User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 5489 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    Definitely a game that really inspires other games alike, TF2 is a true test for gamers. The gory humor and variety of weapons, maps, and modes, keeps you entertained for a LONG time. I would go far as to say to upgrade to the Premium account, because it is THAT good.
  2. Jul 13, 2011
    10
    Another great FPS from Valve, it's very fun to play and the characters have funny dialogues, many different classes provides each one with one specific strength and weakness, and overall it's very fun.
    And now it's free to play! what are you waiting?
  3. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    There are only three words needed to describe this game, "BEST GAME EVER!!!" There is literally no game better and i can guarantee there won't be unless they make team fortress 3. The game is Perfectly balanced in every single way. there are tons of weapons for each of the nine classes, all of which have a totally different personality and play style. Do you like being fast and zoomingThere are only three words needed to describe this game, "BEST GAME EVER!!!" There is literally no game better and i can guarantee there won't be unless they make team fortress 3. The game is Perfectly balanced in every single way. there are tons of weapons for each of the nine classes, all of which have a totally different personality and play style. Do you like being fast and zooming around your enemies while shooting the crap out of them? then the scout is for you. Like to run out into the battlefield guns blazing? then the heavy is for you. I don't think any sane person can possibly dislike this game, and guess what, It's free now!!! They just released an update for TF2 that adds many weapons for almost every class and also makes the game free to play! Expand
  4. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Beautifully made game
    I have always loved it and always will.
    I Am Really happy that it is now free and that everyone can enjoy this
    Wonderful game.I love this Game
    Everyone should play it!
    Cant wait till my friends download it and play with me =)
    Expand
  5. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    Perfect 10. This game, now being free, has it all. A backstory, strategy, a dedicated youtube channel introducing all the players, active communities, and so much more. I am hard pressed to find a game that can give me this much fun for hours on end. If you get bored, you can always vary it up someway to create an interesting meld. Achievements are also fun to obtain and you get themPerfect 10. This game, now being free, has it all. A backstory, strategy, a dedicated youtube channel introducing all the players, active communities, and so much more. I am hard pressed to find a game that can give me this much fun for hours on end. If you get bored, you can always vary it up someway to create an interesting meld. Achievements are also fun to obtain and you get them often. The graphics are great, the speed and accuracy are also on par with any other online game out there. Its challenging sometimes, you will always find a new way to play and solutions to create. A+ to the developers out there for making such a rock solid game. I have yet to experience one bad thing about it. Expand
  6. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    It's been what, 3 or 4 years since it's release, and this game still has me coming back. The classes are perfectly balanced, maps are fun along with their game modes, and with so many modders constantly adding free content available to the public, along with Valve's free downloads, along with the fact that this game is free to play, why would you not get it?
  7. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    Good ole team fortress 2, Like Team Fortress Classic the idea of teams with special players is just genius no more spray and prey (Excluding HEAVY) you need tactics baby. Team Fortress II is so much like the Classic only Polished with more modern ideas and better graphics.
  8. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    This game has its good points and bad, just like every game out there. Thankfully, its good parts far outweigh its bad. The classes are mostly balanced and are worthy of the title. It takes a different kind of person to appreciate this game though. This game is meant to be fun in a cartoony way, not necessarily competitively. One needs to know when to play seriously, and when to justThis game has its good points and bad, just like every game out there. Thankfully, its good parts far outweigh its bad. The classes are mostly balanced and are worthy of the title. It takes a different kind of person to appreciate this game though. This game is meant to be fun in a cartoony way, not necessarily competitively. One needs to know when to play seriously, and when to just screw around and have fun with the other players. The only real issue is gameplay at times. Spies and especially Snipers ruin perfectly good maps that have open space. The weapons that have been added lately aren't that creative and/or they aren't balanced (except for the Uber Update). Overall, this game is just pure cartoonish fun (as in you can't take this game TOO seriously) and well worth any time put into it, especially since it is now Free to Play Expand
  9. Jul 14, 2011
    9
    A fun game. Sufficed to say this game is immensely fun. And I don't mean it is well designed and engrossing (and believe me, it IS!)...I mean it is FUN. Goofy, laugh-out-loud fun, I LOVE IT!

    But it can be buggy.....not in game, where its mechanics are beyond perfect, but in launch. Valves continued ignorance to the fact that not every OS is windows XP, and the game can be extremely touch
    A fun game. Sufficed to say this game is immensely fun. And I don't mean it is well designed and engrossing (and believe me, it IS!)...I mean it is FUN. Goofy, laugh-out-loud fun, I LOVE IT!

    But it can be buggy.....not in game, where its mechanics are beyond perfect, but in launch. Valves continued ignorance to the fact that not every OS is windows XP, and the game can be extremely touch and go in it's decision to play properly, and I shouldn't have to use Ctl+Alt+Del every time I launch lest I want HL2.exe has stopped working. The Bastard you are Gabe, would it really kill you to make a patch for chris'sake?!? But I digress.
    Basically, if you use vista or 7, expect the HL2.exe problem to appear with no sure-fire way to deal with it. I also ran into the other problem of "could not load library client"....FUUU-

    Oh yeah and the community is so in love with hats it's beyond belief.....if you possess the Large Luchadore hat expect to have so many trade requests that the game crashes. The game is very well optimised as well. My friend plays it on his laptop with an intel hd card and he gets a good looking game with good frame-rates.

    The game is definitely worth your time...and now it's free Valve can use it like a get-out-of-jail free card for all flaws, but honestly those flaws are few and far between - this is one of their finest products and you'd be doing yourself a dis-service if you don't at least look at the game
    Expand
  10. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    awesome game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
  11. Sep 6, 2011
    8
    I began playing this game after it became free-to-play. As a newcomer, my initial reaction was that, as expected, there will be lots of micro transactions and the main menu does give the feeling of an item store. It even encourages you. Besides that, it is in fact a fun game. There are differentiated classes, with enough interesting and well designed maps. You may also choose to take partI began playing this game after it became free-to-play. As a newcomer, my initial reaction was that, as expected, there will be lots of micro transactions and the main menu does give the feeling of an item store. It even encourages you. Besides that, it is in fact a fun game. There are differentiated classes, with enough interesting and well designed maps. You may also choose to take part in a few different game types, and you will discover that some are a lot more fun that others. All the different hats one may choose to attach to their character gets tiresome almost from the very beginning. Nonetheless, Team Fortress 2 is proficiently designed with a focus on fun and fast paced action in mind. It is playful, it is funny, and it can be exciting. As with other online multi-player games, playing without any breaks may become repetitive. Especially if you are not doing very well. Expand
  12. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    This game is one of the most fun you can have playing online. In my... ahem... professional opinion, this game's multiplayer is better than the call of duty series. The online matches are frantic, fun, and actually require teamwork to succeed. The classes are humorous, diverse, and useful, making them lots of fun. Plus, if you asked 10 people what their favorite class is, you would get aThis game is one of the most fun you can have playing online. In my... ahem... professional opinion, this game's multiplayer is better than the call of duty series. The online matches are frantic, fun, and actually require teamwork to succeed. The classes are humorous, diverse, and useful, making them lots of fun. Plus, if you asked 10 people what their favorite class is, you would get a different response every time. The item system is fun, and adds another layer of depth to the game. The only reason this game does not get a 10/10 is because it has essentially no single player, so you cant play it on the go without wi-fi. All in all, a fun gaming experience. Wait...WHAT!?...ITS FREE!!! EVERYONE GET THIS GAME NOW!!! Expand
  13. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This is the best game on the PC. Hands down the best. If for some reason you have not played it yet, shame on you. Go get it now, its free and is the definition of a perfect game.
  14. Jun 26, 2012
    1
    Great graphics, utterly terrible gameplay. You know Valve staff don't play this, because it wasn't playtested before or after launch. Mid-match shuffles (& buy protection from same), 1234 items that come with 2346 silly, complicated rules and penalties utterly kills this game. You can try to play to win, but you can be sure the other members of your random team will just stand and snipeGreat graphics, utterly terrible gameplay. You know Valve staff don't play this, because it wasn't playtested before or after launch. Mid-match shuffles (& buy protection from same), 1234 items that come with 2346 silly, complicated rules and penalties utterly kills this game. You can try to play to win, but you can be sure the other members of your random team will just stand and snipe or stand around and not care about the gamemode objective - any of them. If you're thinking about paying for a game, don't buy this one. As soon as the novelty wears off, it will simply be exactly how it was designed - utterly pointless to play. Go for a proper multiplayer shooter, this ain't it. It's terrible. Expand
  15. Sep 27, 2012
    9
    I gave this a 9/10 simply because there is no Free For All. I started seriously playing PC fpses back in 2007, and COD4 had just been released so I went crazy over the Free for all mode. However, I bought TF2 in the beginning of summer 2009 for $20 and it was honestly the biggest bang for my buck I have EVER gotten (and now it is F2P). If you don't even try this game... wow. MostI gave this a 9/10 simply because there is no Free For All. I started seriously playing PC fpses back in 2007, and COD4 had just been released so I went crazy over the Free for all mode. However, I bought TF2 in the beginning of summer 2009 for $20 and it was honestly the biggest bang for my buck I have EVER gotten (and now it is F2P). If you don't even try this game... wow. Most unique FPS ever. Expand
  16. Sep 6, 2013
    6
    The original TF2 was awesome, but Valve totally screwd the games with hats and needless things like that, also, the announcer of the game is just horrible! It is a old woman just trying to yell at the screen, nevertheless, I will say this game deserves a 6.
  17. AnonymousMC
    Nov 26, 2007
    0
    Game crashes all the time with looping sound. My experience is reverberated hundreds of times on message boards. Valve continues to produce buggy software year after year. Maybe they should win an award for that. Why game reviewers ignore these bugs is beyond me. Makes me think the reports are biased.
  18. BlakeC.
    Sep 4, 2009
    2
    this game was fun for a very long time and then the company brings out an item drop system that randomly drops while you play. Because the system was flawed and kept giving repeat items it made getting the items cumbersome and long. the company continued to promise trading of items and other things to help the "duplicate situation" but to this day has still done nothing. Due to this this game was fun for a very long time and then the company brings out an item drop system that randomly drops while you play. Because the system was flawed and kept giving repeat items it made getting the items cumbersome and long. the company continued to promise trading of items and other things to help the "duplicate situation" but to this day has still done nothing. Due to this broken system some people decided to "Idle" to gain weapons without having to actively play the whole time and TF2's developers thought it would be a good idea to give everyone who never idled a "Halo" that signifies them as a "noncheater" thereby instantly calling all idlers cheaters. this has split the TF2 community in two and people get banned from servers simply because they wear or don't wear a halo (depending on the situation). Basically in one foul swoop the company has destroyed their game and killed their fun-loving community. If you haven't purchased this game yet, don't because you'll be walking into a mindfield of disappointment Expand
  19. JoshuaS
    Apr 14, 2009
    3
    Team Fortress 2 has two things going well for it: a quirky visual style that could only be mistaken for the next big 3D film, and a cast of memorable characters whose every line seems to spawn an internet meme all to itself. Unfortunately, the downsides are utterly terrible hit-detection and even worse lag compensation, and the use of "hax" is far too commonplace among the game's Team Fortress 2 has two things going well for it: a quirky visual style that could only be mistaken for the next big 3D film, and a cast of memorable characters whose every line seems to spawn an internet meme all to itself. Unfortunately, the downsides are utterly terrible hit-detection and even worse lag compensation, and the use of "hax" is far too commonplace among the game's players. These issues will not always be noticed by new or casual players, but to a hardcore gamer they make Team Fortress 2 frustrating at the best of times and unplayable at the worst. Expand
  20. V.Trauma
    Aug 9, 2009
    3
    Too bad it didnt stand a chance about the classic one. Its too fast, unbalanced and the levels are boring. Too much arcade for this game, it should have stayed the old style.
  21. May 21, 2011
    1
    This game is constantly being balanced, and updated. But. Its also constantly being filled with cash shop items, and hats to suck out your money. They said that hats would just be novelty items too, but then set hats were introduced. They even managed to corrupt portal 2 even more.
  22. AnonymousMC
    Apr 23, 2008
    3
    Shallow. Not fun. Looks great. That about sums this game up. The guns do so little damage it irritates me to the point of wanting to bash in the skull of whoever thought of that. a SHOTGUN AT 2 FEET DOESN'T KILL IN 3 SHOTS OR MORE. That alone sums up the damage system, it's meant for kids to be hammering at each other all day. No strategy is needed, unless playing different forShallow. Not fun. Looks great. That about sums this game up. The guns do so little damage it irritates me to the point of wanting to bash in the skull of whoever thought of that. a SHOTGUN AT 2 FEET DOESN'T KILL IN 3 SHOTS OR MORE. That alone sums up the damage system, it's meant for kids to be hammering at each other all day. No strategy is needed, unless playing different for each gun is called strategy. Oh, right click and leave the scope on for a while and then BAM after a while you get an insto-kill as sniper, or just hold down the trigger and follow people as a medic, that is strategy for kids with ADD and apparently that is who designed this crapper of a game. This lowers the Orange Box score since this was an advertising point. In the end it is sad. Anybody who gives this a score of 6 or above is likely not too intelligent, and by the looks of other reviews I agree with the research that America's average IQ has dropped over the years since almost everyone is giving this game a 10. Beh Expand
  23. Jun 6, 2013
    4
    My friend recommended this game to me on Steam, said it was a crazy, fun game, so I tried it out. First time, I was interested, training area, ok learning the basics, than the game its self... yeah about that.
    The thing that bugs me about this is that every gun in this "insane" game aren't even good, there's no assault rifles in this game for some strange reason and the rocket launcher is
    My friend recommended this game to me on Steam, said it was a crazy, fun game, so I tried it out. First time, I was interested, training area, ok learning the basics, than the game its self... yeah about that.
    The thing that bugs me about this is that every gun in this "insane" game aren't even good, there's no assault rifles in this game for some strange reason and the rocket launcher is so weak. The only class that I actually liked was the Spy, he's sneaky, and can kill players with one shot with the revolver or knife, while the rest are complete crap. I can see so many people like this game for the MP, but I'm not seeing the quality, insanity, or excitement at all.
    Expand
  24. Feb 15, 2012
    0
    Valve clearly doesn't care that I *paid* for this game, as they constantly try to push micro-transaction products to me. It's like they stopped caring once they compensated me with a crappy veteran hat.
  25. AnonymousMC
    Oct 8, 2008
    0
    I bought this game during beta and loved it all the way up until you made weapon updates. I no longer play this game since the developer thinks randomly changing the whole game is acceptable to people that previously purchased it. I also think it's funny you totally imbalanced the game by only updating 1-2 classes at a time. I wish I could get my money back now.
  26. AnonymousMC
    Apr 8, 2008
    3
    I bought The Orange Box because of the Half-Life games. My favorite game actually turned out to be portal, a very unexpectedly fun and engrossing game. After trying all of the games except Team Fortress 2, I figured I'd try it. Keep in mind I have never played the original. The game ran very smoothly and its graphics gave it personality. However, when it came to actually playing theI bought The Orange Box because of the Half-Life games. My favorite game actually turned out to be portal, a very unexpectedly fun and engrossing game. After trying all of the games except Team Fortress 2, I figured I'd try it. Keep in mind I have never played the original. The game ran very smoothly and its graphics gave it personality. However, when it came to actually playing the game, I found it to be really lame and pointless. Battles last all of three seconds. Basically you have a bunch of cartoons running around and firing at one another then dieing and repeating the process. (I know, excluding engineers) I did not receive any enjoyment from this game, I was shocked and appalled that this lame game was hid in a package containing otherwise excellent games. I give it s three because it did not have technical problems. It was just dumb. Expand
  27. Dec 9, 2011
    4
    I used to love this game but now it's F2P it's ruined i actully cried when the meet the medic update came out this game used to be worth giving game of the year but after september 2010 i said this game **** sucks @%% for real i hate this game now i sold all my hats for steam games even like a max and stuff like that im sick of it im sick of it im sick of it valve but one last thing WHY?!I used to love this game but now it's F2P it's ruined i actully cried when the meet the medic update came out this game used to be worth giving game of the year but after september 2010 i said this game **** sucks @%% for real i hate this game now i sold all my hats for steam games even like a max and stuff like that im sick of it im sick of it im sick of it valve but one last thing WHY?! WHY?! DID YOU RUIN THE GAME OF THE OBJECTEVE GAME OF THE CENTURY!? Expand
  28. AndrewH.
    Oct 29, 2007
    3
    Great graphics are a lone bright spot in an otherwise poor experience. Gameplay is sluggish, and once basic tactics are mastered invention and strategy goes unrewarded. Really disappointing as the elements added since TFC do not make up for the features removed.
  29. PhilipD.
    Aug 21, 2009
    2
    I was originally hopefull of this game, but it's turned out to be quite a worthless game. I'm not gonna just spew "omg it sux"; here's why ithink it isn't a good game 1: The game has a very odd "balance". One class wins over the other no matter what you do. The solution would be to have teammates help you, but you can NOT control them. This mechanic works in RTS games, I was originally hopefull of this game, but it's turned out to be quite a worthless game. I'm not gonna just spew "omg it sux"; here's why ithink it isn't a good game 1: The game has a very odd "balance". One class wins over the other no matter what you do. The solution would be to have teammates help you, but you can NOT control them. This mechanic works in RTS games, not in FPS. 2: The game offers very little refreshing gameplay. Granted, the characters can be funny. But seriously, what is new about any of the classes? Everything has been applied in other games before, and mostly better too. 3: step-in playing. As soon as you enter any server, you get bashed untill you give up. The only way to achieve and learn the game is to either have an awesome team (wich renders you obsolete) or to have an empty server, and neither of those are fun. 4: a LOT of custom maps/mods downloading. It really eats trough your broadband, and a lot of peopel havbe monthly limits. 5: The game is very cartoony, and the humour may be nice to see, but the actual gameplay doesn't actually fit in. With such toony violence, you'd expect a fun gameplay, well guess again. 6: The only real reason this game is still standing is because of the constant updates. People say the replayability is infinite, but what would you expect when valve keeps updating every month? The game keeps changing and thus if you don't play for a while you can start all over again. You never actually achieve anything. In the end, i'm not very surprised the fanboys have rated this game so high. I saw the game when it was just out, and it was kind of ok, but now that the regular servers have all gone and replaced by modded servers, it's hard to find a good game. And then when you join, you'll just get insta-fragged by a "sniper" with a crossbow that is only gotten after grindign to a certain lvl.... Ifi want WOW, i'll play wow. I want an FPS, and this is certainly not one. Expand
  30. Frank
    May 22, 2009
    0
    Rooms are all passworded antihacking failed maps all suck maps are buggy (stuck in terrian 3 times in 3 minutes had to sucide to get out) laggy few servers not passworded crash over all game gets a perfect 0 in every catergory.
  31. Dec 26, 2011
    0
    Team fortress 2 is awesome!

    That's what i would say years ago Valve has messed the entire game up, And now since it got free to play only idiots are there. Before it got free to play there was allmost no minges or anything, And it was alot easier to communicate with people they could sometimes help you getting achievment's and stuff, But now people are only doing this: NO WAFFLE I KILL
    Team fortress 2 is awesome!

    That's what i would say years ago

    Valve has messed the entire game up, And now since it got free to play only idiots are there. Before it got free to play there was allmost no minges or anything, And it was alot easier to communicate with people they could sometimes help you getting achievment's and stuff, But now people are only doing this: NO WAFFLE I KILL YOU OLOL THIS IS A KILLING GAME and they even do say that on a bloody surf server and that is pissing me off tottaly i have been visiting tons of servers are they are all the same crap now.

    Now to talk about the game overall

    WHAT DID VALVE THINK WHEN THEY ADDED THEESE GUNS? The guns and the classes are so DAMN OP, When i was a spy and i was going to strike down a heavy the medic with the QUICK FIX comes there with his super healing on the heavy and i could not kill the heavy with 5 crits, Its just bloody **** they have tottaly ruined it, Before it was medics healing you when you called them and people in your team acctualy protecting the intel not just going there with their OP weapons and slaughtering everyone and dosen't give a crap about the intel's good job ruining the game Valve.
    Expand
  32. BertH.
    Jul 10, 2008
    0
    It fails.
  33. zooterboy
    Dec 13, 2009
    5
    I'm missing something. I must be. Because all these people that are spewing love letters to Valve over this game are making me scratch my head. I've played quite a few hours of this game, trying all the classes, different servers, etc. I'm still waiting for the 'great' thing in this. It is flat out boring. Along with that is the inevitable 'destroy the I'm missing something. I must be. Because all these people that are spewing love letters to Valve over this game are making me scratch my head. I've played quite a few hours of this game, trying all the classes, different servers, etc. I'm still waiting for the 'great' thing in this. It is flat out boring. Along with that is the inevitable 'destroy the noob' factor that plagues the human race; so that it is nearly impossible to ever learn this game because you're being mocked by every player you ever meet. I didn't buy this game when it came out, I didn't give it a try until almost 2 years later, and I don't know why I ever bought it. Oh, and additionally, there is a serious lack of any kind of documentation that would assist someone learning this game. I found that fact alone horrifyingly blatant. The game has some good points: the humor is good; the artistic direction is pretty good, though a bit simplistic; and it has a lot of maps. For me, it's just run of the mill stuff, nothing really special about it. (no, I didn't buy the orange box, and I don't own an Xbox. And I have a better PC than most) Expand
  34. Oct 28, 2011
    0
    Really bad game I dont even want to waste time on it nothing fun at all
    sniping could be fun if you did not have to watch trough scope for a long time to 'charge" it
    and you have a lase on that shows the enemy where you are
    no ffa mod
    kids with hats pathetic gameplay,runs bad even on a good machine and a lot of other problems
  35. Jun 27, 2011
    0
    The game was good but since I have free is the worst, very bad. Always saturated, can not find server when the going is slow. Shame trust this company at the time you buy the game to find this..
    El juego era bueno pero desde que lo han puesto gratis es lo peor, malisimo. Siempre saturado, no encuentra servidores, cuando los encuentra va fatal. Una pena confiar en esta empresa en el momento
    The game was good but since I have free is the worst, very bad. Always saturated, can not find server when the going is slow. Shame trust this company at the time you buy the game to find this..
    El juego era bueno pero desde que lo han puesto gratis es lo peor, malisimo. Siempre saturado, no encuentra servidores, cuando los encuentra va fatal. Una pena confiar en esta empresa en el momento que compre el juego para encontrarme esto.
    Expand
  36. zaaaa
    Oct 8, 2008
    0
    I played this since beta and since then I guess my computer was downgraded b/c I can hardly play anymore. From a good 60 fps then a few patches later I get about 20-30....Either way I se comments about even classes and all....well they are releasing updates for every class now one by one...tell me if you think thats fair or even a good idea. Achievments make the game suck b/c half the I played this since beta and since then I guess my computer was downgraded b/c I can hardly play anymore. From a good 60 fps then a few patches later I get about 20-30....Either way I se comments about even classes and all....well they are releasing updates for every class now one by one...tell me if you think thats fair or even a good idea. Achievments make the game suck b/c half the team is working on that and not helping te TEAM out...In fact it's very hard to even be a team in TF2. I'm guess this is why you made the orange box package....10 years of developement and a few months later you randomly change class aspects as well add weapon mods...errmm? Shouldnt I have been informed when I bought the game that the whole thing would be changed when you feel like it? Expand
  37. AbS.
    Jun 13, 2009
    4
    This WAS a complete and fun game at 1 time. NOT NOW! Valve/Steam keeps changing classes - now the Scout class is the most powerful in close with all the new weapons. Which u would find kind odd if u ever played TFC, the heavy or pyro where the close up fights. The new sniper class gets 75%+ instant kills with his new bow and if instant kills arent enough u can throw a jar of piss on a This WAS a complete and fun game at 1 time. NOT NOW! Valve/Steam keeps changing classes - now the Scout class is the most powerful in close with all the new weapons. Which u would find kind odd if u ever played TFC, the heavy or pyro where the close up fights. The new sniper class gets 75%+ instant kills with his new bow and if instant kills arent enough u can throw a jar of piss on a player for even quicker kills, still dont understand how this works( i know its a game but thats messed up!). This game needs to revisited by critics, it does not deserve a Metascore of 92, maybe a 70ish. Myself I will never buy another Valve game again because once they fix the bugs in the game then they begin to change it. Which means more bugs, by the time they are done its not the game u paid for! Expand
  38. Apr 11, 2011
    0
    This game is garbage. The art style is trash. The multi-player is unbalanced and garbage. The multi-player is buggy and has many glitches. The maps are garbage. This game is insulting to gamers and ruining first person shooters in general. Great job Valve!
  39. Jan 1, 2011
    3
    Was good, but not great. Then they added gimmicky items, which you can either grind for or fill Valve's wallets for, which also grant gameplay advantages. And they lost their sense of humor, and started relying upon grade-school humor. I'd have given an early solid version of the game an 8 or so -- it was never actually mind-blowing or anything -- but with grinding and real-world cash itemWas good, but not great. Then they added gimmicky items, which you can either grind for or fill Valve's wallets for, which also grant gameplay advantages. And they lost their sense of humor, and started relying upon grade-school humor. I'd have given an early solid version of the game an 8 or so -- it was never actually mind-blowing or anything -- but with grinding and real-world cash item purchases, two of the least fun and least skill-determined ways of obtaining advantages in gaming, I feel more than generous giving the game a 3. Expand
  40. Nov 3, 2011
    1
    This is a great game. It is a lot of fun. However, valve always manages to break the game. It crashes a lot. This has been an issue with the game for quite a long time and still was not solved. I bought this game from the very start and I accompanied the progress of the game from the start all the way to now and it has been degrading ever since. Don't take me wrong, the new weapons areThis is a great game. It is a lot of fun. However, valve always manages to break the game. It crashes a lot. This has been an issue with the game for quite a long time and still was not solved. I bought this game from the very start and I accompanied the progress of the game from the start all the way to now and it has been degrading ever since. Don't take me wrong, the new weapons are great, but in terms of stability, it's just horrible.

    When they made it free it just became worst. Valve, fix your ****
    Expand
  41. AnonymousMC
    May 1, 2008
    5
    A good looking game with a great sense of humor that has a lot of potential for a good team game. Unfortunately that's where the praise ends. The maps are too small often with only a couple of entry points to each control point often creating stalemates. The all class grenade spamming of TFC has been replaced with Demomen grenade and sticky bomb spamming and Sentry Gun camping of TF2.A good looking game with a great sense of humor that has a lot of potential for a good team game. Unfortunately that's where the praise ends. The maps are too small often with only a couple of entry points to each control point often creating stalemates. The all class grenade spamming of TFC has been replaced with Demomen grenade and sticky bomb spamming and Sentry Gun camping of TF2. There's talk of strategy but the implementation of a random critical hits system and the aforementioned small maps sucks that out like a mosquito on your arm. The kill cam means that being a spy or sniper is a dangerous occupation as the people you kill will know where to go looking. Team Fortress is by no means bad, it's competent but that's it, more something you'd rent for a night so you can have a laugh rather than buy to implement creative strategy on a battlefield. Expand
  42. DS
    Feb 18, 2008
    5
    Not as cool as the first one. Sure the graphics are better, but there is not a lot of skill needed for many classes. I miss the grenades of TFC, the pyro flamethrower is almost useless because you have to be soo close to hit, and the damage it does is not much unless you corner them. They need to beef that up. Literally half the time it wont start, but goes to a white screen and just Not as cool as the first one. Sure the graphics are better, but there is not a lot of skill needed for many classes. I miss the grenades of TFC, the pyro flamethrower is almost useless because you have to be soo close to hit, and the damage it does is not much unless you corner them. They need to beef that up. Literally half the time it wont start, but goes to a white screen and just dies. The biggest disappointment is the invisibility of the spy. They might as well just kill you at random because that is what the spy ends up doing anyways. You are getting a good battle going, and out of no where you die. No chance of even seeing what killed you. Since they shift camera to who just killed you, if its a sniper it gives away their position. I don't play the sniper, but i imagine that has to irritate them. I miss the grappling hook too, as well as maps like 4fort4. After waiting for ten year in vaporland, I think they could have done better Expand
  43. Jan 1, 2013
    6
    I had my fair share of fun with this game. I liked the fact that it played so differently from other shooters. Yea, maybe the graphic style was part of the reason why I liked it, but also because gunplay is just so different in this game.
    There's no "gunner class" like in other shooters. Each class plays differently and has it's own jobs.
    This is certainly no deathmatch game, all modes
    I had my fair share of fun with this game. I liked the fact that it played so differently from other shooters. Yea, maybe the graphic style was part of the reason why I liked it, but also because gunplay is just so different in this game.
    There's no "gunner class" like in other shooters. Each class plays differently and has it's own jobs.
    This is certainly no deathmatch game, all modes need some sort of teamwork.

    This is all fine and good for the first few hours, but then you start to realize something. Every match is basically a routine. The fact that you're pretty **** when trying to do something outside of your role in the team makes you pretty much do the same things over and over again.

    Then there's also the horrible drop system. Now I like the fact that pretty much everyone has a chance in this game, even newcommers. There's no leveling system like in other games that makes you unlock better equipment. Every new weapon has it's pros and cons and can even change how you play the class.
    However the fact that weapons drop so randomly and inconsistantly makes you pretty much keep on playing for no real reason. You're just hoping that at one point you get the weapon you desire.

    Seeing how it's free to play, I'd say go give it a shot. There's certainly nothing to lose and fun to be had.
    Expand
  44. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is a great game. I bought the game a couple of years ago and have been playing it for 573 hours total now, and it just gets better! Good maps, great community, balanced classes and weapons that requires different styles of playing makes this the game I never grow tired of!

    It may seem contradictory, but the game is great for beginners because it is easy to understand and
    Team Fortress 2 is a great game. I bought the game a couple of years ago and have been playing it for 573 hours total now, and it just gets better! Good maps, great community, balanced classes and weapons that requires different styles of playing makes this the game I never grow tired of!

    It may seem contradictory, but the game is great for beginners because it is easy to understand and almost better for veterans because it can be incredibly complex. One of the greatest games ever made.

    Also, it's hilarious at times :D
    Expand
  45. Apr 2, 2012
    6
    Game becomes worse and worse with each update. Bullets lag so you can get killed seemingly through a wall but lag will make it so your "shadow" still appears as though it's not behind the wall. You can "backstab" someone from the side, top and bottom. And valve continues to bite into the "noob" influx from the f2p switch and release weapons that are easier and easier to get kills with.Game becomes worse and worse with each update. Bullets lag so you can get killed seemingly through a wall but lag will make it so your "shadow" still appears as though it's not behind the wall. You can "backstab" someone from the side, top and bottom. And valve continues to bite into the "noob" influx from the f2p switch and release weapons that are easier and easier to get kills with. Turning into a sad CoD wannabe. Expand
  46. May 7, 2012
    5
    For a f2p it's a nice game.The graphics are fun and the classes are good, but the hat stuff ruined it, and mega HP is annoying.I only played 2 hours and got bored, so 5/10.
  47. Jun 24, 2011
    2
    I don't mean to insult any Team Fortress 2 fans. I love that game. The reason i gave it a 2 though, is because it is now free-to-play. This I find to be an outrage. Until I get a refund my score will remain this way for eternity. I don't hate the game. I just hate that **** money was spent towards a game that eventually became free to play. What is $20 to much for some of you to bear? WellI don't mean to insult any Team Fortress 2 fans. I love that game. The reason i gave it a 2 though, is because it is now free-to-play. This I find to be an outrage. Until I get a refund my score will remain this way for eternity. I don't hate the game. I just hate that **** money was spent towards a game that eventually became free to play. What is $20 to much for some of you to bear? Well how about the people who did spend $20 to buy it? Valve is practically giving you money out of our hard-earned coin. So valve is stealing our money without the owners consent. Unbelievable. 2, you **** robbers. Expand
  48. KentB.
    Nov 13, 2007
    5
    As a sequel, its a great disappointment. Team Fortress Classic (TFC) had a rich array of game types and maps, mostly thanks to the community that kept it alive. Each class in TFC had a multitude of abilities and a real depth of skill to be acquired. TF2 could have build upon that depth, but chose instead to make the game more shallow. There are fewer game types, less class-specific skills As a sequel, its a great disappointment. Team Fortress Classic (TFC) had a rich array of game types and maps, mostly thanks to the community that kept it alive. Each class in TFC had a multitude of abilities and a real depth of skill to be acquired. TF2 could have build upon that depth, but chose instead to make the game more shallow. There are fewer game types, less class-specific skills to learn, fewer weapons, and fewer inter-class interactions. Overall, the game is a regression, rather than a progression, of team fortress. That said, it does have a great artistic appeal and certainly makes the classes unique. That appears to have been their main goal, and they achieved that. Its just unfortunate that valve didn't build upon the classic multiplayer that they had rather than tear it down to something that equates to a cosmetic overhaul to the day of defeat. Expand
  49. Oct 8, 2011
    5
    Why? Why don't I like this game? I was very excited about the game's unique look, interesting characters, brilliant voice acting and hilarious promotional videos. To this day, I find it one of the most beautiful games ever made. But that's where my enthusiasm stops, because as soon as I join a match, I lose all of it. The game just plays so... rigid. Maybe it's just me being bad at theWhy? Why don't I like this game? I was very excited about the game's unique look, interesting characters, brilliant voice acting and hilarious promotional videos. To this day, I find it one of the most beautiful games ever made. But that's where my enthusiasm stops, because as soon as I join a match, I lose all of it. The game just plays so... rigid. Maybe it's just me being bad at the game, but none of the classes really feel like they matter. I bought the game fairly late, and I hear people saying that "it used to be better, now it's more of a hat trading game than an actual shooter". Then suddenly, Valve decided to milk the cow even more by making TF2 a free-to-play game, run by a micro transaction system. This just felt like a stab in the back of the people who bought the game, because suddenly having bought the game beforehand didn't matter, you still had to pay. I know the items you can buy are not really giving you much of an advantage, but I still find it a cheap trick. I respect Valve and I really enjoy most of their games, but I hope they don't make a habit out of this. Expand
  50. KayB.
    Dec 11, 2007
    1
    Pretty to look at. Boring to play. No depth of play. Grew stale very quickly. Very overrated by both critics and players. If you are looking for a game for the weekend, rent it on your console. You'll tire of it before you need to return it.
  51. MaoiM
    Feb 16, 2009
    0
    I honestly don't see why this game is so great. The gameplay is terrible, and I can't survive more than 10 seconds before I get killed. Most of you are probably calling me a noob right now, and maybe that's it, but no matter what I try to do (even using strategies I've long given up playing other FPS), I can't kill anyone. Even when I am able to get the first shot I honestly don't see why this game is so great. The gameplay is terrible, and I can't survive more than 10 seconds before I get killed. Most of you are probably calling me a noob right now, and maybe that's it, but no matter what I try to do (even using strategies I've long given up playing other FPS), I can't kill anyone. Even when I am able to get the first shot in on someone, it takes 3 seconds for me to kill them while aiming at their torso. I'd rather play Hello Kitty than TF2. Expand
  52. B.B.
    Aug 27, 2008
    0
    The only reason you should own this game is you bought the Orange Box. Graphics are entertaining for the first time playing but graphics alone aren't enough to make a game. Reasons against (or for, depending on your age) are simple: Valve took a game like DoD that is class based, removed all teamwork required aspects such as capturing any given point, dumbed down any gameplay they The only reason you should own this game is you bought the Orange Box. Graphics are entertaining for the first time playing but graphics alone aren't enough to make a game. Reasons against (or for, depending on your age) are simple: Valve took a game like DoD that is class based, removed all teamwork required aspects such as capturing any given point, dumbed down any gameplay they could find, and then asked the creator of Loony Toons to be the head graphical designer. If you are on the fence about this game, just imagine a Buggs Bunny version of Call of Duty, minus any objectives. Expand
  53. Oct 20, 2011
    0
    Valve wypuszcza nowe aktualizacje bez testowania co uniemożliwia przyjemnÄ
  54. Zed
    Aug 26, 2009
    6
    I got this game with the orange box when it first came out. when i first started playing this game i thought it was brilliant, the sort of game i was looking for... it was geniunely fun and worked really well... that is of course when valve decieded to be tossers and patch the crap out of the game... the new maps were okay, though the only one i actually like is badwater. but it was the I got this game with the orange box when it first came out. when i first started playing this game i thought it was brilliant, the sort of game i was looking for... it was geniunely fun and worked really well... that is of course when valve decieded to be tossers and patch the crap out of the game... the new maps were okay, though the only one i actually like is badwater. but it was the class updates that infuriated me with the new weapons and alike ruining the balance of the game... well the whole game infact. i mean if it aint broke why fix it? it really killed it for me, and after a year of being annoyed i finally re-installed the game to find more updates and some truely awful maps... hoodoo is the worst that i can remember. so i had to go back to my favorites... (2fort, dustbowl, hydro and well) and try and enjoy the game... yes the game is still fun, but just doesn't give me the evil smile on my face after i get humiliating kills that it used to. still a good game, but that's it. Expand
  55. HelpU
    Jul 19, 2009
    4
    *Sigh* I had some good times with this game... A good 40 hours.... But only when I found out the recipe for disaster in the game which lets you actually predict who is going to win the games... If your team likes to all go one class.... Don't expect to win. It gets ridiculous. I mean one minute we are good and we are going to win.... Next everyone all of a sudden turns sniper or *Sigh* I had some good times with this game... A good 40 hours.... But only when I found out the recipe for disaster in the game which lets you actually predict who is going to win the games... If your team likes to all go one class.... Don't expect to win. It gets ridiculous. I mean one minute we are good and we are going to win.... Next everyone all of a sudden turns sniper or engie. Its actually kinda sad to see thing turn around like that. I don't know what they were thinking the original actually had a limit on classes but now... The game is too noob friendly don't expect to get any kind of strategy out of your teams... They will all turn sniper. Its pretty evident that this game is directed toward a noob way of thinking. So if you actually want to get hardcore into it like counter-strike. think again otherwise your a noob. Expand
  56. Dec 29, 2011
    4
    Team Fortress 2 is one of the most forgettable, pointless, and phycotic games I've ever played. Valve made the amazing Portal 2, what is with Team Fortress 2? It's simply too forgettable and outdated (there are Valve games far superior to this, and they tried to make the graphics looked so good it ended up turning into a mashed up bluray player,) so I cannot recommend this game.
  57. JaredJ.
    Jul 18, 2008
    0
    Started out good, then a stupid Medic pack was released. After many complaints to VALVe, they went and released a Pyro pack! VALVe's could have been game, turnned into a boring repeatitive pile of crap.
  58. Oct 26, 2011
    0
    the game file is huge,and what do you get from it/ nothing
    the game is really bad
    sniping was ruined when they added zoomming animation when you bring up the scope
    gameplay is pathetic,mods are boring
    the game is a joke
    no ffa mod
  59. Dec 8, 2010
    0
    Im not even gonna slam the game, after all , its a game. However its developers like Valve that are killing the pc scene and why more and more are going to the consoles. If i sell you something and then come over to your house and break it, would you be ok with that? ?Im not. I bought this game and then Valve came over to my house and broke it! They really should look at the stats beforeIm not even gonna slam the game, after all , its a game. However its developers like Valve that are killing the pc scene and why more and more are going to the consoles. If i sell you something and then come over to your house and break it, would you be ok with that? ?Im not. I bought this game and then Valve came over to my house and broke it! They really should look at the stats before drastically changing a game and forcing everyone to accept it. I believe TF2 had quite a community before all the changes and if they thought that changing it would draw more people to the community then why not offer alternate servers? Original flavor and..., Dumbed down version. Then at least those who supported the game before would still get what they paid for. Is it just me?... or does it always seems to fall in the laps of the mod community, to save a game and the pc experience. Expand
  60. AnonymousMC
    Jan 4, 2008
    0
    played this on pc and 360. horrible game play with little depth and i dont know how you call it balanced. i mean charging up a sniper rifle? seriously. also have to ask why valve would spend 10 years on it and make it a cartoon when they have the source engine to use. as said by Kay B. it get boring b4 you even buy it. im sorry to say but shawdow run was a better experience than this
  61. AlistairM.
    May 31, 2008
    2
    Looks like a cartoon and appeals to kids, but is awful to play, doesn't feel like a game, feels more like a beta for something better. Annoying two player partnerships mean newbies lose out very quickly. No fun, only have it as I got it free in the orange box.
  62. GegolenS.
    Jun 27, 2008
    4
    Not bad. Spies are overpowered and it lacks the class balance that the original QW TF had. Definitely better on the PC, don't even bother on a console.
  63. AC
    Oct 19, 2007
    0
    Does not match the old TF... got rid of grenades, faking death, demopacks, and much more. The maps seem to be shorter and the over all feel just leaves me unsatisfied. All these years of waiting for this? I say take it back and maybe in a year or two more you may just have the right stuff.
  64. Jul 12, 2011
    3
    JUST a fail it sucks i rather play E.T. than this stupid game. really why is this game so great i don't see it. and its very buggy and low quality so reallt bad.
  65. KG
    Oct 25, 2007
    6
    At the end of the day, after you play this game for an hour, it just comes off as boring and uninspired. Cartoony graphics, underpowered weapons and sluggish movement ruin what otherwise might be a nice concept. In spite of being a class based team game it reeks of shallowness and pandering to the masses. If someone is looking for a good strategic FPS that rewards skill and intelligence At the end of the day, after you play this game for an hour, it just comes off as boring and uninspired. Cartoony graphics, underpowered weapons and sluggish movement ruin what otherwise might be a nice concept. In spite of being a class based team game it reeks of shallowness and pandering to the masses. If someone is looking for a good strategic FPS that rewards skill and intelligence equally I recommend Quake Wars or Red Orchestra. Expand
  66. May 15, 2014
    0
    Just like DOTA 2, this game started out with the great idea of a fun MP. Over time, it became about getting HATS! MORE HATS! Unlockables took over and the game became all about money. Play the original team fortress if you wanna have fun. With free games, you get what you pay for.
  67. BeanB.
    Oct 13, 2007
    0
    this game is nothing compared to its previous incarnation. The higher end skills that you could develop have been removed from the game leaving the game for average players. Like DOD Source Valve has decided to move their games to a place where skill is developed to where you cant develop past a certain point. For sure this game will not have the shelf life of TFC because it has none of this game is nothing compared to its previous incarnation. The higher end skills that you could develop have been removed from the game leaving the game for average players. Like DOD Source Valve has decided to move their games to a place where skill is developed to where you cant develop past a certain point. For sure this game will not have the shelf life of TFC because it has none of its class. Expand
  68. Dec 30, 2010
    6
    To sum it up, it's counter-strike with a fancy skin. The game offers very little innovation. The got a comic style graphics, and is not afraid to joke about itself. The missions are generic battlefield-style points, capture flag or capture a package(information).
    There are a couple of different classes that you can choose from, which gives a mediocre feeling of diversity.
    There isn't very
    To sum it up, it's counter-strike with a fancy skin. The game offers very little innovation. The got a comic style graphics, and is not afraid to joke about itself. The missions are generic battlefield-style points, capture flag or capture a package(information).
    There are a couple of different classes that you can choose from, which gives a mediocre feeling of diversity.
    There isn't very much to say about this game, as I said it's just another FPS with a little touch to it.
    Expand
  69. GabrielU
    Jan 24, 2010
    4
    I don't understand the big buzz around this game. It's a little fun. This game is just too "simple", I mean, just few maps, games, most of characters are dull (scout, medic, soldier, heavy, bomberman)... I've played few hours with joy, now it's boring. Meh, I think that I shall install UT2k4 once again. Or go RO! But it's different kind of online fps.
  70. Dec 28, 2012
    0
    Boring, too many updates.. its just a hat game, the list goes on and on and on.. No wonder its a free game, stay away! When I got this game it was part of the orange box, If when I purchased the orange box and knew about Team Fortress 2 at the time. I would of not have bought it. But I bought it only for the Half Life 2 series. Just a huge disappointment and largely a waste of hard drive space
  71. Nov 30, 2012
    0
    This game sucks. I don't understand the hype behind it and I couldn't play over an hour before getting bored. It is a hat simulator with no sense of achievement, and valve charging tons of money for these hats is absolutely pathetic, even worse is the people who buy them. This game is mindless and there is nothing unique about it.
  72. Dr.BeardSmithy
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    Great Game! I never get tired of it! Make a Teamfortress 3 or just update the characters more!
  73. TobiasS.
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    Very funny, and it's worth every dollar I paid for it. Getting rewarderd with unlockable items by completing achivements was an excellent idea the TF2-Team came up with. It gives you kind of the same feeling you get when you level up in an MMORPG, but it still doesn't make it impossible for an unexperienced player to kill an experienced player, very nice. Even thought the game Very funny, and it's worth every dollar I paid for it. Getting rewarderd with unlockable items by completing achivements was an excellent idea the TF2-Team came up with. It gives you kind of the same feeling you get when you level up in an MMORPG, but it still doesn't make it impossible for an unexperienced player to kill an experienced player, very nice. Even thought the game was realesed 2007, it doesn't require a very good computer which is very good as well. All classes in the team are has something special and gives you a reason to play them all. And maybe the best thing with TF2, losing doesn't make it less funny. Expand
  74. B.S.
    Jun 7, 2008
    10
    This is by far one of the best online multiplayer games out there! I've never seen something like it ever. I used to think that Team Fortress 2 would be the worst part of the Orange Box, but it wasn't, I'd say it was one of the best parts of it(except for the Half-life 2 series). This is a game you would HAVE TO BUY! This is a perfect ten, no bugs or anything with smooth This is by far one of the best online multiplayer games out there! I've never seen something like it ever. I used to think that Team Fortress 2 would be the worst part of the Orange Box, but it wasn't, I'd say it was one of the best parts of it(except for the Half-life 2 series). This is a game you would HAVE TO BUY! This is a perfect ten, no bugs or anything with smooth gameplay and GREAT graphics. That is way I give this game a 10 out of 10. Expand
  75. FreddieK
    Jun 9, 2008
    10
    I consider myself a hardcore fps'er and always play / played the games which require some skill and tactics like. TF2 is a nice change to that mix, it is a simple game which is so straight forward it's Fun. I can honestly say i was not to fussed about it and got it as part of the OB, i figured i'd give it ago to see what it was like and since then iv'e been hooked. I consider myself a hardcore fps'er and always play / played the games which require some skill and tactics like. TF2 is a nice change to that mix, it is a simple game which is so straight forward it's Fun. I can honestly say i was not to fussed about it and got it as part of the OB, i figured i'd give it ago to see what it was like and since then iv'e been hooked. It's a rare game where once you start playin you can't stop. The classes all have the ability to take on one another which is something i like in a game, i myself am a pyro player which is underated and underpowerd BUT with tactics employed it can become very deadly. This game is not meant to be taken seriously and its meant for pick up and play ability, there is no such thing as a Pro in this game i find as anyone can take on anyone in this game and stand a fair chance, My only real gripe is the critical hit buisness, i can understand why they are there but it just not seem fair for the team on the reciving end for example 1 Crit rocket or grenade will end the life of anythin with health less than 150 outright and there is nothing that can be done about it. Other than that its a solid newcomer and an instant classic, sure it does not keep to the original but id rather play somethign new and refreshing than old and boring (grenade spam is not a fun way to play a game no matter what way you cut it) Expand
  76. MelowS.
    Jul 29, 2008
    10
    This game has, and continues to get, a lot of polish. From the expresive characters and silly one liners, to the serious team work needed to push past some strong defenses, to the random and often heroic way things can pan out, this game has almost unlimited replay value. It may be cartoony, and it may not have very realistic weapon and firing models, but luckily these all just contribute This game has, and continues to get, a lot of polish. From the expresive characters and silly one liners, to the serious team work needed to push past some strong defenses, to the random and often heroic way things can pan out, this game has almost unlimited replay value. It may be cartoony, and it may not have very realistic weapon and firing models, but luckily these all just contribute to making the game a blast. Unlike other games (counter-strike) you won't be destroyed instantly by people who have been playing nonstop for the past 8 years. The diversity in classes, and the relatively low amount of point-click-kill classes makes things like being sneaky and exploiting situations more important. That isn't to say that you can't get good at this game. You can, and there are many players that consistently dominate servers. However, the beauty of it is that relatively new players can end up in the top three too, just by having a great round, getting some good medic heals (or doing some good healing) or just happening to detonate some sticky bombs under 10 players by chance. This game has been criticized for one feature, which is that all melee and ranged weapons have a low chance of getting a critical hit (double damage). This means that you can run out of ammo, pull out your machete, and send an otherwise capable player with a full clip sailing through the air like a rag doll. These critics need to realized that the critical hits are just another fun way of getting unpredictable outcomes in otherwise boring repetitive gameplay. I have watched enough knife fights in counter-strike (yawn) to realized the value of this feature and its overall contribution to replay value. So in summary, if you like online multilayer games, appreciate amazing heroics, last second saves, OMGWTFBBQ moments and the prospect of new features always being on the horizon, play this game. Expand
  77. DanielR.
    Jul 3, 2008
    10
    It is a fun, entertaining, and silly game that is easy to laugh over. Instead of pounding the keyboard when the pyro lights my disguised spy on fire, i crack up to the reaction that the enemy team gets when i am running around their base screaming for a medic.
  78. Jean-PhilippeD.
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    This is by far the most exciting and fluent FPS I have ever played. I don't generally like shooters, but TF2 REALLY changed that, with it's wide variety of classes to play, wether you like to be in the action, kicking some butt, or supporting your teammates at a distance, or healing them, there's just so many classes, it is hard to find someone who will not like the game!
  79. =Sixpack=
    Oct 2, 2008
    10
    Since 1998 and the days of online Quake2 i haven't played anything that came close,and trust me i have played them all,forget anything people tell you and try this - its great fun and learning each class is an art in its own right,i can only play three classes with any conviction. TF2 - you wont regret it.
  80. AnonymousMC
    Mar 1, 2008
    6
    The game in its proposal is awesome.
    However compared with other games like battlefield I didnt like the playability.
    TF2 have very small scenarios and is very much fast paced.
    It apears that only those who are very much good can have some fun while noobs get wasted all the time and dont have fun at all.
    In BF2 I get wasted all the time but at least I make some score and I have a lot more fun.
  81. BlakeB
    Apr 10, 2008
    5
    Brilliant.
  82. DrewF.
    Jun 10, 2008
    9
    I just love the way that this game looks!!! Cartoony and fun. It is just that, Fun. If you like you Online FPS's like the COD 4 monster, then I don't think you'll like this, but if you just wana have some fun blowing things up, and shouting 'Cry some more' whilst shooting a gun that cost $40,000 to shoot a minuet, then go for this game. Always being added to as I just love the way that this game looks!!! Cartoony and fun. It is just that, Fun. If you like you Online FPS's like the COD 4 monster, then I don't think you'll like this, but if you just wana have some fun blowing things up, and shouting 'Cry some more' whilst shooting a gun that cost $40,000 to shoot a minuet, then go for this game. Always being added to as well. Real team game play!! Expand
  83. JoakimF.
    Jul 8, 2008
    10
    This is a great game with a great 50's or 60's comicbook-feel to it. The comical feel to the game makes this game wonderful, and with the "Silhouette-design" it's easy to see what enemy you'll be facing even at a far distance. The co-op in the team is nice and there's always new tactics to use. I love this game!
  84. DaveC
    Aug 27, 2008
    10
    TF2 is the most fun I've had with any online shooter, the voice acting for the different classes is top-of-the-class, the irreverent humor even if you win or loose makes you want to play another round. The graphics make it visually appealing, nothing short of gorgeous, and the game play experience between the different classes make it almost a new tactical game every time you choose TF2 is the most fun I've had with any online shooter, the voice acting for the different classes is top-of-the-class, the irreverent humor even if you win or loose makes you want to play another round. The graphics make it visually appealing, nothing short of gorgeous, and the game play experience between the different classes make it almost a new tactical game every time you choose a new character to duke it out with. Different types of MP gaming may become a bit repetitive after the first few hundred hours of playing, but honestly, i have no problem with it. 10/10 all the way. Hands down an addition to the hall of fame. Expand
  85. SamuelP.
    Sep 19, 2008
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is definitely something new and exciting from Valve Software. It's a fun game with plenty of characters and a lot to do, and the game is colorfully designed. The game, a project of the source engine, is definitely brilliant with high quality graphics and sounds; it's a must buy for any online gamer.
  86. RickN.
    Sep 26, 2008
    10
    I'm not a professional gamer, but I have been in the high-tech electronics and computer industry professionally for about 39 years. I just know when I like something well enough to comment about it. I play some multi-player online games and they all offer some level of enjoyment, but Team Fortress 2 has been my favorite to date. I must admit that I was not very impressed with tf2 the I'm not a professional gamer, but I have been in the high-tech electronics and computer industry professionally for about 39 years. I just know when I like something well enough to comment about it. I play some multi-player online games and they all offer some level of enjoyment, but Team Fortress 2 has been my favorite to date. I must admit that I was not very impressed with tf2 the first time I played it at a friends house, because I could not stay alive long enough to see much of what I was playing. Since then, that same friend put up a tf2 server and made it family oriented. Since then I play it frequently and have a great time. One of my sons lives in a different state and we have played some online games before and tf2 is the one we both like the best of all the other games. I also have a 12 year old grand daughter, who likes to play and I like the cartoon body parts that we see and the personality and humor in the characters. Some of the in-game language could be cleaned up for the younger players, in my opinion, but this is the one game that we can all play as a family online and have a great time, loaded with lots of action. My mindset is different when I play tf2. I play it for fun and enjoyment, so I don't get so uptight when I don't do well, because playing this game constantly reminds me that it's only a game. The custom maps are very enjoyable to play and a few of our members have made some maps. The graphics is great and the gameplay is very fluid. Of course, being in the computer industry, I build my own computer systems and networks, so I have learned what works well together. Windows XP 32-bit and Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit are the systems that I mostly use. I recommend Team Fortress 2 to everyone that wants to get started playing online. It is easy to understand and full of action from the very start. I love the different character classes and the way they look and taunt, but it is a great example of how everyone has a valuable talent when you play together. Expand
  87. NathanielH.
    Jul 8, 2009
    5
    Reason for low vote. snipers out of balance with rest of game. also numerous hacks where snipers always get head shot even thru walls, scouts 2 shot from 25 feet away with a shot gun and demo mans nades exploded whenin proxy instead of after certain time. since they have no real anti cheat software but for the steam vac a lot of hackers are rampart in game now.
  88. FarisalF
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    Best multi game ever! And yet it is updated and alive. Fun and more fun. Brilliant! I am not a gay but I love Robin Walker :) Great job indeed.
  89. MichaelM.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    Fantastic gameplay. I wasn't big on the removal of grenades, but now that I've been playing, it makes for a better experience. No more spamming. Watch the detail of the characters. They lean depending on the direction they are running. Little things too, like the rope on the Engy's belt sways as he runs. It's good stuff. If you haven't played it yet, go buy it. Fantastic gameplay. I wasn't big on the removal of grenades, but now that I've been playing, it makes for a better experience. No more spamming. Watch the detail of the characters. They lean depending on the direction they are running. Little things too, like the rope on the Engy's belt sways as he runs. It's good stuff. If you haven't played it yet, go buy it. Now. Do it. Expand
  90. TomN.
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    Appears to be a marmite game. Fantastic in every way. I have chalked up over one hundred hours on this game and I still love lt. The team work aspect is unparelleled in any other game (maybe Red Orchestra comes close). You cannot go it alone, you need your team mates and if you are in a team which wants to win (I haven't encountered many that don't so far), then you can't Appears to be a marmite game. Fantastic in every way. I have chalked up over one hundred hours on this game and I still love lt. The team work aspect is unparelleled in any other game (maybe Red Orchestra comes close). You cannot go it alone, you need your team mates and if you are in a team which wants to win (I haven't encountered many that don't so far), then you can't go wrong. Nothing like the camp fest that is DoDs. I can't wait for the additional achievement packs. Expand
  91. ThatMudkipGuy
    May 25, 2008
    10
    I usually never buy onine games, but when the Gold Rush free 3-day trial came on, i decided to give it a try, and downloaded it. What i found was nothing short of a diamond mine. Graphics were awesome. The way classes were dependent with each other was awesome. The 10 million people which quickly became my nemesis were exciting. I had racked up about 40 hours of gameplay, when I was I usually never buy onine games, but when the Gold Rush free 3-day trial came on, i decided to give it a try, and downloaded it. What i found was nothing short of a diamond mine. Graphics were awesome. The way classes were dependent with each other was awesome. The 10 million people which quickly became my nemesis were exciting. I had racked up about 40 hours of gameplay, when I was kicked off, and the trial was over. I knew that this was a game not to miss, and somtime in the next week, downloaded it. It still does not cease to amaze or challenge me, even after weeks, maybe months gone by. This is quite possibly the Best Game for the PC right now, and will be for the next few years. Good job, Valve team! Expand
  92. CC.
    May 31, 2008
    10
    I gave this game a 10 because of its visual art style, simplistic but addictive gameplay, the balance each class has over each other, and just overall fun and the design of the game. Even if you have not played other multi-player games before, I think that if you pick up this game, you might have a hard time putting it down.
  93. JamesH.
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    A great, funny and fast-paced game. The gameplay never ceases to be fun and is easy to play, but hard to master. The graphics, with that 'cartoon' stuyle and a hint of 1930's retro gives the game a great feel and can be run on almost any computer - even I can run it on an onboard graphics card at forty frames per second! This game is a masterpiece - every bit of it. Team A great, funny and fast-paced game. The gameplay never ceases to be fun and is easy to play, but hard to master. The graphics, with that 'cartoon' stuyle and a hint of 1930's retro gives the game a great feel and can be run on almost any computer - even I can run it on an onboard graphics card at forty frames per second! This game is a masterpiece - every bit of it. Team Fortress 2 is a fun and addictive game that never ceases to be fun and is a worthwhile investment to any prospective buyer. A 10 out of 1-, without a doubt. Expand
  94. Pierre-LoupP.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    This game is simply awesome ! I won't describe all the pretty cool things because there are too many ^^. But the things that make this game really great are the little details that make the game fun and easy for beginners (but if you want to master it, it can be very very long, especially because new content is released approximatively every month).
  95. DouglasB
    Jun 2, 2008
    10
    This is a very addictive game. Fun to play, hard to put down. There's a very broad range of characters to choose from and you can spend a lot of time learning the tricks of each one. Fortunately, there's lots of YouTube videos that show tips and tricks for each one. If you have a lot of time on your hands, then getting this game is very much worth the price. The only part I This is a very addictive game. Fun to play, hard to put down. There's a very broad range of characters to choose from and you can spend a lot of time learning the tricks of each one. Fortunately, there's lots of YouTube videos that show tips and tricks for each one. If you have a lot of time on your hands, then getting this game is very much worth the price. The only part I don't like is the load out screen that shows how much game time you spent on each character. After a while, you can start to feel a bit guilty knowing how much collective time you have spent! Expand
  96. KoltiinD.
    Jun 22, 2008
    10
    Excellent, well rounded, addictive online game! The graphics are wonderful, the gameplay is smooth, the animations are beautiful, the voice acting is perfect, the advertisements are funny, the online play is free, the controls are simple and customizable, the only downside of this game are when you have to briefly wait for it to load!
  97. JanaS.
    Jul 17, 2008
    9
    I love the game, it's fun to play, the characters are just hilarious and if people can get teamplay going, it's just awesome. Some weapons/classes seem a bit overpowered at times but if you choose the right class to counter, the balance can be kept in check most of the time. The regular updates and bugfixes are just great, that's how you keep people from getting frustrated I love the game, it's fun to play, the characters are just hilarious and if people can get teamplay going, it's just awesome. Some weapons/classes seem a bit overpowered at times but if you choose the right class to counter, the balance can be kept in check most of the time. The regular updates and bugfixes are just great, that's how you keep people from getting frustrated and/or bored! Expand
  98. VincentA.
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    TF2 is too the shooting genre what wow is to the MMO genre. Exeptional. It's clean and polished with a fantastic art style that never grows dull. It has fleshed out characters that actually draw you in and feel as if their real people and the game...WELL ITS PRETTY DAMN BALANCED! its impossible to make everything perfect but this game strides to meet that benchmark.
  99. PanzerXiII
    Aug 15, 2008
    10
    This game is a very good game. It is easy to pick up and learn, but to learn the little intricacies of each character class is very hard. For example, most newbies will pick the soldier class because it is easy to pick up and learn, however, master at this class will learn how to Horizontal Rocket Jump and etc. If you don't like this game, either... 1. You don't have a good This game is a very good game. It is easy to pick up and learn, but to learn the little intricacies of each character class is very hard. For example, most newbies will pick the soldier class because it is easy to pick up and learn, however, master at this class will learn how to Horizontal Rocket Jump and etc. If you don't like this game, either... 1. You don't have a good computer. 2. You don't appreciate a good game. That's my two cents, folks. Expand
  100. $MOB$-DevilDoggSince96
    Aug 2, 2008
    10
    First of all dont pay any attention to few poor reviews from people saying the game lags... they most likely dont have a good computer. Secondly... TF2 is NOT a sequel to TFC... it is a sequel to the original Team Fortress mod for Quake... TFC was just a remake of that mod. Now about TF2... the graphics are totally unique and a nice chance of pace that makes the game stand out. The First of all dont pay any attention to few poor reviews from people saying the game lags... they most likely dont have a good computer. Secondly... TF2 is NOT a sequel to TFC... it is a sequel to the original Team Fortress mod for Quake... TFC was just a remake of that mod. Now about TF2... the graphics are totally unique and a nice chance of pace that makes the game stand out. The gameplay is actually more balanced than the original TF, or TFC for many reasons. At first I missed the grenades from previous versions... but without the grenades you dont have people as any class gren or conc jumping past half of the map. In the early days of TF back in 96 before gren and conc jumping caught on players would have to navigate the map, which meant there was action everywhere. Once the jumps took hold some maps had sections that nobody ever went to (say the 2fort ramp room for example) because they would all jump from their base to the enemy sniper deck and go down the spiral. TF2 allows certain classes like the soldier and demo to rocket or sticky jump, and with the scouts double jump he can also access certain areas faster, but the other classes are forced to fight their way in, and in turn cause the enemy team to defend all areas. The addition of new weapons worried me at first but it didnt hurt the game one bit... it keeps things interesting and none of the new weapons arent really better or worse than the originals. Team Fortress revolutionized multiplayer team games over a decade ago. TFC was popular for a while but died off... TF2 has staying power and is endless amounts of fun. Old school players will miss the grenades at first, but give it a chance, you will fall in love with this game very quickly. Expand
  101. Mar 24, 2013
    0
    This game sets the bar for what a multiplayer shooter should be done like. In this game there are 9 classes that fit different peoples play style if you get bored of one class switch to a different one. the tutorial is ok but it does not tell everything you need to know about the game and the practice mode with A.I enemy's is stupid because the bot A.I is just bad but if you get past theThis game sets the bar for what a multiplayer shooter should be done like. In this game there are 9 classes that fit different peoples play style if you get bored of one class switch to a different one. the tutorial is ok but it does not tell everything you need to know about the game and the practice mode with A.I enemy's is stupid because the bot A.I is just bad but if you get past the learning curve then this game is shooter heaven you must work as a team to win and the modes are alot different then your standard TDM and FFA and the graphics are cartoony which makes this game never look outdated and the characters all have personality and color and there is a separate co-op mode that makes the A.I robot versions of the characters non stupid it has its flaws but the flaws only last for the start and if you get past it you will not stop playing, Collapse
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. 100
    The marriage of highly stylised retro-spy presentation, fresh, high octane action, deep and varied classes and the underlying twinkle of humour in its metaphorical eye make Team Fortress 2 far more than just your average fragfest. Long after the novelty of the graphics wears thin, we are left with a refined and accessible multiplayer game that simultaneously cultivates new players whilst retaining enough depth to accommodate even the hardiest of veterans.
  2. The game also does a lovely job of framing your relationship with other players and nurturing them.
  3. It's one hell of a game. With its powerful artistic style and blazingly quick, yet accessible gameplay, it's enough to melt the icy cynicism imprisoning the hearts of even the most jaded among us. That being said, it's not the most complex shooter out there.