Team Fortress 2 PC

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 5898 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    Are you dangerous like heavy, or coward like scout? Whatever your style tf2 is for you; plus it's free so why not? The decoration free weapon drops and all these features keeps you going on. Plus a Zombie like Mann vs. Machine mode!
  2. Aug 5, 2013
    8
    Very Good game with a nice game play. What makes this game unique..its his large community, his great trade system, his unique weapons and his unique characters. This game is unique. Only disappointing thing is the hat simulator. At the beginning, this game was a great and unique warfare game and now hats and all his friends are taking over the real purpose of this game........war. I likeVery Good game with a nice game play. What makes this game unique..its his large community, his great trade system, his unique weapons and his unique characters. This game is unique. Only disappointing thing is the hat simulator. At the beginning, this game was a great and unique warfare game and now hats and all his friends are taking over the real purpose of this game........war. I like the fact..that there's different hats for each class but now there's too much hats. People want more and more hats. They're forgetting the real thing in this game... but its still a good game. Expand
  3. Aug 9, 2013
    9
    It sure is a great game, the best free game available on the PC. However, the optimization is poor and you need a good PC. Also, I do not like the idea of promo's and an in-game economy, and if you even spend just 10 euros on this game, you will spend more on it later. It just pulls you in and never lets you out, unless you are strong enough.
  4. Aug 18, 2013
    9
    The possibilities, the background story, the mechanics, the variation between classes...It feels like an amazing game. It is amazing. To top that, certain people you play with make the game even better. And despite the hat market and sudden desire to get something on top of your head, it is a truly satisfying experience playing on a server doing something to help your team out of trouble.The possibilities, the background story, the mechanics, the variation between classes...It feels like an amazing game. It is amazing. To top that, certain people you play with make the game even better. And despite the hat market and sudden desire to get something on top of your head, it is a truly satisfying experience playing on a server doing something to help your team out of trouble. I've known this for three years already and I am still going. Expand
  5. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    Okay this is going to be a long one... My Team Fortress 2 Review!
    Final Verdict Is te.. no, i must give this a fair review!
    Okay lets start of with story: Two land hungry brothers want to take over their deceased father's land and what do they do? Do they Normally talk it out like family? Do they give a fair argument? No! One of the hires 9 mercenaries, but the other on stupidly also
    Okay this is going to be a long one... My Team Fortress 2 Review!
    Final Verdict Is te.. no, i must give this a fair review!

    Okay lets start of with story: Two land hungry brothers want to take over their deceased father's land and what do they do? Do they Normally talk it out like family? Do they give a fair argument?
    No! One of the hires 9 mercenaries, but the other on stupidly also hires 9 mercenaries why didn't he get more?) to have war with each other, which most likely destroy the land but that's out of question. you have to use all 9 mercenaries or classes as they are called to fight and beat the living out of each other.
    Whew that was long but we have a lot more to go as we head into the presentation.
    The game surprisingly goes away from counter strike and cod and has a very cartoonish style of visuals.
    Some people hate these graphics but they are nothing (sorry to all people with that opinion i will give you cake). The game is a FPS With a very cartoony style of visuals, as stated before. And now my final rating is... no not yet because i have to go into Game play!
    Now this is when TF2 is different to other FPS's out on the market. I am a Cod Fan myself but there is one game with more originality and thats Tf2. Same game every year.. humph. Anyway As the steam page says or used to say its a war hat simulation-Valve" Its a very different game to others.
    There are nine classes you can choose from that play different from eachother. The nine classes are:
    Soldier,Pyro,Scout,Heavy,Demoman,Spy,Medic,Engineer and my personal favorite, The Sniper.
    Each one of them plays different from each other as i stated before.
    For example the Scout runs fast and can double jump, The Heavy Has a frickin' huge mini gun at his side and The Engineer has a sentry gun that he can lay down at his disposal. Valve, why are you so creative... that would give it a ten out of ten right there but i digress. One of the biggest things in TF2 is the customization, oh god its HUGE! You have hats, new weapons and even a balloon unicorn that follows you around, thats so cute!
    The loadouts are most likely different to everyone else's choice, but there are the DemoKnight, The Attack Engineer and there is even a jar of your own urine! Icant go on for any longer because i would break my fingers so i should wrap this up.
    Team Fortress 2 is an amazingly creative,fun and just a downright great experience.
    Also have i mentioned the the game is free, yeah you can download it from steam whenever you like.
    But don't get it on Xbox 360 or Ps3, they are quite s**t port i do say myself and they havent been updated since 2007 soo... get it on pc!
    My final rating that you have already seen is..... 10!
    Thankyou for reading my review and i hope, if you haven't play this game. But you would already be playing right? PLAY NOW!
    Expand
  6. Sep 15, 2013
    10
    I have played this game since 20-10, I stopped playing it because of Dota. Not saying that I started to get bored because of this game. Actually, this is the only on-line game I have played for 3 years. I love the characters. They have their own skill and style, in the game, my favourite character is spy, this is a very interesting character, in other fps gun games, the knife is not soI have played this game since 20-10, I stopped playing it because of Dota. Not saying that I started to get bored because of this game. Actually, this is the only on-line game I have played for 3 years. I love the characters. They have their own skill and style, in the game, my favourite character is spy, this is a very interesting character, in other fps gun games, the knife is not so important. I don't think you would use the knife when playing cso, ava...but valve create a character that need it, if you told the people you need knife in a gun game 10 years ago, they would send you to the hospital! But team fortress 2 change their views( I was one of them before). And in this game, team work is very important. Also, this game allows players to make their maps and their playing modes, for example zombie mode. Also I like the trailers, valve uses his heart to make this game, not only for earning money, they take care of the players! Many other games forget about it. They didn't care about the players, they just want money, and their result is fail. Team Fortress 2 did a good job on it. Only one small thing I think they should do better, it is that they should create more weapons. Because the numbers of weapon didn't increase a lot, and I hope it will change.
    Maybe valve will make team fortress 3 in the future! I am waiting for that day.
    Expand
  7. Oct 31, 2013
    9
    Great game all round, F2P, brilliant gameplay. You should not ignore this game it's better than your average COD. Apart from a few annoying things this game is a brilliant experience.
  8. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    Valve has managed this game very well. Its success is reflected in how long it has stayed alive as a game relying solely on pvp. From a game mod to a great game, Team Fortress 2 doesn't give you repetitive first-person shooter game play, offering you several different modes of objectives, and different classes with different specializations to spice up the game. Valve also constantlyValve has managed this game very well. Its success is reflected in how long it has stayed alive as a game relying solely on pvp. From a game mod to a great game, Team Fortress 2 doesn't give you repetitive first-person shooter game play, offering you several different modes of objectives, and different classes with different specializations to spice up the game. Valve also constantly updates the game, thus ensuring there will be new content, along with player-contributed mods and the like.
    Overall, great game to pick up, considering that its free and really enjoyable even to people like me who are not completely interested in first-person shooters.
    Expand
  9. Sep 3, 2014
    10
    I spend more time on this game then with my family, friends, and my shower, combined.... It is seriously the best free to play game ever. Its 9 unique FPS game is downright awesome, its fun, and you will spend HOURS on this game so you can trade some keys so you can find that Unusual hat that you hope is in your crate!
  10. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    This game is definitely in my top 10 favorite video games. Sure, the hat collecting is pointless but it gives us a chance to customize our characters into wacky things. The game really wasn't supposed to be serious in the first place, just a fun competition between red and blue.
  11. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    I love this game. It gets a perfect 10 from me. There are a lot of immature 6 and 7 year old kids, but i just ignore them or tell them to shut up, but other than that, the game is a masterpiece.
  12. Oct 18, 2013
    9
    Not once has a game thrilled me with such... genialidad (That's Spanish)! All the classes have their own upsides and downsides, all very fun and creative. Heavy gets boring if you want a challenge since he walks around with a minigun slowly shooting at enemies with 300 HP, but there are some things to do as him like defend medics or defend control points. Mann Co was a great idea,Not once has a game thrilled me with such... genialidad (That's Spanish)! All the classes have their own upsides and downsides, all very fun and creative. Heavy gets boring if you want a challenge since he walks around with a minigun slowly shooting at enemies with 300 HP, but there are some things to do as him like defend medics or defend control points. Mann Co was a great idea, supporting Valve by you paying for items that you'll love. Trading is very helpful, where you can trade weapons for weapons, hats for hats, etc. Also, even though they aren't avoidable, there aren't so many ragekids. So that's good. There is so many step ups from TFC (Which is a great game, and worth the money so I recommend it) like moving sentries, going faster, new weapons and abilities, etc. Fun, joy and challenge awaits in a free fabulous masterpiece! Expand
  13. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    With the map editor, endless items waiting to be approved in the Steam Workshop and the 9 classes for any kind of FPS player, you will play Team Fortress 2 for a long time! And guess what? This games is FREE TO PLAY! So you only need 8GB free on your hard drive and you are good to go! Even if TF2 has micro-transactions, they are not really going to make a difference but if you want to stayWith the map editor, endless items waiting to be approved in the Steam Workshop and the 9 classes for any kind of FPS player, you will play Team Fortress 2 for a long time! And guess what? This games is FREE TO PLAY! So you only need 8GB free on your hard drive and you are good to go! Even if TF2 has micro-transactions, they are not really going to make a difference but if you want to stay unique from other players, you might spend £50 on your items without even realising:) In my opinion, give this game a try because you have nothing to lose! Expand
  14. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    An amazing game for anytime of the day, I'm always playing this. I seriously recommend getting Team Fortress 2, I'ts simply amazing. I literally play this every single day just to be entertained.
  15. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is the perfect blend of seriousness and silliness, from hats that have planets spinning around them to flip flops this game has it all. I highly recommend this game to anyone interested.
  16. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    I have no idea why there are negative reviews. This game combines unique cartoon like graphics, fun shooting, and humor for no price. Hats are awesome and the weapons are good. Each class has weaknesses and strong points. The game is a must have :D
  17. Mar 7, 2014
    9
    Another entertaining game by Valve. It has unique cartoonish graphics, makes the game funnier. Game play is quite good, satisfies enough. In the game, there are nine well-designed classes. They have some advantages and disadvantages, you should choose them according to you playing style. By the way, don't forget the maps, they designed very well too. You can spent hours in the same map,Another entertaining game by Valve. It has unique cartoonish graphics, makes the game funnier. Game play is quite good, satisfies enough. In the game, there are nine well-designed classes. They have some advantages and disadvantages, you should choose them according to you playing style. By the way, don't forget the maps, they designed very well too. You can spent hours in the same map, seriously.

    Anyway, 10 out of 10 to you TF2. You deserved it!
    Expand
  18. May 1, 2014
    10
    Well, I can easily see why this game is well received. The characters are absolutely hysterical, the mechanics are well balanced, and the excellent presentation.

    There are nine character classes, each with a colorful personality and a unique style of game-play. I think the release timing was in part because Valve tried so hard to make this an almost perfect game. The mechanics are
    Well, I can easily see why this game is well received. The characters are absolutely hysterical, the mechanics are well balanced, and the excellent presentation.

    There are nine character classes, each with a colorful personality and a unique style of game-play.

    I think the release timing was in part because Valve tried so hard to make this an almost perfect game. The mechanics are balanced with every detail in mind, and that rarely happens nowadays with most FPS games. I'm talking about Call of Duty as the main game series that does this.

    The presentation is well fit to the frivolous nature of the game. The graphics are quite cartoon-ish, and the music amazingly arranged, and well suited to violent psychopath mercenaries (and killers for hire.)

    There are few flaws with this game, one of the primary flaws is the lackluster storyline. It might as well have been written out of a terribly written novel without a point to it.

    This game isn't quite a perfect 10, but one of the closest to it I have ever played. If the scale was a 100 scale, it would be a 96-97 for me.
    Expand
  19. Jun 5, 2014
    9
    This is one of those games that never gets old, you can always come back to it and have a great time. There are endless achievements, so you'll never really "finish" the game. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because some of the people who play it are real **** It's rare that I play a game and don't see slander all over the chat, or hear irritating 12-year-olds on their microphoneThis is one of those games that never gets old, you can always come back to it and have a great time. There are endless achievements, so you'll never really "finish" the game. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because some of the people who play it are real **** It's rare that I play a game and don't see slander all over the chat, or hear irritating 12-year-olds on their microphone trying to tell everyone what to do. Another thing I don't like is that some of the maps are real prone to people posting up pictures of graphic porn. It's uncomfortable for me because I'm a girl, and it really makes me feel like I'm not supposed to be there playing with all of these guys. It's not going to stop me from playing though, because It's way too fun. Expand
  20. Jul 2, 2014
    10
    this game teaches you about cooperation, you are nothing without your team, every class has a purpose and field of play, the first time i played this i always used the spy, but as you play you figure out your type of play, youll figure out what class youre best with, after using spy, i became great with the scout, and is now my favorite class, this game is a great way to make friends onthis game teaches you about cooperation, you are nothing without your team, every class has a purpose and field of play, the first time i played this i always used the spy, but as you play you figure out your type of play, youll figure out what class youre best with, after using spy, i became great with the scout, and is now my favorite class, this game is a great way to make friends on steam and a great way to fight with your friends in the "mann vs. machine" game mode, deffinitley a great community with generous people ready to lend you a hand in sending you new weapons as a gift for no cost. A spot on 10/10! Expand
  21. Jul 5, 2014
    10
    What kind of FPS have you heard about that has hats? ...This game. 10/10

    Ignore fill-in characters:
    -------------------------------------------------
  22. Jul 5, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Tf2 is the best fps f2p game out there. It's addicting, funny, and original. The weapons are usually very under powered, but I flourished when I found a combo that worked for me. The spy is under-powered and needs to be buffed, the snipers cross-hair is way to small, and the scout is just bad, but the other classes are fun. I enjoy going pyro and airblasting like crazy. I love how the characters have distinct and unique personalities, even though I dislike the soldiers personality. I love getting hats and finding ones that work for me. The hats are one of the many things that make my come back to play more tf2. The one major downside is the fact that so many cosmetics are holiday restricted. Still, Tf2 is a fun, diverse, and highly enjoyable game. Expand
  23. Jul 13, 2014
    10
    TF2 has a perfect mix of graphics,music and game play. I have played it for 100 hours and it never got boring. I can even play this on my old computer that sucks. All of the items are really balanced and it is not pay to win type of game. But instead it is a play to win game. With protection against hackers and cheaters. It also get updated regularly with new game modes,maps and items. ItTF2 has a perfect mix of graphics,music and game play. I have played it for 100 hours and it never got boring. I can even play this on my old computer that sucks. All of the items are really balanced and it is not pay to win type of game. But instead it is a play to win game. With protection against hackers and cheaters. It also get updated regularly with new game modes,maps and items. It also has a pretty good community where users can create items. Bottom line this game is awesome and I will rate it 10 out 10 hats!
    -Zincio
    Expand
  24. Oct 28, 2014
    9
    Undoubtedly one of the best PC shooters out there (and definitely the best when it comes to multiplayer shooters). It's a game that has visual design polished to a mirror shine, with nine unique classes, all with their own personality quotes, that are all easily accessible while providing a roll for everyone. It's also got a nice late-20th century retro-cartoony art style that allows forUndoubtedly one of the best PC shooters out there (and definitely the best when it comes to multiplayer shooters). It's a game that has visual design polished to a mirror shine, with nine unique classes, all with their own personality quotes, that are all easily accessible while providing a roll for everyone. It's also got a nice late-20th century retro-cartoony art style that allows for various creative enviroments and weapons. However, the fanbase is atrocious, with special mention going to the "Mann vs Machine" game-mode. Expand
  25. Jul 24, 2014
    9
    Dans les catégories free-to-play, FPS et multijoueur, team fortress 2 est très bien placé pour affirmer sa supériorité ! Un choix de 9 classes, Un grand nombre d'armes ayant chacune des avantages et des inconvénients, les maps et les personnages bénéficiant d'un design cartoon délirant.... Il y a de quoi passer des heures là-dessus ! Le système de railleries est bien pensé, et les armes seDans les catégories free-to-play, FPS et multijoueur, team fortress 2 est très bien placé pour affirmer sa supériorité ! Un choix de 9 classes, Un grand nombre d'armes ayant chacune des avantages et des inconvénients, les maps et les personnages bénéficiant d'un design cartoon délirant.... Il y a de quoi passer des heures là-dessus ! Le système de railleries est bien pensé, et les armes se gagnent gratuitement. Le seul inconvénient, c'est qu'il propose un système de pay-to-win afin de permettre aux joueurs impatients d'acheter des armes ou les inviter à affirmer leur supériorité en achetant des caisses contenant des armes "étranges", des vêtements et des railleries.
    Mais vu la durée de vie infinie de ce jeu et le plaisir qu'il procure, on peut fermer les yeux sur cette faiblesse.
    Expand
  26. Oct 3, 2014
    10
    I give this game a 10/10 because it:

    Stole my life

    Stole my money

    Stole my pride

    Stole my T.V

    And

    Stole my love

    _______________________________
  27. Oct 29, 2014
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is not your ordinary recycled FPS. The game itself is a beautiful blend of wackiness and seriousness, with its ridiculous hats, weapons and art style merged with the core elements of a good first person shooter. With all the wacky elements aside the gameplay is very well thought out with it's classes and weapons balanced for a pleasent experience. Tf2 is a wonderful gameTeam Fortress 2 is not your ordinary recycled FPS. The game itself is a beautiful blend of wackiness and seriousness, with its ridiculous hats, weapons and art style merged with the core elements of a good first person shooter. With all the wacky elements aside the gameplay is very well thought out with it's classes and weapons balanced for a pleasent experience. Tf2 is a wonderful game that has lasted since 2007 and is still going strong with around 60,000-90,000 people playing everyday. Expand
  28. Dec 10, 2014
    10
    There is a good part of the fan community which is mostly mature and you have the people who try to compare this to CoD. This is made by Valve, not by franchise milkers!
    Gameplay is pretty good, every character is recognizeable and you'll really enjoy yourself playing this because its free...
  29. Mar 6, 2015
    10
    Tell me, what other FPS game can you whack people with a golden frying pan while wearing a burning hat, turn them into gold, then fly out of the world with a boy with baseball bat wearing a cleaver on his head, then see him turn into ice by a man with a ice stick wearing a horn with thunder on it?
    If you can find 1, I quit tf2, if its Free to play like tf2.
    Well, there are no best
    Tell me, what other FPS game can you whack people with a golden frying pan while wearing a burning hat, turn them into gold, then fly out of the world with a boy with baseball bat wearing a cleaver on his head, then see him turn into ice by a man with a ice stick wearing a horn with thunder on it?
    If you can find 1, I quit tf2, if its Free to play like tf2.

    Well, there are no best things in tf2, making it balanced, some might be good with one, while others prefer other weapons. With a bunch of cosmetics and hats, tf2 is perfect for any age, from a tryhard 10 years old to a adult who spent 100 dollars on a hat.
    Expand
  30. Mar 8, 2015
    10
    I just started this game in September 2014 and I loved this game to the fullest to it's unique and laughable artwork.More likely because updates and the fps is so unique from the others because HATS AND DON'T BOTHER TO TAKE ANYTHING SERIOUSLY . You have made me addicted and I wish you can continue :).
    Also please continue making us laugh
  31. May 4, 2015
    9
    Team Fortress is a pleasant FPS game. Indeed, I hate usual FPS games because the best players always win, and as a beginner, I don't enjoy these type of game. But Team Fortress is different. Indeed, there are different type of gameplays depending of the character you choose. For example, if you don't like to aim, you can burn the enemies with the Pyro, or if you want to heal people but youTeam Fortress is a pleasant FPS game. Indeed, I hate usual FPS games because the best players always win, and as a beginner, I don't enjoy these type of game. But Team Fortress is different. Indeed, there are different type of gameplays depending of the character you choose. For example, if you don't like to aim, you can burn the enemies with the Pyro, or if you want to heal people but you are not too good to kill the enemies, you can pick the Medic. There are always solutions for beginners. Moreover, the game by itself is funny : the dialogue, the graphics, the taunts, the way people die. AND IT'S FREE ! Expand
  32. Jun 19, 2016
    9
    I was hooked on this game as soon as I got it. I demand that everyone gets this game, don't ask any questions just go out and get it now

    You want my full review? *sigh* fine. TF2 is made by the gods of game developers Valve. TF2 brings in so much stuff to make the online FPS genre feel like a new fresh idea. Tons of more classes that, unlike COD, feel like they're different with
    I was hooked on this game as soon as I got it. I demand that everyone gets this game, don't ask any questions just go out and get it now

    You want my full review? *sigh* fine.

    TF2 is made by the gods of game developers Valve. TF2 brings in so much stuff to make the online FPS genre feel like a new fresh idea. Tons of more classes that, unlike COD, feel like they're different with different appeareances and customization options.

    Gameplay is done in a sort of way to make the player, like me, get addicted to this and make them not want to move for a while, until you improve and make it so that you're the best possible. If u find a server with a perfectly balanced team, you will have tons of fun, filled with tons of tension and tons of fun.

    If any of you have seen my L4D2 review, you'll remember when I said that it mainly focuses on realism but also has a slight cartoon tint to it. TF2 throws realism out the window, goes with a full cartoon tint and cartoon gore and rarely takes anything seriously and it knows it doesn't take itself seriously at times and I respect it for doing that as I haven't seen many shooters that do this sort of thing. It's either that shooters take themselves really seriously, which is the majority of the shooters out there or shooters that take themselves so seriously that it's funny.

    The classes actually feel unique. Unlike other shooters where it feels like it doesn't really matter what class I take, in TF2 it really does dependon ur play style. If u pick a sniper, it REALLY IS harder to fight close distance. If ur playing as Heavy it REALLY IS hard to fight long distance.

    TF2 is a nice breath of fresh air and I'm glad to see that it doesn't follow what other game devs are doing which is why I really respect Valve for making this.

    Pros:
    + Addicting
    + Good classes
    + Good gameplay
    + Creative graphics

    Cons
    - A few glitches
    Expand
  33. Jun 30, 2016
    8
    If you like to play casual first person shooter games, then this is exactly what you are looking for! And the great thing is that it is completely free, without any restrictions or anything. (also a great hat simulator)
  34. Apr 23, 2016
    10
    TF2 is just one of those games that lasts 9 years flawlessly & still goes strong today. It's free to play, great art style & has it's own hat collecting community.

    In short:
    Simply the best.
  35. May 21, 2016
    9
    Very awesome old-school game that keeps you entertained. It is made by non other than valve itself. (creators of game such as portal, counter strike and half life.)
    And, did I mention, IT'S FREE!
  36. May 9, 2016
    10
    This is the best game ever, my fav game and I will never love a game the same way as this. TF2 forever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  37. Jul 4, 2016
    10
    As a guy who has almost one thousand hours in Team Fortress 2, I can say that this game is incredible. You will experience a lot of cool things, such as MvM (Mann Vs Machine), Competitive mode (now, by the way, officially), and public games. All of these modes are awesome, and you will enjoy it. The mechanics is unique, the game style is pretty cool too. Moreover, there will be sense ofAs a guy who has almost one thousand hours in Team Fortress 2, I can say that this game is incredible. You will experience a lot of cool things, such as MvM (Mann Vs Machine), Competitive mode (now, by the way, officially), and public games. All of these modes are awesome, and you will enjoy it. The mechanics is unique, the game style is pretty cool too. Moreover, there will be sense of humour. One of the greatest games created by Valve Software. Expand
  38. May 25, 2016
    9
    One of the greatest PC FPS games of all time without a doubt. The maps are hugely varied and fun, the lore is funny, and the characters are great. There is so much to love about TF2, which probably explains why I have spent over 1600 hours in this game. Not to mention that it's free and now almost 10 years after release it is better than ever, with new maps, campaigns, and content stillOne of the greatest PC FPS games of all time without a doubt. The maps are hugely varied and fun, the lore is funny, and the characters are great. There is so much to love about TF2, which probably explains why I have spent over 1600 hours in this game. Not to mention that it's free and now almost 10 years after release it is better than ever, with new maps, campaigns, and content still being added. The biggest flaw though, is that sometimes it suffers from staleness. The meta doesn't change much. There are dozens of weapons available for every class, but most classes have only one or two accepted loadouts that can be used successfully. I would love to see some balance changes made so that less-used weapons become used again. Also, Soldier and Demoman gets WAY too much love from Valve. They have the most powerful and widest viable weapon selection by far, and that kinda sucks. Especially for someone whose favorite classes are Pyro and Heavy, both of which have been nerfed into the ground in recent updates. Still, the game is good enough to bring me back time and time again. I'll keep playing it as long as there are people to play with.

    Also, **** random crits.
    Expand
  39. Jun 12, 2016
    9
    Now that TF2 is F2P, it becomes one of the best values in online gaming. Super addictive FPS action with a class-based system. Blue and Red teams battle for control points, advance or defend payloads, capture briefcases (aka CTF), and more. I've enjoyed many hours of fun zany action with TF2. In spite of the sometimes chaotic and spastic gameplay, the skill cap with TF2 is quite high. SomeNow that TF2 is F2P, it becomes one of the best values in online gaming. Super addictive FPS action with a class-based system. Blue and Red teams battle for control points, advance or defend payloads, capture briefcases (aka CTF), and more. I've enjoyed many hours of fun zany action with TF2. In spite of the sometimes chaotic and spastic gameplay, the skill cap with TF2 is quite high. Some players can master certain classes and have a huge impact on the game. That being said, the auto-balancing system is genius. If a team is clearly punishing the other team, you can vote to scramble the teams for a fresh start. Expand
  40. May 28, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. very very fun and cool!!! If Again, Team Fortress 2 is released after nine years this is the thing that's being still love the game even before the game like I want to like this game. Expand
  41. May 31, 2016
    9
    An amazing classic FPS by Valve. There are hundreds of shooters out there that are loads of fun, but nothing compares to Team Fortress 2. The game is friendly to all who want to start playing FPS and i'd recommend it to anyone!
  42. Jun 22, 2016
    8
    Before it's release in 2007, I was more psyched to play TF2 then I'd been for any other game before. I've got more hours logged into it then any other Steam game, hours spent actually playing, and plenty of time spent just messing around with friends in our personal server, playing around with mods. Time spent killing robots in man vs. machine, and slapping around randoms on 24/7 DegrootBefore it's release in 2007, I was more psyched to play TF2 then I'd been for any other game before. I've got more hours logged into it then any other Steam game, hours spent actually playing, and plenty of time spent just messing around with friends in our personal server, playing around with mods. Time spent killing robots in man vs. machine, and slapping around randoms on 24/7 Degroot Keep servers. I have predominantly fond memories of the game, even if I don't play it much at all these days... but I'd sooner play this then Overwatch. Euugh. Expand
  43. Jul 7, 2016
    10
    Best hat simulator with guns motive ever. Now, seriously, it's very fun game, with constant updates never gets old, with 1152 hours played they all were worth. Valve never disappoints me.
  44. Jul 29, 2016
    9
    This game is so close to perfection. With free access and a technically perfect weapon balance, the only bad thing here is the stuff that is missing. Come on, no grenades? No vehicles? Thankfully, powerups and other cool things have been added as weapons and game modes.

    By the way, this is as far from pay-to-win as you can get while still gaining good cash. Give it a try!
  45. Aug 22, 2016
    8
    Free to play buena optimización los mapas, objetivos y jugadores bien logrados le faltaría un inventario algo mas completo y un poco menos de monotonía por lo demás un juego con una jugabilidad muy buena
  46. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    I figure if all players have left to **** about is 'balance', then you've created a fantastic game. Balance is a subjective thing. Team Fortress 2 is a free FPS with the nostalgic feel of the Quake engine that I feel is more than competitive with the likes of the most recent FPS heavy-hitters (i.e. Modern Warfare, Battlefield). With the legacy that TF2 has, it's no wonder Valve pissed offI figure if all players have left to **** about is 'balance', then you've created a fantastic game. Balance is a subjective thing. Team Fortress 2 is a free FPS with the nostalgic feel of the Quake engine that I feel is more than competitive with the likes of the most recent FPS heavy-hitters (i.e. Modern Warfare, Battlefield). With the legacy that TF2 has, it's no wonder Valve pissed off a few fanboys by changing things up a bit. Pay them no mind. If you are passing this game up, you're missing out. End of story. Expand
  47. Jan 9, 2012
    9
    Great game. Never been a fan of FPS, but this is the best FPS game. Full of action, challenges and fun. The cartoon graphics make the game better, more enjoyable. 9 different classes of all types: power, speed, technique, and others. One of the best multiplayers game.
  48. Jan 9, 2012
    10
    Very good art style for the game. With all of the classes, and everything you can do, it is a game hard to get bored with. It runs well on low end machines, and looks pretty good on high end machines. Fun for all.
  49. Dec 16, 2011
    9
    Played this since 2007 and really love it. and I am not really much of a MP player. The fun and action-packed game has me enterained for years even if I have nearlyl 600 games on my steam account, I still come to TF2 to play. I am fast approaching 1000 hours played clocked on this game. Subtitles are lacking but someone has created a mod that implements closed captions into the game whichPlayed this since 2007 and really love it. and I am not really much of a MP player. The fun and action-packed game has me enterained for years even if I have nearlyl 600 games on my steam account, I still come to TF2 to play. I am fast approaching 1000 hours played clocked on this game. Subtitles are lacking but someone has created a mod that implements closed captions into the game which increased it's fun factor. Greatly recommended for those looking for action packed multiplayer FPS. Expand
  50. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    First, think of the latest in a line of games that set the trend for almost all future fps's. then make it online, then give it constant updates and new toys to play with. now make it all free. that's team fortess two. it was worth the money when it was released because it offers competitive play for all skill levels and types of gamer. it has its own economy and continuously growingFirst, think of the latest in a line of games that set the trend for almost all future fps's. then make it online, then give it constant updates and new toys to play with. now make it all free. that's team fortess two. it was worth the money when it was released because it offers competitive play for all skill levels and types of gamer. it has its own economy and continuously growing fanbase. the graphics are great (you can barely tell the tf2 is as old as it is), the classes balance well. Oh, and did i mention it's free? Expand
  51. Nov 5, 2010
    10
    This is truly one of the greatest multiplayer FPS games i've ever played.
    I am playing it for a year and it's still entertaining, mostly because of updates, that, i think, come more frequently than MMO updates. With 9 classes to choose from, everyone will find their favourite gameplay style. And, of course, HATS. They make the game even more awesome... This is the best mix of RPG and FPS.
    This is truly one of the greatest multiplayer FPS games i've ever played.
    I am playing it for a year and it's still entertaining, mostly because of updates, that, i think, come more frequently than MMO updates. With 9 classes to choose from, everyone will find their favourite gameplay style. And, of course, HATS. They make the game even more awesome... This is the best mix of RPG and FPS. Weapons, hats, trading, crafting and shooting. 'Couse who needs experience points.
    Expand
  52. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    This is a great game. It has by far the most hours logged on my computer out of any game I own. Every class you play you get an entirely different experience and the best part is that every class actually feels necessary. Then I personally enjoy the humor in this game and the fact that there are as many frequent updates as there are is just top notch. Its is bar none the best multiplayerThis is a great game. It has by far the most hours logged on my computer out of any game I own. Every class you play you get an entirely different experience and the best part is that every class actually feels necessary. Then I personally enjoy the humor in this game and the fact that there are as many frequent updates as there are is just top notch. Its is bar none the best multiplayer experience out there even 3 years after its original release. Expand
  53. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    This game is frikin amazing. The best game ever for the PC besides Half-Life. Its fantasticaly simple yet strategic. You will really get into this game for a long time. Each character has a fun ascet to them. The game is hilarious and you will like it for along time. The gameplay is fantastic and its so fun. Its just mindless killing. No real war. Just killing. Its so fun you have to get this
  54. Jan 5, 2012
    9
    The game is very fun to play and keeps constantly getting updated with new features making it fun to keep playing it. I've played it for years now and still enjoy it. Only problem is that Valve is releasing new updates without testing them properly making the game unbalanced.
  55. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    This game is the most fun you can have online. Why? First of all, there are no such things as "levels" or "experience" or "cheating", and everybody has an equal chance to win. Second of almost all, you can find items and craft items with the time, which is also super epic. Don't buy Counter-Strike, Download THIS for free via Steam.
  56. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    This game is the best multiplayer game I have EVER played. The game is superbly balanced, lacking the traditional customization most FPSs like MW2 have. Instead the game has 9 Classes, all fo which gave several advantages, disadvantages, and styles of play. The Scout for example, is the fastest class, and can double jump, making hard to hit. But with that he gets a relatively weak weaponThis game is the best multiplayer game I have EVER played. The game is superbly balanced, lacking the traditional customization most FPSs like MW2 have. Instead the game has 9 Classes, all fo which gave several advantages, disadvantages, and styles of play. The Scout for example, is the fastest class, and can double jump, making hard to hit. But with that he gets a relatively weak weapon with bad accuracy (short double barreled shotgun) and very low health. I would recommend this game to anyone AND everyone. This game, now about 3 years old is also still getting patches and updates. HOW MANY GAMES ARE LIKE THAT?! An amazing game with a great art style and amazing textures, it has a unique look. This is the best multiplayer game I play tied with Counter Strike Source. Expand
  57. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    the cartoony graphics make it even more lovable and is a great break from the next gen graphics (brown n' bloom). Lovable characters, dedicated servers, great community. This is definitly on my top 10 greatest games of all time
  58. Sep 1, 2010
    10
    Lets have a new review shall we? Team fortress 2 is the most amazing mutliplayer experience ever. Its balanced with its diffrent classes that have diffrent roles, letting you pick your style. The pyro is people who like close range and ambush, heavy is for power and scout is for speed. Many diffrent tactics such as Sap n stab, rocket jumping can be involved. People who say there are noLets have a new review shall we? Team fortress 2 is the most amazing mutliplayer experience ever. Its balanced with its diffrent classes that have diffrent roles, letting you pick your style. The pyro is people who like close range and ambush, heavy is for power and scout is for speed. Many diffrent tactics such as Sap n stab, rocket jumping can be involved. People who say there are no objectives have not played the game. CTF, CP, PL, PLR, DM, AAD and counting are all gamemodes in this game. The characters have style and more. TFC is NOTHING compared to this lovley polished game. Expand
  59. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    I bought this game on a whim a while back. All I can say is that this is quite possibly the most fun I've had in a game in a long time. Quite simply the longevity of the game and the willingness of valve to continue to support this game speaks volumes. Constant class updates, game updates and a vibrant community that run very excellent servers that are quite full day and night. I recommendI bought this game on a whim a while back. All I can say is that this is quite possibly the most fun I've had in a game in a long time. Quite simply the longevity of the game and the willingness of valve to continue to support this game speaks volumes. Constant class updates, game updates and a vibrant community that run very excellent servers that are quite full day and night. I recommend the No Heroes servers. The gentleman that runs the joint doesn't put up with any guff and his servers are full 90% of the day. There is also quite a large female gamer population that plays there as well. All and all this game is tops. Download it from steam or buy it off the shelf. You'll have hours of fun. Expand
  60. Nov 4, 2010
    10
    One of the greatest parts of this game is the updates. Released back in October 2007, Team Fortress 2 is still a fun multiplayer first person shooter. More content is being added every month or so and the community is growing larger all the time.
  61. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    This game was pretty good overall, and have nothing bad to say about this game. It is pretty amazing. Online was pretty good and the graphics were pretty good, too
  62. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    I got this game for free without knowing much about it prior. 60 hours of playtime later, still going strongly. This is the best FPS ever made. Everything is simple but things get very complex later. There is a huge array of weapons. The whole game is ridiculous (in a good way) but that's why it's so much better than other FPSs such as COD. It's unbelievably addictive and the classes areI got this game for free without knowing much about it prior. 60 hours of playtime later, still going strongly. This is the best FPS ever made. Everything is simple but things get very complex later. There is a huge array of weapons. The whole game is ridiculous (in a good way) but that's why it's so much better than other FPSs such as COD. It's unbelievably addictive and the classes are very varied but have big room for customization. Basically, everyone with a good computer should get this game. Expand
  63. Jan 5, 2012
    10
    nice game with nice graphics and and you will never get bored with all of this new weapon and maps and game modes and it has 9 classes each class has his own ability to do his job
  64. Mar 21, 2011
    10
    TF2 has always been one of my favorite games. It has memorable characters, diverse playstyles, unique maps, and best of all: It has a wonderful and mostly kind community.
    I don't go a day without hearing one of the character's voices saying something in my head to fit my situation.
    Not to mention completely and totally reliable as VALVe is with all of their games. It's made well, it has
    TF2 has always been one of my favorite games. It has memorable characters, diverse playstyles, unique maps, and best of all: It has a wonderful and mostly kind community.
    I don't go a day without hearing one of the character's voices saying something in my head to fit my situation.
    Not to mention completely and totally reliable as VALVe is with all of their games. It's made well, it has constant content updates and patches, the blog is updated rather actively, etc.
    And for the low price of $20? This game is Three years old and the community is still huge. This game has quality written all over it. It's hard to find a major flaw that isn't soon fixed.
    Expand
  65. Aug 30, 2010
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is the perfect online FPS game. It is even with Counter Strike: Source. This game is possibly the most actively changing game that is perfect. 10/10
  66. Apr 5, 2011
    10
    best half life game ever. but unfortunately now has become a bs pay more and more type of game. A perfect hit, even updates perfect, even thought became a digital hat simulator. I am only up set that now they added crates which one must purchase a key to unlock and you cannot craft a key. so if you don't have 25 dollars a month the crates are useless.
  67. Jan 18, 2012
    10
    Everything about this game is great. The customization and item management is amazing, and the gunplay is varied, and violent. The visuals are great, but a little off putting if you're a veteran shooter fan of the likes of CoD and Battlefield. Similarly, The quirkiness of TF2 mean that going back to a different shooter is a little hard at least for me. Since it's F2P, there should be noEverything about this game is great. The customization and item management is amazing, and the gunplay is varied, and violent. The visuals are great, but a little off putting if you're a veteran shooter fan of the likes of CoD and Battlefield. Similarly, The quirkiness of TF2 mean that going back to a different shooter is a little hard at least for me. Since it's F2P, there should be no reason not to play it. Expand
  68. MitchellC.
    Jul 8, 2008
    10
    The best game I've ever played, it's absolutely worth every penny down to the detail and fun that the game actually is, it's great, and It deserves respect for the time it took to make, the though about lots of things before releasing it to make it more fun (if you list to the commentary node) It's a wonderful game for veterans, news anyone, everyone can enjoy it if The best game I've ever played, it's absolutely worth every penny down to the detail and fun that the game actually is, it's great, and It deserves respect for the time it took to make, the though about lots of things before releasing it to make it more fun (if you list to the commentary node) It's a wonderful game for veterans, news anyone, everyone can enjoy it if you like FPS with a cartoonish style. Expand
  69. JackF.
    Jul 9, 2008
    10
    An "easy to learn, hard to master" game of the highest calibre. New players will find comfort in classes like soldier and heavy, while more experienced players will use the more complicated classes. Every class has a unique feel to it and each are great fun to use. The shortage of maps has been fixed, as Valve is constantly releasing new maps and weapon unlocks to add even more replay An "easy to learn, hard to master" game of the highest calibre. New players will find comfort in classes like soldier and heavy, while more experienced players will use the more complicated classes. Every class has a unique feel to it and each are great fun to use. The shortage of maps has been fixed, as Valve is constantly releasing new maps and weapon unlocks to add even more replay value. For $30 (It's now $30), it is the best multiplayer game out there, easy. Expand
  70. JaysonF.
    Jan 26, 2008
    10
    Hilarious and fun. It is hard not to laugh and enjoy the eye-candy as you play. Overall the game is well balanced and possibly the best multi-player shooter that is out there. Fantastic for a group of friends. Easy to learn and play if you are a part time gamer. If it isn't clear, don't expect this game to have any sort of single player component. It is one big multi-player Hilarious and fun. It is hard not to laugh and enjoy the eye-candy as you play. Overall the game is well balanced and possibly the best multi-player shooter that is out there. Fantastic for a group of friends. Easy to learn and play if you are a part time gamer. If it isn't clear, don't expect this game to have any sort of single player component. It is one big multi-player fragfest -- fantastic disposable fun. *Lots* of violence. Not suitable for those seeking Nemo. Expand
  71. John
    Aug 15, 2008
    10
    This is without a doubt the most value for money and also the most fun I have ever had with any game, period. What makes it even better is that Valve continue to release amazing content nearly a year after release. My feeling is that this game is seriously underrated, but will one day be recognized as perhaps the most fun multiplayer fps game ever created. If you enjoy large scale online This is without a doubt the most value for money and also the most fun I have ever had with any game, period. What makes it even better is that Valve continue to release amazing content nearly a year after release. My feeling is that this game is seriously underrated, but will one day be recognized as perhaps the most fun multiplayer fps game ever created. If you enjoy large scale online coop play, you are gonna have a blast playing this game. Seriously, it seems like it will never get old. Expand
  72. LukeN
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    I don't know why the metascore on this game is only a 92 cause it deserves a 10. The best class based game I have ever played and probably the multiplayer also. This game is a must have if you play online games. Just get the PC version because the 360 version on The Orange Box kinda sucks. The PC version is simply amazing though.
  73. MattM
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    I love this game,i would give it 9.5 but 10 rounds closer and all that math,anyways.... The Good Stuff 1.Its fun 2.Many mods and custom maps so i have a lot more to do 3.9 Different classes,each with their own advantages For example: Heavy:Slow but shoots lots of lead to your face Scout:lil low on HP but fast and jumps high with a shotgun and so on 4.Usually Quick DL's The OK stuff I love this game,i would give it 9.5 but 10 rounds closer and all that math,anyways.... The Good Stuff 1.Its fun 2.Many mods and custom maps so i have a lot more to do 3.9 Different classes,each with their own advantages For example: Heavy:Slow but shoots lots of lead to your face Scout:lil low on HP but fast and jumps high with a shotgun and so on 4.Usually Quick DL's The OK stuff 1.The Graffics are out of date,but its supposed to be like that for the fun of it 2.Heavy is OVERHEALTHED! The Bad 1.The spys pistol is a lil weak (i know alot of you think its TOO strong but it should be 1-hit-kill Overall:GREAT game that always kickz azzzz the orange box includes this great game,so that might be something to,and if you have steam the valve complete pack is a nice deal with all the good games like this,l4d,l4d2,CS and all that.It gets updated alot so its also a very very good game in valve's opinion,cuz its old. Recommended? HELL YAAAA. Expand
  74. RobinZ.
    Oct 11, 2007
    9
    It is a very funny game. I like the comicstyle and the mass of classes to choose ;) Every class has it's + and - Also the maps are nicely done! The balancing is quite well but it can be increased a lil bit more. The spawntime is a bit hard with 15seconds but ok, because otherwise the maps would be flooded with players.
  75. Sep 3, 2010
    9
    The game is perfect to play multiplayer. It has few bugs, easy interface and controls, require more teamwork than ability, what makes this game good for all ages and gamers: casual or pro.
    The combination of multiplayer plus excellent gameplay plus nice cartoonie graphics makes this game so much fun. The price for this game is correct.
  76. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is possibly the best TDM FPS of the century for me. The diverse mix of 9 classes, several different game mode types, many different maps, outstanding visual quality, constant free-content adding updates and many other things all add up this make this game just purely astounding.
    On top of that, since this game is build on the source engine, one of the most (if not the most)
    Team Fortress 2 is possibly the best TDM FPS of the century for me. The diverse mix of 9 classes, several different game mode types, many different maps, outstanding visual quality, constant free-content adding updates and many other things all add up this make this game just purely astounding.
    On top of that, since this game is build on the source engine, one of the most (if not the most) modded game engines in the industry, users can add their own maps, weapons and customizations at will.
    The game is very new player friendly, and at the same time very competitive. There are several videos on YouTube of dudes girlfriends/mothers/grandmothers who have never played first person shooters before and manage to pick up and play, get a few kills and have fun.
    What with there being 9 seperate classes, all with different types of weapons and content being added on that allows you to customize the classes even further, the possibilities are endless. I would give the game a 9.9 as I don't believe any game deserves a 10, but if there was one bad thing I would have to say about this game, it's that some of the new weapons that are added into the game can sometimes be quite unbalanced, but this is usually fixed after a short while.
    Expand
  77. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    The only people who hate this now are people who think a game has to be serious. This is a properly good game. There is no deep meaning campaign, no intricate combat system. There is no point to team fortress 2 other than good fun. Every character is a sterotype and no one class is useless. All classes have strengths and weaknesses and the swift learning curve for each helps you find theThe only people who hate this now are people who think a game has to be serious. This is a properly good game. There is no deep meaning campaign, no intricate combat system. There is no point to team fortress 2 other than good fun. Every character is a sterotype and no one class is useless. All classes have strengths and weaknesses and the swift learning curve for each helps you find the one you like the most and can play the best. The maps are often designed well and the interesting graphical style can't age. It will still be admired years to come. This game is so much fun that any gamer should buy it and treasure it. This is the worlds greatest war based hat simulator. Expand
  78. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    As a hardcore TFC fan, I was skeptical when I heard about a lot of the changes being made in TF2, they were easily put aside once I played it, the gameplay and class diversity is much much more defined in TF2. The game demands and rewards teamwork, not many other games out on the market can do that, *Cough COD *Cough.
  79. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    I haven't played a game that was more fun, satisfying, and endlessly entertaining. I'm very bad at first person shooters and I can't get enough of this game. Even as I run through the maps, dying at every turn, I continue to play. Plus, if you keep up with the blog, they have some of the funniest updates I've ever read. I actually look forward to their posts. If you're a fan of shooters,I haven't played a game that was more fun, satisfying, and endlessly entertaining. I'm very bad at first person shooters and I can't get enough of this game. Even as I run through the maps, dying at every turn, I continue to play. Plus, if you keep up with the blog, they have some of the funniest updates I've ever read. I actually look forward to their posts. If you're a fan of shooters, or of having fun, I can't recommend this game highly enough. Expand
  80. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    This is honestly as close to FPS multiplayer perfection you can possibly get. It is constantly updated, with new guns, hats,and other collectables, and it never gets old or boring. And now it is free. There is absolutely 0 reason not to play this game.
  81. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    BEST MULTIPLAYER GAME IN THE WORLD.VALVE,BRAVO FOR DOING SUCH A AWESOME JOB ON THIS GAME.BEST GAME EVER PLAYED IN MY SHORT LIFE,1000HRS!BOOYA!BUY THIS GAME NOW.seriously,Now.
  82. Dec 20, 2011
    9
    No matter what year it is or how evolved video games have become Team Fortress 2 will always be a blast to play and one of the best multiplayer experiences, with the constant updates bringing new weapons and maps to the formula everything is simply perfect.
  83. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    Absolutely hilarious. Period. And that in itself deserves a 10. I like how people make modes, release new weapons, I mean now that it's f2p, I see a lot more players I can beat up. But either if you're a newbie or a pro, and First-person shooters are your thing, I high recommend this game.
  84. Jan 5, 2012
    10
    I love this game! Best source game ever build. I love the graphics sometimes a little bit funny. But all the prices for hats and weapons is too high. But everything else is very good.
  85. Mar 27, 2012
    8
    Team Fortress 2 is a very cool game. It's definetly not the best, but i really enjoyed it. The game is action packed and filles youre free time quite nicely. I would recomend the game for just about anyone who likes the regular FPS games like CS, Call Of Duty or anything like that. Keep in mind that this game is alot different to most. It is best played in multiplayer and uses someTeam Fortress 2 is a very cool game. It's definetly not the best, but i really enjoyed it. The game is action packed and filles youre free time quite nicely. I would recomend the game for just about anyone who likes the regular FPS games like CS, Call Of Duty or anything like that. Keep in mind that this game is alot different to most. It is best played in multiplayer and uses some percentage of brainpower. Expand
  86. AshB.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Best FPS ever. this game sets the standard for FPS's now, and will not be a easy thing to beat. the classes are diverse and the gameplay is outstanding, this is not some boring quake frag fest, this is a tactical fast paced FPS that will not be replaced by another game anytime soon.
  87. SirC.
    Oct 17, 2007
    10
    One of the most engaging team action games ever to grace our computer screens, TF2 is perfect fun and dangerously compelling. It has the kind of magnetic appeal that keeps us glued to the game and coming back for more. The character mix is ideal, enabling and encouraging cooperative play; and the rapid respawn permits character change mid-game, making it beneficial to those with a One of the most engaging team action games ever to grace our computer screens, TF2 is perfect fun and dangerously compelling. It has the kind of magnetic appeal that keeps us glued to the game and coming back for more. The character mix is ideal, enabling and encouraging cooperative play; and the rapid respawn permits character change mid-game, making it beneficial to those with a team-view of life. Hours of hilarious fun for a pittance, I take my hat off to Valve. I love this doctor! Expand
  88. BrianS.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    What to say about this except "oh thank god". Valve has owned the IP for Team Fortress now for a long time, my first experience with Team Fortress was in Quake around TF2.4 or so the game back then was innovative and good, the Valve port of Team Fortress for Half Life was good too, but never have I seen a team play mod come into its own like this. The theme and personality of this game is What to say about this except "oh thank god". Valve has owned the IP for Team Fortress now for a long time, my first experience with Team Fortress was in Quake around TF2.4 or so the game back then was innovative and good, the Valve port of Team Fortress for Half Life was good too, but never have I seen a team play mod come into its own like this. The theme and personality of this game is just breath taking. Valve could have very easily released a Team Fortress for HL2 just a few weeks after its original release, but no, they took their time with it and instead of rehashing a tired old concept they totally reinvented it, out of the projects released with the Orange box I'd have to say that while Episode 2 is nice (though short) and Portal is just mind blowing in concept, TF2 really outshines them both for innovation and outstanding design improvements. I've been waiting for TF2 for awhile now and watched it go through several ilterations and even appear to be vaporware, all I can say is bravo, the wait has been worth it and TF2 more than delivers in all facets of game play. TF2 sets the new bar for development in video games, combining great action, good team play and a really entertaining design theme to quite literally steal all the bases for a home run game. I never give a game a ten, but to be honest, to give TF2 anything less would be a flat out lie. Buy it! Expand
  89. RobC.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    Simply brilliant. Its wacky, silly, twisted, and down right fun every second. Its simple enough that anyone can pick it up a moment's notice and not do too bad but there is a certain level of depth that can keep the veterans on their toes and coming back for more. If there is one game that should get multi-player game of the year, this would take it hands down. As an aside, there is Simply brilliant. Its wacky, silly, twisted, and down right fun every second. Its simple enough that anyone can pick it up a moment's notice and not do too bad but there is a certain level of depth that can keep the veterans on their toes and coming back for more. If there is one game that should get multi-player game of the year, this would take it hands down. As an aside, there is one thing that bugs me, and its not so much the game itself but the way people play it. The game is called "Team Fortress 2" not "im the lone ranger and dont give too poops about anyone around me so im gonna go run around all stupid like". Listen to your teammates, get a strategy (even if its a crude one), and work together people! Expand
  90. JohnH.
    Oct 8, 2007
    9
    I expected this to be a slight modification of Half Life 2 Deathmatch, but it truly is an entirely new game, full of amusing new graphics and a truly team based combat engine capable of running on pretty much any system. It's probably worth the $45 price-tag for the orange box single-handedly, not to say the other games won't be just as good!! Epic Game!!
  91. AlanH.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Great game with diversity among the classes. They truly stand apart from one another and force the opposing team to figure out how to offset your teams classes they are using. A blast to play and has added depth over your standard FPS with the depth of the classes.
  92. SkylerM.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    TF2's formula is simple: make it fun and make it fast-paced. This game passes with flying color. Game play is flawless, the graphics and general feel of the game is perfect. Aside from the usual beginning lag issues that you normally see in a multiplayer game, Team Fortress 2 is amazing. I cannot get bored.
  93. Jun 2, 2011
    8
    Too much arcade in my opinion, and the updates make the game unbalanced. Too fast, and definitely you can observe the lack of tactics. Anyway, an addictive game, the best game at 7E
  94. JoshQ.
    Jan 1, 2008
    8
    Good game, not a Great game. It could be a Great game but its depth that brings it down. Some classes don't even require any amount of skill and you can't get better at those classes either. For example with a medic all you do is hold down the fire button and follow the person around, they could have easily made a skill-based system to healing that would have been 10x more fun Good game, not a Great game. It could be a Great game but its depth that brings it down. Some classes don't even require any amount of skill and you can't get better at those classes either. For example with a medic all you do is hold down the fire button and follow the person around, they could have easily made a skill-based system to healing that would have been 10x more fun to do on top of that, same goes for engis, you build a turret and a dispenser right next to it sit between both of them and whack away, it doesnt even take skill to remove a sapper. Pyros, i used to play them, people who play them now deny this. but theres almost no skill involved its a straight stream of fire I've never met a pyro much better than the next cause theres hardly any skill, they could have a made some sort of oil slick skill or overkill action. Heavies require a small amount of skill but are still hold down trigger and hope for best and hope a medic is there. All classes that have special functions require skill, like scouts actually take skill to aim and dodge with, especially dodge. Spies obviously take a good amount of strategy and skill. Snipers require aim most of all, and some melee skill. I like the classes that I can better myself at, the other ones disappoint me. Expand
  95. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    "Team Fortress 2" is one of the most historically epic games Valve has ever made. The game only consists of multiplayer, but multiplayer at it's finest. The 9 classes are very balanced as well as the controls too. Gameplay is smooth and is equipped with sexy graphics. There are a variety of maps and game modes as well as constant updates from our trusty Valve. The only downside? There is"Team Fortress 2" is one of the most historically epic games Valve has ever made. The game only consists of multiplayer, but multiplayer at it's finest. The 9 classes are very balanced as well as the controls too. Gameplay is smooth and is equipped with sexy graphics. There are a variety of maps and game modes as well as constant updates from our trusty Valve. The only downside? There is no singleplayer or campaign. Nevertheless, TF2 is one of those games that defines "games". Expand
  96. A.Nonymous
    Nov 18, 2007
    8
    A great online game, with a great amount of flaws. The removal of grenades may be one thing, but the crippling of the Sniper, the skimmed classes and several annoying new features plague this sequel. For instance, the Critical Shot System. Very bad idea in a competitive online game. When you're fighting, the battle should depend on your skill. Not your chance of getting a Critical A great online game, with a great amount of flaws. The removal of grenades may be one thing, but the crippling of the Sniper, the skimmed classes and several annoying new features plague this sequel. For instance, the Critical Shot System. Very bad idea in a competitive online game. When you're fighting, the battle should depend on your skill. Not your chance of getting a Critical Shot. Considering Valve removed a lot of fun from this game in the name of fairness, it's odd that they would include something as unbalanced as that. Anyone whose been running along at full health and been killed instantly by a Sniper with a machete who got a Crit Shot will know what i'm talking about. Also, the Kill Assist System, while a good idea, is very inconsistent. I've seen people get a Kill Assist ten seconds after they them, then people not getting a Kill Assist after they hurt someone and someone else kills him. Lastly, the aforementioned Sniper. This is yet another game where Valve have destroyed the Sniper simply because people complain about "fairness". A Sniper is suppose to be deadly, one-shot-kill man. Thats what the Sniper is about. Now, the only way you'll get a one-shot-kill is if you wait ten seconds for your sniper rifle to charge (yes, charge) and then get a direct headshot. This is made even more difficult due to the fact the Sniper rifle is incredibly inaccurate, the Sniper's health is incredibly low, and the bullet travel time is extraordinarily high. A good game, but contains quite a few dissapointments considering Valve has been producing this for nearly a decade. Expand
  97. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    This game is PC gamer's essential. You can't call yourself a PC gamer and not at least try this game. The art style is unique and appealing. The gameplay varies dramatically from map to map, requiring the player to create new strategies and work with their team n order to succeed. If you employ the classes properly you should never get stuck, unable to proceed.
    The community is a
    This game is PC gamer's essential. You can't call yourself a PC gamer and not at least try this game. The art style is unique and appealing. The gameplay varies dramatically from map to map, requiring the player to create new strategies and work with their team n order to succeed. If you employ the classes properly you should never get stuck, unable to proceed.
    The community is a nice bunch of people.
    The game has it's own charm, that keeps a big, goofy smile on your face the whole time you play it, maybe it's the art style, maybe it's the art style, maybe it's the personalities that each of the classes has, maybe it's how the game sort of makes fun of itself and takes itself so un-seriously.
    There are frequent updates that keep adding new items and features that get the whole community excited and with good reason, these new items can throw a real curve ball in the right situation.
    Lastly, whether you buy the game separately or in the deal of the century that is the Orange Box, the price is always right to buy a copy of Team Fortress 2. So what are you waiting for, go and fire up Steam, and download it, you will not regret it.
    Expand
  98. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This game is a masterpiece. Period... The graphics, the controls, the team effort for winning another fight and the constant updates and new items you can get.... It´s great. One of the best games i ever played.
  99. Apr 25, 2012
    9
    A masterpiece. this game is a truly worthwhile shooter for the ages. gameplay is fun, and balanced. character customization is expensive, but if your into that kind of thing thats cool. the game as a whole is awesome looking, sounding, feeling, and playing. why are you still reading this? go play it! its FREE!
  100. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best shooter games that I have ever played (if not the best)! It's so great that it's really hard to describe into words. What I really have to like is the graphics. I think that the animated graphics are so great that it may even put Pixar to shame. However, the gameplay is where this game really shines. I had a lot of fun mowing down thousands of enemies as aThis is one of the best shooter games that I have ever played (if not the best)! It's so great that it's really hard to describe into words. What I really have to like is the graphics. I think that the animated graphics are so great that it may even put Pixar to shame. However, the gameplay is where this game really shines. I had a lot of fun mowing down thousands of enemies as a heavy, completing hard objectives as a scout, and using total stealth as a spy. As for the gameplay modes, I'm happy they just stuck to the classic capture the flag, payload, and control points rather than coming up with something new. If they just did something new, I probably wouldn't have liked it as much. My only real problem with this game is the lack of a mini-map. It is really hard to navigate through the battlefield without one. However, the rest of the game more than makes up for this. Before I played this game, I had also played Star Wars Battlefront. Star Wars Battlefront is amazing, but if you ask me, its got nothing on this. To here I thought Star Wars Battlefront was this good; I stand corrected. Expand
  101. Dec 9, 2012
    0
    This is, by far, the most balanced multiplayer game I have ever played in my life. Add in a cartoonish art design, 9 likable characters with their own unique skills and personalities, an unfathomable amount of items, the longest list of achievements for any Steam title, make it free to play, and what you get is the most incredible concoction ever imagined. It has yet to be triumphed, letThis is, by far, the most balanced multiplayer game I have ever played in my life. Add in a cartoonish art design, 9 likable characters with their own unique skills and personalities, an unfathomable amount of items, the longest list of achievements for any Steam title, make it free to play, and what you get is the most incredible concoction ever imagined. It has yet to be triumphed, let alone matched, by any other multiplayer title, even after 5 years. Forget every other rage-inducing, mindless shooter, this game is king, and should be treasured for how brilliant and well-polished it is. Collapse
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. AceGamez
    100
    The marriage of highly stylised retro-spy presentation, fresh, high octane action, deep and varied classes and the underlying twinkle of humour in its metaphorical eye make Team Fortress 2 far more than just your average fragfest. Long after the novelty of the graphics wears thin, we are left with a refined and accessible multiplayer game that simultaneously cultivates new players whilst retaining enough depth to accommodate even the hardiest of veterans.
  2. The game also does a lovely job of framing your relationship with other players and nurturing them.
  3. It's one hell of a game. With its powerful artistic style and blazingly quick, yet accessible gameplay, it's enough to melt the icy cynicism imprisoning the hearts of even the most jaded among us. That being said, it's not the most complex shooter out there.