Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 64 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: While explosively stripping the evil pirate LeChuck of his demonic mojo, Guybrush Threepwood inadvertently infects the entire Caribbean with the arch-fiend's expelled voodoo, which threatens to transform buccaneers into unruly pirate monsters. Pursued by a notorious cut-throat Pirate HunterWhile explosively stripping the evil pirate LeChuck of his demonic mojo, Guybrush Threepwood inadvertently infects the entire Caribbean with the arch-fiend's expelled voodoo, which threatens to transform buccaneers into unruly pirate monsters. Pursued by a notorious cut-throat Pirate Hunter and a creepy French Physician who believes that Guybrush's eerily-infected hand holds the secret of eternal life, Threepwood sails the seven seas in search of La Esponja Grande, a legendary sea sponge with unparalleled voodoo exfoliating abilities. But little does Guybrush know, his quest is part of a larger, more sinister plot, and good and evil are not always as they seem. [Telltale Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. 100
    Whether or not you've ever experienced Monkey Island's ridiculous puzzles and eccentric characters, this is a great opportunity to explore the reemerging world of adventure gaming.
  2. Following excellent Sam Max, Strongbad and Wallace & Gromit episodic series, Telltale Games has done it once again. Tales of Monkey Island's first episode, Launch of the Screaming Narwhal, is a "yo-ho-ho and a barrel of laughs" P&C adventure game.
  3. Already it’s better than both the Wallace & Gromit and Strongbad series, and makes a move on some episodes of Sam & Max.
  4. 80
    It's a new Monkey Island game. Play it if you dig the series, play it if you dig Telltale's other stuff, and play it if you dig adventure games in general. And if you're still saying this genre's dead here and now in 2009, you're just plain wrong. And you probably fight like a dairy farmer.
  5. The return of the beloved Monkey Island series is something that most adventure gamers have been waiting for. And with the arrival of the first episode, it is safe to say that no one will be disappointed. Telltale Games have done a great job on capturing familiar aspects of the previous games, while bringing some new elements to it.
  6. All together Tales of the Screaming Narwhal is a title, which appeals to players of the older generation, who played the other Monkey Island games. Short, but a good adventure!
  7. We anticipated a flawless successor of the legend and we got a great and funny adventure game…but we expected a better one from the creators of Sam & Max series. [Aug 2009]

See all 54 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Aug 6, 2011
    10
    I specially sing in to Metacritic to rate this game. I saw some reviews and decidet to write my own. For thoese who likes pirates and loveI specially sing in to Metacritic to rate this game. I saw some reviews and decidet to write my own. For thoese who likes pirates and love homor will love this game. thumbs up! At the first some minutes i was so banned that i had to play the game to the end. i played 80 hours.
    80 hours full of fun wonderfull story and humor.
    Expand
  2. MarkL
    Jul 9, 2009
    10
    I had my doubts, but after playing this through I'm sure that this will be the best Monkey game since Curse. While the graphics are I had my doubts, but after playing this through I'm sure that this will be the best Monkey game since Curse. While the graphics are still blocky 3D, the game goes back to mouse control which feels much more like the classics than Escape's keyboard system did. While this chapter is pretty short (I completed it in less than 5 hours), at $35 for the full season, this is great value for money. I cant wait for the next installment, Telltale have done a great job of making my favourite game series as fresh and exciting as it ever was. Expand
  3. DougT
    Aug 15, 2009
    9
    Excellent game, the first point and click game that I've ever been excited to play. I never played the first, but the story is pretty Excellent game, the first point and click game that I've ever been excited to play. I never played the first, but the story is pretty easy to understand and very entertaining. The puzzles are intriguing and actually offer a challenge some of the time. The characters are all entertaining, the story is solid, the graphics look good, and the dialogue is humorous and doesn't lack structure. Considering you get 5 games for 35$, you'd be ridiculous not to pick these up. The first one lasted about 3 hours, so on average 15 hours of game play for half the price of COD4 Modern Warfare 2, is a certain buy. (Good single player and family game, nothing naughter lol). Expand
  4. MarkusN.
    Jul 9, 2009
    8
    As a long time MI fan I had to play this. The opening week deal for 35$ for all five episodes plus another TT Game ep was just too good. I As a long time MI fan I had to play this. The opening week deal for 35$ for all five episodes plus another TT Game ep was just too good. I would have played it on Wii but I don't wanna pay twice as much for that version. The game itself is a straightforward Adventure game, point and click, collect items, figure out what to use where and how and that's basically it. You will listen to funny dialogs for clues (even though the Voodoo lady is cringe inducingly terrible). If you've played an Adventure game before you know the deal. The graphics are in the typical TellTale style and therefore a mixed bucket. Some of the designs look hauntingly like classical Monkey Island scenes but if you look closely (especially with the characters) you will see bland textures. Overall it's a nice looking game but nothing really spectacular. The puzzles are very logical and for Adventurists maybe a tad too easy but it took me 4-5 hours none the less. If the final length of all episodes amounts to 20+ hours of gameplay I'd be more than happy with it. The controls are a bold step forward from the point and click interface and to me they are superior to Sam&Max. You just can't have a proper click only wayfinding in a full 3D environment like that. As the first episode it did a great job of wanting me to play more. Expand
  5. May 1, 2012
    8
    Monkey Island is back. And in a BIG way. Almost a decade had passed with no new games and many fans had begun to loose faith there would neverMonkey Island is back. And in a BIG way. Almost a decade had passed with no new games and many fans had begun to loose faith there would never be another portion of their favourite pirate adventure game. However LucasArts in association with Telltale Games have brought Guybrush, Elaine, LeChuck and the others back for a really fun title. The voice acting is fantastic and luckily many (although not all) of the original cast have returned. The puzzles are challenging in a good way, however some fans might be turned off with the new graphics. Collapse
  6. DanielJ
    Jul 18, 2009
    7
    Worth an 8 for putting me on thought of replaying the others and reacquainting myself with one of the most memorable characters in the Worth an 8 for putting me on thought of replaying the others and reacquainting myself with one of the most memorable characters in the history of video game entertainment. However it deserves a meagre 7 because of the dry and poor script, the shabby construction and for using the same damn engine that couldn Expand
  7. FediS.
    Jul 12, 2009
    5
    This game is painfully mediocre.. All that is good about it comes from the ideas/music/story of the 4 previous games (Yes MI4 included,sinceThis game is painfully mediocre.. All that is good about it comes from the ideas/music/story of the 4 previous games (Yes MI4 included,since it's very good). The new island's design and all the supporting characters are so dull,badly designed and unoriginal that it justs destroys it, even if it has some good puzzles , probably the best Telltale has yet to offer. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews