Team Fortress 2 PC

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 5572 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KennyD.
    Jun 7, 2008
    7
    The reason for the 7 is because the game has to many problems starting up the game and when u do get into the game that excitment can be short lived by noobie class like the demomen or the pyro. To me it makes no sence in making a game when one class can take no skill and ur able to take out an intire team by ur self it makes it seem to unbalanced. The hit box lag is awful and the sniper The reason for the 7 is because the game has to many problems starting up the game and when u do get into the game that excitment can be short lived by noobie class like the demomen or the pyro. To me it makes no sence in making a game when one class can take no skill and ur able to take out an intire team by ur self it makes it seem to unbalanced. The hit box lag is awful and the sniper even though ur on the head and u take the shot it wont count. yes the game is exciting but only when u do well. And the game seems to demanding on computers when u play it. it shows u the recomended but yet its still very chopy u could have made the game easier to run and make it more balanced so that every person who plays it gets a far chance. Expand
  2. May 29, 2013
    7
    This game is something very unique to the gaming experience. It's a FPS game, but it doesn't take itself to seriously. This works for the most part, but it falls down at a few points. These points include: stupidly unrealistic damage, a couple of OP weapons and lack of a decent singleplayer.
  3. Jun 24, 2013
    7
    Team Fortress 2 is a good but not as great game as the other Valve masterpieces. The gameplay can be awesome and awful at the same time. No matter how you want to play tactical... There is always a guy in your team who just runs around and kills everybody... So if you never played it you should give it a try since it is F2p but... I think CS or L4D is much better.
  4. Aug 14, 2013
    7
    Although I feel the game has deteriorated a bit from when I originally played it, I feel as though this sets the bar for first person shooters. It deviates from most cliche titles that constantly rinse and repeat the standard FPS formula. In order to like the game, you have to be good at it, which is why I feel like a lot less people are enjoying the game, due to their inexperience. IAlthough I feel the game has deteriorated a bit from when I originally played it, I feel as though this sets the bar for first person shooters. It deviates from most cliche titles that constantly rinse and repeat the standard FPS formula. In order to like the game, you have to be good at it, which is why I feel like a lot less people are enjoying the game, due to their inexperience. I recommend new players to try a variety of maps and classes to truly get the best experience. Expand
  5. Sep 16, 2013
    7
    while i don't think this is the greatest fps ever like some other people do, it's a good competitive multiplayer game. although my favorite part is the very well done co-op mode. there are varying classes which ensures that there'a a class that almost everyone will like, as well as weapons and crates that you can find.
  6. May 3, 2012
    7
    I wouldn't really fully recommend this to any old school gamer, but for free it's one of the best games ever. VALVe have done an amazing job making their games available free to play for all, with premium access to the Orange Box buyers, so now VALVe can bring in lots more players that weren't previously aware of their awesome games. Only problem I find with it is most of the community,I wouldn't really fully recommend this to any old school gamer, but for free it's one of the best games ever. VALVe have done an amazing job making their games available free to play for all, with premium access to the Orange Box buyers, so now VALVe can bring in lots more players that weren't previously aware of their awesome games. Only problem I find with it is most of the community, and the unseriousness of the gameplay. The hats, the items, they just don't do it for me. TFC was all about teamwork, shooting, and plain seriousness. Whereas with TF2, it's all just joking, cartoon-y, hats, items, trading...You get the point. I like the game, and I still recommend it to everyone, but It's just not for me. Expand
  7. Mar 24, 2012
    7
    I loved team fortress 2 since the day I bought Orange box, 3 years ago, for over 60 bucks (instead of 20...), and since then I saw the various updates and downgrades of this great team shooting game. I always loved class based games and team based shooters so this game got me from the first moment, but now it's just a mere shadow of its glorious past. First things first, the shop reallyI loved team fortress 2 since the day I bought Orange box, 3 years ago, for over 60 bucks (instead of 20...), and since then I saw the various updates and downgrades of this great team shooting game. I always loved class based games and team based shooters so this game got me from the first moment, but now it's just a mere shadow of its glorious past. First things first, the shop really ruined this game, and in the worst ways possible: the weapons are now possible to be bought with REAL money and, in general, these weapons are just "lame" versions of the standard weapons you have from the beginning (instead of doing more damage, you get X more shots, or instead of more shots, you get more damage; the examples are endless). Not only that, some weapons are actually JUST useless (Diamondback, Pain Train, and some are just reskins like the Sharp Dresser or the Holy Mackerel) and some are far too strong (the recent phlogistinator is one big example). Why this choice? The game was perfectly balanced and really the only big updates were the first ones (the Force-a-nature, the Kritzkrieg and, one of the best to me, the dead ringer), but now we get tons of lame weapons, that we have to pay to get them or, if you're patient, you can craft them, which is actualy good: you can craft everything, like weapons, tokens for weapons, and, most "importantly", hats. But really, what's the point? They are barely visible and if I wanted to buy something for make my fave class prettier, I'd rather buy a total customization of the class, instead of simple hats. I just talked mainly because of the shop because it's just THIS the problem of the game: the game itself is still good, the maps are still very enjoyable and the game itself is still large, with 9 classes to learn and master and many ways to play them: it's a lot of content for a F2P game, which means you can easily play and try it out and luckily even enjoy it: you have already the best weapons! If it wasn't for the shop, I'd give it 9 or 10, but with this idea of the shop just...ruined what it was a really balanced and really well though game, making it into just a cash-in game with tons of useless weapons, useless customization options and, in addition, tons of disappointed fans of this once fabulous game. Expand
  8. May 27, 2011
    7
    While a suprisingly addictive multiplayer package of tons of options, the overdistribution of premium content in the form of weapons, hats, and progression puts this acclaimed game at an average for me. But overall, TF2 is unique with its graphical prowess, gameplay, and stylized combination of design.
  9. May 7, 2011
    7
    This is a nice game, A great 1st person shooting game with great timing and battles, Awesome user created maps, and many games with fun servers with different types of chat. But the games seem like everytime you join any server, The server is the same game i play every server i go to. Most user created servers are protected and you can't kill anyone at all, and i'm always kicked from theThis is a nice game, A great 1st person shooting game with great timing and battles, Awesome user created maps, and many games with fun servers with different types of chat. But the games seem like everytime you join any server, The server is the same game i play every server i go to. Most user created servers are protected and you can't kill anyone at all, and i'm always kicked from the servers. My computer's fail graphics card shows the graphics very well and outstanding, but however the game always lags and it never accomplishes to work when i switch servers. If i want to cancel loading, I have to shutdown my entire computer and turn it back on again, I barely play it anymore because my graphics card can't be updated on this computer, and on my laptop it has low memory and i can't delete my enhanced tools that cost alot of money, such as portal 2 for instance, and my animation set, In other words it has low computer memory and i can't delete 5GB of memory. This game is although very good, nice graphics, and a good temporarily daily shooting game, I can't stand most player made servers, the lag, the 10 minute wasted control point games, and the way you need a very high graphics card to operate this. I would give it a 6, but I rather prefer giving a 7 because it's pretty good, and i can't base most of my opinion on my computer errors. Expand
  10. Sep 13, 2012
    7
    It's difficult to rate this game as it steadily decreases in refined quality with each update, particularly promotional updates that tend to ruin the design ethos. Each weapon released feels like it was beta tested by monkeys, often needing to be rebalanced upon public release, but unfortunately not being balanced until months, if not years down the line. The shere volume of unlocks isIt's difficult to rate this game as it steadily decreases in refined quality with each update, particularly promotional updates that tend to ruin the design ethos. Each weapon released feels like it was beta tested by monkeys, often needing to be rebalanced upon public release, but unfortunately not being balanced until months, if not years down the line. The shere volume of unlocks is overwhelming for new players alienating large numbers of players including the entire F2P player base. Expand
  11. Nov 10, 2011
    7
    Okay guys, TF2 on release was near perfect, when it got to right before the engineer update, it WAS perfect, but then EVERYTHING changed, it went from a nice shoot em up team based combat game to a hat trading online store (Literally) But its free now, worth your time, ive been playing for a very long time (almost 1000 hours) and I think its still playable, but not nearly as fun as it usedOkay guys, TF2 on release was near perfect, when it got to right before the engineer update, it WAS perfect, but then EVERYTHING changed, it went from a nice shoot em up team based combat game to a hat trading online store (Literally) But its free now, worth your time, ive been playing for a very long time (almost 1000 hours) and I think its still playable, but not nearly as fun as it used to be, I agree that it deserves to be re graded, but then you could also say in its defense that we would all be bored of it by now if it did not update. I would think otherwise. I liked the idea of only getting hats by grinding and not blind robbery. Expand
  12. CRL
    Jul 25, 2011
    7
    This was not why I bought the Orange Box, as I'm not big with multiplayer gaming. However since then it's proven to be surprisingly fun, and there's something there for anyone. While it's a bit outshone by the rest of the Orange Box, TF2 is still a fun and addictive game.
  13. Jul 11, 2013
    5
    I bought the Orange Box so naturally I am angry that the game is now "free.

    The game has never fully captured my interest. On all the servers I played on last night, I went 50 kills and like 2 deaths with Pyro. Nobody can stop me, and I don't have any upgrades or anything. The game is flat out too darn easy because of all the 5-12 year old kids playing. F2P ruined the game. Period.
    I bought the Orange Box so naturally I am angry that the game is now "free.

    The game has never fully captured my interest. On all the servers I played on last night, I went 50 kills and like 2 deaths with Pyro. Nobody can stop me, and I don't have any upgrades or anything. The game is flat out too darn easy because of all the 5-12 year old kids playing.

    F2P ruined the game. Period. Back in 1996 when I played the original, you had to have a lot of skill in the game. Noobs would get owned over and over. Now... there's no skill at all. It's just hats.

    Valve, don't make games like this free. That was a bad move. Let the kids grow up or let them purchase the game and commit to getting good at it.

    It's just flat out too easy. I can't stress this more. You grow tired of playing because of the low level of skill everyone has.

    I'm not even gonna comment on how over done the graphics are. It takes years to load a map.
    Expand
  14. Feb 8, 2012
    5
    The game was a perfect game on release, now mods and a free to play business plan have destroyed the game and community. This hat-collecting simulator devoured the perfect teamwork-based game that was Team Fortress 2 and replaced it with a terrible, terrible game.
  15. Stealthmanstealthy
    May 17, 2008
    6
    The game is so-so. the graphics are good with comic look and sm 3. the gameplay is not that good because it is simple and lagged to perform stuff like jumping. the first game is more dynamic this one is very different but it still is its sequel. i dont like it very much i stick to the oldies, classics and counter-strike non-source for example, because the newer games aren't too cool The game is so-so. the graphics are good with comic look and sm 3. the gameplay is not that good because it is simple and lagged to perform stuff like jumping. the first game is more dynamic this one is very different but it still is its sequel. i dont like it very much i stick to the oldies, classics and counter-strike non-source for example, because the newer games aren't too cool as the old. Expand
  16. Sep 6, 2013
    6
    The original TF2 was awesome, but Valve totally screwd the games with hats and needless things like that, also, the announcer of the game is just horrible! It is a old woman just trying to yell at the screen, nevertheless, I will say this game deserves a 6.
  17. zooterboy
    Dec 13, 2009
    5
    I'm missing something. I must be. Because all these people that are spewing love letters to Valve over this game are making me scratch my head. I've played quite a few hours of this game, trying all the classes, different servers, etc. I'm still waiting for the 'great' thing in this. It is flat out boring. Along with that is the inevitable 'destroy the I'm missing something. I must be. Because all these people that are spewing love letters to Valve over this game are making me scratch my head. I've played quite a few hours of this game, trying all the classes, different servers, etc. I'm still waiting for the 'great' thing in this. It is flat out boring. Along with that is the inevitable 'destroy the noob' factor that plagues the human race; so that it is nearly impossible to ever learn this game because you're being mocked by every player you ever meet. I didn't buy this game when it came out, I didn't give it a try until almost 2 years later, and I don't know why I ever bought it. Oh, and additionally, there is a serious lack of any kind of documentation that would assist someone learning this game. I found that fact alone horrifyingly blatant. The game has some good points: the humor is good; the artistic direction is pretty good, though a bit simplistic; and it has a lot of maps. For me, it's just run of the mill stuff, nothing really special about it. (no, I didn't buy the orange box, and I don't own an Xbox. And I have a better PC than most) Expand
  18. AnonymousMC
    May 1, 2008
    5
    A good looking game with a great sense of humor that has a lot of potential for a good team game. Unfortunately that's where the praise ends. The maps are too small often with only a couple of entry points to each control point often creating stalemates. The all class grenade spamming of TFC has been replaced with Demomen grenade and sticky bomb spamming and Sentry Gun camping of TF2.A good looking game with a great sense of humor that has a lot of potential for a good team game. Unfortunately that's where the praise ends. The maps are too small often with only a couple of entry points to each control point often creating stalemates. The all class grenade spamming of TFC has been replaced with Demomen grenade and sticky bomb spamming and Sentry Gun camping of TF2. There's talk of strategy but the implementation of a random critical hits system and the aforementioned small maps sucks that out like a mosquito on your arm. The kill cam means that being a spy or sniper is a dangerous occupation as the people you kill will know where to go looking. Team Fortress is by no means bad, it's competent but that's it, more something you'd rent for a night so you can have a laugh rather than buy to implement creative strategy on a battlefield. Expand
  19. DS
    Feb 18, 2008
    5
    Not as cool as the first one. Sure the graphics are better, but there is not a lot of skill needed for many classes. I miss the grenades of TFC, the pyro flamethrower is almost useless because you have to be soo close to hit, and the damage it does is not much unless you corner them. They need to beef that up. Literally half the time it wont start, but goes to a white screen and just Not as cool as the first one. Sure the graphics are better, but there is not a lot of skill needed for many classes. I miss the grenades of TFC, the pyro flamethrower is almost useless because you have to be soo close to hit, and the damage it does is not much unless you corner them. They need to beef that up. Literally half the time it wont start, but goes to a white screen and just dies. The biggest disappointment is the invisibility of the spy. They might as well just kill you at random because that is what the spy ends up doing anyways. You are getting a good battle going, and out of no where you die. No chance of even seeing what killed you. Since they shift camera to who just killed you, if its a sniper it gives away their position. I don't play the sniper, but i imagine that has to irritate them. I miss the grappling hook too, as well as maps like 4fort4. After waiting for ten year in vaporland, I think they could have done better Expand
  20. Jan 1, 2013
    6
    I had my fair share of fun with this game. I liked the fact that it played so differently from other shooters. Yea, maybe the graphic style was part of the reason why I liked it, but also because gunplay is just so different in this game.
    There's no "gunner class" like in other shooters. Each class plays differently and has it's own jobs.
    This is certainly no deathmatch game, all modes
    I had my fair share of fun with this game. I liked the fact that it played so differently from other shooters. Yea, maybe the graphic style was part of the reason why I liked it, but also because gunplay is just so different in this game.
    There's no "gunner class" like in other shooters. Each class plays differently and has it's own jobs.
    This is certainly no deathmatch game, all modes need some sort of teamwork.

    This is all fine and good for the first few hours, but then you start to realize something. Every match is basically a routine. The fact that you're pretty **** when trying to do something outside of your role in the team makes you pretty much do the same things over and over again.

    Then there's also the horrible drop system. Now I like the fact that pretty much everyone has a chance in this game, even newcommers. There's no leveling system like in other games that makes you unlock better equipment. Every new weapon has it's pros and cons and can even change how you play the class.
    However the fact that weapons drop so randomly and inconsistantly makes you pretty much keep on playing for no real reason. You're just hoping that at one point you get the weapon you desire.

    Seeing how it's free to play, I'd say go give it a shot. There's certainly nothing to lose and fun to be had.
    Expand
  21. Apr 2, 2012
    6
    Game becomes worse and worse with each update. Bullets lag so you can get killed seemingly through a wall but lag will make it so your "shadow" still appears as though it's not behind the wall. You can "backstab" someone from the side, top and bottom. And valve continues to bite into the "noob" influx from the f2p switch and release weapons that are easier and easier to get kills with.Game becomes worse and worse with each update. Bullets lag so you can get killed seemingly through a wall but lag will make it so your "shadow" still appears as though it's not behind the wall. You can "backstab" someone from the side, top and bottom. And valve continues to bite into the "noob" influx from the f2p switch and release weapons that are easier and easier to get kills with. Turning into a sad CoD wannabe. Expand
  22. May 7, 2012
    5
    For a f2p it's a nice game.The graphics are fun and the classes are good, but the hat stuff ruined it, and mega HP is annoying.I only played 2 hours and got bored, so 5/10.
  23. KentB.
    Nov 13, 2007
    5
    As a sequel, its a great disappointment. Team Fortress Classic (TFC) had a rich array of game types and maps, mostly thanks to the community that kept it alive. Each class in TFC had a multitude of abilities and a real depth of skill to be acquired. TF2 could have build upon that depth, but chose instead to make the game more shallow. There are fewer game types, less class-specific skills As a sequel, its a great disappointment. Team Fortress Classic (TFC) had a rich array of game types and maps, mostly thanks to the community that kept it alive. Each class in TFC had a multitude of abilities and a real depth of skill to be acquired. TF2 could have build upon that depth, but chose instead to make the game more shallow. There are fewer game types, less class-specific skills to learn, fewer weapons, and fewer inter-class interactions. Overall, the game is a regression, rather than a progression, of team fortress. That said, it does have a great artistic appeal and certainly makes the classes unique. That appears to have been their main goal, and they achieved that. Its just unfortunate that valve didn't build upon the classic multiplayer that they had rather than tear it down to something that equates to a cosmetic overhaul to the day of defeat. Expand
  24. Oct 8, 2011
    5
    Why? Why don't I like this game? I was very excited about the game's unique look, interesting characters, brilliant voice acting and hilarious promotional videos. To this day, I find it one of the most beautiful games ever made. But that's where my enthusiasm stops, because as soon as I join a match, I lose all of it. The game just plays so... rigid. Maybe it's just me being bad at theWhy? Why don't I like this game? I was very excited about the game's unique look, interesting characters, brilliant voice acting and hilarious promotional videos. To this day, I find it one of the most beautiful games ever made. But that's where my enthusiasm stops, because as soon as I join a match, I lose all of it. The game just plays so... rigid. Maybe it's just me being bad at the game, but none of the classes really feel like they matter. I bought the game fairly late, and I hear people saying that "it used to be better, now it's more of a hat trading game than an actual shooter". Then suddenly, Valve decided to milk the cow even more by making TF2 a free-to-play game, run by a micro transaction system. This just felt like a stab in the back of the people who bought the game, because suddenly having bought the game beforehand didn't matter, you still had to pay. I know the items you can buy are not really giving you much of an advantage, but I still find it a cheap trick. I respect Valve and I really enjoy most of their games, but I hope they don't make a habit out of this. Expand
  25. Zed
    Aug 26, 2009
    6
    I got this game with the orange box when it first came out. when i first started playing this game i thought it was brilliant, the sort of game i was looking for... it was geniunely fun and worked really well... that is of course when valve decieded to be tossers and patch the crap out of the game... the new maps were okay, though the only one i actually like is badwater. but it was the I got this game with the orange box when it first came out. when i first started playing this game i thought it was brilliant, the sort of game i was looking for... it was geniunely fun and worked really well... that is of course when valve decieded to be tossers and patch the crap out of the game... the new maps were okay, though the only one i actually like is badwater. but it was the class updates that infuriated me with the new weapons and alike ruining the balance of the game... well the whole game infact. i mean if it aint broke why fix it? it really killed it for me, and after a year of being annoyed i finally re-installed the game to find more updates and some truely awful maps... hoodoo is the worst that i can remember. so i had to go back to my favorites... (2fort, dustbowl, hydro and well) and try and enjoy the game... yes the game is still fun, but just doesn't give me the evil smile on my face after i get humiliating kills that it used to. still a good game, but that's it. Expand
  26. KG
    Oct 25, 2007
    6
    At the end of the day, after you play this game for an hour, it just comes off as boring and uninspired. Cartoony graphics, underpowered weapons and sluggish movement ruin what otherwise might be a nice concept. In spite of being a class based team game it reeks of shallowness and pandering to the masses. If someone is looking for a good strategic FPS that rewards skill and intelligence At the end of the day, after you play this game for an hour, it just comes off as boring and uninspired. Cartoony graphics, underpowered weapons and sluggish movement ruin what otherwise might be a nice concept. In spite of being a class based team game it reeks of shallowness and pandering to the masses. If someone is looking for a good strategic FPS that rewards skill and intelligence equally I recommend Quake Wars or Red Orchestra. Expand
  27. Dec 30, 2010
    6
    To sum it up, it's counter-strike with a fancy skin. The game offers very little innovation. The got a comic style graphics, and is not afraid to joke about itself. The missions are generic battlefield-style points, capture flag or capture a package(information).
    There are a couple of different classes that you can choose from, which gives a mediocre feeling of diversity.
    There isn't very
    To sum it up, it's counter-strike with a fancy skin. The game offers very little innovation. The got a comic style graphics, and is not afraid to joke about itself. The missions are generic battlefield-style points, capture flag or capture a package(information).
    There are a couple of different classes that you can choose from, which gives a mediocre feeling of diversity.
    There isn't very much to say about this game, as I said it's just another FPS with a little touch to it.
    Expand
  28. AnonymousMC
    Mar 1, 2008
    6
    The game in its proposal is awesome.
    However compared with other games like battlefield I didnt like the playability.
    TF2 have very small scenarios and is very much fast paced.
    It apears that only those who are very much good can have some fun while noobs get wasted all the time and dont have fun at all.
    In BF2 I get wasted all the time but at least I make some score and I have a lot more fun.
  29. BlakeB
    Apr 10, 2008
    5
    Brilliant.
  30. NathanielH.
    Jul 8, 2009
    5
    Reason for low vote. snipers out of balance with rest of game. also numerous hacks where snipers always get head shot even thru walls, scouts 2 shot from 25 feet away with a shot gun and demo mans nades exploded whenin proxy instead of after certain time. since they have no real anti cheat software but for the steam vac a lot of hackers are rampart in game now.
  31. AlanT
    Dec 18, 2009
    5
    This is one of the few favourites FPS game I've played and this is saying alot from a person that enjoys this genre of gaming. TF2 has alot of strengths that makes the whole online experience more forgiving. The balance issues tend to be adjusted really well for each class but the maps failed it. The whole level tends to be very small and tedious during a 32 man fight. The game grew This is one of the few favourites FPS game I've played and this is saying alot from a person that enjoys this genre of gaming. TF2 has alot of strengths that makes the whole online experience more forgiving. The balance issues tend to be adjusted really well for each class but the maps failed it. The whole level tends to be very small and tedious during a 32 man fight. The game grew very stale while one side picks all spies with their pathetic critical pistols. Definitely a solid rental but definitely not a buy for all those hardcore FPS fans or players that enjoys tactical shooting games a whole lot more. Expand
  32. AnonymousFeirFeir
    Oct 27, 2009
    5
    This game is the perfect fps to me, the well displayed, easy menu of unique character classes to choose from keeps you playing for hours, as you're never stuck to just one job. The reason I am giving it a 5 is the lack of teamwork people actually use. I swear, sometimes I'll be on fire, calling to a nearby medic heavy pairup, desperately wanting to be healed, which never This game is the perfect fps to me, the well displayed, easy menu of unique character classes to choose from keeps you playing for hours, as you're never stuck to just one job. The reason I am giving it a 5 is the lack of teamwork people actually use. I swear, sometimes I'll be on fire, calling to a nearby medic heavy pairup, desperately wanting to be healed, which never happens. Sometimes you ask people to stop rushing in, because it's boring and hopeless and actually give the game some effort. It doesn't happen and your team continues to fail, but nobody considers your suggestion. You just get told to "STFU". It really takes away from the gameplay for me. If you are hoping to get any good teams in this game, I suggest playing with friends. The graphics are entertaining and original and the characters are based on fun stereotypes, giving loads of possibilities to machinima makers everywhere. Expand
  33. AnonymousMC
    Dec 29, 2008
    6
    I totally agree with "Zaaaa" here. << Ii think that they are releasing updates for every class now one by one... Achievments make the game suck b/c half the team is working on that and not helping te TEAM out...In fact it's very hard to even be a team in TF2. I'm guess this is why you made the orange box package....10 years of developement and a few months later you randomlyI totally agree with "Zaaaa" here. << Ii think that they are releasing updates for every class now one by one... Achievments make the game suck b/c half the team is working on that and not helping te TEAM out...In fact it's very hard to even be a team in TF2. I'm guess this is why you made the orange box package....10 years of developement and a few months later you randomly change class aspects as well add weapon mods...errmm? Shouldnt I have been informed when I bought the game that the whole thing would be changed when you feel like it? >>
    I would have given 10 to this game at it's release. Now it only deserves a 6 for me. Well , it's an acceptable game, graphics are great and all... But it was PERFECT before this updates project...
    Expand
  34. Oct 11, 2010
    7
    This was really really fun for me at first but as time went on it kinda lost it's appeal and recent changes have made this title appeal even less to me. I really don't like the fact that they added a store where you can just buy the special items.
  35. Mar 18, 2011
    6
    Alot has been removed from the 1st game, and sadly alot of the things that were fun.

    Alot of maps and modes were removed, same with a class or two.
    There's not a big variety in the maps, A desert, and Industial Desert, Or an Industrial Western Desert.

    So, alot has been cut out, but it's still polished so much my eyes burst because of how shiny it is.
  36. Jun 3, 2011
    6
    A year or two ago i would rate this game 10/10, but now its just a pile of mess. When it was released, it had 9 classes, each had 3 weapons. Later they decided the update the classes with new weapons, that wasnt more powerful than the default ones, but was more situational. Some people said it ruined the game already, i thought its cool, but the way they implemented it, not neccesary. ToA year or two ago i would rate this game 10/10, but now its just a pile of mess. When it was released, it had 9 classes, each had 3 weapons. Later they decided the update the classes with new weapons, that wasnt more powerful than the default ones, but was more situational. Some people said it ruined the game already, i thought its cool, but the way they implemented it, not neccesary. To obtain those new weapons you had to do achievements, and THIS is what ruined the game, it made people farm achievements to get new weapons instead of playing it as supposed. So the game turned into a giant grind-fest. Later they introduced drop system to avoid the farming, but that made it even worse. Now people would just "idle" instead of farming, they just logged in and AFK all night long, then after hours they get bunch of items, for nothing, for just being logged in. Thats just a lame and stupid design. Now they introduced something even worse... a real money shop where you can just buy the items. And that was it for me. Now half of the servers are made for either achievement grind, idling or trading. Sad how you can ruin a great game by implementing such fun-killing concepts. Expand
  37. Dec 1, 2011
    5
    Nice try at recreating the wheel, but tf2 is not a real team fortress game. Team Fortress is not about balance, its about each character having its strengths and weaknesses. tf2 is overally balanced so there is little need for team work. From release day tf2 crapped all over its Team Fortress heritage, and from there the game has only degraded until its an embarrassment to the TeamNice try at recreating the wheel, but tf2 is not a real team fortress game. Team Fortress is not about balance, its about each character having its strengths and weaknesses. tf2 is overally balanced so there is little need for team work. From release day tf2 crapped all over its Team Fortress heritage, and from there the game has only degraded until its an embarrassment to the Team Fortress community. If you want a "real" team fortress game, go play Fortress Forever or Team Fortress Classic. Expand
  38. Jan 1, 2013
    5
    I would have given this game a 10 around when it was first released, yet to be raped by valve's money grubbing schemes. Each of the classes in this game had a specific role, with a specific arsenal of weapons. That made them special and gave them each a purpose in the game. Around when the hats, microtransactions, trading, and free-to-play came, it all went to hell. I like the fact thatI would have given this game a 10 around when it was first released, yet to be raped by valve's money grubbing schemes. Each of the classes in this game had a specific role, with a specific arsenal of weapons. That made them special and gave them each a purpose in the game. Around when the hats, microtransactions, trading, and free-to-play came, it all went to hell. I like the fact that valve is constantly updating the game, but they're doing it wrong. The introduction of dozens of new weapons simply blurs the lines between the distinctive abilities of each of the classes. Heavies that run fast? Snipers that are impervious to backstabs? Spies that can headshot? Medics with arrows? (etc.) These ridiculous new abilities makes each of the classes less special. Furthermore, I was appalled when valve decided to slap their customers in the face by suddenly making this game free-to-play. They advertise it as a good thing. But valve's greed is easily uncovered. The free to play aspect of this game allows more people to be exposed to the tf2 microtransactions market, making valve even more money in expense of the people that already bought this game. Now this game is filled with angry and unskilled grade-schoolers that don't need their mom's credit card to buy and play this game. The overall experience of teamwork and ingame fellowship is ruined. Players with their newly-bought "overpowered" weapons think they are a one-man army, with no need for team support. I also really hate all these stupid accessories people put on their characters. It makes the game look like a goofy social avatar game rather than a competitive team-based game. More importantly, people's goals are changed to get more hats and items. I really miss the experience with this game when it first came out. Everybody worked together, there were no teams full of snipers and engineers. People understood what this game was about. I notice valve is ruining a lot of things lately. l4d2? cs:go? portal 2 is an exception. Nevertheless, I have lost all respect for valve and I no longer support them. Expand
  39. Jul 2, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The reason i gave this a 5 is that valve made it f2p yes it has more people but kids just go spamming their mic and those who paid for it did not get anything even if they bought it beause f2p can just buy something from the store that cost less than $5 and their game is just like those who paid $20 for it sorry if this have a bad english Expand
  40. Jul 25, 2012
    7
    This game I feel deserves a 7 due to 2 reasons. The community and the trading aspect which I suggest you steer clear from as they're probably the 2 worst things in the game. Other than that, the game has nice music that won't bore you for a while, Great game play, nice art-style, fun game-modes, loads of customization from weapons to hats, servers from around the world (not just an areaThis game I feel deserves a 7 due to 2 reasons. The community and the trading aspect which I suggest you steer clear from as they're probably the 2 worst things in the game. Other than that, the game has nice music that won't bore you for a while, Great game play, nice art-style, fun game-modes, loads of customization from weapons to hats, servers from around the world (not just an area like America or Korea) and you can also rent servers as well (not from valve) and it shows a proper example of what Free to Play shooters should be like unlike other shooters like Combat arms or Team Fortress 2's Rip-off Final combat Expand
  41. Dec 27, 2013
    5
    I don't know why people love this game, it's the worst game developed by Valve. It's a generic shooter where you have to jump here and there and nothing more. You have good customization options, but it doesn't worth. The graphics are good, but it can be better (the effects are very standard). It's a good game? Yes, and its free, but it is not a great game like everyone says.
  42. Jun 6, 2013
    6
    Was my favourite game, but valve added too much content that I disliked. From 2010 it was worse and worse: Ingame shop, trading, more hats, TF2 went f2p(allowing kids, trolls and cheaters to play), introducing op weapons that change whole gameplay. After 2980 hours I decided to quit and I play it only sometimes. It don't hold me like it was before. Nowadays Valve says Who needs new maps,Was my favourite game, but valve added too much content that I disliked. From 2010 it was worse and worse: Ingame shop, trading, more hats, TF2 went f2p(allowing kids, trolls and cheaters to play), introducing op weapons that change whole gameplay. After 2980 hours I decided to quit and I play it only sometimes. It don't hold me like it was before. Nowadays Valve says Who needs new maps, weapons? We need only more hats!" it just make me sad. Expand
  43. Oct 15, 2013
    6
    This game is GOOD, don't get me wrong, a 6 is not a bad score. I'm not complaining about the graphics either, I think they suit the game play style and are a fun addition. The game play is also quite fun, and quite addictive. The addictive-ness of this game falls quite quickly due to the very repetitive game play. It's Kill, Die, Kill, Die, change class, Die, Die, Kill, change class, Kill,This game is GOOD, don't get me wrong, a 6 is not a bad score. I'm not complaining about the graphics either, I think they suit the game play style and are a fun addition. The game play is also quite fun, and quite addictive. The addictive-ness of this game falls quite quickly due to the very repetitive game play. It's Kill, Die, Kill, Die, change class, Die, Die, Kill, change class, Kill, Kill, Die. I find that all the game modes are just mediocre, nothing new or interesting, they've all been seen before. And the world is EXTREMELY hard for beginners, as I once was. Some people in the game also like to obsess over hats, to be honest hats take away the game play and make players focus on something irrelevant. Overall this game is quite good. Expand
  44. Oct 21, 2013
    6
    Really good to play with your friends and it has funny classes to choose from and every class does have pluss and minus sides. For example, Heavy is very slow, but it has alot of hp and firepower. Scout not much hp, but really fast and medium firepower. Only real is it went free to play and it came along with hats, miscs and guns. Like in the shop there's some miscs and hats which costReally good to play with your friends and it has funny classes to choose from and every class does have pluss and minus sides. For example, Heavy is very slow, but it has alot of hp and firepower. Scout not much hp, but really fast and medium firepower. Only real is it went free to play and it came along with hats, miscs and guns. Like in the shop there's some miscs and hats which cost about 1-10€ and unusals are worth of 50€? Really? Expand
  45. Jun 5, 2014
    7
    Team Fortress 2 is a gleaming example on the perfect game that stayed around being popular for so long, that It grew mold which then mutated into the hideous entities we now see as the Mann-Conomy store and digital hats & crates.

    Still though, It's aged pretty well and that's worth something in my book.
  46. AnonymousMC
    Jan 1, 2009
    7
    A game in which a seasoned counter-strike pro can be bested by a twelve year-old x-box junkie; this has it's advantages and disadvantages. It's good fun, looks great and the extent to which the teamwork extends is is impressive; I never witnessed such camaraderie in enemy territory, battlefield or red orchestra. However, no-one's really good at it and no-one's reallyA game in which a seasoned counter-strike pro can be bested by a twelve year-old x-box junkie; this has it's advantages and disadvantages. It's good fun, looks great and the extent to which the teamwork extends is is impressive; I never witnessed such camaraderie in enemy territory, battlefield or red orchestra. However, no-one's really good at it and no-one's really bad at it. It lacks the professionalism of other online shooters. It's good, but I think the novelty will soon run out. Expand
  47. AnonymousMC
    Feb 3, 2009
    7
    I thought the game was perfect! I played it all the time, I had 42.7 hrs in the steam community thingy playing it :D - But then it suddenly just got boring after a few months. Also its been like 7 months since the heavy update.
    Well, all I can say is well done valve for spending 9 years on it - It was worth it in the end.
  48. AnonymousMC
    Apr 22, 2008
    7
    Game is quite balanced and nice. Still has a bit of work to do with lag as far as DirectX users go (I tried running this with underclocking for a bit, lol, at the minimum specs and it played horribly even with everything optimized for performance) but you can tell they tried hard on it. The kill-cam view I really dislike, since it reveals any clever sniper's or engineer's hidingGame is quite balanced and nice. Still has a bit of work to do with lag as far as DirectX users go (I tried running this with underclocking for a bit, lol, at the minimum specs and it played horribly even with everything optimized for performance) but you can tell they tried hard on it. The kill-cam view I really dislike, since it reveals any clever sniper's or engineer's hiding spot and ruins the logic part of the game. The only thing I actually HATE are crits. They just annoy the fucking bloody hell out of me. 7/10 Expand
  49. EirikB
    Dec 28, 2009
    7
    This is an Awesome game. I just like the option you have in this game. Well, i'm new to this game.. But after couple of hours playing all night long.. I just have to say: I ENJOYED IT, EVERY SINGLE SECOND! =) IT'S A AWESOME GAME! What characters do i like best? Spy, Enginer.. no, wait.. I love 'em all! =) So if you don't have this game, go buy it! Or do like i did, buy This is an Awesome game. I just like the option you have in this game. Well, i'm new to this game.. But after couple of hours playing all night long.. I just have to say: I ENJOYED IT, EVERY SINGLE SECOND! =) IT'S A AWESOME GAME! What characters do i like best? Spy, Enginer.. no, wait.. I love 'em all! =) So if you don't have this game, go buy it! Or do like i did, buy the Valve complete pack for just 50£ (Holiday sale).. In this pack there is all Counter Strike versions. Day of defeat, half life Left 4 dead 1,2 Team Fortress 1,2 ;P Expand
  50. MattK
    Jan 2, 2010
    7
    Just not sure.... I've played many other tactical fps'es including Combat Arms, A.V.A, Soldier Front, and CS:S. It might be that I've only played this for 3 days but it seems the new players will struggle the most with this. The maps are very colorful and you can have your serious or fun servers. However class wise is a pain, you have to dig through each and every one to Just not sure.... I've played many other tactical fps'es including Combat Arms, A.V.A, Soldier Front, and CS:S. It might be that I've only played this for 3 days but it seems the new players will struggle the most with this. The maps are very colorful and you can have your serious or fun servers. However class wise is a pain, you have to dig through each and every one to see what you do best with only to be put down by a player who has at least 1 month experience. The maps also seem a bit cramped for a 32 man game which takes away one of my favorite classes to play, the scout as he's a target in a cramped place. The weapons are a challenge to get used to since there's no assault rifle from my playing so of course now it'll take a week of my stats getting killed to try to get better. Decent game because I keep coming back. Expand
  51. AnonymousMC
    Nov 30, 2008
    7
    I thought this game was fun for a long time... after about 4 months of not playing i wanted to play again (with my friend who also had the game now) i downloaded the update and went on and started playing and every1 was talking about these "achivements" which to be honest werent achievements i dont understand why game developers call them this they should call them tasks cause every1 doesI thought this game was fun for a long time... after about 4 months of not playing i wanted to play again (with my friend who also had the game now) i downloaded the update and went on and started playing and every1 was talking about these "achivements" which to be honest werent achievements i dont understand why game developers call them this they should call them tasks cause every1 does them but they dont just play the game and get them they got looking to do them this makes the game dull and boring because of lack of team play! Expand
  52. ChrisM
    Sep 27, 2009
    7
    I Love this game to death...its rare you dont see me playing this. The only reason i give this game a 7 is because of the drop system that ramdomly drops you weapons.Frankly i would give this game a worse rating its just this game sucks you in.Other than the terrible drop system, This game brings Online FPS (First Person Shooter) games to a new level of fun and hllraising. All in all this I Love this game to death...its rare you dont see me playing this. The only reason i give this game a 7 is because of the drop system that ramdomly drops you weapons.Frankly i would give this game a worse rating its just this game sucks you in.Other than the terrible drop system, This game brings Online FPS (First Person Shooter) games to a new level of fun and hllraising. All in all this game is flawless.I only wish valve would see through their own ruse and get rid of the drop system.They are losing many great players. (and money). Expand
  53. BrianP.
    Nov 26, 2008
    7
    It's fun and has an interesting class-based strategy. However, the game has some serious flaws. The sniper is the only class with any sort of long-range capability at all, and they can insta-kill most classes after charging their shot for 5 seconds. The pyro, a melee-only class, generally can only win a one-on-one combat if they surprise the enemy by hiding. The medic can heal a It's fun and has an interesting class-based strategy. However, the game has some serious flaws. The sniper is the only class with any sort of long-range capability at all, and they can insta-kill most classes after charging their shot for 5 seconds. The pyro, a melee-only class, generally can only win a one-on-one combat if they surprise the enemy by hiding. The medic can heal a teammate faster than most classes could damage said teammate. The list goes on. Expand
  54. Apr 28, 2013
    7
    Alright, I am going to write a review for today's date of April 28, 2013, a critique of Valve's PC game Team Fortress 2. When I started playing this game at its launch, it was unique, beautiful and fun. There were so many weapons and nine classes to learn creating some challenge and a bit of a difficulty curve if you never played Team Fortress Classic to an extent. Unfortunately, todayAlright, I am going to write a review for today's date of April 28, 2013, a critique of Valve's PC game Team Fortress 2. When I started playing this game at its launch, it was unique, beautiful and fun. There were so many weapons and nine classes to learn creating some challenge and a bit of a difficulty curve if you never played Team Fortress Classic to an extent. Unfortunately, today this is not the case because this game has been flipped on its head and made very easy and polluted with items. There are so many new weapons, hats, uniques and rare items, lots of which come with pre-ordering or owning certain games, that this has ruined the game to an extent. There were good and bad reasons about TF2 going F2P, the good being a plethora of new players and the bad would be the core launch audience would be dominating the new fish. For me this game was made too easy and a lot of my banana rider friends and server buddies left to play other games, currently some of us play Dota 2 because there is a challenge, but for the most part I don't play anymore. Truly, a lan party with some booze on 2009 mode, this game is an 8.5/10 across the board. Expand
  55. Sep 2, 2015
    6
    I have been playing since launch and I have played this game off and on, sometimes intensely then not touching it for months. Gun Mettle has got me playing again but I still find the same strengths and weaknesses, like the unbalanced classes and weapons, the prevalence of servers with 'VIP' accounts that give double health, damage etc and the very basic nature of the gameplay overall. AnI have been playing since launch and I have played this game off and on, sometimes intensely then not touching it for months. Gun Mettle has got me playing again but I still find the same strengths and weaknesses, like the unbalanced classes and weapons, the prevalence of servers with 'VIP' accounts that give double health, damage etc and the very basic nature of the gameplay overall. An issue for me with Gun Mettle in particular is not only that I could have waited and bought most weapons for about 5p each, but also the fact that half the drops require a further key to be bought, indicative of the need for Valve to rinse the community for every penny they have. Expand
  56. May 11, 2013
    7
    7 is max what i can give I quickly got bored after some hours. Graphics, gameplay unqualified. Developers still supporting this game. Everyone can make maps.
  57. Mar 2, 2013
    6
    Team fortress 2 is a game that has many different classes. The classes have their own strengths and weaknesses. Players get their own weapons and hats by crafting them out of items they already have or by finding them. The drop rate for equipment is too low in my opinion. You may have to play for days to get that one weapon you want, and the weapons don't feel very different. For example,Team fortress 2 is a game that has many different classes. The classes have their own strengths and weaknesses. Players get their own weapons and hats by crafting them out of items they already have or by finding them. The drop rate for equipment is too low in my opinion. You may have to play for days to get that one weapon you want, and the weapons don't feel very different. For example, you have a rocket launcher. You get a new one. It has 5% more damage, but 5% less rocket travel time. Not a real example from the game, but almost all of the items swing like that. You'll find an item, but it isn't very different or game-changing. Also, the classes feel like they only work in certain situations, but seem broken in use for anything else. For example, the scout class moves very fast, but has a tiny amount of health, and a weak shotgun. The scout will only "work" in close quarters, and if a pyro with a flamethrower blasts you with a bit of fire, you're screwed. I like the characters talking when they do something, like killing someone. It's funny. Overall, the game is fun while it lasts. Expand
  58. Apr 20, 2013
    7
    This game is extremely unique, and can be very fun if you play for many hours to build skill, or are just naturally good at the game. Otherwise, you might not enjoy it so much. At this point in it's existence, it's filled with players that have played 1,000+ hours (most I've seen was around 6,000 hours), meaning you're likely to get your ass kicked over and over again. Which means the gameThis game is extremely unique, and can be very fun if you play for many hours to build skill, or are just naturally good at the game. Otherwise, you might not enjoy it so much. At this point in it's existence, it's filled with players that have played 1,000+ hours (most I've seen was around 6,000 hours), meaning you're likely to get your ass kicked over and over again. Which means the game requires a lot of skill, and that's a good thing. The reason I give it a 7 is because I feel they've messed up the gameplay quite a bit with a few of the items they've added, or else I would have given it an 8. And no, I'm not talking about the hats. The hats are fine, they usually don't affect gameplay (unless they're part of an item set), so I don't see any reason to complain about them. But there have been a few weapons and other class items that I feel have botched the gameplay a bit. For example, the Dead Ringer watch. While it doesn't necessarily make playing Spy super easy, it makes the Spy feel incredibly overpowered when you find someone who has practiced using it. If you're on fire, you can feign death and extinguish yourself. If you're running from an enemy who would most definitely be able to kill you with any other invisi-watch, you can feign death and quickly escape. It's recharge time makes it so you could go from killing someone to feigning your death over and over and over again, so the enemy team will never really know that they have yet to actually kill you after seeing you die numerous times. Or, in the case of the Pyro, the Axtinguisher does have damage to players that are not on fire, but does 100% CRITICALS if they are (yes, you read that right). And since the Pyro is a class where you have to get close to melee range to set them on fire anyways, this is often combined with the Degreaser, which allows you to switch weapons faster. Meaning you can set a nearby player on fire quickly, and then instantly kill them with the Axtinguisher. Those are just a couple examples, there are more. And just having a weapon that's effective doesn't ruin the experience right? Well, that is true. But in this case, it makes it so you're never going to want to use a lot of the stock weapons because the added items are better in every single way. Meaning this game lacks balance. In fact, it's set up in such a way that if a certain class is up against another certain class, one of those certain classes will win almost every time. For example, a Scout versus a Heavy. Do not expect to ever beat a Heavy if you're a Scout, unless the Heavy is pretty low on health. But with the two having full health in a one on one battle, you'd have to be an extremely exceptional Scout, and the Heavy would have to be pretty bad for the Scout to win. I'm not taking off a point for that, because a lot of people like that kind of thing and I'm trying to keep the review objective. So, in conclusion, if you don't mind unbalanced weapons, classes that can kill other classes almost every time in certain situations, and don't mind being restricted to to extreme ups and downs of each class, I would definitely recommend this to any first person shooter fan. Expand
  59. May 27, 2014
    6
    Team Fortress 2 is a game made my Activision, a company also known for their work on the Legend of Zelda series and the Fifa series of Basketball games, and a darn good one at that, it's been a long time since I've played a game of such a high caliber, but yet again I am European, which sucks for a TF2 fan like me, as DLC is often very late and the game itself was released on NintendoTeam Fortress 2 is a game made my Activision, a company also known for their work on the Legend of Zelda series and the Fifa series of Basketball games, and a darn good one at that, it's been a long time since I've played a game of such a high caliber, but yet again I am European, which sucks for a TF2 fan like me, as DLC is often very late and the game itself was released on Nintendo Eshop in just 2013.

    I decided to forgive them as they had valid reasons as too why it arrived late for the PAL region, but a 3DS version of the game did come free with the Wii U version, as well as a Ghastly Gibbon bus.
    The 3DS isn't much to rave about, which brings us onto the soundtrack of the game, which was developed by Darude and Lionel Ritchie, and included tracks such as "Don't stop till you get enough, unless you can't be bothered" and my fave "Can you feel the sunshine? No I live in 2Fort"

    This game is what I call a DLC game, a game entirely based on DLC, such as various armors, cosmetics and earbuds, and if your pre-order a game, then you get a hat based on Bill from Deadrising 4, which I liked, and my favourite DLC map is the Warioware server, but I prefer the tall good looking one (You know what they say about tall men)

    Fan of the film spy kids? Well good for you lads there is a secret agent man class, created by charlie and chocolate factory author Dr. Seuss, and he is french and likes to play with knives, just what kind of parents did he have? But only adulterous and corrupt people use him.

    I played the Wii U version, so I can't say anything about the 3DS version, but the Wii U version was indeed a game.
    I give it a six.
    Expand
  60. Feb 2, 2014
    5
    One of the most overrated games of this generation in my opinion. Since this game is free, i can't say it's a waste of money, but why waste time on a mediocre shooter, when you can get way better ones for just a few euros?
    None of the maps in this game are very memorable; they mostly just look the same. being able to choose out of 9 classes makes it seem like you have a lot of choice, but
    One of the most overrated games of this generation in my opinion. Since this game is free, i can't say it's a waste of money, but why waste time on a mediocre shooter, when you can get way better ones for just a few euros?
    None of the maps in this game are very memorable; they mostly just look the same. being able to choose out of 9 classes makes it seem like you have a lot of choice, but most of them (i'm talking to you, scout and medic) are useless compared to OP classes like heavy and pyro.
    The biggest flaw of the game, however, is how repetitive most game modes are. Let me tell you about one of the most played game modes; one team has to push a cart along a rail towards a certain point, while the other team has to prevent them from doing so. If you're on the cart-pushing team, this is basically what you do:
    1. Run to the cart.
    2. Push it forwards for maybe 50cm.
    3. Get blown up by sticky bombs and launchers.
    4. Wait for the 15-second respawn delay to end.
    5. Repeat.
    And for the defending team, all you do is throw explosives to the cart, hoping to get a kill. Almost every FPS game (even good ones) are repetitive in a way, but TF2 makes it way too obvious.
    Further on, there's ofcourse a team deathmatch game mode, which is pretty mediocre as well, a capture the point game mode, which is almost just as repetitive as the one i just spoke about, and some more that i don't remember.
    There's no problem in downloading this game since it's free, but don't expect a lot from it.

    Overview:

    Presentation: 8
    Menu's look good, and the game luckily isn't full of glitches.

    Graphics: 6.5
    although the game looks fun, maps are very repetitive.

    Sound: 5.5
    No memorable soundtrack or voice acting, and guns don't sound great either.

    Gameplay: 3
    This is what i hate the game the most for, since it's repetitive, the classes are unbalanced, and there isn't a single game mode that involves any strategy.

    Lasting appeal: 4
    Not much depth in the game, no outstanding maps or game modes, so it wears off quickly.
    Expand
  61. Mar 20, 2014
    7
    Not a bad game. However, a lot of people play and praise this just because it is free. The gameplay is good and it isn't a bad game, it just doesn't stand up compared to other games that I have paid for.
  62. Feb 19, 2014
    6
    It's quite a funny game in the beginning, but in the long-term it gets boring for me. It's really diversified, without a lot of classes, weapons, items, etc.
    I mostly recommend it to young teenagers ages 10-15 and to all people who like A LOT of mayhem.
  63. Jun 25, 2015
    6
    Team Fortress 2 is ok, its reasonably fun at times, to be honest, i dont see the appeal in all of the cosmetics, but if people like them, then thats fine.
  64. Aug 15, 2014
    7
    I find in this game quite amusing, I was greatly amused mostly by this game's comical humor within the characteristics of our playable men, but at the same time not all that amused by the public of the people that await, not going into sexism cause the game does have female characters involved. Now, speaking into the community, the people there are not the "Brightest of the bulbs" most ofI find in this game quite amusing, I was greatly amused mostly by this game's comical humor within the characteristics of our playable men, but at the same time not all that amused by the public of the people that await, not going into sexism cause the game does have female characters involved. Now, speaking into the community, the people there are not the "Brightest of the bulbs" most of the time, they seem to claim that you are only "cool" if you wear a non-achievement obtained hat. Some of these people are not exactly sure of themselves however. Now heading into the stereotypical category; Team fortress 2 sure has a minor case of stereotypical behavior, such as the "One eyed black, Scottish demolition man" or the "Fat Russian heavy", these of which some may find offensive, it's like saying "all of Native American people are filthy apes", which is not true at all. Valve is a creative group of people, but I think Gabe took this a little far himself. Now, going into the topic of updates; This game is really creative off it's nice updates, an example of this is the recent massive update of the "Love and War" Update, adding over 15 new taunts and more cosmetics, some of re-skins of current weapons such as Mad Milk. It really is unique how they come up with these updates, I always can't wait to see what they have in store for us. Speaking of updates, now I must say the delay on such ideas is a bit painful I must admit, some do not have such patience to wait for so long just for an update. Now my final result is in to this game, it is a bit stereotypical, has quite a few rotten apples in the community, as well as some sprays that are pornographic, as well as crude and funny humorous ways set in this game, I give this game....

    7/10.
    Expand
  65. Dec 16, 2011
    0
    Played this since 2007 and really love it. and I am not really much of a MP player. The fun and action-packed game has me enterained for years even if I have nearlyl 600 games on my steam account, I still come to TF2 to play. I am fast approaching 1000 hours played clocked on this game. Subtitles are lacking but someone has created a mod that implements closed captions into the game whichPlayed this since 2007 and really love it. and I am not really much of a MP player. The fun and action-packed game has me enterained for years even if I have nearlyl 600 games on my steam account, I still come to TF2 to play. I am fast approaching 1000 hours played clocked on this game. Subtitles are lacking but someone has created a mod that implements closed captions into the game which increased it's fun factor. Greatly recommended for those looking for action packed multiplayer FPS. Collapse
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. 100
    The marriage of highly stylised retro-spy presentation, fresh, high octane action, deep and varied classes and the underlying twinkle of humour in its metaphorical eye make Team Fortress 2 far more than just your average fragfest. Long after the novelty of the graphics wears thin, we are left with a refined and accessible multiplayer game that simultaneously cultivates new players whilst retaining enough depth to accommodate even the hardiest of veterans.
  2. The game also does a lovely job of framing your relationship with other players and nurturing them.
  3. It's one hell of a game. With its powerful artistic style and blazingly quick, yet accessible gameplay, it's enough to melt the icy cynicism imprisoning the hearts of even the most jaded among us. That being said, it's not the most complex shooter out there.