User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 65
  2. Negative: 3 out of 65

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. FiveAirtonic
    Jul 29, 2009
    9
    Absolutly free 3D flash game. The best! Must play! Tanki Online
  2. tomgo
    Jul 9, 2009
    9
    Guybrush is back! Launch of the Screaming Narwhal is the beginning of an all new saga in the Monkey Island Universe. It's clever, funny and will entertain you for about 4 hours, which is good for an episode. If you're not afraid of thinking while playing and want brilliant humor in your game then this is for you.
    Cant wait for episode 2.
  3. AndrewL
    Jul 13, 2009
    10
    Firstly, the graphics at first are foreign, how could they not be? Luckily, they grow on you within the first 15 seconds of gameplay. The controls are beyond simple, using WASD to walk is easy and thankfully it doesn't follow the same control scheme as Escape from Monkey Island, it's not confusing in the slightest. The story so far (being that we're only given the first Firstly, the graphics at first are foreign, how could they not be? Luckily, they grow on you within the first 15 seconds of gameplay. The controls are beyond simple, using WASD to walk is easy and thankfully it doesn't follow the same control scheme as Escape from Monkey Island, it's not confusing in the slightest. The story so far (being that we're only given the first taste of 5 chapters) is amazing, there is so much excitement in the plot. The boyish, smart-alec humour of Guybrush is cheekier than ever and you instantly fall in love with him again. Every puzzle is as entertaining as its end result, consequences of doing your piratey deeds always reward the player, and it's just that much more fun, and somewhat sinister, in Tales of Monkey Island. Although short, Launch of the Screaming Narwhal does its job as an enjoyable start to a Monkey Island game. It's not up there with Curse of Monkey Island, but it sure comes close. Dare I say, it's already more enjoyable than the fourth instalment to the series. At the point you finish chapter one, you're overwhelmed with joy that there are 4 more parts to come! Thank you Lucasarts, for reviving what is possibly the best game series of all time. Expand
  4. MarkL
    Jul 9, 2009
    10
    I had my doubts, but after playing this through I'm sure that this will be the best Monkey game since Curse. While the graphics are still blocky 3D, the game goes back to mouse control which feels much more like the classics than Escape's keyboard system did. While this chapter is pretty short (I completed it in less than 5 hours), at $35 for the full season, this is great value I had my doubts, but after playing this through I'm sure that this will be the best Monkey game since Curse. While the graphics are still blocky 3D, the game goes back to mouse control which feels much more like the classics than Escape's keyboard system did. While this chapter is pretty short (I completed it in less than 5 hours), at $35 for the full season, this is great value for money. I cant wait for the next installment, Telltale have done a great job of making my favourite game series as fresh and exciting as it ever was. Expand
  5. JoeyJoeJoe
    Jul 9, 2009
    9
    I bought this game from Steam on a whim as it suprised me on release day and I have to say I'm happily suprised at it's quality. The only flaw I can name is it is a bit short (but it is episodic of course) and the mouse controls for moving Guybrush is akward (fixed by just using WASD instead). A lot of people complained about the graphical style that TellTale games decided on I bought this game from Steam on a whim as it suprised me on release day and I have to say I'm happily suprised at it's quality. The only flaw I can name is it is a bit short (but it is episodic of course) and the mouse controls for moving Guybrush is akward (fixed by just using WASD instead). A lot of people complained about the graphical style that TellTale games decided on but I have to say I rather enjoy it, it looks like a massively revamped Escape from Monkey Island graphically but I feel it's closer to the older games with it's humour and silliness. I turned the hints off so as to make the game last longer so I'm unsure of how they effect gameplay at all. I feel that if anyone compains about the 3D style and how these new games "butchered" the classic series may have their nostalgia goggles on a little too tightly. I recommend this game if you are a fan of Monkey Island but I can see how it may be a bit confusing for the first timer of the point and click puzzle games, but thankfully the hint system is in place for just this. Overall, classic Monkey Island. Expand
  6. DougT
    Aug 15, 2009
    9
    Excellent game, the first point and click game that I've ever been excited to play. I never played the first, but the story is pretty easy to understand and very entertaining. The puzzles are intriguing and actually offer a challenge some of the time. The characters are all entertaining, the story is solid, the graphics look good, and the dialogue is humorous and doesn't lack Excellent game, the first point and click game that I've ever been excited to play. I never played the first, but the story is pretty easy to understand and very entertaining. The puzzles are intriguing and actually offer a challenge some of the time. The characters are all entertaining, the story is solid, the graphics look good, and the dialogue is humorous and doesn't lack structure. Considering you get 5 games for 35$, you'd be ridiculous not to pick these up. The first one lasted about 3 hours, so on average 15 hours of game play for half the price of COD4 Modern Warfare 2, is a certain buy. (Good single player and family game, nothing naughter lol). Expand
  7. May 18, 2011
    9
    I got this game for $5 for all 5 chapters during the Steam summer sale. Well worth that price. Although childish, it is very well made. Good story, great voice acting, charming, witty, creative puzzles. Takes about 4 hours of play time to finish each chapter so roughly 20 hours total.
  8. Aug 6, 2011
    10
    I specially sing in to Metacritic to rate this game. I saw some reviews and decidet to write my own. For thoese who likes pirates and love homor will love this game. thumbs up! At the first some minutes i was so banned that i had to play the game to the end. i played 80 hours.
    80 hours full of fun wonderfull story and humor.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. It's not as engaging or memorable as we remember the originals to be, and the puzzles won't blow anyone away, but it's still hugely exciting to play a brand new Monkey Island game, such is the enduring popularity of the early 90s classics.
  2. The difficulty of the problem-solving you're tasked with is perfectly pitched, and if you do get stuck, the very subtle hint system may be all you need to help you along. You never feel overwhelmed and the gameplay doesn't become tedious or as frustrating as it can in other adventure games.
  3. 80
    Monkey Island is back. This first episode is a strong start, with Guybrush at his best, an amusing script and a barrel of grog to boot.