brilliant humor in your game then this is for you.
    Cant wait for episode 2.
  6. AndrewL
    Jul 13, 2009
    10
    Firstly, the graphics at first are foreign, how could they not be? Luckily, they grow on you within the first 15 seconds of gameplay. The controls are beyond simple, using WASD to walk is easy and thankfully it doesn't follow the same control scheme as Escape from Monkey Island, it's not confusing in the slightest. The story so far (being that we're only given the first Firstly, the graphics at first are foreign, how could they not be? Luckily, they grow on you within the first 15 seconds of gameplay. The controls are beyond simple, using WASD to walk is easy and thankfully it doesn't follow the same control scheme as Escape from Monkey Island, it's not confusing in the slightest. The story so far (being that we're only given the first taste of 5 chapters) is amazing, there is so much excitement in the plot. The boyish, smart-alec humour of Guybrush is cheekier than ever and you instantly fall in love with him again. Every puzzle is as entertaining as its end result, consequences of doing your piratey deeds always reward the player, and it's just that much more fun, and somewhat sinister, in Tales of Monkey Island. Although short, Launch of the Screaming Narwhal does its job as an enjoyable start to a Monkey Island game. It's not up there with Curse of Monkey Island, but it sure comes close. Dare I say, it's already more enjoyable than the fourth instalment to the series. At the point you finish chapter one, you're overwhelmed with joy that there are 4 more parts to come! Thank you Lucasarts, for reviving what is possibly the best game series of all time. Expand
  7. MarkL
    Jul 9, 2009
    10
    I had my doubts, but after playing this through I'm sure that this will be the best Monkey game since Curse. While the graphics are still blocky 3D, the game goes back to mouse control which feels much more like the classics than Escape's keyboard system did. While this chapter is pretty short (I completed it in less than 5 hours), at $35 for the full season, this is great value I had my doubts, but after playing this through I'm sure that this will be the best Monkey game since Curse. While the graphics are still blocky 3D, the game goes back to mouse control which feels much more like the classics than Escape's keyboard system did. While this chapter is pretty short (I completed it in less than 5 hours), at $35 for the full season, this is great value for money. I cant wait for the next installment, Telltale have done a great job of making my favourite game series as fresh and exciting as it ever was. Expand
  8. MarkusN.
    Jul 9, 2009
    8
    As a long time MI fan I had to play this. The opening week deal for 35$ for all five episodes plus another TT Game ep was just too good. I would have played it on Wii but I don't wanna pay twice as much for that version. The game itself is a straightforward Adventure game, point and click, collect items, figure out what to use where and how and that's basically it. You will As a long time MI fan I had to play this. The opening week deal for 35$ for all five episodes plus another TT Game ep was just too good. I would have played it on Wii but I don't wanna pay twice as much for that version. The game itself is a straightforward Adventure game, point and click, collect items, figure out what to use where and how and that's basically it. You will listen to funny dialogs for clues (even though the Voodoo lady is cringe inducingly terrible). If you've played an Adventure game before you know the deal. The graphics are in the typical TellTale style and therefore a mixed bucket. Some of the designs look hauntingly like classical Monkey Island scenes but if you look closely (especially with the characters) you will see bland textures. Overall it's a nice looking game but nothing really spectacular. The puzzles are very logical and for Adventurists maybe a tad too easy but it took me 4-5 hours none the less. If the final length of all episodes amounts to 20+ hours of gameplay I'd be more than happy with it. The controls are a bold step forward from the point and click interface and to me they are superior to Sam&Max. You just can't have a proper click only wayfinding in a full 3D environment like that. As the first episode it did a great job of wanting me to play more. Collapse
  9. JoeyJoeJoe
    Jul 9, 2009
    9
    I bought this game from Steam on a whim as it suprised me on release day and I have to say I'm happily suprised at it's quality. The only flaw I can name is it is a bit short (but it is episodic of course) and the mouse controls for moving Guybrush is akward (fixed by just using WASD instead). A lot of people complained about the graphical style that TellTale games decided on I bought this game from Steam on a whim as it suprised me on release day and I have to say I'm happily suprised at it's quality. The only flaw I can name is it is a bit short (but it is episodic of course) and the mouse controls for moving Guybrush is akward (fixed by just using WASD instead). A lot of people complained about the graphical style that TellTale games decided on but I have to say I rather enjoy it, it looks like a massively revamped Escape from Monkey Island graphically but I feel it's closer to the older games with it's humour and silliness. I turned the hints off so as to make the game last longer so I'm unsure of how they effect gameplay at all. I feel that if anyone compains about the 3D style and how these new games "butchered" the classic series may have their nostalgia goggles on a little too tightly. I recommend this game if you are a fan of Monkey Island but I can see how it may be a bit confusing for the first timer of the point and click puzzle games, but thankfully the hint system is in place for just this. Overall, classic Monkey Island. Expand
  10. Snake
    Nov 10, 2009
    7
    On the plus side, it's more fun to play than the old 2D games. There are some good puzzle--I only needed help twice. But the game is held back from greatness by a few factors. One being the bugginess. I've had multiple crashes at startup, ingame, when exiting, and it even had the audacity to BSOD me at the end of the credits. Secondly, the new control system is difficult to use On the plus side, it's more fun to play than the old 2D games. There are some good puzzle--I only needed help twice. But the game is held back from greatness by a few factors. One being the bugginess. I've had multiple crashes at startup, ingame, when exiting, and it even had the audacity to BSOD me at the end of the credits. Secondly, the new control system is difficult to use compared to simply clicking where you want to go; gamepad support is wonky, also. Finally, the voice acting and dialogue is pretty dull at times. Maybe the newer episodes will fare better, though. Expand
  11. DanielJ
    Jul 18, 2009
    7
    Worth an 8 for putting me on thought of replaying the others and reacquainting myself with one of the most memorable characters in the history of video game entertainment. However it deserves a meagre 7 because of the dry and poor script, the shabby construction and for using the same damn engine that couldn
  12. DougT
    Aug 15, 2009
    9
    Excellent game, the first point and click game that I've ever been excited to play. I never played the first, but the story is pretty easy to understand and very entertaining. The puzzles are intriguing and actually offer a challenge some of the time. The characters are all entertaining, the story is solid, the graphics look good, and the dialogue is humorous and doesn't lack Excellent game, the first point and click game that I've ever been excited to play. I never played the first, but the story is pretty easy to understand and very entertaining. The puzzles are intriguing and actually offer a challenge some of the time. The characters are all entertaining, the story is solid, the graphics look good, and the dialogue is humorous and doesn't lack structure. Considering you get 5 games for 35$, you'd be ridiculous not to pick these up. The first one lasted about 3 hours, so on average 15 hours of game play for half the price of COD4 Modern Warfare 2, is a certain buy. (Good single player and family game, nothing naughter lol). Expand
  13. Aug 13, 2010
    8
    There's quite a bit of fun to be had here, only to be ruined by a flawed hint system and some puzzles that I required help on. For the most part, however, it's fun and rewarding to solve the puzzles without using a guide.
  14. May 18, 2011
    9
    I got this game for $5 for all 5 chapters during the Steam summer sale. Well worth that price. Although childish, it is very well made. Good story, great voice acting, charming, witty, creative puzzles. Takes about 4 hours of play time to finish each chapter so roughly 20 hours total.
  15. Aug 6, 2011
    10
    I specially sing in to Metacritic to rate this game. I saw some reviews and decidet to write my own. For thoese who likes pirates and love homor will love this game. thumbs up! At the first some minutes i was so banned that i had to play the game to the end. i played 80 hours.
    80 hours full of fun wonderfull story and humor.
  16. May 1, 2012
    8
    Monkey Island is back. And in a BIG way. Almost a decade had passed with no new games and many fans had begun to loose faith there would never be another portion of their favourite pirate adventure game. However LucasArts in association with Telltale Games have brought Guybrush, Elaine, LeChuck and the others back for a really fun title. The voice acting is fantastic and luckily manyMonkey Island is back. And in a BIG way. Almost a decade had passed with no new games and many fans had begun to loose faith there would never be another portion of their favourite pirate adventure game. However LucasArts in association with Telltale Games have brought Guybrush, Elaine, LeChuck and the others back for a really fun title. The voice acting is fantastic and luckily many (although not all) of the original cast have returned. The puzzles are challenging in a good way, however some fans might be turned off with the new graphics. Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. It's not as engaging or memorable as we remember the originals to be, and the puzzles won't blow anyone away, but it's still hugely exciting to play a brand new Monkey Island game, such is the enduring popularity of the early 90s classics.
  2. The difficulty of the problem-solving you're tasked with is perfectly pitched, and if you do get stuck, the very subtle hint system may be all you need to help you along. You never feel overwhelmed and the gameplay doesn't become tedious or as frustrating as it can in other adventure games.
  3. 80
    Monkey Island is back. This first episode is a strong start, with Guybrush at his best, an amusing script and a barrel of grog to boot.