User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 5166 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's a perfect game. You are always updated with new releases incredible. It is worthwhile to buy this game, is a masterpiece from Valve. The game is very fun, with different characters and balanced. Expand
  2. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    No matter what FPS game you play, you can thank Team Fortress for making it possible. The original Team Fortress was a free mod for Quake 1 that came out in 1996, and it forever changed FPS games. TF was the first game that really focused on class based team play. So many games follow that model now. Team Fortress 2 is not quite the same game as its 1996 incarnation. The game no longer has grenades, it has a slower pace, and at a competitive level, it actually requires teamwork to win. Team Fortress 2 has been out for over 3 years now and it is only growing in popularity. The competitive community is getting bigger, and it shows no signs of slowing down. If you are looking for a fun FPS with lasting appeal, Team Fortress 2 is for you. Expand
  3. Mar 2, 2011
    10
    Graphics are creative and funny, Controls are ultra-smooth and the game-play is FUN. FUN being the important word here. The game may look simple at first glance, but is a very complex shooter. Pretty much still a perfect game after all these years.
  4. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    This game will ruin your life. You'll forget to feed the dog, you may even forget to feed yourself. Your lawn will look like the amazon and the newspapers will pile up. If you don't like your job, perfect, you won't go to work once you start playing. I love this game, more than I loved my girlfriend. I'm a logical (somewhat decent) person. I have memories from 2fort. Help me.
  5. Apr 8, 2011
    10
    Even after all these years, there's still no multiplayer game that can top it. Excellent class balance, fair customization, great maps, they're all here, and not going anywhere anytime soon.
  6. Nov 13, 2010
    10
    Three words everybody: BEST SHOOTER EVER! I dont care if Halo: Reach has an epic campaign (actually, I do), this game has a freakin' SANDVICH!!! The class you play as isn't just your favorite character; its a personality! If I ever (God forbid) go on a dating site, my profile will say, "Likes cats and playing as the Engineer and Scout,". This game has great graphics, catchy tunes, and over 60 different weapons (not including promotion items)! It's only 20 bucks! Go buy a copy! If you have one, stop hating your friends and buy them one! Expand
  7. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is by far one of the best shooters ever made. The classes are balanced, there's an immense choice of weapons for you to use or acquire, strategy is required and most importantly: TEAMWORK IS REQUIRED AT ALL TIMES! All 9 classes help each other in many ways, and a combination of classes and teamwork is crucial to win the game.

    Many maps to choose from, and you can even make
    your own. New content is released regularly and for free... and you can even make you own too!
    Also, AWESOME HATS AND AWESOME STUFF TO CUSTOMIZE YOUR CHARACTER.

    This is the real deal.
    Expand
  8. Apr 8, 2011
    10
    Awesome game overall. It makes good use of the 9 classes and it makes every one of them unique in both playstyle and gameplay. Nothing is unnecessary or excessive, besides some items and the gaming is extremely fast paced. It gets you worked up like no other and when played competitively, it is the most satisfying game in the world. This game is valve's best creation by far. It is humorous, but at the same time, intense. Expand
  9. Sep 5, 2011
    10
    With endless replay value, constant updates, and occasional (and very well done) animated shorts, Team Fortress 2 is no doubt one of the best shooters out there.
  10. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    THE free game (I'd put it just in front of LoL). Words can't describe how good this game is. There are lots of fun play modes, the graphics look great and are incredibly well optimized, the class variety is prominent, there's an item system that makes each class a bit more unique, and you don't have to pay a dime (if you don't want to). If you like FPS or team games, you have to at least give it a shot. Valve really has impressed me both with the quality of this game and their ability to hand it out for nothing! Easily my new go-to shooter Expand
  11. Apr 16, 2012
    3
    This game used to be about strategy and team work. Now its freaking buy this and we get money crap. The new thing about having it be free? Well basically half the thing is not because you spend most of the time in the shop stpending money on **** HATS? If you don't have a hat your not considered "cool". It's the most stupidest thing ever.
  12. Jun 24, 2011
    2
    I don't mean to insult any Team Fortress 2 fans. I love that game. The reason i gave it a 2 though, is because it is now free-to-play. This I find to be an outrage. Until I get a refund my score will remain this way for eternity. I don't hate the game. I just hate that **** money was spent towards a game that eventually became free to play. What is $20 to much for some of you to bear? Well how about the people who did spend $20 to buy it? Valve is practically giving you money out of our hard-earned coin. So valve is stealing our money without the owners consent. Unbelievable. 2, you **** robbers. Expand
  13. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    I played TF2 back in 2008 and it was really fun to play. But re-installing it after years in 2011 really wasn't worth the time. While the gameplay is the same, get the enemy briefcase, capture all enemy points etc. the game itself turned from a fun FPS into a pointless hat-collector.

    But I won't criticise the game for it's 5-12 year old community collecting as many hats as they can, for
    me it's the quality that makes the game bad compared to how it was back in 2008. Everywhere you look you see unfinished and re-re-used animations and taunts, as well as unbalanced weapons like the "Equalizer" or the "Solemn Vow" that make their standard counterparts just useless. It's not the quality I expected from Valve Software.

    It seems TF2 is now Valve's money making machine. People buy the items that the folks at Valve haven't even made themselves (they just ask the community to make them) and add them without even giving them proper animations, stats what so ever. Seems like Valve spent the majority of their time on giving the menu class images hats.

    As for the graphics you can already see that the game is out there for a long time. However, the cartoon style is still something you don't see in any other game and they're still fun to look at, even tho' the so called "Very High" settings looks like Crysis on "Medium".

    A 3/10 from me.
    Expand
  14. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    I figure if all players have left to **** about is 'balance', then you've created a fantastic game. Balance is a subjective thing. Team Fortress 2 is a free FPS with the nostalgic feel of the Quake engine that I feel is more than competitive with the likes of the most recent FPS heavy-hitters (i.e. Modern Warfare, Battlefield). With the legacy that TF2 has, it's no wonder Valve pissed off a few fanboys by changing things up a bit. Pay them no mind. If you are passing this game up, you're missing out. End of story. Expand
  15. Mar 9, 2011
    0
    one of those games that if it were free 2 play, would be ok. But not worth the price. Before they added all the extra weapons and the store, the game was better, but now your playing with people that are leveled way higher than you, hence better weapons and gizmos. most maps are small and repetitive, and after you log 100 hours into it, expect Steam to ban your account :)
  16. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    "Team Fortress 2" is one of the most historically epic games Valve has ever made. The game only consists of multiplayer, but multiplayer at it's finest. The 9 classes are very balanced as well as the controls too. Gameplay is smooth and is equipped with sexy graphics. There are a variety of maps and game modes as well as constant updates from our trusty Valve. The only downside? There is no singleplayer or campaign. Nevertheless, TF2 is one of those games that defines "games". Expand
  17. Mar 27, 2012
    8
    Team Fortress 2 is a very cool game. It's definetly not the best, but i really enjoyed it. The game is action packed and filles youre free time quite nicely. I would recomend the game for just about anyone who likes the regular FPS games like CS, Call Of Duty or anything like that. Keep in mind that this game is alot different to most. It is best played in multiplayer and uses some percentage of brainpower. Expand
  18. Jan 9, 2012
    9
    Great game. Never been a fan of FPS, but this is the best FPS game. Full of action, challenges and fun. The cartoon graphics make the game better, more enjoyable. 9 different classes of all types: power, speed, technique, and others. One of the best multiplayers game.
  19. Jan 9, 2012
    10
    Very good art style for the game. With all of the classes, and everything you can do, it is a game hard to get bored with. It runs well on low end machines, and looks pretty good on high end machines. Fun for all.
  20. Mar 21, 2011
    10
    TF2 has always been one of my favorite games. It has memorable characters, diverse playstyles, unique maps, and best of all: It has a wonderful and mostly kind community.
    I don't go a day without hearing one of the character's voices saying something in my head to fit my situation.
    Not to mention completely and totally reliable as VALVe is with all of their games. It's made well, it has
    constant content updates and patches, the blog is updated rather actively, etc.
    And for the low price of $20? This game is Three years old and the community is still huge. This game has quality written all over it. It's hard to find a major flaw that isn't soon fixed.
    Expand
  21. Dec 16, 2011
    9
    Played this since 2007 and really love it. and I am not really much of a MP player. The fun and action-packed game has me enterained for years even if I have nearlyl 600 games on my steam account, I still come to TF2 to play. I am fast approaching 1000 hours played clocked on this game. Subtitles are lacking but someone has created a mod that implements closed captions into the game which increased it's fun factor. Greatly recommended for those looking for action packed multiplayer FPS. Collapse
  22. Jul 2, 2011
    0
    How anyone can say this game is balanced is beyond me. There is NO BALANCE AT ALL. The spy is the most ridiculously OP class ever created. You have guys running around who spent tons of cash to make themselves nearly invincible while being invisible. They make nearly half the classes useless because of their skill set. I cannot even imagine why you would build anything since it takes way to long to create things and it takes a spy a few seconds to destroy them ALL in a couple clicks. It's easy to see why the game went Free to Play since it has no balance and they realise the only way to make money from it is to make fools pay to make themselves godly. There's better balance in a game of Combat off an atari 2600.

    The only people who will say there is abalnce are those paid to say that and those that paid to make themselves godly in game.
    Expand
  23. Aug 30, 2010
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is the perfect online FPS game. It is even with Counter Strike: Source. This game is possibly the most actively changing game that is perfect. 10/10
  24. Apr 5, 2011
    10
    best half life game ever. but unfortunately now has become a bs pay more and more type of game. A perfect hit, even updates perfect, even thought became a digital hat simulator. I am only up set that now they added crates which one must purchase a key to unlock and you cannot craft a key. so if you don't have 25 dollars a month the crates are useless.
  25. Jan 14, 2012
    10
    In my opinion, this game is Valve's 'big hitter'. Even though it's a multiplayer online game only, this game is great to play with friends. It's disappointing that the PC's updates will never make it to the consoles, you can get this game for free at Steam. That's right. It's F2P.
  26. Jan 18, 2012
    10
    Everything about this game is great. The customization and item management is amazing, and the gunplay is varied, and violent. The visuals are great, but a little off putting if you're a veteran shooter fan of the likes of CoD and Battlefield. Similarly, The quirkiness of TF2 mean that going back to a different shooter is a little hard at least for me. Since it's F2P, there should be no reason not to play it. Expand
  27. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    First, think of the latest in a line of games that set the trend for almost all future fps's. then make it online, then give it constant updates and new toys to play with. now make it all free. that's team fortess two. it was worth the money when it was released because it offers competitive play for all skill levels and types of gamer. it has its own economy and continuously growing fanbase. the graphics are great (you can barely tell the tf2 is as old as it is), the classes balance well. Oh, and did i mention it's free? Expand
  28. Nov 5, 2010
    10
    This is truly one of the greatest multiplayer FPS games i've ever played.
    I am playing it for a year and it's still entertaining, mostly because of updates, that, i think, come more frequently than MMO updates. With 9 classes to choose from, everyone will find their favourite gameplay style. And, of course, HATS. They make the game even more awesome... This is the best mix of RPG and FPS.
    Weapons, hats, trading, crafting and shooting. 'Couse who needs experience points. Expand
  29. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    This is a great game. It has by far the most hours logged on my computer out of any game I own. Every class you play you get an entirely different experience and the best part is that every class actually feels necessary. Then I personally enjoy the humor in this game and the fact that there are as many frequent updates as there are is just top notch. Its is bar none the best multiplayer experience out there even 3 years after its original release. Expand
  30. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    This game is frikin amazing. The best game ever for the PC besides Half-Life. Its fantasticaly simple yet strategic. You will really get into this game for a long time. Each character has a fun ascet to them. The game is hilarious and you will like it for along time. The gameplay is fantastic and its so fun. Its just mindless killing. No real war. Just killing. Its so fun you have to get this
  31. Jun 2, 2011
    8
    Too much arcade in my opinion, and the updates make the game unbalanced. Too fast, and definitely you can observe the lack of tactics. Anyway, an addictive game, the best game at 7E
  32. Jan 5, 2012
    9
    The game is very fun to play and keeps constantly getting updated with new features making it fun to keep playing it. I've played it for years now and still enjoy it. Only problem is that Valve is releasing new updates without testing them properly making the game unbalanced.
  33. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    This game is the most fun you can have online. Why? First of all, there are no such things as "levels" or "experience" or "cheating", and everybody has an equal chance to win. Second of almost all, you can find items and craft items with the time, which is also super epic. Don't buy Counter-Strike, Download THIS for free via Steam.
  34. Oct 28, 2011
    0
    Really bad game I dont even want to waste time on it nothing fun at all
    sniping could be fun if you did not have to watch trough scope for a long time to 'charge" it
    and you have a lase on that shows the enemy where you are
    no ffa mod
    kids with hats pathetic gameplay,runs bad even on a good machine and a lot of other problems
  35. Sep 1, 2011
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is not a sequel to Team Fortress Classic but rather than a spinoff of the game itself. It would have been called Team Fortress: Incredibles Edition or Team Fortress: Pixar Edition. The gameplay is deeply derivative to the Unreal Tournament and Quake series. Valve did improve the AI but the SP AI difficulty is insane when playing on "easy" difficulty and most maps are not playable with AI bots. Also the game is incomplete since its retail elease in 2006 until its freeware status this year with lots of DLC, maps and improved content.. Downloading free DLC and extra patches for this game are painful as well as long-loading times loading the game. But hey, this game is now worth it when it's free. As for compromised materials since 2000 for Team Fortress 2, most of them went to HL: Counterstrike which became the biggest epic fail mistake of the century by Valve Software ...... period. Expand
  36. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    This game is the best multiplayer game I have EVER played. The game is superbly balanced, lacking the traditional customization most FPSs like MW2 have. Instead the game has 9 Classes, all fo which gave several advantages, disadvantages, and styles of play. The Scout for example, is the fastest class, and can double jump, making hard to hit. But with that he gets a relatively weak weapon with bad accuracy (short double barreled shotgun) and very low health. I would recommend this game to anyone AND everyone. This game, now about 3 years old is also still getting patches and updates. HOW MANY GAMES ARE LIKE THAT?! An amazing game with a great art style and amazing textures, it has a unique look. This is the best multiplayer game I play tied with Counter Strike Source. Expand
  37. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    the cartoony graphics make it even more lovable and is a great break from the next gen graphics (brown n' bloom). Lovable characters, dedicated servers, great community. This is definitly on my top 10 greatest games of all time
  38. Sep 1, 2010
    10
    Lets have a new review shall we? Team fortress 2 is the most amazing mutliplayer experience ever. Its balanced with its diffrent classes that have diffrent roles, letting you pick your style. The pyro is people who like close range and ambush, heavy is for power and scout is for speed. Many diffrent tactics such as Sap n stab, rocket jumping can be involved. People who say there are no objectives have not played the game. CTF, CP, PL, PLR, DM, AAD and counting are all gamemodes in this game. The characters have style and more. TFC is NOTHING compared to this lovley polished game. Expand
  39. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    I bought this game on a whim a while back. All I can say is that this is quite possibly the most fun I've had in a game in a long time. Quite simply the longevity of the game and the willingness of valve to continue to support this game speaks volumes. Constant class updates, game updates and a vibrant community that run very excellent servers that are quite full day and night. I recommend the No Heroes servers. The gentleman that runs the joint doesn't put up with any guff and his servers are full 90% of the day. There is also quite a large female gamer population that plays there as well. All and all this game is tops. Download it from steam or buy it off the shelf. You'll have hours of fun. Expand
  40. Nov 4, 2010
    10
    One of the greatest parts of this game is the updates. Released back in October 2007, Team Fortress 2 is still a fun multiplayer first person shooter. More content is being added every month or so and the community is growing larger all the time.
  41. Jun 27, 2011
    0
    The game was good but since I have free is the worst, very bad. Always saturated, can not find server when the going is slow. Shame trust this company at the time you buy the game to find this..
    El juego era bueno pero desde que lo han puesto gratis es lo peor, malisimo. Siempre saturado, no encuentra servidores, cuando los encuentra va fatal. Una pena confiar en esta empresa en el momento
    que compre el juego para encontrarme esto. Expand
  42. Oct 26, 2011
    0
    the game file is huge,and what do you get from it/ nothing
    the game is really bad
    sniping was ruined when they added zoomming animation when you bring up the scope
    gameplay is pathetic,mods are boring
    the game is a joke
    no ffa mod
  43. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    This game was pretty good overall, and have nothing bad to say about this game. It is pretty amazing. Online was pretty good and the graphics were pretty good, too
  44. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    I got this game for free without knowing much about it prior. 60 hours of playtime later, still going strongly. This is the best FPS ever made. Everything is simple but things get very complex later. There is a huge array of weapons. The whole game is ridiculous (in a good way) but that's why it's so much better than other FPSs such as COD. It's unbelievably addictive and the classes are very varied but have big room for customization. Basically, everyone with a good computer should get this game. Expand
  45. Jan 5, 2012
    10
    nice game with nice graphics and and you will never get bored with all of this new weapon and maps and game modes and it has 9 classes each class has his own ability to do his job
  46. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    It's just AMAZING! It's the most original first-person shooter that i've played. Graphics don't use the latest technology, but who cares? Every weapon has a plus and a minus, so there is no overpowered thing in this game. The HUEG ammount of items makes you both play and try to collect items you want so much. The gameplay is controverted, maps are awesome and classes are original and different. I will never like popular games like Call of Duty, Battlefield, because I like simplistic and, although, funny gameplay. Expand
  47. Sep 3, 2010
    9
    The game is perfect to play multiplayer. It has few bugs, easy interface and controls, require more teamwork than ability, what makes this game good for all ages and gamers: casual or pro.
    The combination of multiplayer plus excellent gameplay plus nice cartoonie graphics makes this game so much fun. The price for this game is correct.
  48. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is possibly the best TDM FPS of the century for me. The diverse mix of 9 classes, several different game mode types, many different maps, outstanding visual quality, constant free-content adding updates and many other things all add up this make this game just purely astounding.
    On top of that, since this game is build on the source engine, one of the most (if not the most)
    modded game engines in the industry, users can add their own maps, weapons and customizations at will.
    The game is very new player friendly, and at the same time very competitive. There are several videos on YouTube of dudes girlfriends/mothers/grandmothers who have never played first person shooters before and manage to pick up and play, get a few kills and have fun.
    What with there being 9 seperate classes, all with different types of weapons and content being added on that allows you to customize the classes even further, the possibilities are endless. I would give the game a 9.9 as I don't believe any game deserves a 10, but if there was one bad thing I would have to say about this game, it's that some of the new weapons that are added into the game can sometimes be quite unbalanced, but this is usually fixed after a short while.
    Expand
  49. May 6, 2012
    2
    I have been playing this "game" for almost 4 years and i must agree with all negatives reviews. "Game" was fun only at beginning, before all those idiotic, retarded and unbalanced items arrived. On most servers classes or weapons limitations are hard to find. Same servers are mostly infested with spawncampers, laggers and last time even speedhackers. Now the "game" has become free, what means, there is alot of so called experts, lolling here and there without any reason, like mindless lemmings and trying to teach you, how to play... I have paid for this "game" and Valve didn't even bother to give any compensation... It's 2012, so buggy and outdated graphics, is nothing more than a bad joke, and technical support still didn't fix "hl2.exe stopped to work" error under Windows x64. If you looking for any good multiplayer FPS game, you need to pay, to play comfortable. Avoid this piece of junk and another free trash at any costs. Expand
  50. Oct 20, 2011
    0
    Valve wypuszcza nowe aktualizacje bez testowania co uniemożliwia przyjemnÄ
  51. Mar 24, 2012
    7
    I loved team fortress 2 since the day I bought Orange box, 3 years ago, for over 60 bucks (instead of 20...), and since then I saw the various updates and downgrades of this great team shooting game. I always loved class based games and team based shooters so this game got me from the first moment, but now it's just a mere shadow of its glorious past. First things first, the shop really ruined this game, and in the worst ways possible: the weapons are now possible to be bought with REAL money and, in general, these weapons are just "lame" versions of the standard weapons you have from the beginning (instead of doing more damage, you get X more shots, or instead of more shots, you get more damage; the examples are endless). Not only that, some weapons are actually JUST useless (Diamondback, Pain Train, and some are just reskins like the Sharp Dresser or the Holy Mackerel) and some are far too strong (the recent phlogistinator is one big example). Why this choice? The game was perfectly balanced and really the only big updates were the first ones (the Force-a-nature, the Kritzkrieg and, one of the best to me, the dead ringer), but now we get tons of lame weapons, that we have to pay to get them or, if you're patient, you can craft them, which is actualy good: you can craft everything, like weapons, tokens for weapons, and, most "importantly", hats. But really, what's the point? They are barely visible and if I wanted to buy something for make my fave class prettier, I'd rather buy a total customization of the class, instead of simple hats. I just talked mainly because of the shop because it's just THIS the problem of the game: the game itself is still good, the maps are still very enjoyable and the game itself is still large, with 9 classes to learn and master and many ways to play them: it's a lot of content for a F2P game, which means you can easily play and try it out and luckily even enjoy it: you have already the best weapons! If it wasn't for the shop, I'd give it 9 or 10, but with this idea of the shop just...ruined what it was a really balanced and really well though game, making it into just a cash-in game with tons of useless weapons, useless customization options and, in addition, tons of disappointed fans of this once fabulous game. Expand
  52. Jul 12, 2011
    3
    JUST a fail it sucks i rather play E.T. than this stupid game. really why is this game so great i don't see it. and its very buggy and low quality so reallt bad.
  53. Feb 15, 2012
    0
    Valve clearly doesn't care that I *paid* for this game, as they constantly try to push micro-transaction products to me. It's like they stopped caring once they compensated me with a crappy veteran hat.
  54. Dec 26, 2011
    0
    Team fortress 2 is awesome!

    That's what i would say years ago

    Valve has messed the entire game up, And now since it got free to play only idiots are there. Before it got free to play there was allmost no minges or anything, And it was alot easier to communicate with people they could sometimes help you getting achievment's and stuff, But now people are only doing this: NO WAFFLE I KILL
    YOU OLOL THIS IS A KILLING GAME and they even do say that on a bloody surf server and that is pissing me off tottaly i have been visiting tons of servers are they are all the same crap now.

    Now to talk about the game overall

    WHAT DID VALVE THINK WHEN THEY ADDED THEESE GUNS? The guns and the classes are so DAMN OP, When i was a spy and i was going to strike down a heavy the medic with the QUICK FIX comes there with his super healing on the heavy and i could not kill the heavy with 5 crits, Its just bloody **** they have tottaly ruined it, Before it was medics healing you when you called them and people in your team acctualy protecting the intel not just going there with their OP weapons and slaughtering everyone and dosen't give a crap about the intel's good job ruining the game Valve.
    Expand
  55. Feb 8, 2012
    5
    The game was a perfect game on release, now mods and a free to play business plan have destroyed the game and community. This hat-collecting simulator devoured the perfect teamwork-based game that was Team Fortress 2 and replaced it with a terrible, terrible game.
  56. Dec 8, 2010
    0
    Im not even gonna slam the game, after all , its a game. However its developers like Valve that are killing the pc scene and why more and more are going to the consoles. If i sell you something and then come over to your house and break it, would you be ok with that? ?Im not. I bought this game and then Valve came over to my house and broke it! They really should look at the stats before drastically changing a game and forcing everyone to accept it. I believe TF2 had quite a community before all the changes and if they thought that changing it would draw more people to the community then why not offer alternate servers? Original flavor and..., Dumbed down version. Then at least those who supported the game before would still get what they paid for. Is it just me?... or does it always seems to fall in the laps of the mod community, to save a game and the pc experience. Expand
  57. Apr 11, 2011
    0
    This game is garbage. The art style is trash. The multi-player is unbalanced and garbage. The multi-player is buggy and has many glitches. The maps are garbage. This game is insulting to gamers and ruining first person shooters in general. Great job Valve!
  58. May 21, 2011
    1
    This game is constantly being balanced, and updated. But. Its also constantly being filled with cash shop items, and hats to suck out your money. They said that hats would just be novelty items too, but then set hats were introduced. They even managed to corrupt portal 2 even more.
  59. Jun 5, 2011
    1
    Back when this game was first released, I would have given it a score of 10. Its' art style was (and still is) unique and a nice change from all the other shooters out there. The game was very balanced, fun and, at the time, my favorite game to play whenever I had the chance. Frankly, I was entirely addicted to this game back in those days. Valve used to regularly update the game to fix bugs, change the balance somewhat (usually in a good way) and add new maps that were always high-quality and just as good as the maps that shipped with the game at first.
    However, later on Valve started with the "class updates" which 1 by 1 gave each class unlockable weapons that could be unlocked by completing class-specific achievements. At this point, I started enjoying the game less with every "class update" that was released. Reason for this is that the developers messed these updates up incredibly badly. First of all, they released them 1 by 1, which meant that you often had entire servers full of people that were playing the same class, because they all wanted to unlock the new goodies as soon as possible. And this then happened again and again and again for every class update that was released.
    Now, this was only temporary so I could have waited and then later on started playing when things calmed down again. However, at that point I realised that the unlockable weapons each class received were, often, just plain bat**** insane. And I dont mean that in a funny way. These unlocks were retarded.
    For instance, they gave the Heavy a sandwich as an unlock, which would replace the shotgun. A sandwich in a FPS. A SANDWICH. Then the Demoman received a large sword which could replace the grenade launcher. This sword allowed him to practically teleport 5-10 metres to his front to try and quickly slash his opponent to pieces even though the game was never, ever up to that point in any way focused on melee attacks. Of course, the developers, in their infinite wisdom, probably intended for something good to come out of these unlocks, but in my opinion, they only changed the game for the worse in so many ways that I just cant describe them all here.
    But clearly Valve wasn't done butchering the game yet. They introduced a hat system. You can earn hats for your characters by playing the game for long enough. While I personally think that in itself isnt that bad (you can just ignore the feature, though it's, quite frankly, retarded to the bone) they then added a whole RPG-like crafting system where you can basically put together several items you've earned by playing and then build stuff, like hats, out of these items. And then, for good measure, they added a trade system.
    The result? When the players aren't busy trying to get complete some achievements to unlock items, they spend most of their time looking for people to trade items and hats with and don't really play the game at all. Everybody is more focused on getting nice items and wearing the most retarded looking hats on their character while in-game. Quite frankly, the game is nothing like what it was at release, in a very, very bad way. What was at first my favorite all-time game, I can't enjoy for even 5 minutes anymore at the moment.
    Expand
  60. Jun 10, 2012
    0
    When i purchased this game it was the best game ive ever played in my entire life but ever since these updates ive uninstalled it.If a critic would rate this game now he would say that its got to be the most **** sucking piece of **** ive ever played I mean like half the time your going to be dying from the most overpowered sons of **** in the world of gaming which are the demoman, soldier, and heavy and the rest of the classes will make you want to blow your brains out. Dont download this **** sucking piece of crap called a game.I cant turn my review into a 0 but it is a 0. Expand
  61. Apr 6, 2012
    2
    Back when gaming was in its glory days, Valve released a title called 'Team Fortress', a game that won my heart and was incredibly fun in every aspect (it still is). In 2007, Valve released 'Team Fortress 2', which was enjoyable to a certain point. Several weapons that have been added, and several "class balance" aspects have made this game horribly unbalanced. It's more of an arcade-style shooter than Team Fortress Classic, and with that it finds flaws. Compared to Nuclear Dawn, where different classes have health but it remains balanced, Team Fortress 2 goes about it differently. Some classes compared to others, despite how enjoyable their concept may be, has about the strength of an infant by comparison, and are quickly gunned down. This game used to be decent, but valve has destroyed it over the years. 2/10. Expand
  62. Dec 15, 2011
    2
    Finally played this game for the first time, and it was awful. The classes are way to restrictive, I would much prefer to build my own loadouts, rather than be stuck with something like shotgun, useless pistol, w/e melee. The graphics are way to cartoony, i feel like im playing a fps for 6 year olds who can handle the sight of blood. The weapons are completely unbalanced, i put 24 shots from a pistol into a pyro, he didnt die, and then he ran up and killed me with 1 second of fire to the face. Im not going to go into detail on the hats, they are just **** retarded... its an FPS not a fashion show. i expect much more from valve, and this game didn't deliver. Expand
  63. Dec 22, 2011
    4
    Ask me to review this early 2010 and I would give it an 8 or 9 /10. After the man-conomy update everything just went bad. Everyone is not even playing the game- just trading virtual hats. People waste alot of money on the store and for what...a new cosmetic? There are alot of weapons in the game but there is no diversity between say one rocket launcher and another gameplay wise because it would be too hard to balance. Team Fortress 2 used to have a nice bit of content added now and then, new maps ect. But now it requires half a gigs download every other week to play. This led me to uninstall what was otherwise in the past a fun game I really liked. The only reason they screwed it up was to get more money. Expand
  64. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    The only people who hate this now are people who think a game has to be serious. This is a properly good game. There is no deep meaning campaign, no intricate combat system. There is no point to team fortress 2 other than good fun. Every character is a sterotype and no one class is useless. All classes have strengths and weaknesses and the swift learning curve for each helps you find the one you like the most and can play the best. The maps are often designed well and the interesting graphical style can't age. It will still be admired years to come. This game is so much fun that any gamer should buy it and treasure it. This is the worlds greatest war based hat simulator. Expand
  65. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    As a hardcore TFC fan, I was skeptical when I heard about a lot of the changes being made in TF2, they were easily put aside once I played it, the gameplay and class diversity is much much more defined in TF2. The game demands and rewards teamwork, not many other games out on the market can do that, *Cough COD *Cough.
  66. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    I haven't played a game that was more fun, satisfying, and endlessly entertaining. I'm very bad at first person shooters and I can't get enough of this game. Even as I run through the maps, dying at every turn, I continue to play. Plus, if you keep up with the blog, they have some of the funniest updates I've ever read. I actually look forward to their posts. If you're a fan of shooters, or of having fun, I can't recommend this game highly enough. Expand
  67. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    This is honestly as close to FPS multiplayer perfection you can possibly get. It is constantly updated, with new guns, hats,and other collectables, and it never gets old or boring. And now it is free. There is absolutely 0 reason not to play this game.
  68. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing. The classes are all balanced to have perfect weaknesses and strengths. Teams must balance the types of players to be successful. However, you are not handicapped so much that your are incapable of fighting one class or another. Expect to spend hundreds of hours on this game
  69. Dec 29, 2011
    4
    Team Fortress 2 is one of the most forgettable, pointless, and phycotic games I've ever played. Valve made the amazing Portal 2, what is with Team Fortress 2? It's simply too forgettable and outdated (there are Valve games far superior to this, and they tried to make the graphics looked so good it ended up turning into a mashed up bluray player,) so I cannot recommend this game.
  70. Oct 8, 2011
    5
    Why? Why don't I like this game? I was very excited about the game's unique look, interesting characters, brilliant voice acting and hilarious promotional videos. To this day, I find it one of the most beautiful games ever made. But that's where my enthusiasm stops, because as soon as I join a match, I lose all of it. The game just plays so... rigid. Maybe it's just me being bad at the game, but none of the classes really feel like they matter. I bought the game fairly late, and I hear people saying that "it used to be better, now it's more of a hat trading game than an actual shooter". Then suddenly, Valve decided to milk the cow even more by making TF2 a free-to-play game, run by a micro transaction system. This just felt like a stab in the back of the people who bought the game, because suddenly having bought the game beforehand didn't matter, you still had to pay. I know the items you can buy are not really giving you much of an advantage, but I still find it a cheap trick. I respect Valve and I really enjoy most of their games, but I hope they don't make a habit out of this. Expand
  71. Dec 9, 2011
    4
    I used to love this game but now it's F2P it's ruined i actully cried when the meet the medic update came out this game used to be worth giving game of the year but after september 2010 i said this game **** sucks @%% for real i hate this game now i sold all my hats for steam games even like a max and stuff like that im sick of it im sick of it im sick of it valve but one last thing WHY?! WHY?! DID YOU RUIN THE GAME OF THE OBJECTEVE GAME OF THE CENTURY!? Expand
  72. Dec 20, 2011
    9
    No matter what year it is or how evolved video games have become Team Fortress 2 will always be a blast to play and one of the best multiplayer experiences, with the constant updates bringing new weapons and maps to the formula everything is simply perfect.
  73. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    Absolutely hilarious. Period. And that in itself deserves a 10. I like how people make modes, release new weapons, I mean now that it's f2p, I see a lot more players I can beat up. But either if you're a newbie or a pro, and First-person shooters are your thing, I high recommend this game.
  74. Jan 5, 2012
    10
    I love this game! Best source game ever build. I love the graphics sometimes a little bit funny. But all the prices for hats and weapons is too high. But everything else is very good.
  75. Sep 17, 2012
    4
    This game is not a good choice for those that won't/can't buy weapons, or have bad luck finding them, in order to even out the player field. Many weapons are way too overpowered, making it too easy to kill groups of players in seconds. The aspect of the game is good and you'll find good teamwork if you find the right server. But it's mostly filled with 12yr olds who beg for anything you have. And there are players so overpowered that all they do is concentrate on finding/buying, or trading for, hats. Expand
  76. Oct 6, 2012
    1
    What was going to be a "fun" game turned out **** graphic weapons and of course the crappy scattergun. They made the demoman to spawnkill everyone in the **** server, pyro to make people rage, and spy to annoy people. When you get on a server you get kicked by everyone if you are 6-10 years old. All This game was made for is to spawn, kill, and die with the process starting all over again. And to top it off mvm sucks. Why? Your hand hurts after playing against a.i ed robots just like training mode only with worse a.i mobs. Conclusion: Tf2 Sucks **** Expand
  77. Oct 31, 2012
    1
    1 of the worst games I have ever , ever played in my life .

    It is so pathetic - the attempt of valve to get easy fifty bugs .
    & the corrupted critics also giving good marks .
  78. Nov 30, 2012
    0
    This game sucks. I don't understand the hype behind it and I couldn't play over an hour before getting bored. It is a hat simulator with no sense of achievement, and valve charging tons of money for these hats is absolutely pathetic, even worse is the people who buy them. This game is mindless and there is nothing unique about it.
  79. Oct 24, 2012
    2
    This game must be good. No, it must be a classic, it's developed by Valve! Well, I disagree. And no, it's not due to hats.

    The problem I have with this game is funnily the classes itself. Picked a Spy and Pyro noticed you? Dead! Heavy noticed you, Medic is with him and you're a Sniper? Dead! Getting killed just because I didn't have a good class againts another player feels very stupid.
    In Section 8 for example you will have disadvanges, if your enemy has better loadout for specific style of combat but you still have quite large chance of killing the player. This game just gets the class thing wrong.

    Another complaint is the map design. The default maps are usually about fighting in very small/thigh corridors, which feels very annoying when playing as Scout or Spy, which like open space where they can move freely. Community made maps on the other hand just scream for snipers or scream even louder for Pyro corners (My favourite class is Pyro btw).

    The gameplay itself could be better, if it was faster too. Soldier and Sniper feel too effective due to how slow players' movement speeds are (Even with Scout) . Sure they are offensive based, but still a lot more annoying.

    The game can be fun for people, who like extremely heavily focused teamplay. Otherwise it's better to just ignore this game. I for one don't fit to the teamplay focused group, even after thousands and thousands of hats.
    Expand
  80. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    This game is PC gamer's essential. You can't call yourself a PC gamer and not at least try this game. The art style is unique and appealing. The gameplay varies dramatically from map to map, requiring the player to create new strategies and work with their team n order to succeed. If you employ the classes properly you should never get stuck, unable to proceed.
    The community is a
    nice bunch of people.
    The game has it's own charm, that keeps a big, goofy smile on your face the whole time you play it, maybe it's the art style, maybe it's the art style, maybe it's the personalities that each of the classes has, maybe it's how the game sort of makes fun of itself and takes itself so un-seriously.
    There are frequent updates that keep adding new items and features that get the whole community excited and with good reason, these new items can throw a real curve ball in the right situation.
    Lastly, whether you buy the game separately or in the deal of the century that is the Orange Box, the price is always right to buy a copy of Team Fortress 2. So what are you waiting for, go and fire up Steam, and download it, you will not regret it.
    Expand
  81. Jan 1, 2011
    3
    Was good, but not great. Then they added gimmicky items, which you can either grind for or fill Valve's wallets for, which also grant gameplay advantages. And they lost their sense of humor, and started relying upon grade-school humor. I'd have given an early solid version of the game an 8 or so -- it was never actually mind-blowing or anything -- but with grinding and real-world cash item purchases, two of the least fun and least skill-determined ways of obtaining advantages in gaming, I feel more than generous giving the game a 3. Expand
  82. Apr 25, 2012
    9
    A masterpiece. this game is a truly worthwhile shooter for the ages. gameplay is fun, and balanced. character customization is expensive, but if your into that kind of thing thats cool. the game as a whole is awesome looking, sounding, feeling, and playing. why are you still reading this? go play it! its FREE!
  83. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best shooter games that I have ever played (if not the best)! It's so great that it's really hard to describe into words. What I really have to like is the graphics. I think that the animated graphics are so great that it may even put Pixar to shame. However, the gameplay is where this game really shines. I had a lot of fun mowing down thousands of enemies as a heavy, completing hard objectives as a scout, and using total stealth as a spy. As for the gameplay modes, I'm happy they just stuck to the classic capture the flag, payload, and control points rather than coming up with something new. If they just did something new, I probably wouldn't have liked it as much. My only real problem with this game is the lack of a mini-map. It is really hard to navigate through the battlefield without one. However, the rest of the game more than makes up for this. Before I played this game, I had also played Star Wars Battlefront. Star Wars Battlefront is amazing, but if you ask me, its got nothing on this. To here I thought Star Wars Battlefront was this good; I stand corrected. Expand
  84. Nov 3, 2011
    1
    This is a great game. It is a lot of fun. However, valve always manages to break the game. It crashes a lot. This has been an issue with the game for quite a long time and still was not solved. I bought this game from the very start and I accompanied the progress of the game from the start all the way to now and it has been degrading ever since. Don't take me wrong, the new weapons are great, but in terms of stability, it's just horrible.

    When they made it free it just became worst. Valve, fix your ****
    Expand
  85. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    This is an epic game. Playing online against other people, with an array of outlandish characters is epic. There are so many things you can do, so many achievements to collect, pwnage to dish out and pwnage to receive. By far the bes FTP game on Steam. The graphics are also good, and the controls are not that hard to learn. Overall, a very addictive, all-rounded game.
  86. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    TF2 really puts the fun back in the FPS genre imo. The games been out awhile but I still have a blast playing it. Oh and I love my hats :D. I know this review doesn't tell you much but if you love fast paced truly team based FPS fun that doesn't take itself too seriously and blends a creative art style with just the right amount of comedy then TF2 is the game of your dreams.
  87. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    As a "free to play noob", I would rate this game a 10. Valve constantly releases updates and it has great replay value. Each of the nine classes have their benefits and disadvantages, which balances out great. Thank you Valve for this fantastic shooter!
  88. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    great game. aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa oijjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjj;i;afffffffffffff ijoeipfakopfkaspofkaspogm;aiojg;oagmu;iunrugoeherperoeiog ej wg[gewonwepogpweunwpnwpeg wepgon w'egjwpeonweongeu'woufa gnaug[uGPOug'pgeponu;oiaenoanoiUN;n oiugnfowigusohginsehgiy ;aon a;gunegoapoguna'gopuna;gpouawe;guawegoupaegpuona;g
  89. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    I got this game as soon as it came out and can't bear to think about the hours I've put into playing it. Luckily its still enjoyable now, which is amazing given its age. My only slight issue is the game does require strategy (especially around medics) and online games are weak on that aspect, which can make it frustrating. Still its an amazing game and now its free there can bge no argument for not playing it. Expand
  90. Jan 4, 2012
    9
    The graphics are something to cherish due to that cartoony feeling, and the gameplay is extremely decent if you can handle the MLG multiplayer. Overall, if you know how to use the characters to choose from and which is your favorite, you'll find this a blast to play.
  91. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    The best overall shooter game I've ever played, very creative and original as well. The fact that the game now is completely free and gets massive regular updates, and has hundreds of community created maps makes this perhaps the best game I have ever played, and I rarely give out 10 / 10!
  92. Dec 23, 2011
    9
    Oh yea! This is most fun multiplayer game 4ever!
    You can forget hats, you can collected weapons.
    You can love hats and weapons
    You can hate it's all.
    But you must install this game.
  93. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    It's balanced, it's addictive, and you can play it for hundreds of hours without stopping. Yes, my friends, this is the world of Team Fortress 2, a highly addictive and stylized free to play multiplayer game. It does look simple, but it's a very complex shooter at its heart and caters to all forms of gameplay.
  94. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    One of the few games I'll give 10/10. I've played this more than any other multiplayer game (800 hours). There are nine classes, each truly unique from the next, with a limitless number of strategies, tactics, etc. Played this game all through college and still loving it.
  95. JYT
    Jan 6, 2012
    9
    Really fun. Like a good cartoon or comic book. When the players understand they have to team up and organize according the to roles it's another level:

    - demo & soldier to cover heavy and fireguy and clear the way from distance bfore moving in - sniper must cover engineers against spy
    -scout must sacrify or create diversions
    - etc..
  96. Dec 28, 2012
    0
    Boring, too many updates.. its just a hat game, the list goes on and on and on.. No wonder its a free game, stay away! When I got this game it was part of the orange box, If when I purchased the orange box and knew about Team Fortress 2 at the time. I would of not have bought it. But I bought it only for the Half Life 2 series. Just a huge disappointment and largely a waste of hard drive space
  97. May 3, 2012
    7
    I wouldn't really fully recommend this to any old school gamer, but for free it's one of the best games ever. VALVe have done an amazing job making their games available free to play for all, with premium access to the Orange Box buyers, so now VALVe can bring in lots more players that weren't previously aware of their awesome games. Only problem I find with it is most of the community, and the unseriousness of the gameplay. The hats, the items, they just don't do it for me. TFC was all about teamwork, shooting, and plain seriousness. Whereas with TF2, it's all just joking, cartoon-y, hats, items, trading...You get the point. I like the game, and I still recommend it to everyone, but It's just not for me. Expand
  98. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    Been playing since '08 and it's still a blast. While the community can be frustrating, there are thousands of servers out there and everyone can find their community. The complaints about balancing is a bit ridiculous; the game is very balanced. There are a very small number of items that I find unbalanced, (3 to be exact), but other than that it's a wonderful game with a genuine, colorful artstyle. Expand
  99. Jun 17, 2012
    4
    Valve has released some of my favorite games to play on the PC to date. Half-Life, Left 4 Dead, and Counter-Strike all have a spot in my heart for games. When Team Fortress 2 was released, I enjoyed playing it with the basic items/weapons that the game had released. Some of the weapons they have released today have definitely pushed me away from the game but the real kicker for me was the adding of the Mann Co. Store (Which, for those of you who don't play the game, is an in-game micropayment service). Ever since then, the game has turned from an enjoyable team game to a fashion party. Players can now adorn themselves with hats, gear, and costume to personalize their character. While this creates a wide open space for creativity, it makes the game less appealing especially now that Valve is using it primarily as a revenue stream. I come from an older generation of gamers who played games made to be enjoyed and to receive money as a secondary goal. Few and far major game producers do this anymore. Video gaming has become a sad era of gross value, not entertainment and Team Fortress 2 exemplifies this. Expand
  100. Jul 1, 2012
    3
    This game oh man this game.What a utter sack of **** this game is, Riddle me this players giving this game after 2011 a 10/10 score, what is it about this ''amazing'' ''game'' that makes it deserve a perfect score? The answer is nothing, nothing at all. You know what i miss about this game? Well i mean its not like the game has no team work whats so ever and its not like every class has overpowered uber weapons is it? Heres the short of it, Valve has made a money sucking abomination out of game that once required some thing resembling skill. Now its just a game filled with **** autistic kids who have nothing to do except play a Mature game and breathe heavily into their mikes begging you for one of those **** hats. 10/10 for a unbalanced camper/hacker/greifer feast with meaninglessness iteam and stupid children? Ill pass. Expand
  101. Dec 16, 2011
    0
    Played this since 2007 and really love it. and I am not really much of a MP player. The fun and action-packed game has me enterained for years even if I have nearlyl 600 games on my steam account, I still come to TF2 to play. I am fast approaching 1000 hours played clocked on this game. Subtitles are lacking but someone has created a mod that implements closed captions into the game which increased it's fun factor. Greatly recommended for those looking for action packed multiplayer FPS. Collapse
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. 100
    The marriage of highly stylised retro-spy presentation, fresh, high octane action, deep and varied classes and the underlying twinkle of humour in its metaphorical eye make Team Fortress 2 far more than just your average fragfest. Long after the novelty of the graphics wears thin, we are left with a refined and accessible multiplayer game that simultaneously cultivates new players whilst retaining enough depth to accommodate even the hardiest of veterans.
  2. The game also does a lovely job of framing your relationship with other players and nurturing them.
  3. It's one hell of a game. With its powerful artistic style and blazingly quick, yet accessible gameplay, it's enough to melt the icy cynicism imprisoning the hearts of even the most jaded among us. That being said, it's not the most complex shooter out there.