Talisman: Digital Edition Image
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 75 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Talisman Digital Edition - The Magical Quest Game for 1 to 4 players. The officially licensed multiplayer version of the classic fantasy adventure board game, Talisman. This game is available as an Early Access release and is therefore not fully complete. The full version includes a fullTalisman Digital Edition - The Magical Quest Game for 1 to 4 players. The officially licensed multiplayer version of the classic fantasy adventure board game, Talisman. This game is available as an Early Access release and is therefore not fully complete. The full version includes a full online multiplayer game for up to four players. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 4
  2. Negative: 2 out of 4
  1. Mar 21, 2014
    70
    Charming and true to the source: The digital Talisman is no fancy interpretation but an authentic port of the board game with all its rules.
  2. Jun 28, 2014
    60
    When you’re playing with three other people, session includes 1.5h of watching others make their moves. It’s not a problem when you’re sitting around the board of the original Talisman game, chatting and laughing, but it doesn’t work too well in a computer game. Otherwise it’s a great adaptation. [05/2014, p.66]
  3. Apr 10, 2014
    45
    Monopoly with monsters – what can be better than that? Well, turns out, pretty much everything else.
  4. Apr 14, 2014
    40
    As a game that endures precisely because of its easygoing, laughable nature, Talisman is far from ideal.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 9 out of 24
  1. Mar 10, 2014
    10
    I signed up for this account as a result of playing the digital edition of Talisman. It is a really faithful and lovingly constructed game, byI signed up for this account as a result of playing the digital edition of Talisman. It is a really faithful and lovingly constructed game, by people that clearly have a passion for the source material. It really has a strong 'one more turn' vibe that encourages you to play until the end of a game. I really support the developers in putting this together and would readily recommend it to fans of the board game and people looking for something a bit different. Good fun! Expand
  2. Mar 10, 2014
    10
    Great Game
    Love playing this when I cant get the gaming group together in one place! Has the look and feel of the Original board game without
    Great Game
    Love playing this when I cant get the gaming group together in one place! Has the look and feel of the Original board game without the setup time! Must buy for Board-game fans
    Expand
  3. Feb 28, 2014
    10
    Very good rendition of the board game. The game is explained very well so it's easy for novices and experts to enjoy. I've had a lot of gamesVery good rendition of the board game. The game is explained very well so it's easy for novices and experts to enjoy. I've had a lot of games online and really enjoyed them. Some can take a while to play, but it's still a lot quicker than playing the board game. Highly recommended! Expand
  4. Jul 1, 2014
    9
    Faithful rendition of the board game. Cheaper than the board game as well. My gaming group mentioned picking it up in lieu of playingFaithful rendition of the board game. Cheaper than the board game as well. My gaming group mentioned picking it up in lieu of playing the actual board game, and we found it faster to play online. The musical score is pleasant and doesn't seem to get old even after playing for a few hours. The in-game menus are easy to use and understand, however you'll want to spend a few minutes reading up on spell queues and how to use your cards as it isn't clear how to do it initially. Options to increase AI movement speed help expedite single player games to under an hour. My only complaint would be that game menus for graphics, and setting up a game seem clunky, you also need to manually turn on DLC which seems bizarre, although its a one time aggravation. I bought it when it went on sale for $6 on steam, and I don't regret it. Expand
  5. Jul 20, 2014
    8
    Great port of board game. The ai is good enough, at least for me. The long play time may be boring for some, so... be advised. For the boardGreat port of board game. The ai is good enough, at least for me. The long play time may be boring for some, so... be advised. For the board game fans, two thumbs up! Expand
  6. Apr 5, 2015
    4
    It's astonishing how boring and badly designed Talisman is. I've played the tabletop version of Talisman before and always thought it was anIt's astonishing how boring and badly designed Talisman is. I've played the tabletop version of Talisman before and always thought it was an awful game. I love boardgames, have dozens of them, but Talisman... It takes the features of games like Monopoly and other trail games and try to entice you with a mildly interesting (though generic) fantasy setting - but the truth is: it remains as boring, flawed and outdated like Monopoly itself. The game may drag for hours and hours without an ending in sight, stalemates aren't rare and everything is about randomness. There's no skill involved playing in Talisman, all you can do is try to push your luck in a general direction and pray for the best. I understand why a game like this would be popular 20 or 30 years ago, but today we have plenty of better board (and digital) games to play. Maybe *huge* fans of Mario Party would enjoy playing digital Talisman (or old fans of the original iteration feeling nostalgic), but I just can't recommend this game to anyone else. You want to play "digital boardgames" on your PC? Try Smallworld, Ticket to Ride or anything else, but stay away from Talisman. Expand
  7. Apr 3, 2015
    0
    Bad adaptation of an otherwise great game. The interface is a pain to use, multiplayer crashes every other turn, and the game let's you feelBad adaptation of an otherwise great game. The interface is a pain to use, multiplayer crashes every other turn, and the game let's you feel the strong lack of enthusiasm the devs obviously had. Add DLC cash-farming on top and you know what this game was made: to get some quick money by misusing a good title to get into your wallet. Also reading some of the positive comments here make me feel like they have been sponsored to cheat on the user score. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews